User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3146 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. Just so awesome.
  2. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . thethis is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  4. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is not just a regular game. You need to come to this game prepared for an "experience" think of it as a conclusion to a series of books/movies/games/media you have been awaiting for a long time. If you take all of this into consideration you will appreciate it for what it is and it's a masterpiece at what it does.
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    I don't think I could come up with a legitimate complaint about this game if I tried, the only negative is that the cutscenes can be on the lengthy side (30-40 minutes!) Every gameplay related problem I had with previous Metal Gear games like the camera is gone, replaced with an excellent third-person over-the-shoulder camera that properly allows you to see each enemy is. Controls areI don't think I could come up with a legitimate complaint about this game if I tried, the only negative is that the cutscenes can be on the lengthy side (30-40 minutes!) Every gameplay related problem I had with previous Metal Gear games like the camera is gone, replaced with an excellent third-person over-the-shoulder camera that properly allows you to see each enemy is. Controls are tight and fluid, and it feels as though I'm finally being allowed to SNEAK. The problem is the gun mechanics and battles are so enjoyable, that goes out the window immediately. Forget sneaking, shoot everything. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    I feel like Hideo Kojima's message isn't just designated towards the Metal Gear franchise, but at the gaming industry itself. In the sea of garbage video games that are released today, Metal Gear Solid 4 is the hidden gem and the final swan song of the once stellar business.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    MGS4 is without question one of the most remarkable gaming achievements to date. Never has a game, or a series for that matter, delivered epic and epic and continued to get better and better and at the same time keep you engrossed. The amazing thing about MGS4 is that it achieves everything it sets out, literally. Guns of the Patriots is an exceptional game and a rewarding one too butMGS4 is without question one of the most remarkable gaming achievements to date. Never has a game, or a series for that matter, delivered epic and epic and continued to get better and better and at the same time keep you engrossed. The amazing thing about MGS4 is that it achieves everything it sets out, literally. Guns of the Patriots is an exceptional game and a rewarding one too but never I felt more fulfilled by a game than this, Snake's final chapter. It's vintage MGS you know what your getting the best there is to offer. In terms of visuals the game has continued to stand the test of time, like Snake because the cut scenes are breathtaking. The best part of the game is without doubt the emotional roller-coaster journey you embark upon, never has a game had me so involved and hanging on a characters every move, it is an absolute epic in every sense of the word. The boss battle with Liquid is something to savour and the final moments of MGS4 are some of the most moving yet satisfying scenes for anyone who has followed Snake from the start because the game raps up every loose end from previous encounters. Make no mistake this is something truly extraordinary, you won't experience anything like this, basically, its the must have title on the PS3. A true definition of the word Masterpiece. Expand
  9. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This is the first game I've played in the series, and even though I'm struggling to understand the story as a whole, I am still in love with it. I'm playing this game January of 2012, and I can say that this is a 10/10 for today's standards. Although some dialogue and scenes are incredible cheese, the amount of cinematic flair is unbelievable. I can't believe I have not played this game earlier.
  10. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is an absolutely phenomenal game! This along with Bioshock Infinite and The Last of Us should be the measuring stick to which all other games compare not only their quality but their stories as well!
  11. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    An exquisitely crafted title that has as much stealth or action as you want.The story is very well told,but quite laughable unless you've invested the years to follow it (Sometimes even then).The very lengthy cutscenes are skippable,so no real drama there.The creator has a strange affiliation with cleavage,no matter the age of the woman,which annoys at times,as well as the actionAn exquisitely crafted title that has as much stealth or action as you want.The story is very well told,but quite laughable unless you've invested the years to follow it (Sometimes even then).The very lengthy cutscenes are skippable,so no real drama there.The creator has a strange affiliation with cleavage,no matter the age of the woman,which annoys at times,as well as the action consistently interrupting itself with cut-scenes.Even cut-scenes get interrupted with more cut-scenes.That minor gripe aside,MGS4 is a superb title that doesn't really achieve a masterpiece level status,but is pretty awesome nonetheless. Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    i absolutly loved this game and yes the cutscenes are very long but if they shortened them then you would not have the same feeling of attachement to all the characters when they do it like this you actually find yourself worrying about the characters and wheather or not they will be alright or if they will face a tradgic end. also the game play is solid and the graphics are very good andi absolutly loved this game and yes the cutscenes are very long but if they shortened them then you would not have the same feeling of attachement to all the characters when they do it like this you actually find yourself worrying about the characters and wheather or not they will be alright or if they will face a tradgic end. also the game play is solid and the graphics are very good and even better than some of the games coming out today and some of the lines are genually funny. i am disapointed though that this is the last game they will make in this series but it is a good way to end a very succesful series Expand
  13. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    "Legends die hard and deserve a heroic story that lives on when they are gone. Metal Gear Solid 4 is such an ending for the legendary warrior Solid Snake. Not only does it sum up the full franchise of Metal Gear, its depth and its complexity, coupled with its technical prowess, make it one of the best games of the year and, indeed, one of the best games ever made. Get some well earned"Legends die hard and deserve a heroic story that lives on when they are gone. Metal Gear Solid 4 is such an ending for the legendary warrior Solid Snake. Not only does it sum up the full franchise of Metal Gear, its depth and its complexity, coupled with its technical prowess, make it one of the best games of the year and, indeed, one of the best games ever made. Get some well earned rest, Snake. You've earned it. We salute you." Expand
  14. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This has the most confusing storyline ever and i love it it makes you think the game is full of so many memorable bosses and areas when you beat the game youll be sad this is a stealth game but if you are good you can make it through certain things run and gun after you beat the game you can play the awesome multiplayer its one of the most tactical experiences ever buy this game its a masterpiece
  15. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    I have played Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3 and they are amazing, epic and both have epic stories and gameplay but i can't just compare them to Metal Gear Solid 4. This game is E.P.I.C. The cut screens may be huge but they are important to the story. Everything is perfect in this game, the characters, the gameplay, THE SONGS (Epic soundtrack). A huge amount of emotions is presentI have played Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3 and they are amazing, epic and both have epic stories and gameplay but i can't just compare them to Metal Gear Solid 4. This game is E.P.I.C. The cut screens may be huge but they are important to the story. Everything is perfect in this game, the characters, the gameplay, THE SONGS (Epic soundtrack). A huge amount of emotions is present in this game from the beginning to the end, this game won't disappoint long therm fans or newcomers. One of the best action/ stealth game ever and one of the best PS3 games. I could tell you 100 more things that make this game perfect, but i will just tell you the top reasons:
    1. Epic story.
    2. Great (Boss) fights.
    3. Epic soundtrack (the main menu music is so good).
    4. Great gameplay, great weapons and gadgets.
    5. Great war atmosphere.
    6. Great cut screens.
    7. Epic ending.
    8. I don't know if i forgot anything but i think that are the most important reasons.

    I like Konami games, especially Metal Gear Solid and Silent Hill but this is my favorite Konami game.
    Expand
  16. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and alsoThe true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  17. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Although I love the MG series and characters, I
  18. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I can't describe this amazing game, i just started playing it again, this game is one of the best games i have ever played, if you think this game is any less than a 9 then sorry to say, but you have a bad taste in games, this game is almost perfect imo, scratch that, it IS perfect.
  19. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    It's a game. Yes it is but it feels much more than that. You immediatly get in the storyline which you have to pay attention and be familiarized with the MGS universe. The action feels absolutely brilliant and sometimes you forget you're playing a game but living an experience. That's MGS 4.
  20. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    The best Metal Gear Solid game to date and easily the best Playstation 3 exclusive (The Last of Us comes close though). Everything about this game is just perfect: the visuals are great, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is amazing and the characters are extremely memorable. I just love what they did to Raiden after how he was in Metal Gear Solid 2, they made him into an awesome cyborgThe best Metal Gear Solid game to date and easily the best Playstation 3 exclusive (The Last of Us comes close though). Everything about this game is just perfect: the visuals are great, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is amazing and the characters are extremely memorable. I just love what they did to Raiden after how he was in Metal Gear Solid 2, they made him into an awesome cyborg and a character with a very interesting back story. This is one of best games ever made and one of my personal favorites of all time. Expand
  21. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = A Cinematic dream. A Work of art. This IS Metal Gear Solid 4!!
  22. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of The Patriots is the most fascinating game ever. The stealth gameplay is perfect, and the story is outstandingly written. The cutscenes are lengthy and perfect, and technically is amazing. Characters are perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. Not only the amazing, lengthy single player is here, even the addictive and fun multiplayer. If you have a PS3, youMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of The Patriots is the most fascinating game ever. The stealth gameplay is perfect, and the story is outstandingly written. The cutscenes are lengthy and perfect, and technically is amazing. Characters are perfect, and the voice acting is top notch. Not only the amazing, lengthy single player is here, even the addictive and fun multiplayer. If you have a PS3, you should buy this game, because It's just perfect. 100 out of 100 Expand
  23. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    I have to say this is an awesome game but I only recommend it to people who are fans and have followed the metal gear story. The story provides a fitting end to Solid Snake's final mission and answers a lot of unanswered questions and also gives lots of suspense. The game play is also very good everything has been improved and gives players lots of variety in choosing from lots ofI have to say this is an awesome game but I only recommend it to people who are fans and have followed the metal gear story. The story provides a fitting end to Solid Snake's final mission and answers a lot of unanswered questions and also gives lots of suspense. The game play is also very good everything has been improved and gives players lots of variety in choosing from lots of equipment and customizing weapons. Expand
  24. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Ratified
    I still play the game until today!
    And to whom I can never do without! The network also play a very awesome and sweet and beautiful and long. Means surprised at some of the public are selling the game on internet sites! ..? Important to the game must be preserved whatever be due to the strength and beauty of the game in the network and in the story. Thanks by / adil khojah
    Ratified
    I still play the game until today!
    And to whom I can never do without!
    The network also play a very awesome and sweet and beautiful and long.
    Means surprised at some of the public are selling the game on internet sites! ..?
    Important to the game must be preserved whatever be due to the strength and beauty of the game in the network and in the story.
    Thanks
    by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jeddah city
    Expand
  25. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also likeAbsolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    I don't really know what to say about this one as I had played it back when it came out and got stuck on a level. By the time I decided I should try to play it again my PS3 died on me. So with a new PS3 and the HD collection underway I figured it was time for me to finish off the game. Turns out I had 15 minutes of gameplay left plus the final cutscenes. From what I remember playing II don't really know what to say about this one as I had played it back when it came out and got stuck on a level. By the time I decided I should try to play it again my PS3 died on me. So with a new PS3 and the HD collection underway I figured it was time for me to finish off the game. Turns out I had 15 minutes of gameplay left plus the final cutscenes. From what I remember playing I really enjoyed the game and all the gadgetry. I like the fact that you could shop anywhere you were and that there was no shortage of weaponry. The story is to blurry for me to comment on so I will just say that it had its moments, it was confusing, interesting to listen to, but confusing. Glad I played it and may return to it after I finish the HD Collection. Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    What all the complaining about? The worst things about this great gameare the cut scenes!while they are long its not like your forced to watch them just skip them & enjoy some of the best gameplay ever created! For me though I never skip the scenes their to well made to skip like when your fighting the gekko's while theirs a live cut scene of raiden vs vamp which is truly epic!! Now someWhat all the complaining about? The worst things about this great gameare the cut scenes!while they are long its not like your forced to watch them just skip them & enjoy some of the best gameplay ever created! For me though I never skip the scenes their to well made to skip like when your fighting the gekko's while theirs a live cut scene of raiden vs vamp which is truly epic!! Now some people say its only for fans but not really...if you want to no the entire history of metal gear then yiy can download it from psn for free. Theirs also a huge list of assault rifles smg's,shotguns and snipers to choose from even nudy mags to slow the enemy plus lots of attachments for your weapon of choice! The best thing about enemy engagements is HOW you can engage the enemy, you can snipe them all,sneak by them,or directly assault them...hell you can even make them laugh/cry/eager uncontrollably and just walk past them like a boss!! This game is near perfection with great graphics its story and the way you engage the enemy people with short attention span's need not ally here Expand
  28. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Although there are too many cutscenes that are too long, the game is fun to play and due to the ammount of unlockables there is some good replay value in MGS4.

    I almost cried at the end......
  29. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    WOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. TheWOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. The last MG I had played was on the ps1 and that was some piece of work. Metal Gear online is defunct unfortunately but this is a purchase that doesn't need online , as a stand alone single player game it is pure class. Highly recommended. Collapse
  30. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Need I say more about this game other than it being a complete masterpiece? Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is one of the few games that have a truly cinematic experience that works equally with the gameplay.

    Too many games nowadays take the cinematics for granted and they start to lose their charm when abused. When done right with games like Uncharted, Zelda, Mass Effect or
    Need I say more about this game other than it being a complete masterpiece? Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is one of the few games that have a truly cinematic experience that works equally with the gameplay.

    Too many games nowadays take the cinematics for granted and they start to lose their charm when abused. When done right with games like Uncharted, Zelda, Mass Effect or Metal Gear Solid, the games are just absolutely gorgeous and are visual and playable treats.

    Solid Snake, even as an old guy, is still a badass.

    This was the first MGS game I ever played, and it is still the best, followed closely by MGS3.
    Expand
  31. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    For fans of the stealth genera, you will want to buy this game. This game can be hard at times, but for hardcore players this is a good thing. The boss fights are amazing, and the story goes along perfectly. There are some flaws, and some aspects are overrated. One of the biggest points is that there are a lack of checkpoints throughout the game. Overall though for a $10 pre-owned MGS4,For fans of the stealth genera, you will want to buy this game. This game can be hard at times, but for hardcore players this is a good thing. The boss fights are amazing, and the story goes along perfectly. There are some flaws, and some aspects are overrated. One of the biggest points is that there are a lack of checkpoints throughout the game. Overall though for a $10 pre-owned MGS4, this game would be worth your time with its tactical-stealth experience. Expand
  32. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Easily the best game I've ever played, and likely ever will play. Touching story and characters, incredible ergonomically correct gameplay, fantastic graphics, and more. I'm shocked to see this has below a 98 by critics...
  33. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Five years later this game still holds up as one of the best ever released on the console. Everything about it is perfect for fans of the title's previous releases. Yeah, there are a lot of cut scenes, but you know that's going to happen when you're walking into a MGS game. Bottom line, one of the best games ever made on any system.
  34. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Good gracious. An amazing game that is definitely worth the time spent as well as the money paid. The campaign is so amazing and nothing is flawed. What an astonishing piece of work. The plot and plot twists leaves the gamers, including me, in a tearful trance and other times, super excited state. Ever since MGS1, I have always cried at one point or another in this game. That to me showsGood gracious. An amazing game that is definitely worth the time spent as well as the money paid. The campaign is so amazing and nothing is flawed. What an astonishing piece of work. The plot and plot twists leaves the gamers, including me, in a tearful trance and other times, super excited state. Ever since MGS1, I have always cried at one point or another in this game. That to me shows how integrated the story is and how connected the story is, to the most important person, the gamer! Must buy, super duper gameplay. If you buy this game, you will not regret it, but rather thank me and the thousands, matter fact, the millions, who have recommended this game to others. Expand
  35. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    Um jogo OBRIGATÓRIO para quem for adiquirir um PS3: gráficos maravilhosos, história boa e temática, personagens memoráveis retornam. O final bastante decepicionante (mas nem chega perto do final de Mass Effect 3), mas a jogatina boa.
  36. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    well i just started to review games because ive noticed a change w/ metacritic and decided it was time to view my voice, which is a non-biased and opinion of the overall exp with the game im rating. well to those who have yet to play this game.. now is a good time,lol.. 5-10 bucks to add one of my favorites to your library because i believe this game should be in everyones either havewell i just started to review games because ive noticed a change w/ metacritic and decided it was time to view my voice, which is a non-biased and opinion of the overall exp with the game im rating. well to those who have yet to play this game.. now is a good time,lol.. 5-10 bucks to add one of my favorites to your library because i believe this game should be in everyones either have played or own category. MGS4 well there is a lot of ground to cover with this game and there isnt enough space to describe the details and wonderful examples of developing perfection along w/ pretty cut scenes and visuals. this is one of those games which i cant help but smile when i think about it. there are many ways to tackle this game, many items to find and plenty of choices to make in regards to how you engage into the next act. stealth is my weapon of choice but can be very challenging which i always welcome in a game, a good but not frustrating challenge. it is a well thought out and designed game. snake has many gadgets and devices which allow him to be able to complete his missions in a tech savvy manner, also has an ipod to help him ease his mind along the way. he does smoke like a chimney but cigarettes help ease his nerves. snake faces the harsh reality of what is transpiring and his hunt for truth is emotional but he is a mans man and faces what ever it may be head on. people often take away from mgs4 because of some lengthy cut scenes , but i loved every moment of them and trust me when i say that the cut scenes do not take anything away from the gameplay or campaign, it adds a compelling story to it and i welcomed the story with open arms and was delighted with every part of this game, as far as glitches or bugs, well i will say this. NOTHING takes away the pure, wonderfully crafted game which i am a proud owner of. i bought this game years ago and to this day i do not see many games that can compare with the overall exp. yes games have new tech hence better capabilities as far as graphics etc, but in my honest opinion this game could be released next week and still would rank as a pure bred contender w/ "next gen gaming" thinking of this game is tempting me to put the disc in, thats how much i enjoyed it after playing through it 2 times already.

    its a bargain bin game by value, but it is a gem by design and always will be.
    p.s. if you have the game you can download the official guide/mgs4 encyclopedia for free. that in itself was very impressive and large in content/detail.. great game
    Expand
  37. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    The latest entry in the Metal Gear Solid series brings the age of Solid Snake to a fitting and beautiful conclusion. Not only the best game in the series, but far and away one of gaming's true masterpieces, a testament to the vision of Hideo Kojima and the dedication of his crew to letting one of gaming's all-time greatest characters go out with an earthshattering bang.
  38. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendaryMetal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendary thing, and at such cheap used prices nowadays, YOU GOTTA GET! Expand
  39. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    This game is deeper than almost any game you'll ever play: Kojima and co. really thought of everything, way into the smallest details. It looks stunning, the gameplay is good, and there is a good story too, supported by the many amazing cutscenes. Sneaking is a lot of fun, and it requires some skill too, since you have to pay attention to many things - direction of the wind, how nervousThis game is deeper than almost any game you'll ever play: Kojima and co. really thought of everything, way into the smallest details. It looks stunning, the gameplay is good, and there is a good story too, supported by the many amazing cutscenes. Sneaking is a lot of fun, and it requires some skill too, since you have to pay attention to many things - direction of the wind, how nervous you are, et cetera. Sounds difficult, but is a lot of fun. The many easter eggs and small references to the world outside your PlayStation keep the game fresh and fun. Expand
  40. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 was a game that showed the world that games can be art!
    People who complain about the cut scenes probably haven't played all the Metal Gear Solid's
    they explain the story of the game in a sad touching way to tell you what to do next or what's going to happen next. The music in the game is both great and sad. Our hero Snake will live on in the world, he was a great
    Metal Gear Solid 4 was a game that showed the world that games can be art!
    People who complain about the cut scenes probably haven't played all the Metal Gear Solid's
    they explain the story of the game in a sad touching way to tell you what to do next or what's going to happen next.
    The music in the game is both great and sad.
    Our hero Snake will live on in the world, he was a great character and will be missed.
    Expand
  41. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is a classic. Breaking of the 4th wall humor, deep story, great stealth gameplay, and the traditional long cutscenes are the good points of this game. If possible, I might rate this over 10 because this game is outstanding. IF YOU LIKE STEALTH GAMEPLAY WITH THE BEST STORY, GO BUT THIS GAME NOW.
  42. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Big Boss:"This is good...Isn't it?"
    A Lazy review you say after all those years passed by?
    But i better be lazy or i'll run out of 5000 characters limit we're talking about an end of a solid sake saga right here it's a LONG story.
    Let's just say quality wise there's "No place to hideo!"
  43. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    What can we say on that game? Overall, this is a really cool game, and you can spend hours and hours playing it. Graphics are amazing and real. Story is as good as always. Gameplay is fun.
  44. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    Games this good should be celebrated!

    it's a master of the craft simply showing off.

    There's so many metaphors and meanings in this game that they begin to mock themselves, mock you for enjoying them then makes you cry when it comes to it's end.

    it can be played in any way you want and is still a classic.
  45. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots It's, probably, the best PS3 game ever. With the stealthy and strategic gameplay, great and realistic graphics, unforgettable and interesting story Metal Gear Solid 4 is a game that revolutionize the series even more. (9.7 actually)
  46. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of this franchise since I played Metal Gear on NES. I consider Metal Gear Solid 4 to be the best of all. Snake, the main character, has never been so likeable, and even those who never knew him will soon enough love this guy. He's old, he's fighting enemies far stronger than him. He endures pain throughout the game, yet he never gives up. And he still has time to make us smile with his "simple soldier" reactions as he interacts with the other characters. This game is flawless. The animation still competes and even beats most games. The movement of the different characters, vehicles, and natural objects is extremely well made. The atmosphere of this game is incredible. The sound effects are top notch and the music comes in at the right moment to add more intensity to what is happening on the screen. The graphics are still very, very good. I believe they finally were equalled a couple of years ago by a few other games. This game's scenario is perhaps the only bad thing about it. It's complicated even for Metal Gear fanatics. The cutscenes are long, yes, but they can easily be equals to movie scenes you watch in theaters. Many of them are breathtaking in terms of epicness, and others add more character to the different people involved in the story. You will forever remember how you felt throughout your first playthrough of this game, it's so intense that you will sometimes think about it after playing it.

    You can complete levels in various ways depending on your style. Solid Snake is an expert at CQC ( Closed Quarters Combat ), and once you are sure enough of your skills, you will enjoy knocking out your enemies a lot more than simply shooting them. You have many many gadgets to help you in your quest and you can unlock many more as you play. Many have a cartoony feeling to it, such as the legendary cardboard box in which you can hide to avoid detection. There are no trophies for this game since it was released in the pre-trophy era of the PS3.

    This game has an online mode and it's lots of fun. You can do pretty much everything you do in solo mode. There's even a game mode that allows people to be Snake and his remote controlled robot while both teams fight each other. Some players have become experts now, and you might have a hard time winning, which can lead to frustration. You can, however, access a training area and be trained by one of the experts who can teach you how to play online.

    This game was already a classic the day it came out. It will forever be remembered by those who played it. In retrospect I believe nobody can give this game a bad note, it has to be 9 or 10. Those who gave it a lower note should not be worthy of writing reviews. This game is pretty much a cornerstone in video gaming and was, to me, the symbol of what PS3 ( and other same-gen consoles ) were going to do in the upcoming years.
    Expand
  47. May 8, 2012
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece in every sense of the word metal gear solid 4 does not only end a trilogy but ends a generation the right way i dont think anyone would have had it any other way
  48. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. I love this game so much. I've beat it on all difficulties. Every single person who gives this game a negative review is out of there mind. They can't deal with a game like this "everything has to have guns going off every 2 seconds" this is what COD has done to the gaming community. Its just a bunch of people who play this and say that thisThis is one of the best games I've ever played. I love this game so much. I've beat it on all difficulties. Every single person who gives this game a negative review is out of there mind. They can't deal with a game like this "everything has to have guns going off every 2 seconds" this is what COD has done to the gaming community. Its just a bunch of people who play this and say that this is to slow I have to go back to my FPS. And that is really sad. These guys will bring the downfall of good games in years to come. Everything will just try to be a FPS. Expand
  49. nop
    Mar 3, 2013
    9
    PS3 is worth buying for this single game. For me at least. Production values, quality of storytelling, character designs are top-notch. One must be warned though that every Metal Gear game contains many references to previous games in the series and you are losing a lot of fun if not playing them in correct order.
    As other reviewer said, this game is made for fans. Yes, it is over the
    PS3 is worth buying for this single game. For me at least. Production values, quality of storytelling, character designs are top-notch. One must be warned though that every Metal Gear game contains many references to previous games in the series and you are losing a lot of fun if not playing them in correct order.
    As other reviewer said, this game is made for fans. Yes, it is over the top, story is extremely convoluted and only works if you are familiar with characters already. Yes, I admit that I didn't have patience for some stealth segments because I just wanted to see story unfold or get to next awesome boss battle. Yes, this is a game where story makes up for all the minor flaws and quirks in core gameplay.
    And those who complain about realism should just grow up. Yes, games are not real, get over it.
    Expand
  50. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  51. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    I decided to pick this up again after the August trophy patch. It is a beautiful game in my opinion. The controls have been modernized so it took some adjusting to (I had been playing the MGS HD collection). The movies and cut scenes are excessive though well done. My girlfriend will sit and watch and attempt to follow the story, as ridiculous as it is. Overall this is a fantasticI decided to pick this up again after the August trophy patch. It is a beautiful game in my opinion. The controls have been modernized so it took some adjusting to (I had been playing the MGS HD collection). The movies and cut scenes are excessive though well done. My girlfriend will sit and watch and attempt to follow the story, as ridiculous as it is. Overall this is a fantastic metal gear experience and I'm glad I had an excuse to play it again. Expand
  52. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    I have played the game myself, 2 times, a while ago. But with the trophy's just kicked in, I picked the game from my shelf, just to play it again, and go hunting' (except for the platinum, 'cause the Big Boss Extreme title is waaay over my possibilities). Playing the game, the past two days again I realized why I fell in love with in in the beginning. The gameplay is so revolutionary, theI have played the game myself, 2 times, a while ago. But with the trophy's just kicked in, I picked the game from my shelf, just to play it again, and go hunting' (except for the platinum, 'cause the Big Boss Extreme title is waaay over my possibilities). Playing the game, the past two days again I realized why I fell in love with in in the beginning. The gameplay is so revolutionary, the story is awesome (even when I haven't played the other parts, which I will once I get the HD collection), music is bone-chilling great, but most of all: the interactions and AI are awesome. Further... I'm speechless. Definitely a must buy. Expand
  53. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    i heard this game was coming out for ps3, and i was so close to selling my xbox just to pick this game up. i didnt do that, luckily i had a friend that had both so i just borrowed his ps3 and copy of the game. not gonna lie here, this game is a good bit different than the other titles, but i think they were changes for the best. it plays more like a traditional shooter with stealthi heard this game was coming out for ps3, and i was so close to selling my xbox just to pick this game up. i didnt do that, luckily i had a friend that had both so i just borrowed his ps3 and copy of the game. not gonna lie here, this game is a good bit different than the other titles, but i think they were changes for the best. it plays more like a traditional shooter with stealth elements and choices. they kept the camo system and they have modern and futuristic weapons. snake is an old man in this game which i would prefer a playing as a younger snake but its cool. you can do tons of stuff in this game, shooting off your back, moving in a snake/ hump motion on the ground which is good for a few laughs, and the game has outrageously long cutscenes, bring some popcorn. cool story line, great graphics, nice gameplay, it finally feels smooth. 10/10 Expand
  54. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This is basically the best game I have ever played, the story is awesome, the gameplay is awesome, and it is also super balanced, you can decide if you want to be low profile or go guns blazing , the characters are awesome, the sneaking is awesome,the voice acting is awesome, for a 2008 game graphics are awesome, and metal gear online is awesome, and this game will keep you engaged , andThis is basically the best game I have ever played, the story is awesome, the gameplay is awesome, and it is also super balanced, you can decide if you want to be low profile or go guns blazing , the characters are awesome, the sneaking is awesome,the voice acting is awesome, for a 2008 game graphics are awesome, and metal gear online is awesome, and this game will keep you engaged , and also it will keep you in the edge of your seat from the first second you are playing to the climatic battle at the end of the title, this is an easy 10/10 Expand
  55. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    if not the best PS3 game ever created the series should have stayed PS3 exclusive now the series kinda sucks all they are making are prequels MGS4 is the perfect conclusion to the metal gear saga i dont want any prequels or sequels that will mess up this master piece cuz doing that is only messing up the series further more Kojima please cancel MGS V
  56. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favourite titles on PS3. Hideo Kojima has a sharp eye for details in games and one gets to appreciate this in MGS4. There is an insane level of detail given to everything from the menu, through the movie like cutscenes and to the gameplay itself. It is a unique experience on the PS3 and one you should not skip over. The environments are greatly varied and you'll find themThis is one of my favourite titles on PS3. Hideo Kojima has a sharp eye for details in games and one gets to appreciate this in MGS4. There is an insane level of detail given to everything from the menu, through the movie like cutscenes and to the gameplay itself. It is a unique experience on the PS3 and one you should not skip over. The environments are greatly varied and you'll find them a pleasure to see. Expand
  57. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" ButI just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" But within the hour I honestly couldn't put the controller down. MGS4's original and has an amazing story that most games lack now a days. Simply a masterpiece. Expand
  58. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Truly one of the best Metal Gear Solid games of all time, I recommend you play this if you're a true hardcore fan of the series.
  59. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    mgs4 shines so brightly its beautiful this is how games should it has stealth and has solid shooter mechanics. the story has twist and has alot of action in this story . This time around snake is old but he can still put up a fight with his octocamo suit. and a wide variety of weapons in his arsenal. The boss fights are amazing the story and gameplay are blended perfectly together alongmgs4 shines so brightly its beautiful this is how games should it has stealth and has solid shooter mechanics. the story has twist and has alot of action in this story . This time around snake is old but he can still put up a fight with his octocamo suit. and a wide variety of weapons in his arsenal. The boss fights are amazing the story and gameplay are blended perfectly together along with a story that will have you on the edge of your seat till the games final conclusion. The multiplayer is also pretty good I would recommend playing the campaign first which I found very enjoyable. This is a must own for any ps3 owner. Expand
  60. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    This game is the one game that rose the standard of gaming for me. This game taught me what a video game could be, it taught me to look at games with a critical eye, and in a way it ruin video game for me since I have yet to play a game that's in the level of this game. I had never played any metal gear game before this and only had a basic understanding of the story. It started out as aThis game is the one game that rose the standard of gaming for me. This game taught me what a video game could be, it taught me to look at games with a critical eye, and in a way it ruin video game for me since I have yet to play a game that's in the level of this game. I had never played any metal gear game before this and only had a basic understanding of the story. It started out as a rental because of all the rave review it got, and I was not expecting to much and planed to return it after I beating it, but boy did it surprise me. The story captivated me and was one of the few games that made me tear up in the end. I understand some complaints about the long cut scene but for me that only made this game so much better. In the end not only did I go out and bought myself a copy of the game before I beat the rental but I also bought MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3 just to experience the whole story. It's amazing that a game that I jump into in its fourth iteration without playing any of the previouse can still make me fall in love with the characters and plot. This game showed what so much more video games could be and because of this I never view video games the same again after playing this game. I went back to play some previous games that I find exceptional only to find it less astounding after experiencing MGS4. This game was a beautiful masterpiece and I dare to call it an art in par with some of the greatest movies and stories ever told. Expand
  61. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    I don’t care what some critics say; this is a worthy sequel to a worthy series. It is just as indispensible as the other Metal Gear games and the final scenes leading up to, and including, the final boss battle are some of the most well-designed, emotional and memorable scenes in a videogame.
  62. May 31, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of timeMetal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of time as Kojima's legacy, let alone a series that constantly improves and refines. Metal Gear Solid 4 brings to an end 20+ years of tactical espionage action, unforgettable characters and convoluted post-modern plotlines. With the sheer amount of essential engrossing cutscenes that take up your playtime, It's almost criminal that the game mechanics have been refined to such high standards this time around. But you won't care, because none of this is filler; with regards to certain pivotal moments in the story, Kojima has even found a way for you to watch and play at the same time. In this way it's a game of compelling opposites; cutscenes infiltrate the great gameplay, fourth-wall hammering innovations subvert the dominance of the sweeping story, and even though the game ends the tale of Solid Snake with such bold finality, I expect nothing more than his triumphant return. Expand
  63. May 28, 2012
    10
    To rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount ofTo rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount of detail on faces, the environment, and combat on a console game is mesmerizing. Watch the ripples of wind from a helicopter hit Snake's hair and clothes.] [Sound: 10, The guns are loud and echo in the distance. Metal Gear Gekkos, however, sound strangely like cows.] [Music: 10. Nothing less of orchestra and mixes of old and new electronica to give MGS4 a truly epic feel.] [Voiceovers: 9, worthy of a summer blockbuster movie, although I'm getting tired of Snake's overly scratchy, guttural voice.] [Gameplay: 9, the same sneak and disable (or kill) mechanics of the past Metal Gears are here, and are better than ever. Your advanced sneaking suit can camoflage to any surface, giving you a new level of stealth. A new feature includes holding an enemy hostage and firing over their shoulder. There is also a VERY wide array of weapons at your disposal, each coming with a detail description of their histories and capabilities, as well as upgrades. Another new option is switching between over-the-shoulder and FPS view for your firearms, which can be clunky or smooth depending on your settings. There's a slight learning curve for these new mechanics, especially if you're new to the series, but once you get used to it, the game is an absolute blast to play.] [Plot: 10, more interactive movie than a traditional game. MGS4's story is a bit convoluted, but becomes clearer as it moves along. It's themes of war, change and freedom is going to inspire a lot of philosophical discussion. Ultimately, once you discover Solid Snake's ultimate fate, you'll realize the overall direction of the story is more tragic than it is triumphant. Of course, for those who are impatient or have OCD, you can simply skip the cutscenes.] [Replay Value: 9. Four years after buying this game, I am still playing it with joyful glee.] Conclusion: MGS4 has showed how far video games have come as an art form, and will forever stand as one of the pinnacles of gaming. Expand
  64. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Expand
  65. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This may just be the best ps3 game i have this is so amazing if anyone says the game sucks because there are too many cut scenes then they have not played any good games this game gave me 12+ hours of fun its just too bad konami stopped online mode before i could try it out.
  66. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    This is by far my favorite of the series! The length of the cutscenes are not surprising since MGS does have long cutscenes in general. Gameplay is a bit more like a shooter and a bit too easy. The story and characters and story are stronger then they have ever been. This game contains nostalgia, good characters, great story, an amazing final boss, and the perfect ending! 10/10
  67. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Wow, I can't believe people are complaining about the cutscenes. I mean, there is a skip button!!!!!! The graphics are still up to par and this is 2010. What are you people playing? It's a classic MG game for this generation's console! If you didn't know you were going to be playing a true Hideo Kojima game, then take it back because you truly get your money's worth with MGS4!!
  68. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Just remembering about MGS4 brings a smile to my face. I avoid playing a game more than once (after I finished), but, with MGS4, I just can´t help it, it is so pretty and so fun that I keep coming back for more, like a crack cocaine addict...
    If you own a PS3, YOU MUST BUY AND PLAY THIS GAME.
  69. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This final chapter of Metal Gear Solid proved to be an excellent summary to the Solid Snake saga. Hideo Kojima employs many fluid characteristics throughout. There were many interesting plot developments within the story. Amazing technical tools are utilized as well. The single player campaign is a story that no one should miss. Now, I honestly take great exception to the multiplayerThis final chapter of Metal Gear Solid proved to be an excellent summary to the Solid Snake saga. Hideo Kojima employs many fluid characteristics throughout. There were many interesting plot developments within the story. Amazing technical tools are utilized as well. The single player campaign is a story that no one should miss. Now, I honestly take great exception to the multiplayer portion of MGS. Hideo Kojima forces you to sign up for a special MP service that is somewhat of a hassle to use. The system is very non-sensible in practice and I believe that this hurts what could have been a perfect game. Expand
  70. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    F''''ng incredible, so much depth the soundtrack, the plot, snake, the easter eggs, the characters, the control, the boxes, the bosses, the final boss with that you will cry buy it now if you like metal gear solid.
  71. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I could go on and on about how amazing and completely flawless this game is, but all I am going to say is Kojima himself predicted that "The Best Is Yet To Come" - And so here it is, the best video game to date. From story to graphics to gameplay to characters to soundtrack - Completely flawless. A masterpiece!
  72. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Metal gear solid 4 is the perfect game that tells that ending of the legendary hero Solid Snake and this game completely pull down the curtain on MGS Saga.If you have been following MGS Franchise.You won't regret about getting this game at all.

    PS:This game almost made me shed a tears T_T
  73. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece and brilliance that is Hideo Kojima, and the endless heroism that is Solid Snake. The Best game ever created an all platforms, the story is oscar worthy if ever this game goes to the silver screens i truly hope that it will some day
  74. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Magnificent! This game truly is the complete package. Stunning graphic's, smart physics, excellent appeal and just an all around great game to play. The PS3 fails in comparison to the Xbox 360 but this game excels far above any average PS3 game. This is the one game on the PS3 that I Love to play and can game this for hours on end. The setting of the game is just fantastic and the storyMagnificent! This game truly is the complete package. Stunning graphic's, smart physics, excellent appeal and just an all around great game to play. The PS3 fails in comparison to the Xbox 360 but this game excels far above any average PS3 game. This is the one game on the PS3 that I Love to play and can game this for hours on end. The setting of the game is just fantastic and the story and characters are even better. This is the greatest shooter game I have played with a great story to match. This game is to good to rate!!!! Unreal!!!!! Expand
  75. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    First off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest theyFirst off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest they read the cover of the game or look at the back-of-the-box features listed on any game case to see what kind of game it is. For example: are you a gamer who likes only RTS's? Than look at the game case and see how it reads: tactical espionage action. These are not words that desribe an RTS. So you probably shouldn't buy the game. Are you a person who doesn't like watching lengthy cut-scenes in a game? Well look at the back of the game case and you will find the words "Experience a stunning cinematic adventure that will keep you hooked until the very end". These words are obviously meant to say "Hey, we like fast-paced games as much as the next gamer, but we like to create a game with a deep story and interesting plot that engrosses you in a wonderful fictional world that has been telling a story since the first game." The metal gear series has always had lengthy cut-scenes and it is what has helped make the metal gear story the most compelling and awesome story in the history of video games. For those of you out there who are fans of the series or stealth games in general, I highly recommend you play this game. The controls are the best in the series, the graphics are phenomenal, and the set-piece moments will stay in your memory forever. The game sums up every plot questions of the entire series and the last hours of the game are the most emotional you will spend outside of a book or movie. Metal Gear Solid 4 is without a question a masterpiece, as not only is it an amazing game, but it is devoted to the fans that have loved the genre for so long. Expand
  76. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    It's a 10 from me. No explanation needed as it's Metal Gear Solid...But i shall digress...Kojima, you beautiful man you! Graphics are top class, even 4 years later...The story is phenom - enal! Plenty of twists and turns, a few nostalgic moments and an emotional rollercoaster that sometimes surpasses what some hollywood films can produce. If you own a PS3 but not this game, you're a penis.
  77. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    On it's own, it's a great stealth game, but if you played the whole series it's even better. If you love the story of Big Boss, and his clones, you have to play this game. What you will get is one of the most satisfying endings of video game history ever.
  78. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a legend in it's own right. Hideo Kojima did an amazing job for this game and it is a thrilling conclusion to Solid Snake. The game is truly breathtaking. The visuals are some of the best on the system and the splatter effects are quite well implemented. Environments are fantastic. All are well detailed and just a pure joy to explore. Sound is also used very well, you can hearThis game is a legend in it's own right. Hideo Kojima did an amazing job for this game and it is a thrilling conclusion to Solid Snake. The game is truly breathtaking. The visuals are some of the best on the system and the splatter effects are quite well implemented. Environments are fantastic. All are well detailed and just a pure joy to explore. Sound is also used very well, you can hear everything that is going on around you. Gameplay is great. Everything fits well. People may complain that it is a bit like a third-person shooter game, but there are many moments were stealth can and is implemented. The Drebin Shop system is a unique addition to the game. It is surprising about how well Kojima implemented it into the game. People may also complain about that. Here's an interesting bit of trivia, you don't have to use it if you don't want to. The game also carries over the stealth mechanics of camouflage from MGS3 and it works well with the game. Another new addition is the Psyche Gauge. It works much like the stamina gauge from MGS3, but this gauge is affected by stress that Solid Snake feels in the game, such as when he is being chased by guards or in an intense firefight. To replenish it, one must find a place to hide and wait for Snake's stress to lower so that the Psyche can recover. It's well used and it makes sense, after all, Snake is old. Controls are really tight. It works really well. The soundtrack is great. The orchestral scores are easily some of the best in the series. Boss battles are incredibly memorable and are some of the best. The last fight, is easily the best in the series. Lastly, the story is amazing. People complain about the long cutscenes, but you can pause it. The cutscenes are paint easily the most fantastic story in all of gaming. And people complain about how the story is unlikely. That is not true. The Patriots is a secret society, and our world is full of them. War is a present theme of the story, and it's foretelling a war economy which our world seems to be going towards slowly. As for the nanomachines, well, it is entirely possible. The story is beautiful, yet bleak and completely possible. The story is sad because all throughout it, people who are close to Snake die and soldiers on because he knows that unless he beats Liquid, all their deaths would be in vain. The story is the best part, and anyone who says otherwise are ignorant and don't understand Kojima's vision. It's so easy to talk about everything about this game. In total this game is perfect. 10/10. This game is worth any price, and it is a pure joy to play Expand
  79. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    this game is just one big piece of awsome .....and sadness the final part of the mgs saga mgs4 has old snake coming out of retirement and has to go kill liquid ocelot but there is one problem snake has accelerated aging this game has so man cutscenes but i could not decide whether this was a good thing or abad thing this game has less a focus on stealth and more a sense of action and thethis game is just one big piece of awsome .....and sadness the final part of the mgs saga mgs4 has old snake coming out of retirement and has to go kill liquid ocelot but there is one problem snake has accelerated aging this game has so man cutscenes but i could not decide whether this was a good thing or abad thing this game has less a focus on stealth and more a sense of action and the ending this is the sort of ending you cry at and anyone who says they didnt is either lying or a haertless **** Expand
  80. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece and a great ending to Solid Snake's legacy. The graphics, story and gameplay are all extremely well crafted. A definite must buy for any PS3 owner.
  81. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    One of the must own exclusives, and games period for the Ps3. Sure the cut scenes can be a bit long, but they help make the game the masterpiece that it is. This is a great game, and should be played by anyone who owns a Ps3. Would definitely buy this as a collector.
  82. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game truly was magnificent... I agree with most that it will stand the test of time as one of the greats of all time. There were a few "cheesy" moments in the story if you ask me that didn't add much but as far as the scope and magnitude of this effort it is right up there with Grand Theft Auto IV. This brings stealth, action, weapons, upgrades, and a fantastic story with epic bossThis game truly was magnificent... I agree with most that it will stand the test of time as one of the greats of all time. There were a few "cheesy" moments in the story if you ask me that didn't add much but as far as the scope and magnitude of this effort it is right up there with Grand Theft Auto IV. This brings stealth, action, weapons, upgrades, and a fantastic story with epic boss fights. A truly memorable experience every gamer should check out. I'd give this a 94 out of 100. Expand
  83. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is a fun game for the PS3 its story was great and it kept me playing the game till the end GREAT GAME! its a game ALL PS3 owners must have and play till the finish.
  84. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is no doubt the greatest single player experience ever to grace a console. The multiplayer is also pretty good, but I'll get to that later. Casual gamers may be turned off by the heavy reliance on strategy, especially for a shooter, but just because you aren't noob tubing across the map doesn't mean it's anything shy of an amazing game. Hideo Kojima delivered a complete package, with stellar graphics that, even 3 years old, beat anything on the market today. The character models are so real you'll swear it was filmed. The environments aren't original, but look spectacular. Now, as many gripe, the game does have plenty of cutscene. HOWEVER, a mere push of the start button brings up an option to skip a cutscene, and letting you get right back into the action. Gameplay revolves around either trying to be stealthy and remain undetected, or going out guns blazing and over powering the enemy. Each course of action has its own consequences - and get this - in the GAMEPLAY, not in the cutscenes (which remain constant on every play through) as with RPGs. With 69 weapons in your arsenal (plus 1 secret weapon), the options are incredible. You can set a C4 on a guard, and let him walk into a group, then blow them all up at once, for example. You could avoid detection by a chopper, or load up a stinger, then dive into the nearest dumpster. The sheer amount of possibilities for every obstacle brings this game to an unprecedented scale. Now the cutscenes are long, and frequent, but they are interesting and engaging. Anyone with an IQ higher than 80 (on a typical 50-150 scale) will be hooked, and absolutely engaged by the clever plot twists, background plots, real world references, series references, breaking of the 4th wall, and that scary sensation that Kojima has delivered (since the original MGS) that the (at least political) events of the game COULD ACTUALLY HAPPEN and may be happening as we speak (watch the infamous MGS2 "patriots" cutscene, and you'll always see the world in a new light). Even the casual, passive gamer won't help but be able to watch in awe at the more epic points of the story. The multiplayer is built on great mechanics, but the menus aren't user friendly, it takes a while to load, it taxes your internet connection, the expansions are far too costly, and it has become less and less active over time. Keep in mind Kojima did not plan on making Metal Gear Online, and it really is just a bonus to the amazing single player game. Kojima planned on delivering an unforgettable experience to his faithful followers, and he did just that. Many believe that MGS4 may have saved the PS3. That could very well be the case, and if so, it was more than successful. After all, "Just like your father... you're pretty good!" Expand
  85. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time so I'm probably a little biased towards MGS4. Kojima managed to make one of the greatest sequels ever made which became my favourite game of this generation in the years to come. I'll admit it took a few years for me to actually appreciate the game after playing all of it's predecessor's in the HD collection which is one of the best HD collections outThis is my favourite game of all time so I'm probably a little biased towards MGS4. Kojima managed to make one of the greatest sequels ever made which became my favourite game of this generation in the years to come. I'll admit it took a few years for me to actually appreciate the game after playing all of it's predecessor's in the HD collection which is one of the best HD collections out there at the moment, once I had played through Sons of Liberty, Snake Eater and Peace Walker I returned to Guns of the Patriots. Once completing the game I realised how much I actually appreciated the game, it's amazing story, awesome gameplay, outstanding visuals and those cut-scenes, oh man I love the cut-scenes. The emotional connection I had with the game once the credit's ended, I felt happy and sad at the same time. I won't spoil anything because of the level of perfection in the game but if you want to play it, I recommend that you play MGS1 3 and Peace Walker first to get the full benefit of the game, It's Metal Gear Solid 4: Gun's of the Patriots! Expand
  86. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Is it possible to give a game an 11? If so, this would be the game that would merit that score. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a title that exceeds all of the hype that was attached to the title.
  87. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals,
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals, music, boss battles, controller mapping, everything in MGS4 was flawless. I wish more games were this complete.
    9.7
    Expand
  88. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Metal gear solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is the greatest game I have ever played. Plain and simple. Incredible breathtaking story with a completely new control scheme that offers some of the most innovative stealth mechanics to date. A pure masterpiece all the way to its core. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this game. It's as perfect as a video game could possibly get.
  89. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the absolute greatest games I have ever played. Instead of telling you what's GREAT about it because you can read any of the good reviews to know that, I'm going to tackle the criticisms.

    Cutscenes The total length of time for the cutscenes clocks in at about 9.5 hours. That seemed a lot to me at first, but the scenes are so well done that if you are a fan of the series
    Simply one of the absolute greatest games I have ever played. Instead of telling you what's GREAT about it because you can read any of the good reviews to know that, I'm going to tackle the criticisms.

    Cutscenes The total length of time for the cutscenes clocks in at about 9.5 hours. That seemed a lot to me at first, but the scenes are so well done that if you are a fan of the series then you won't care.

    Graphics They're fantastic, especially for 2008's standards.

    Story I thought MGS2 was a bit convoluted, but this one was pretty easy to follow.

    Gameplay This one I didn't get. I played the game the way it should be played (Stealthily) and I thought there was plenty of gameplay. I also like exploring and acquiring items. If you just Rambo your way through the game then yeah, it's gonna feel light on gameplay, but these games aren't SUPPOSED to be played that way.

    With that said, I understand these games aren't for everyone, and I wouldn't suggest this to anyone who hasn't played any of the other games. It does, however, deserve a 10 in my opinion.
    Expand
  90. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This is the best franchise EVER MADE! If you havent play it yet, than you have to. I really love this game and all the series you really need to play this really great story and gameplay!
  91. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the greatest console game of this generation. Unfortunately MGS4 caters completely to the fans and those that don't rate this game highly are those that have not played the previous ones.
  92. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    Fantastic graphics, a great story (which is heavily tied in with the other Metal Gear Solid games) and excellent stealth gameplay round out the last of the MGS games. The biggest issue is that the game simply doesn't let you play it enough; it'll probably take a little over 20 hours to beat, but expect more than half of that to be taken up by cutscenes.
  93. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar forI will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar for best picture, just a flawless game, go get it, you will cry cause its so good! Expand
  94. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Flawless, this game is perfect. Playing Metal Gear Solid 4 was the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. The weapons are cool and the graphic's are great and the game play is amazing. This game was my all time favorite video game. There should really be another one cause I adored this game so much. Absolutely terrific!
  95. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    I just finished MGS4 for the first time and at first I was skeptical. I thought that a game made in 2008 would not be able to match the quality of 2012 games. Oh how I was wrong about that! Metal Gear Solid 4 is now one of my favorite games of all time.

    It's important to note that this game focuses heavily on story. In fact, you'll spend most of your time looking at cutscenes, some 30
    I just finished MGS4 for the first time and at first I was skeptical. I thought that a game made in 2008 would not be able to match the quality of 2012 games. Oh how I was wrong about that! Metal Gear Solid 4 is now one of my favorite games of all time.

    It's important to note that this game focuses heavily on story. In fact, you'll spend most of your time looking at cutscenes, some 30 minutes long or more. As a movie-lover, I have no objection to this. The quality of the cinematics, story and voice acting were enough to keep me interested all the way through to the end. Character design is fantastic and I can't help but liking every single person, even the bad guys. Fans of the previous games in the series would also be glad to see the references made to those classics. Hands down, Metal Gear Solid 4 has the best story in any game to date. Gameplay wise, MGS4 falls short of the quality of it's cutscenes. I could describe MGS4 as a movie first and a game second. The gameplay feels like filler segments between the cutscenes. An Act starts off with a 20 - 30 minute cutscene, you play for about the same time, then watch another half hour cutscene. But like I said before, I have no objection to this. I like the story driven nature of the game. If there is one thing Metal Gear Solid does differently in the gameplay category is that it isn't about combat as much as it is about stealth. I guess that's why they call it 'Tactical Espionage Action'. I'm more of a run and gun type of gamer, but that kind of thing gets you killed in this game. But it's a nice change from games I normally play. One downside for some gamers would be the lack of trophies. I think that trophies add a lot of replay value to a game and unfortunately they are missing here. However this does not take away from the experience. I played through without caring for trophies at all. I am glad that I decided to play Metal Gear Solid 4 and even today it is still one of the best games ever made. Fans of the Metal Gear series would not be disappointed. I think this is the only game I have played from beginning to end without raging a single time, despite all the deaths. I would definitely recommend it for any PS3 gamer. 5/5
    Expand
  96. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Awesome graphics, gameplay and sound.

    There are however to many too long cutscenes which can not be skipped and it lacks a bit in the lasting appeal aspect (multiplayer not so great and there are no trophies).

    Overall, awesome game to an awesome game series: 9/10
  97. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    By far the best video game I've ever played, I have played this so many times and it just keeps getting better, and the people giving it bad reviews have no taste in games
  98. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Pros:

    -Amazing story and ending (4+)
    -Nice Graphics (2+)
    -Fun Gameplay (2+)
    -Great soundtrack and voice acting (2+)

    Cons:

    - 90 minute cutscene crap (0.3-)
    - Clunky controls (personal opinion)
    - Cheesy (-0.1)

    Overall Score: 9.6/10. Extremely Awesome
  99. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome, the perfect end to the story of Solid Snake. MGS's fans is necessary have this game, if you unknown Metal Gear Solid's saga, get away from this game, and best begin with Metal Gear Solid 1 for PSX.
  100. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    This is an amazing installment in the Metal Gear franchise with the return of the lovely hero, Solid, or now known as "Old Snake". The story may be a bit over-complicated at times but it still holds of atrociously well, one of my gripes though, is that the boss battles aren't as good or memorable as in the previous games.
  101. Jul 15, 2012
    0
    WOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. TheWOW! I am 4 years late on this one. That said the graphics look cutting edge. The atmosphere, storyline, game physics and attention to detail are beyind sublime. Play this game how you want. Whether it be stealth, blatant combat or a bit of both. The sheer depth of skills , items and weapons Snake can utilise (and customize) are mind boggling. MGS4 is the game of it's genre ever made. The last MG I had played was on the ps1 and that was some piece of work. Metal Gear online is defunct unfortunately but this is a purchase that doesn't need online , as a stand alone single player game it is pure class. Highly recommended. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.