User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3662 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielK.
    Jun 14, 2008
    8
    The game that should have been an epic is every bit of that, except for where it counts: gameplay. Sure the story is still great, albeit even more convoluted; the graphics are amazing, despite the fact that the environments are actually very small, making the achievement slightly less impressive, but the game still feels like it's trying to be the top standard of 1998 instead of The game that should have been an epic is every bit of that, except for where it counts: gameplay. Sure the story is still great, albeit even more convoluted; the graphics are amazing, despite the fact that the environments are actually very small, making the achievement slightly less impressive, but the game still feels like it's trying to be the top standard of 1998 instead of catching up with the times in terms of control, gameplay, and overall sense of freedom. Use cutscenes to tell a story, not to restrict players from the actions that they should be able to do in gameplay. Good game but a sad excuse for four years of development. Expand
  2. JesseM.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Please take into account that I was not a fan of Metal Gear 3. I found the controls awful and clumsy and the camo system a bore. That said MGS 4 is the best game I have ever played so far. It has become more than just another sneak, shoot, sneak, sneak, boss, repeat. There is a real story and one of the best fight sequences I have seen in a game or movie. So all of you with low Please take into account that I was not a fan of Metal Gear 3. I found the controls awful and clumsy and the camo system a bore. That said MGS 4 is the best game I have ever played so far. It has become more than just another sneak, shoot, sneak, sneak, boss, repeat. There is a real story and one of the best fight sequences I have seen in a game or movie. So all of you with low expectations should really do your self a favor and play/watch this game. NOTE: Anyone with A.D.D. or R.L.S. will hate this game. Expand
  3. AlexH.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Is it the best MGS? From what I've seen so far (im about 2/3rds the way in) I think it might be. If it can earn the title best MGS then it must be worth a 10... ok the cut-scenes can be a bit lengthy, but I wouldn't want it any other way. Fantastic game, a fitting end for a legend.
  4. TonyS.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Brilliant closure, best graphics I've seen to date, great gameplay enhancements, and the sound is ASTONISHING.
  5. DanielC.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    Most amazing game I've ever played. It's an honor to be a part of such masterpiece. Hideo is a genius and a masterful director. Sheer brilliance.
  6. AnthonyP.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    The best in the series hands down. I found myself deeply immersed in the game while playing and felt sad thinking it would soon end. i felt very satisfied overall and will be playing it over and over.
  7. Matt
    Jun 16, 2008
    9
    In all honesty, I found the 1up review best for accurately summing up my feelings for this game. The first two chapters feature some of the most stellar moments in video gaming that I have ever experienced. As you hit the 8 hour mark however, the game steadily takes control away from the player in exchange for absolutely massive cutscenes which are for the most part, very engaging. But I In all honesty, I found the 1up review best for accurately summing up my feelings for this game. The first two chapters feature some of the most stellar moments in video gaming that I have ever experienced. As you hit the 8 hour mark however, the game steadily takes control away from the player in exchange for absolutely massive cutscenes which are for the most part, very engaging. But I couldn't help but feel cheated when I watched an hour of cutscenes only to have control of Snake relinquished unto me for 20 minutes. I think that Hideo Kojima was a little too concerned with answering every single question posed by the previous three games, and unfortunately made some of those explanations too convoluted and long-winded. Don't get me wrong, I think that some of the later moments of the game are fantastic, but none of them are ever quite as extraordinary as those first two levels. I walk away from this game a satisfied fan of Metal Gear Solid with what are overall positive feelings about MGS4: Guns of the Patriots. I give this something between a 9 - 9.5. Expand
  8. ImaballaA
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Game of the year! The best story with the best presentation and technologically advanced game ever!
  9. JohnN
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing , couldn't put the game day! Everything was above my expectations, story, graphics, game play. MGS4 was the perfect end to a 20 year saga. I feel most game companies are worried about their profit more than creating a place in gaming history. I have wasted my time with way too many games, but Mr. Kojima has created such a masterpiece.
  10. NeilD
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Best. Game. Ever. After a long time I've come across a game that's not more of the same ol' thing in videogames. After a long time have I come across a game that's more of of what's Best about videogames and more! No place to Hide'o' from the brilliance that is MGS4.
  11. LukeLucas
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Arguably the best in the series. Kojima does a wonderful job with great visuals and story telling. Ties up the entire Solid storyline quite well. Yes it's a story driven game with lots of cutscenes, but that has been a halmark of the MGS games and the reason they are loved so much. And it's never been done better than it has in MGS4. A true epic masterpeice for a truley epic hero.
  12. JayS
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Truly awesome. Gameplay and graphics are brilliant. The gameplay, story, cutscenes and excellent voice acting gets you emotionally invested in the characters, which rarely happens in videogames. Most engaging metal gear yet with accessable controls, heaps of varied combat (although if you wish you can avoid killling anyone!), weapons customization, great environments (including Truly awesome. Gameplay and graphics are brilliant. The gameplay, story, cutscenes and excellent voice acting gets you emotionally invested in the characters, which rarely happens in videogames. Most engaging metal gear yet with accessable controls, heaps of varied combat (although if you wish you can avoid killling anyone!), weapons customization, great environments (including destructable ones!). First person aspect implemented really well and I found myself constantly switching between 3rd and 1st person (better accuracy) with ease. Great for both newcomers and old fans alike. Little things liike dust and scratches covering the screen after an explosion add to the immersion. Helps to know the story before hand, but story and history of series explained well during game. Cutscenes are incredibly cinematic and are a joy to watch (also can pause or skip them entirely), cutscenes are similar to a well directed CG movie, except the graphics are all real-time, moving from movie to gameplay without skipping a beat! Controls allow player to pull off many different moves and perform different functions without being complicated, and the gameplay is challenging without being cheap and frustrating. Kojima has struck videogame gold. Achievements and difficulty levels as well as new equipment add to the replay value and it comes with metal gear online as well! I cannot rave enough about this game. Go and buy it. Expand
  13. JosephM
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    The best game I've ever played, period. Thank you Kojima. I highly recommend this to every PS3 owner.
  14. TylerG.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    I just finished this game today and I was blown away. Hideo Kojima has created something I never thought possible, he has made something worthy of being called the masterpieces of all masterpieces. No series could have lasted this long with so many plot twists and actually had a perfectly cohesive storyline that all tied together to form one of the greatest video games ever created, Metal I just finished this game today and I was blown away. Hideo Kojima has created something I never thought possible, he has made something worthy of being called the masterpieces of all masterpieces. No series could have lasted this long with so many plot twists and actually had a perfectly cohesive storyline that all tied together to form one of the greatest video games ever created, Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns Of The Patriots. Expand
  15. JoeMamma
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    A true milestone in gaming, MGS4 proves once again that the japanese make the best single player games in the world, by far.
  16. IlianD.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    This game is a mile-stone of video-games' maturity as an excellent art form. Gamers' dreams of getting immersive interactive cinematic experience are finally fulfilled. You simply have to see it to believe it, as the direction (incl. camera-works), story, action and gameplay are unbelievable. Has a tonne of replayability, and can be played as one of the hardest and most This game is a mile-stone of video-games' maturity as an excellent art form. Gamers' dreams of getting immersive interactive cinematic experience are finally fulfilled. You simply have to see it to believe it, as the direction (incl. camera-works), story, action and gameplay are unbelievable. Has a tonne of replayability, and can be played as one of the hardest and most interesting TPS/FPS game ever. Expand
  17. ChrisV
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    Its a good game with flaws. The PS3 fan boys are really getting worked up on this one. It was their last great hope and it didn't fail, but it didn't do as good as they wanted. LOL.
  18. NadimA.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever created so far! Hideo Kojima can now take a bow. He has done some awsome work here and it shows in every scene. A superb game with super story, graphics, audio, gameplay and cut scenes! What more could you ask for?
  19. GeorgeM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the most immersive, well scripted, and satisfying gameplay experiences ive ever had and it ranks up there with its predecessors and other story driven games like Bioshock and Mass Effect. Graphically it ranges from eye-poppingly amazing to basic but it never dissapoints visually.....your eyes will stay busy soaking in the well scripted and "Hollywood Style" cut-scenes to the Easily one of the most immersive, well scripted, and satisfying gameplay experiences ive ever had and it ranks up there with its predecessors and other story driven games like Bioshock and Mass Effect. Graphically it ranges from eye-poppingly amazing to basic but it never dissapoints visually.....your eyes will stay busy soaking in the well scripted and "Hollywood Style" cut-scenes to the busy levels with action all around you (and sneaking through it undetected is VERY satisfying). Sound-wise its a stunner as well, crystal clear audio/sound effects, above average voice-acting, and a captivating soundtrack. Gameplay is nice and tight and the octocamo is really interesting and fun to use and customizing your weapons (adding scopes and silencers) is a nice touch and why all the complaining over the A.I.???.....they re-act no different than enemies in any other "stealth" game, besides.....this game tends to be easy on the REALISM anyway. All in all.....this is EASILY one of the better games so far this year with HIGH production values, epic story-telling, and addictive gameplay.....and for all the 360 fanboys giving this game a 0.....dont worry, maybe it will come to the 360 then you can give it the 10 like you know you want to. Gotta add, anyone giving this game a 0 that ISNT a 360 fanboy.....this just further proves you have ZERO taste in games. Expand
  20. MikeT.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    This is the reason to own a PS3. Graphics, Story, Gameplay are excellent. OctoCamo is sweet and weapon customization is plentiful. The detail put into this game is incredible. I haven't been able to stop playing. I own a 360, PS3 and a Wii and this game becoming one of my top favorites. I personally think the cutscenes are great; its nice to have 10mins or so in between gameplay to This is the reason to own a PS3. Graphics, Story, Gameplay are excellent. OctoCamo is sweet and weapon customization is plentiful. The detail put into this game is incredible. I haven't been able to stop playing. I own a 360, PS3 and a Wii and this game becoming one of my top favorites. I personally think the cutscenes are great; its nice to have 10mins or so in between gameplay to relax and enjoy the theatrical story. This game is very immersive and the dual shock 3 makes it all the better . Well worth the cash. My only regret is that I didn't by the LE version. Expand
  21. J.Kunjeh
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    A perfect example of the marriage of gameplay and storytelling. The best looking game of this, or any other, generation. Sound that's amazingly immersive on 5.1, A stunning end to a stunning series of brillaint games.
  22. AndyK.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is a Masterpiece...all other games...,even GTA4 are looking last-gen comparing to this amazing and breathtaking, nearly perfect expirience.Kojima is the Master!
  23. AllistairP.
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    There are two plots in Metal Gear games. The cyperpunk G.I. Joe in Die Hard 1 individual stories and the epic Lost meets anime Metal Gear universe. Being the end of the series, this game seems to be more concerned with pulling together loose ties by any means possible and with 30+ minute "briefings" to every Act, it suffers from it. I look back at various parts with mixed feelings, but There are two plots in Metal Gear games. The cyperpunk G.I. Joe in Die Hard 1 individual stories and the epic Lost meets anime Metal Gear universe. Being the end of the series, this game seems to be more concerned with pulling together loose ties by any means possible and with 30+ minute "briefings" to every Act, it suffers from it. I look back at various parts with mixed feelings, but when the game is good its literally "BEST GAME EVER" good--in the same way the original was. While the original games stuck to humble basic stories in one location, for better or worse, MGS4 is all over the map and feels more like an Indiana Jones then a Die Hard. I can see many places of improvement but I can still easily call it the best game of this generation. Presentation wise, this is where we all wanted videogames to go a decade ago. With no pretention, I can see it is a more creative and fulfilling effort then any 2008 summer blockbuster. There are so many great moments that pay tribute to the previous games in a way that is more satisfying than in any other medium (don't want to spoil anything) and Kojima, while he plays many old tricks, finds ways to interact in ways that only the medium of video games could pull off. It might be flawed, but its still a masterpiece. Expand
  24. DirkD.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    I can't believe that I like this game as much as I do. I was very hesitant to buy this game because of the cutscenes. But I actually thought they were very necessary after playing it. I own all 3 systems and can say that this is the best experience with a next gen title I have had so far.
  25. RyanP.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing work of artistry and production from Hideo Kojima and his team! There are stories that Metal Gear isn't over yet, since Kojima said he's still thinking in a Famitsu interview, but MGS4 is a great finish to Solid Snake's saga!
  26. AhemS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece... If you're not an Xbot, you'll love it.
  27. DaveK.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    A deeply engrossing game with the best graphics I've seen in a video game.
  28. Chris
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is fantastic...unbelievable. It's truly unlike any other gaming experience ever in terms of immersion. It's true that there are long cut scenes but you can skip them if you like. The game literally re-invents itself at every turn. I did not buy my PS3 for MGS4 and I'm not a fanboy so this review is not biased, it really is an amazing game. I can see how reviewers mightMGS4 is fantastic...unbelievable. It's truly unlike any other gaming experience ever in terms of immersion. It's true that there are long cut scenes but you can skip them if you like. The game literally re-invents itself at every turn. I did not buy my PS3 for MGS4 and I'm not a fanboy so this review is not biased, it really is an amazing game. I can see how reviewers might not understand some aspects of the game. Like for example I was playing it with my friend who's into games like Call of Duty and he thought it was stupid that there were robots and playboys and other unrealistic or silly elements... but all the Metal Gear's before this one were the same in terms of 'believability', so if that leaves a bad taste in your mouth after playing it then I guess you can't like Resistance or Halo or any other game like that either. Expand
  29. JonathanZ
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    MGS4 has it all; the amazing attention to detail, the mind-numbing immersion, breathtaking visuals, and state of the art gameplay. The coveted label 'epic' is very fitting here; more so than any other game in this generation.
  30. HarryS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Absolute masterpiece. Gameplay is amazing, story is the most exhilirating and spectacular thing I have ever experienced. The perfect game, a perfect end to a 20 year saga.
  31. RajJ
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    If there ever was a game that deserved a 10, it's definitely this game. Especially considering this is kojima's first attempt at a ps3 game. The technical achievement itself merits an awesome rating, not to mention the immersive narrative as well as the amazing game play elements. Simply put, if you have been waiting to get a ps3, there's no longer a reason to put it off. If there ever was a game that deserved a 10, it's definitely this game. Especially considering this is kojima's first attempt at a ps3 game. The technical achievement itself merits an awesome rating, not to mention the immersive narrative as well as the amazing game play elements. Simply put, if you have been waiting to get a ps3, there's no longer a reason to put it off. This game rocks. Expand
  32. JackH.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    I would have given this game a 9, but since so many **** out there like to give games 0's and 1's for minor disappointments or not well-founded disappointments (ex: some guy saying it was too slow paced for him and that he prefferred fast paced shooters - well...go play a fast paced shooter and spare yourself looking like a moron and reviewing a game that doesn't even apply I would have given this game a 9, but since so many **** out there like to give games 0's and 1's for minor disappointments or not well-founded disappointments (ex: some guy saying it was too slow paced for him and that he prefferred fast paced shooters - well...go play a fast paced shooter and spare yourself looking like a moron and reviewing a game that doesn't even apply to you). Anyway this game has a beautiful story and really rewards fans of the series. The cut scenes can be a bit unnecessarily long at times, and the play control is nice and polishes what we expected of it. IF they were to completely change the play control to be "less dated" then it wouldn't be Metal gear solid now would it? if you want different play control, play a different shooter and stop whining. I love Call of Duty 4, it has vastly different play control, but i love this game too. Just open your mind a bit you haters. No developer in the gaming community really digs this deep into a game as Kojima does. I applaud his opus. Expand
  33. HarryK.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Awsome ending to the greatest story ever told in video game form.
  34. IoannisG.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever to exist regardless of platform. Only minus (could be) is that briefing videos are toooooo long. I almost fell asleep during a briefing. In general though game story is perfect, graphics (why 720p??? and not 1080???), sound, gameplay. You could say definite purchase but I've completed the game in just 2 days and it cost me just 4 euros to rent it (saved 65 One of the best games ever to exist regardless of platform. Only minus (could be) is that briefing videos are toooooo long. I almost fell asleep during a briefing. In general though game story is perfect, graphics (why 720p??? and not 1080???), sound, gameplay. You could say definite purchase but I've completed the game in just 2 days and it cost me just 4 euros to rent it (saved 65 euros which is the RRP in Greece). Expand
  35. JamesL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Kojima has outdone himself with an amazing story that will keep you guessing at every moment. But the loose ends are tied up nicely with every cutscene answering a question. This is a problem though when your friends haven't played it and want to but you don't want to spoil it, but it is still the best game that has come out ever, even beating Tetris and pong. The Octacamo is a Kojima has outdone himself with an amazing story that will keep you guessing at every moment. But the loose ends are tied up nicely with every cutscene answering a question. This is a problem though when your friends haven't played it and want to but you don't want to spoil it, but it is still the best game that has come out ever, even beating Tetris and pong. The Octacamo is a nice feature with a cool easter egg attatched. Whilst it is sad to see the end of an amazing series. Whilst i have not finished the game yet, what I have played has made me have adreniline rushes everytime I play it and from what I have heard there is more to come. 100/10 no doubt about it! Expand
  36. BenP.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Graphics, gameplay, story, this game wants for nothing. To all the cutscene haters that's just good story development.
  37. AleksanderL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Awesome story telling and fun gameplay. Very good sound and music and a great end to an awesome fanchise.
  38. JB
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    "Whilst it might cater to some people, it won't bring new people to the series nor be a huge system seller. After the most likely lackluster sales, it might even come to the 360 so no rush for a PS3." Now how wrong was that guy LOL.
  39. PaulM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I'm a fan of Metal Gear Solid since the first one came out for PS1. They all took my breath away and made me laugh for joy like no other game. This one is no exception, in fact, it's a lot more than I expected. Metal Gear Solid 4 is more than a game. It's like the best novel, with the greatest storyline, the best movie, and the best game, all-in-one.
  40. TJ
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    There could never be a game series like this ever again. It a once in a lifetime thing.
  41. JohnF.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    The perfect conclusion for the MGS saga.
  42. EddieH.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Cinematically wonderful, and stealth/action has never been so great. This is the type of game that all its moments will live in your head for days to come. If there is one game you can only play, make it Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots. You will not be disappointed!
  43. JeremyT.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    The first game to really go for a perfect experience, if by the end of the game you haven't been wowed, cried, been touched, hate liquid, love ocelot....you simply don't have a pulse.
  44. DamianK
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    A truly spectacular experience. The revamped aiming system lets you play the game like a shooter, but the Octocamo makes stealth more interesting. There's no other game like this. Gamers owe it to themselves to play it.
  45. AlanK.
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    As much as I am a fan of this game, I would never give it a 10 as for a game to be given a 10 I would want it to be serving me beers while playing it (never gonna happen.) So I will give it a 9.5. Anyhow the game itself is great, graphically, audio is spot on. As for the advertising why wouldn't Sony promote their own items like the Sony Ericson phone or the Blu-Ray player it As much as I am a fan of this game, I would never give it a 10 as for a game to be given a 10 I would want it to be serving me beers while playing it (never gonna happen.) So I will give it a 9.5. Anyhow the game itself is great, graphically, audio is spot on. As for the advertising why wouldn't Sony promote their own items like the Sony Ericson phone or the Blu-Ray player it certainly didn't do the game any harm as far as I was concerned. Once again the creator has done himself proud. Cutscenes while some people moan about the length of them, it is part of the game, I don't mind them being as long as they are they can be longer if it is needed to get the story out. Finally glad all the loose ends have been tied up, Lets hope Hideo Kojima's next project is as good. Expand
  46. sigma
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    By far the best out of the entire series. Hideo and his clan put together one of the most inspirational games ever made. So much detail, beautiful animations, compelling script and story telling. I am overwhelmed by the amount of content in this game. 11 out of 10!
  47. AaronM
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    Surpasses the immense hype. Acting is great, story is amazing, gameplay is too. This game had a ton of effort put into it. Truly a masterpiece. Easily the best game of this generation, maybe even the best game ever.
  48. GeorgeH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The game of all games, one of the best games ever created. Actually it is more than just a game, it is an immersing journey for both solid snake and the player. Salute
  49. ParisP.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    EPIC GAME!!! If you have a PS3, you HAVE TO BUY THIS GAME. If you don't have a PS3, here is a very good reason to buy one.
  50. GilbertG.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    It is the best game in the series and nothing on the 360 can top this masterpiece!!!
  51. Wargamer
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    This is living. I bought a PS3 solely for this game, and it was worth it. It is the greatest Metal Gear Solid game of them all, and I am so glad I got it.
  52. MaxP.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Move over Ocarina of Time, MGS4 is finally here. This game has everything: graphics, sound, story, art direction, replay value, and, most importantly, gameplay. Best game I've ever played, and I played quite a few. To people complaining about long cutscenes: every single one of them is skippable. You're saying that if you skip the cutscenes, you won't understand what's Move over Ocarina of Time, MGS4 is finally here. This game has everything: graphics, sound, story, art direction, replay value, and, most importantly, gameplay. Best game I've ever played, and I played quite a few. To people complaining about long cutscenes: every single one of them is skippable. You're saying that if you skip the cutscenes, you won't understand what's going on; well, if the story is not keeping you entertained, then there is no point in watching them in the first place. And this is to the person who said Halo 3 is better than MGS4: get off Microsoft's lap and look around. I'd understand if you tried to compare MGS4 to Bioshock or even Gears of War, but Halo 3 doesn't even deserve to be mentioned on the same page as MGS4. Oh well, you're the one that won't get to play the best game ever created. Expand
  53. RayG
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever. I have played through the series an d this one by far takes the cake. If anyone thinks that there is a game on the 360 that can't beat this is, they are completely wrong.
  54. jakerake
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    wow wow i just want to say who are the patriots and wow who ever thought eva was snaks mum that is weird but this game is so awsome it reminds me of army of two but wy better for any mgs fans this is like the cherry on the cake or pie if u prefer
  55. MarkA.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best Metal Gear Solid game in the series, and that is saying a lot. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is one of the best examples of great storytelling in a video game. The story includes aspects of comedy, romance, horror, and drama. You will literally be at the edge of your seat when huge pieces of plot are revealed and questions from past games are answered. This is by far the best Metal Gear Solid game in the series, and that is saying a lot. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is one of the best examples of great storytelling in a video game. The story includes aspects of comedy, romance, horror, and drama. You will literally be at the edge of your seat when huge pieces of plot are revealed and questions from past games are answered. The graphics are amazing and the cut scenes are lengthy (especially at the end), but this game is one of the best I've played, the best available on the PS3, and has one of the best climaxes that any game has ever had. The online play is very good as well with fun game types and addiction levels rivaling that of Call of Duty 4's multiplayer. Solid Snake is the face of the PS3, so if you own one, do yourself a favor and go out and pick this game up. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  56. Jimbo
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    MGS4 is a fantastic game when you add up all the elements; but the story, unfortunately, is a disappointment. It moves from convoluted to implausible to downright ridiculous in quick fashion, and it only gets worse the farther you go. The gameplay, though improved, is still your typical MGS fare albeit with over-the-shoulder shooter elements - but we've already seen this done MGS4 is a fantastic game when you add up all the elements; but the story, unfortunately, is a disappointment. It moves from convoluted to implausible to downright ridiculous in quick fashion, and it only gets worse the farther you go. The gameplay, though improved, is still your typical MGS fare albeit with over-the-shoulder shooter elements - but we've already seen this done [better] by titles like GTAIV and Gears of War. All in all, I'd call this one a disappointment for MGS fans, but for the casual gamer, it's quite the experience and worth playing if you own a PS3. Expand
  57. WillieM.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    I give this game a 10 because it is one of the best games i have ever played it is flawless but there are times where you have to give it time with the movie scenes but over all it is worth all of the hours no other came can touch this the only other game right up there is call of duty and thats really about it.
  58. DarmaK
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    This game is everything i wanted it to be. Ive been playing Metal Gear since the SNES. People that are giving this game scores below 7 are obviously pissed off xbox 360 fans. This game is one epic adventure and one of the best storylines to boot. I'm soley a PC gamer but this game made me get a ps3 and i really haven't looked back since, online is awesome as well. Note to the This game is everything i wanted it to be. Ive been playing Metal Gear since the SNES. People that are giving this game scores below 7 are obviously pissed off xbox 360 fans. This game is one epic adventure and one of the best storylines to boot. I'm soley a PC gamer but this game made me get a ps3 and i really haven't looked back since, online is awesome as well. Note to the idiots: When you buy a Metal Gear Game please don't complain about the cutscenes being so long. I'm sure Kojima is sorry for it being too complex for you to understand. Also to the idiot who said Halo is better. Can i ask which planet you live on? Have you actually played Metal Gear before? My god. Expand
  59. MaxP
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    Great game, probably the deepest I have ever played. If you have any doubts about getting this game, just get it. The only bad reviews of this game come from 360 fans who have never played it. Trust me, read some of the bad ones below.
  60. TylerB.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    First of all let me address the so called biggest issue with the game. Yes the cut scenes are super long, but you can fing skip them! I hate i mean i HATE long cut scenes. But, I felt they were all very compelling and I didn't feel disconnected to the game like some say, instead, I felt like I wanted to play it more to get to the next cut scene for the next twist! The game is one of First of all let me address the so called biggest issue with the game. Yes the cut scenes are super long, but you can fing skip them! I hate i mean i HATE long cut scenes. But, I felt they were all very compelling and I didn't feel disconnected to the game like some say, instead, I felt like I wanted to play it more to get to the next cut scene for the next twist! The game is one of the few games where I got seriously involved in the story b/c most games have boring or cheezy stories and dialogue. The graphics are awesome and the controls are as fluid as ever. The game does miss modern gaming features (cover shooting system, I mean come on) but it feels just like a metal gear game and the flaws def. do not out way the good. Other than that, some of the boss fights disappointed me (crying wolf and def. raging raven), but there are plenty of more that are very hard and are some of the series best. This game is def. the best in the series and worth owning or buying a PS3 for...If you a MG fan at least. If you hated the other ones there nothing to hook you on this one either. Expand
  61. JeffA.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    This is quite simply the greatest video game of all time. If you are looking for a tired series that uses some gameplay elements with a story jammed in at the last minute for good measure, there's Halo. If you want a deep, philosophical gaming experience with challenging mechanics that require thought and will change the way you think about war, religion and soldiers, there's This is quite simply the greatest video game of all time. If you are looking for a tired series that uses some gameplay elements with a story jammed in at the last minute for good measure, there's Halo. If you want a deep, philosophical gaming experience with challenging mechanics that require thought and will change the way you think about war, religion and soldiers, there's Metal Gear Solid. That's simply the way this industry works. There are the mass appeal spoon-feeders for droves of uneducated and underage gamers and the deep, moving experiences that seem to be dieing off in the years between Kojima's works. Expand
  62. DavidH
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    The only reason why Hideo Kojima went up to metal gear solid 4 was because the fans couldn't stop asking for more.
  63. MarkK.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    One of the most epic games I have ever played and as for the cutscenes, I like watching them because then I know what was going on from there since I'm not like impatient people who just go and rush throughout the game. Buy this game NOW!
  64. DaphneH.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    love the game. I recommend playing the big boss hard difficulty. The psyche meter will truly play part in the gameplay, staying out of the sun, will lower the stress meter. Use playboy magazine when psyche meter is low, it will quickly regenerate the psyche meter. Play the game stealthily and the game will be rewarding but if you play it run and gun, thats when the real stress of life love the game. I recommend playing the big boss hard difficulty. The psyche meter will truly play part in the gameplay, staying out of the sun, will lower the stress meter. Use playboy magazine when psyche meter is low, it will quickly regenerate the psyche meter. Play the game stealthily and the game will be rewarding but if you play it run and gun, thats when the real stress of life manifest. M4 will be given by drevin early on, buy suppressor for it, so whenever you kill PMC soldier, it wouldnt be immediately obvious who killed there comrade. During the boss battle when they shed off there camouflage and appear as human and walks towards you slowly, use ipod in the item window and play Oishii Chuhan Seikatsu, the beauties starts to dance, and even sunny would to the tunes, very entertaining. love the raiden mask, such a badass character, better than solid snake. I love Johnny Akiba, so handsome and funny. When Akiba removes his mask to mouth to mouth meryl, damn he looks hot. Hopefully Akiba would be the main character for MGS5 and also meryl as playable character. The only thing i didnt like is how david hayter voice the character, cough voice of snake, hard to understand snakes words, all because of david hayter. Expand
  65. TrentonD.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    2nd best singleplayer campaign next to oblivion, once I starter playing I couldn't stop untill my mom pulled me off it.
  66. KhalidY.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Best game of all time without a doubt.
  67. DanJ.
    Jun 9, 2008
    8
    Gameplay is fantastic and so much fun, but the Movie length cutscenes really get frustrating, Especially since I'm new to the MGS franchise. I had hoped that Kojima would have used the Blu-Ray to give us A planet worth of stages. For God sakes I had time to write this in the middle of a cutscene and it's still going
  68. Shutyourhole
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    If there is one thing in this world that I love, its to hear people complain. (Hooray for internet sarcasm.) I personally thought that MGS4 was a good game. I admit that the cut-scenes were a bit long, but they were there to help explain just what was going on. I felt that the camera affects were far easier to deal with in this game than that of previous MGS titles. The gameplay was good If there is one thing in this world that I love, its to hear people complain. (Hooray for internet sarcasm.) I personally thought that MGS4 was a good game. I admit that the cut-scenes were a bit long, but they were there to help explain just what was going on. I felt that the camera affects were far easier to deal with in this game than that of previous MGS titles. The gameplay was good and the controls were no where near as bad as people made them out to be. Not too in-depth I realize, but I try to keep it simple for the simple minded. I enjoyed the game and with the number of bonus items and such to unlock, I feel it has a high replay value. Therefore, MGS4 is a definite buy on my list. Expand
  69. JulianV.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time (especially towards the end of the game). That said I am looking forward to playing it through again on a harder difficulty and trying to complete all the unlockable stuff. The fact that levels can be completed a multitude of different ways and that no two battles between the PMC's and the militants are the same should ensure that the game has good replay value. Expand
  70. KevinH
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A modern day masterpiece! And the first "Killer App" for the PS3!
  71. DeonM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    Whow! THE BEST GAME EVER MADE. The most gripping cinematic experience you`l ever encounter on a gaming console.(The PS3`s saviour, thanks Konami!). If you didn`t enjoy this game, then you don`t really know what Metal Gear Solid is all about, so this might not be for casual gamers who just want to skip the cutscenes and do some button-bashing. Hideo Kojima`s masterpiece ties up all the Whow! THE BEST GAME EVER MADE. The most gripping cinematic experience you`l ever encounter on a gaming console.(The PS3`s saviour, thanks Konami!). If you didn`t enjoy this game, then you don`t really know what Metal Gear Solid is all about, so this might not be for casual gamers who just want to skip the cutscenes and do some button-bashing. Hideo Kojima`s masterpiece ties up all the loose ends and leaves you feeling breathless and wanting more... BUY THIS NOW! You won`t regret it! Expand
  72. RickyM
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    I agree with IGN's "Is it possible to give this game an 11?" statement. This is the best combination of an FPS in 3rd person i've ever played in my life.
  73. WM
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    One of the only games that truly shows the potential of PS3
  74. JohnG
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    Improved gameplay mechanics, wonderful level design, and tons of nice little references for fans of the previous games (like me). Certain points of the story seemed...less well thought out than others, but it has too many wonderful moments for those to ruin it. If you're not a fan of the series, you may be put off by the way characters go on and on about people you haven't heard Improved gameplay mechanics, wonderful level design, and tons of nice little references for fans of the previous games (like me). Certain points of the story seemed...less well thought out than others, but it has too many wonderful moments for those to ruin it. If you're not a fan of the series, you may be put off by the way characters go on and on about people you haven't heard of before, but if you've played all the others and gotten attached to all the characters, you'll be fascinated by what you learn about them here. Also, if you haven't played MGS4 and are interested, my advice would be to stop reading comments to avoid spoilers, and start with Metal Gear Solid 1, or Metal Gear 1 if you want to start at the VERY beginning. Expand
  75. Guardian
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Not man games are worthy of a 10 in my book but MGS4 takes the cake and eats it too!! A fantastic story, first rate gameplay and cutting edge graphics that has just upped the ante for the PS3 on all levels. I have played all of the solid series to date and this absolutely blew my mind......one word----Genius!!
  76. JackM.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    This is the best game on the PS3, everything from graphics to gameplay is simply amazing. Whether its sweat or needle marks on character necks, the game is life-like and one of the best game I have ever played.
  77. AC
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is everything I was hoping it would be. Waiting and waiting for the past 3 years to finally experience the last mission of Snake and it delivers all the goods. This is without a work of art from start to finish. Not only is this game of the year but...you can make a strong case that this is game of the decade.
  78. LuisA
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    Tom G. Sucks best game evaaaa great graphics great gameplay Great setting
  79. JoshH
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    After playing this game I have realized that I will never find any game even close to the quality of playing this work of genius by Kojima. There will never be a game that lets you play a movie and make it so flawless in all aspects. A friend of mine had tried to get me to play this and all of the other Metal Gears but I refused because I cannot stand shooters, bore me to death, but this After playing this game I have realized that I will never find any game even close to the quality of playing this work of genius by Kojima. There will never be a game that lets you play a movie and make it so flawless in all aspects. A friend of mine had tried to get me to play this and all of the other Metal Gears but I refused because I cannot stand shooters, bore me to death, but this game is flawless on all aspects. Anyone that does not respect this game for being the artwork that it is, makes me wonder if they really ever were human to begin with. Play this game if you care about story, if you want to play an FPS get Resistance, this is NOT an FPS so don't treat it as such. In the end, its perfect play it! Expand
  80. Elilol
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    This should be and is the turning point for buying a ps3... I got it for this, A masterpiece perfect shocking story, multiplayer so fun and in depth game play.My friend never played a mgs game and played this and he did get alot of the story and he loved it to, it is good for old players and new players to the series.
  81. JC
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Game of the decade! No question about it!
  82. JamesT.
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    The most fun and emotion I've ever experienced tied to a videogame, or film for that matter. Truly a Masterpiece in the most meaningful sense of the word. My favorite game of all time.
  83. ThomasO.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    One of the top 5 games ever!
  84. KevinA.
    Jul 4, 2008
    9
    As a MGS fan. This is the best MGS in gameplay but the cutscenes are too long, especially the 1 hour ending. Bigboss talks too much, i just wanted to shoot him, to shut him up. Solid Snake should have commited suicide, it would have been a swan song ending but instead bigboss and major zero appeared and tainted the grave of "the BOSS"[the joy]. It would have been a triumphant As a MGS fan. This is the best MGS in gameplay but the cutscenes are too long, especially the 1 hour ending. Bigboss talks too much, i just wanted to shoot him, to shut him up. Solid Snake should have commited suicide, it would have been a swan song ending but instead bigboss and major zero appeared and tainted the grave of "the BOSS"[the joy]. It would have been a triumphant self-sacrifice. In Act4 ending with Raiden self-sacrifice trying to save Solid Snake from being crushed by a submarine, it would have a perfect ending for Raiden but instead , he lived in the end. I demand kojima to rerelease MGS4 and change the ending, the way it should, and be remembered as the best ending in the series. Kojima should step down as a DIRECTOR of future MGS GAMES but remain as a clever gamedesign and writer. I want an ARCADE MODE ala CALL OF DUTY 4, it should play like a FPS and remove clutters on the screen, more enemies please. In ACT 2 when you ride on top of drebins armored vehicle, GEKKO AND lots OF ZOMBIE LIKE PMC approach vehicle. I want more of that level on foot. I want more levels and more enemies. There has to be more gameplay than cutscenes, kojima has to step down as a DIRECTOR. I want the rerelease of MGS4 to be on DVD rather than a BLURAY DISC, ID rather switch disc in 10 seconds rather than wait a 5 installation process, takes about 3 to 8 minutes installation on every act, and when you finished the game, i have to install it all over again WTF. BLURAY DISC IS A DISADVANTAGE. COMPRESS THE AUDIO. I LOVE METAL GEAR SOLID but please kojima step down and focus more on gameplay than incredibly long cutscenes. MORE ENEMIES AND LEVEL PLEASE. Expand
  85. RobertoH.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    Great game, great graphics, explains everything well, the gameplay works perfectly. Every single thing I've found on it works great, and I have not found any error.
  86. ChrisL.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    As somebody who has honestly never liked the mgs series, I was BLOWN AWAY by this game. I own a 360, ps3, and a killer pc...this was the best game I've played on any of them in the last few years. I am now going back and playing all of the other mgs games just to get caught up with the story. The graphics are amazing, the sound design is amazing, the gameplay (sneak with the octocamo As somebody who has honestly never liked the mgs series, I was BLOWN AWAY by this game. I own a 360, ps3, and a killer pc...this was the best game I've played on any of them in the last few years. I am now going back and playing all of the other mgs games just to get caught up with the story. The graphics are amazing, the sound design is amazing, the gameplay (sneak with the octocamo or run and gun) is amazing, and even if the dialogue is a little cheesy at times...the story is epic. I love this game and I'm already ready to play through it all over again. Expand
  87. RyderK.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    An amazing finish to the MGS series. Brilliant graphics, easy to comprehend controls, stuning AI, well layed out levels with countless ways to finish them, mad weapon animations and sounds, truly impressive storyline, great visuals and just a all round amazing game that will leave you stunned. It sure left me stunned and completely captivated the whole way through the game, I found it An amazing finish to the MGS series. Brilliant graphics, easy to comprehend controls, stuning AI, well layed out levels with countless ways to finish them, mad weapon animations and sounds, truly impressive storyline, great visuals and just a all round amazing game that will leave you stunned. It sure left me stunned and completely captivated the whole way through the game, I found it impossible to drop the controller and when I did, it was with regret. For all you people who dislike this game... It was said fans of MGS would love this game and haters of MGS would hate it... So why the hell would you buy it if you know you hate the series, to me it seems like you must be completely retarded or just plain stupid. As to all those silly kids who play games like Gears of War and Halo, yes they are cool games to, but killing aliens in games is so cliche now that I almost die of boredom when another alien shooter game comes out. Also in games usch as Halo and Gears of War there is very crude storyline and it is easy to just run around with guns blazing as the developers just want the kids who enjoy mindless shooting and violence to spend their pocket money on their game. To you kids, I say to broaden your views and wake up to reality. No-one realy cares about your lame attempts to discredit MGS series when we all know that it is one of the best series out there. The MGS series requires you to play and finish all the games in the series to fully know whats going on in the story line of the next game in the series as they are all linked. The game requires you to use your common sense and knowledge to use tactics and cunning to get through each level. Now all you silly kids go back to your cliche shoot up the aliens games where you belong. When you finally mature, (IF EVER) you hopefully will be able to trully understand the game and realise its greatness. For now stop your blatently stupid attempts at discrediting the game and take a look at your own games. It seems the cunning and knowledge I mentioned was required for MGS is what is laking in the kids of today. Wake up man. Expand
  88. DanielA.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    I'm calling this the game of the decade. An incredible story mixed with superb acting and animation add to an outstanding game. The gameplay is truly amazing, the fluidity and sheer scope of the game is breathtaking. This is what all games should aim to achieve. MGS4 is a powerful and moving experience that all gamers should play. This game alone is worth buying a PS3 for
  89. johnf.
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    ---Yes, this game has long cut scenes and a lot of them. So if you don't like the idea of watching large sections of story then skip this game. It's not for you. ---I am a huge Metal Gear fan starting back with the original on the NES. MGS1 was my favorite until this came out. The story wraps up very nicely, although perhaps a little long in the tooth (I'm looking at you ---Yes, this game has long cut scenes and a lot of them. So if you don't like the idea of watching large sections of story then skip this game. It's not for you. ---I am a huge Metal Gear fan starting back with the original on the NES. MGS1 was my favorite until this came out. The story wraps up very nicely, although perhaps a little long in the tooth (I'm looking at you Big B and the 1 hour ending cut scene). ---CONS: Some textures look low-res when you are in 1st person view. Installs between levels are really irritating. ---PROS: Excellent story. Tons of customizable weapons to experiment with. Great ending of the Saga. Lot's of replayability. Pretty good online multiplayer. Expand
  90. GabrielleA.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    definetly a fan service. everything you expect from series is realized. The fantastic use of Octocamo is the icing in the cake. Few games has the depth in characters, that you can actually relate to, that makes you care what happens to a character, this game deliver it with flying colors. We care and it matters.
  91. JohnD.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    Let me start by saying I own a 360 and a Ps3 so I am not biased. This game is the greatest game I have ever played in my life. The storyline is just long enough despite naysayers. You get to see how long the game took you and at the end of my first play through it took me 20 hours. On my second 17. The gameplay is awesome because you have freedom to get through it how you want to. Let me start by saying I own a 360 and a Ps3 so I am not biased. This game is the greatest game I have ever played in my life. The storyline is just long enough despite naysayers. You get to see how long the game took you and at the end of my first play through it took me 20 hours. On my second 17. The gameplay is awesome because you have freedom to get through it how you want to. Stealth? Sure. Kill them all and run with your AK? Go ahead. Truely The Dark Knight of video games. Expand
  92. MgsForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played the previous games, otherwise you won't understand much of the story). Expand
  93. AnthonyL.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    A truly great game, but... to enjoy this game you must be fan of the series, it is very plot driven, i dont know what else to say except it is an incredible game, and Halo sucks.
  94. STFUX.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Hey G P. I'm new to this series and I have to say this is one of the best games I have ever played. I guess some people just want gameplay and absolutely no story. All the people who are complaining about the cutscenes STFU and skip them if you hate great stories that much.
  95. PeteW.
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    First off: outstanding gameplay, as usual for the series. There's nothing quite like sneaking through the middle of a firefight, or slipping up behind a guard and cutting his throat before he even knows you're there. And the boss battles are lots of fun as always. Also, the graphics were simply some of the best ever in a game, and the music, while not the best in the series, was First off: outstanding gameplay, as usual for the series. There's nothing quite like sneaking through the middle of a firefight, or slipping up behind a guard and cutting his throat before he even knows you're there. And the boss battles are lots of fun as always. Also, the graphics were simply some of the best ever in a game, and the music, while not the best in the series, was duly cinematic and epic. Now, The Cutscenes. I have one gripe with them, and one alone. I don't mind that they represent easily half of the total play time. I don't mind that some of the best action sequences in the game are things you just sit back and watch. But what I DO mind is when the plot of the game is hammered into my skull by having characters repeat the same few points over, and over, and over, and over. Kojima could easily have cut at least 1/3rd of the running time without losing any substance. Also, while I give the series credit for trying to have a more involved story than games usually do, let's not pretend that this is any deeper than a Tom Clancy novel, people. I get that war is bad, that the military-industrial complex is a threat, that genetic engineering is potentially dangerous, and all the rest. I wish the creators could have avoided pretending like this stuff is pivotal social commentary and kept things a bit snappier. Overall I'd still say that MGS3: Subsistence is the best in the series, but this is certainly a worthy new entry and good for a couple dozen hours of high-grade entertainment. Expand
  96. ToddK
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Most excellent game. Graphics are spectacular, my one and only gripe is the final battle with Liquid where it is all CQC.
  97. MattC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Ignore low scores, the Xbox Fanboys (Xbots) can't get this game and this is the best videogame ever made. So if people complain because they sucked with a Xbox 360.
  98. ClaytonC.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    This is the first Metal Gear game I have played. I was a little unsure about buying it, but it turns out it was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The gameplay is smooth, the cutscenes are top-notch, and it's one of the few games that i could feel emotion from. The story is complicated, but amazing. It raises the bar for story-telling in games because it didn't get This is the first Metal Gear game I have played. I was a little unsure about buying it, but it turns out it was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The gameplay is smooth, the cutscenes are top-notch, and it's one of the few games that i could feel emotion from. The story is complicated, but amazing. It raises the bar for story-telling in games because it didn't get dumbed down because some people wouldn't like it, it went all out and it worked beautifully. Definitly one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  99. CMP.
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    This game has raised the bar so high that all games pale by comparison. It is like playing the greatest movie I've ever seen in my life. Masterpiece doesn't do it justice.
  100. YeahRight
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Beats halo, beats Gears of war. Mgs4 was really a beautiful game. Shame its the last one.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.