User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3628 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MeestYk
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Simply the best PS3 ever produced. When you think of a game given credit for graphics you tend to think it's a crappy gameplay in it, BUT it's actually the opposite. Solid Metal Gear 4: Guns of the patriots is simply well made for us, gamers. It has a great story sequel, a great game interface, deep characters realizations, and the action is just intense. You'll feel Simply the best PS3 ever produced. When you think of a game given credit for graphics you tend to think it's a crappy gameplay in it, BUT it's actually the opposite. Solid Metal Gear 4: Guns of the patriots is simply well made for us, gamers. It has a great story sequel, a great game interface, deep characters realizations, and the action is just intense. You'll feel completely drowned in it once you spend just a few minutes playing it. Highly recommended. A must have for all gamers who love games with a full story, freedom to do what you want with the weapons and gear customizations and its universe. Plus there's plenty of cinematics to pull you even deeper into this game. As a result, Hideo Kojima and his team pulled off a masterpiece with this latest installment. I highly praise this game as the GOTY for the PS3 system without a doubt. If there were an 11/10 this is it. Expand
  2. AlexAguilera
    May 31, 2008
    10
    I loved this game from start to finish and a great way to end the story of snake. I wish I could play as Snake when he was younger, but everything else in th game makes up for it. It's the whole package: Graphics, Gameplay, Presentation, Tilt, and Replay Value. Three words :Buy This Game! You will not be unsatisfied.
  3. AndrewP.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    if there was an 11, this game would get it. just buy it. It's ridiculous that Gears of War would get a 94 and this game would only get a 95... it goes to show you how skewed mainstream videogame journalism is.
  4. Tom
    Jun 25, 2008
    0
    A user said there isn't a game on the 360 that can top this? One word mate : HALO best video game on earth
  5. ArturoL.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Simply put, this is the first game that actually feels next-gen. There is no other offering in the market, in Xbox, Wii or PC that has the both the depth and instant accessibility of this game. Truly a masterpiece. From graphics to sound, from story to fun factor, from controls to whatever you want: this is an experience unlike any other on any console you will see this year, and the rare Simply put, this is the first game that actually feels next-gen. There is no other offering in the market, in Xbox, Wii or PC that has the both the depth and instant accessibility of this game. Truly a masterpiece. From graphics to sound, from story to fun factor, from controls to whatever you want: this is an experience unlike any other on any console you will see this year, and the rare example where the final product exceeds the sum of its parts. This is the killer-app the PS3 was waiting for. An honest-to-god reason that justifies its price tag (aside BDs). Do yourself a favor and go play this game. Expand
  6. joeg.
    Sep 7, 2008
    2
    Way too many cut scenes, crappy story, lame combat, bad frame rate, horrible textures. Just a sup par game in every way.
  7. OwnedL
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is old, tired and lonely (lol). You desreve your rest we salute you. Expand
  8. PetD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    Sorry, after MGS1,2 and 3 - where is 4? I mean, not these long and boring cutscenes. 20 minutes of cutscenes, 5 minutes of shooting (wheres stealth action?). I f i want to see a film, i go in cinema. this game is absolutely over hyped !
  9. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    There are few games which I would consider a visual masterpiece, nearer to art than any other form of media. MGS 4 Guns of the Patriots, is one of the closest games (in my opinion) to actually succeeding that feat. The game is simply a gorgeously outstanding masterpiece. The cutscenes are top notch and the Music is ever so compelling, it's just awesome
  10. MSchmid
    Mar 17, 2010
    9
    A masterpiece. With the sole exception of there frequently being EXCESSIVELY cheesy and mindless cut scenes (which already ticked me off in older titles), and a fairly bad storyline, it is just great. Graphics, controls, sound, gameplay... all done to meet an extremely high standard. I also liked the fact that you are now not forced to sneak as much as in some of the other titles in the A masterpiece. With the sole exception of there frequently being EXCESSIVELY cheesy and mindless cut scenes (which already ticked me off in older titles), and a fairly bad storyline, it is just great. Graphics, controls, sound, gameplay... all done to meet an extremely high standard. I also liked the fact that you are now not forced to sneak as much as in some of the other titles in the series, though it still remains an option. Expand
  11. KevinR.
    Apr 30, 2010
    10
    I hated the game at first. I got caught by enemies costantly and I died a lot. Then I finally understood how to play. I could sneak past hordes of enemies without them even noticing which is very satisfying. Then when I got a lot of weapons and got caught the shootouts were a lot of fun. There's a lot of replayability with the new game plus mode. A satisfying purchase in every way.
  12. AnonymousMC
    Oct 28, 2008
    7
    MGS 4 is an okay game. While the story is gripping the game play lacks as there isn't enough of it. The problem with this game isn't the game play it's the over use of cutscenes. The story is told with an average cutscene time of 35 minutes. While I love the MGS series this one was a step back instead of a step forward. MGS 3: Snake Eater is still the best in this series.MGS 4 is an okay game. While the story is gripping the game play lacks as there isn't enough of it. The problem with this game isn't the game play it's the over use of cutscenes. The story is told with an average cutscene time of 35 minutes. While I love the MGS series this one was a step back instead of a step forward. MGS 3: Snake Eater is still the best in this series. Buy only if you are a die hard MGS fan. Otherwise you money is well spent elsewhere. Expand
  13. AtratusS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set aside because you're not going to want to stop playing until you reach the end. Expand
  14. SanusiF.
    Jun 13, 2008
    1
    I did not wait three years to watch a stupid movie. I waited to play an actual game. Probably the most solopsistic effort I have ever come across. Wow. Talk about a crappy game.
  15. ClaudioR.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Excellent content, a game for mature audiences. It has so many things and options to explore. It may not be open world per se but it still offers a lot of options. Story is deep and you will want to follow it completely.
  16. LuisG.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    The Most epic game in years, truly one of the best games ever made, that continues pushing the envelope of cinematic, storytelling, and gameplay prowess.
  17. MarkD.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    I'm not sure what's wrong with GameDaily, games(TM), EuroGamer or Edge, but I don't see how you can give this game anything less than a 90, if that. While it does have it's slow moments (a certain cutscene takes forever - but to show everything that is happening in one second usually takes about 10 in any game or movie), it always speeds up just in time. The ony thing I'm not sure what's wrong with GameDaily, games(TM), EuroGamer or Edge, but I don't see how you can give this game anything less than a 90, if that. While it does have it's slow moments (a certain cutscene takes forever - but to show everything that is happening in one second usually takes about 10 in any game or movie), it always speeds up just in time. The ony thing I miss from any of the previous games is the animals; while there are a few, there are not as many as in MGS3, but this can be expected. There are other minor details that could've been clearer, but then the game would've taken another year, and the extra dwelling time for the developers and gamers would've only damaged the title further. Also, the Mission Briefing and Act screens are a little lame. I can't really say much about what makes the game good, because then I'll ruin it for any who have not played it. Expand
  18. JonasS.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing if you went through all the other games in the series... as long as you have a long enough attention span you newcomers to the series will have a blast!
  19. Phillip
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    This game had me completely satisfied through the whole thing. It was able to convey beautiful graphics, an astonishing storyline and made me feel completely content with it's amazing sound director. Ode to the Snake. This game, will, be on my top ten list of games for all time.
  20. RashadS.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    It lived to the hype. Don't be a fanboy, just play it yourself and see.
  21. GaseousSnake
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    If there was a game I could play forever this would be it. Everything rocks even especially the Metal gear mk 2 he gets an 11.
  22. MiguelM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    A game like this comes only every so often, a remarkable culmination to a remarkable series.
  23. LucaM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    2
    Very disappointed! It is a movie not a game! Just finished and, a part from some the technical issues, the in-game graphics looks horrible, very old gen with some horrible low texture. A part from that the interaction tooks approximatively 1/4 of the overal experience (let me say from 8 to 10 hours of real gameplay).
  24. KyleP.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Personally, the ending was something of a disappointment to me. But to take points away because I personally disagreed with a plot point would be a crime against what is probably the single finest game I have ever played.
  25. MikeD.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This game is epic. Aside from the amazing graphics and solid game play; Kojima has taken the art of video game story telling to another dimension.
  26. MartinJ.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This is a piece of brilliance created by Konami. It has one of the best storylines in a game ever and the gameplay is ultra realistic. I honestly don't know how anyone could not like this game!
  27. Goc
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Where do I begin? A perfect blend of everything. The timing and execution of a wealth of various gameplay elements are masterfully done. You'll be experiencing everything in this game; from chills to thrills, maybe even shed a tear or two in the process. Oh, yeah, and bring pop-corn for the long, yet beautifully done cut-scenes.
  28. TimVa.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Simply the most cinimatic and epic game ever made, i am a 100% diehard zelda fan and NOTHING has ever been ever to top that series.....well unfortunatly for Link, i have a new #1 game.
  29. TaiTan
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The best game ever created, period.
  30. AlexanderF.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best games I have ever played. While being my first proper run through of any MGS game, I had found the storyline intriguing and captivating. However, because of the absurd art style and themes (which I absolutely love), some people are going to be put off strongly. I recommend this game to everyone who owns a PS3, however I understand that this is not the game for This game is one of the best games I have ever played. While being my first proper run through of any MGS game, I had found the storyline intriguing and captivating. However, because of the absurd art style and themes (which I absolutely love), some people are going to be put off strongly. I recommend this game to everyone who owns a PS3, however I understand that this is not the game for everyone. People who are lost in the storyline may want to visit Metal Gear Solid, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty and Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater. Expand
  31. ChrisN.
    Jun 24, 2008
    8
    Wasn't all that great, decent but not nearly worth the hype it got.
  32. RB
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    I love this game! it's incredible! and one more thing, I Want kojima to direct the metal gear movie!!!
  33. SylwesterZ.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Excellent...just brilliant.
  34. Jonathan
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    I found this game to be more entertaining then anything thats on the 360 and Wii!
  35. LeoJ
    Jun 28, 2008
    10
    Metal gear solid 4 is a game that truley surpasses all. The game deserves an 11(IGN), even playstation haters decided to give it an amazing score(gamespot 10). Though pathetic reviewers such as Eurogamer which states that hardcore gaming wouldn't be here without microsoft gave MGS4 an 8. This industry has changed, and MGS4 is a game that will be remembered by all. GTA 4 is nothing Metal gear solid 4 is a game that truley surpasses all. The game deserves an 11(IGN), even playstation haters decided to give it an amazing score(gamespot 10). Though pathetic reviewers such as Eurogamer which states that hardcore gaming wouldn't be here without microsoft gave MGS4 an 8. This industry has changed, and MGS4 is a game that will be remembered by all. GTA 4 is nothing compared to MGS4. Expand
  36. MarcBaicu
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best ever made. I just wish that the last review (80) would just be deleted or something, because the reviewer obviously has no idea what he is talking about. We should start up a petition to remove the last review, its messing up the average!
  37. PS3FAN
    Jun 30, 2008
    3
    Too long movies made me sleep and too short playing time .But it's on PS3 so I give a 3 if it on wii or pc or360 i'll give a 0 .PS3 IS BEST.
  38. OtekaOmaru
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Haha! Those euro sites look like right arseholes right about now, don't they? Everyone gives the game 95 and up while they just sit there with their 80s. Need I remind everyone, that both Egde and Eurogamer, gave Halo 3 a shining 100. That says it all.
  39. MikeS.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    This is quite simply one of the greatest games I've played. It's also the greatest example of "games as art" to date. A masterpiece.
  40. CecilK.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    Okay, so it appears to me that more than half of the Users negatively reviewing this game are Halo-obsessed fanboys, who obviously can't understand and/or comprehend the absolutely amazing story this game has. I've played all of the MGS's (excluding Acid,) so I know what's going on and why. I suppose I can see somebody being completely confused just because they never Okay, so it appears to me that more than half of the Users negatively reviewing this game are Halo-obsessed fanboys, who obviously can't understand and/or comprehend the absolutely amazing story this game has. I've played all of the MGS's (excluding Acid,) so I know what's going on and why. I suppose I can see somebody being completely confused just because they never played 1, 2 or 3, but there's a reason that this is the fourth in the series. I mean, come on people. If you're used to games with incredibly expansive story-lines, then you'll probably be fine. If you're not used to the concept of "story" in a video game, (Yeah, I'm talking to you, Halo-fans) then either rent the first three so you can understand the story and become immersed in this wonderful game, or piss off. I mean, don't just rate it down because you can't go around head-shotting aliens for the entire game. Putting all of that aside, I have simply 3 problems with this game. 1) Meryl is too buff. Seriously, it's creepy for a girl to be that muscular. 2) Snake needs to stop getting it on with the ground. The slow-crawl looks way too...odd. 3) Beginning-game is way too slow paced. That being said, I bid you all farewell. Expand
  41. BobbyS.
    Jul 17, 2008
    0
    I had high hopes for this "game" but it turned out to be a boring movie with brief moments of interactivity. Everything you know and love about Metal Gear is DESTROYED by this rubbish. Don't waste your time with this, you think you're progressing through a story, but all it does is keep beating you over the head with a "War is bad" message. This game makes me ASHAMED to be PS3 owner.
  42. JorgeP.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Undoubtedly the best Metal Gear ever, the best game and story ending ever made. Kojima's Masterpiece!!!!
  43. Nate
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    Being someone who only played any of the other games for brief amounts of time. I had a pretty good idea of what was going on, this game is still pretty damn near perfect for what it is trying to do. It's the most cinematic and engaging games in a long time. I rated it a 10 because of that reasons. There may be quibbles but any of which are easily forgotten and overlooked. If pure Being someone who only played any of the other games for brief amounts of time. I had a pretty good idea of what was going on, this game is still pretty damn near perfect for what it is trying to do. It's the most cinematic and engaging games in a long time. I rated it a 10 because of that reasons. There may be quibbles but any of which are easily forgotten and overlooked. If pure action is your thing, you may or may not like the game. The action is fast and precise when it needs to be or slow and calculating if you so choose. Play it with an open mind or don't play at all, but don't knock it for going out with a bang. Expand
  44. TomG.
    Jul 6, 2008
    1
    I've pissed better games than this. I give it a one because David Hayter is a good voice actor.
  45. ML.
    Aug 10, 2008
    7
    Well, the gameplay is rather nice. BUT! There are far too many cutscenes and movies. I really do think I spent more time watching th movies, than I did playing the game. Without the cutscenes, the game is pretty short... I actually feel a little cheated, from them using so much "filler".
  46. PeterD.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    It is fair to say that MGS4 is one of the best games of all time. My only complain is that you need to have some background knowledge of the Metal Gear Saga to fully appreciate the story. But all-in-al dont miss out on this one.
  47. HughB
    Aug 6, 2008
    3
    I hate drawn-out cinematic. I hate Japanese style heroes that can magically be stabbed and shot before getting up to jump ten foot over 2-legged giant pelvis gunners and kill them. It takes the player out of the immersion of Snake's mission and bores me to tears. I loved the first MGS but this one angered me with that ripped-off feeling. CoD4 is infinitely better.
  48. DustinU
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Wow, seems to me like our friends from across the pond (in the UK) don't seem to like Kojima's latest masterpiece.

    Fine and good. I will at least maintain some respect for those who didn't like it because it was their first time playing an MGS game, however much they were warned that they wouldn't know what was going on unless ALL 3 previous games had been played to
    Wow, seems to me like our friends from across the pond (in the UK) don't seem to like Kojima's latest masterpiece.

    Fine and good. I will at least maintain some respect for those who didn't like it because it was their first time playing an MGS game, however much they were warned that they wouldn't know what was going on unless ALL 3 previous games had been played to completion beforehand. But to the others that are just bitching and moaning about how slow it is, if you don't like it, go back to playing Halo.

    THIS GAME WAS MADE FOR THE FANS!!!!!!! There, I wrote it in big letters so the half-brained members of society can read it and hopefully (yet in futility) try to understand what that means. If you loved MGS1 but found your interest start to fade in MGS2 and 3, you WILL NOT LIKE MGS4, so do all of us a favor and remove yourself from the ranks of those who play it, because you simply don't deserve to.

    And before I go, I feel the need to ask Bob R. to kindly remove himself with extreme prejudice from the human gene pool....this man's sole complaint was "You can't even molest Sunny, game was a let down.".....
    ......
    ......
    ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!?! That's not even the least bit funny you total failure of a human being.
    Expand
  49. AnonymousMC
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Dave N:" There's WAAAYYY too many cutscenes!"
    I disagree. I liked the quantity and quality of the cutscenes.
    Dave N: "The gameplay itself is boring!" I disagree. I found the gameplay great. Dave N: "The original games were infinitely better, because they had sensible cutscene lengths" I disagree. I remember the other games having 30+ minutes cutscenes too. Moral of the
    Dave N:" There's WAAAYYY too many cutscenes!"
    I disagree. I liked the quantity and quality of the cutscenes.

    Dave N: "The gameplay itself is boring!"
    I disagree. I found the gameplay great.

    Dave N: "The original games were infinitely better, because they had sensible cutscene lengths"
    I disagree. I remember the other games having 30+ minutes cutscenes too.

    Moral of the story: Hideo Kojima wanted to blur the lines between games and movies. Did he succeed? According to both negative and positive reviews, he sure as hell did. The problem lies in the assumption that a game should only have a story to complement the gameplay, but why can't it be the other way around? When people say "If I wanted to see a movie, I would've done so", I start wondering why they didn't. This is a game centered around the story and the cutscenes, it's your own fault expecting otherwise. You don't watch a Disney movie and complain about the lack of tits and decapitations, likewise, you don't play a MGS game and complain about the amount of cutscenes.
    Expand
  50. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. If you own a PS3, then you need to have this game in your library. Fans of the series are the ones who will find the most to love about this game. But even if you are a newcomer to the series this game will get you hooked into the Metal Gear mythos.
  51. JW.
    Feb 20, 2009
    3
    There's barely a game here, 5 mins of gameplay followed by 20 mins of cutscene, the final cutscenes in particular are painfully overlong. Graphically it's OK and the music is great. They've obviously spent a lot of money developing it, but this clearly doesn't make it a great game. I can't recommend this to anyone but the most fanatical MGS fan. I returned my copy.
  52. AndreyK.
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    Probably the biggest blow out of the MGS sage. This masterpiece is just like a bible, thats puts all the stories in one, major point. Don't even have the words to describe it. Although I've never played MGS3, I still was able to pick the story connected to the previous parts (MGS1 & MGS2) and reconstruct missing link (MGS3). I'm not such a fanboy nor die hard gamer, but for Probably the biggest blow out of the MGS sage. This masterpiece is just like a bible, thats puts all the stories in one, major point. Don't even have the words to describe it. Although I've never played MGS3, I still was able to pick the story connected to the previous parts (MGS1 & MGS2) and reconstruct missing link (MGS3). I'm not such a fanboy nor die hard gamer, but for me , since MGS1, Snake had a special meaning. Especially after the last cut scene of the game, I almost dropped a tear. Expand
  53. Voodooman
    May 8, 2009
    3
    I almost absolutely agree with Dave N. Obsessed fanboys are just blind to see the fact that this game is bad a game with outdated gameplay (that basicly is same as it was 10 years ago, with the exeption that THIS ISNT STEALTH ANYMORE, BUT STUPID SHOOT-EM-UP) that feels more like arcade mario than realistic tactical stealth game like splinter cell and thief, and it many gamedesign I almost absolutely agree with Dave N. Obsessed fanboys are just blind to see the fact that this game is bad a game with outdated gameplay (that basicly is same as it was 10 years ago, with the exeption that THIS ISNT STEALTH ANYMORE, BUT STUPID SHOOT-EM-UP) that feels more like arcade mario than realistic tactical stealth game like splinter cell and thief, and it many gamedesign mistakes. Also blind fanboys who gives a 10 for its MOVIE-likeness cant just see that this is average movie with a lot of plot holes, Bolywood-style (aka indian movie) overacted "drama" like meryl and sosaki "love" and like raiden who seems to be killed by massive Arsenal gear, but ten minutes later we can see him alive just without arms... and the last scene where due of commercial reasons snake decide to stay alive when he should die for good... And this whole stupid death of Naomi from something that aint look and aint work like death from cancer (its was better to kill her with foxdie). And the whole plot, consist from to much Re-used elements that Kojima uses again and again from MG 2: Solid Snake, so long before release of MGS 4 i predicted 80% of story exactly right, and those 20% i was wrong about are these plot-holes (when kojima just forget what he said in previuos parts and when he makes some irrational story decisions). Welll the fact that there are more cut scenes than gameplay isnt that bad, but again these scenes and whole plot not good and not well verified like it was in MGS 1 and MGS 2. And again gameplay is separate story that will not fit into this small comments window. But its borring, not stealth at all, stupid and too mach arcadish and classic, that feels like game from PSone released in 1998, but not like the our day modern and realistic games . Kojima just stuck in 80th-90th design era, and too much conservative to move beyond this prehistorics { ! } and this { ? } icons over head of AI that spawns infinite and act same stupid like a bad toilet jokes about sasaki`s health problems. I was waiting for this so many ears since MGS 2, but it the end i get nothing but frustration, so after i finished game 3 times in a first week of release i gifted my copy of MGS 4 to the guy who let me rent his PS3 (yeah i wasnt stupid enoght like others to buy the inferior console - the outsider of current generations, just for one soap bubble like MGS 4) (( Its worst ever Metal Gear for sure. Expand
  54. AnonymousMC
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    really, people who gave this a low score are either xbox fanboys or have real bad taste in games. yes this game has some faults but when i finished the game for the first time i had to take time out to catch up with what i had just played. i read a review on here from someone giving it a 3 and saying how bad it was only to say that he passed it for the 3rd time b4 giving it away. wow.really, people who gave this a low score are either xbox fanboys or have real bad taste in games. yes this game has some faults but when i finished the game for the first time i had to take time out to catch up with what i had just played. i read a review on here from someone giving it a 3 and saying how bad it was only to say that he passed it for the 3rd time b4 giving it away. wow. really its so bad that u have to play it 3 times? cmon. Expand
  55. Ahseb
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This game is so freakin' awesome. I'm so glad I bought it, I'll never, NEVER, give it away. Every time I play it I'm astounded by the graphics, which won this game more Graphical Awards than any other game for quite some time, the story is so in-depth and beautiful, I don't care about the long cutscenes. I'm too busy trying to keep my jaw off the floor This game is so freakin' awesome. I'm so glad I bought it, I'll never, NEVER, give it away. Every time I play it I'm astounded by the graphics, which won this game more Graphical Awards than any other game for quite some time, the story is so in-depth and beautiful, I don't care about the long cutscenes. I'm too busy trying to keep my jaw off the floor because I'm so impressed. The gameplay and controls are the most tighest I have ever witnessed in a game, I swear. And I'm not the only won who thinks so. MGS4 is the best-selling game for the PS3, with over 4.75 million sold. That's more than GTA4 and COD4 (for the PS3). It's also won more GOTY awards than any other game in 2008. Just look at what the critics had to say about it: IGN: "Is it possible to give a game an 11? If so, this is the game that would merit that score" Gamespot: "MGS4 is the most technically stunning video game ever made" Gamepro: "The Playstation 3 finally gets its "savior", Kojima gets his masterpiece, and gamers get one of the best games of all time. " Anyone who gives this game lower than an 8 is obviously retarded. The above explains why. LONG LIVE HIDEO KOJIMA! Expand
  56. DavidSchmidt
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    This game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and actionThis game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and action sequences that rival most Hollywood movies then you need to play this game. When I had finished this game all I immediately called up my friends to talk about how incredible this game was. This game is truly a single player masterpiece and if you haven't played it yet do yourself a favor and go buy/rent it. Expand
  57. AJHill
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls.

    There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10.
    The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever.
    Absolutely amazing.
  58. Justin
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Great game. Amazing storyline that gets confusing at times, but worth it. The cut-scenes are long but that makes the game so much better. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because of my inability to watch the epic Raiden vs. Vamp battle. The whole splitscreen that goes on is cool, but what use is it if all my attention is directed at not dying and killing a bunch of robots. Awesome game.
  59. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    Fantastic graphics, good gameplay and fairly non-linear objectives made the first few levels really enjoyable, but I quickly became increasingly frustrated with the volume and length of the cutscenes - if you were to take them all out, you'd find that there's hardly any actual "game" here at all. Some of the objectives aren't clear, and you have to keep repeating sections Fantastic graphics, good gameplay and fairly non-linear objectives made the first few levels really enjoyable, but I quickly became increasingly frustrated with the volume and length of the cutscenes - if you were to take them all out, you'd find that there's hardly any actual "game" here at all. Some of the objectives aren't clear, and you have to keep repeating sections over and over until you get it right. The bit where you get to play as Snake in MGS1 was genius though, but it just made me want to dig it out of the loft and play it through again rather than sit through any more of this pile of drivel. Expand
  60. MikeS
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    It's Easy To See How The Cutscenes Can Drag On And On To Some People. But only the kind of people that don't care about the story and just want to shoot things. And The Online Takes About An Hour To Set Up The First time, With Updates Which last over an hour. But none of this matters If you're looking for a great story, amazing graphics, Interesting characters and Brilliant It's Easy To See How The Cutscenes Can Drag On And On To Some People. But only the kind of people that don't care about the story and just want to shoot things. And The Online Takes About An Hour To Set Up The First time, With Updates Which last over an hour. But none of this matters If you're looking for a great story, amazing graphics, Interesting characters and Brilliant Stealth action. And, If You Can be bothered, the online is great too. Expand
  61. solfernandes
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    great game one of the best out their and a dam good reason to own a ps3 although cutsceans are long and are around every corner they are intresting but like every mgs game you do need a basic knowledg of the other mgs games for any thing to make any scense havent played the online though scencse the updates take a fantastic amount of time to download
  62. AaronV
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The only thing I regret after playing is that I can't imagine a better piece of gaming or film coming for a decade. I think most of the people who have played it will agree that anyone who gives a blatantly bad review just doesn't really get it. Some are even claiming to be long time fans. Cutscenes are too long? Says who, the Pac-man dev team? There are Absolutely amazing. The only thing I regret after playing is that I can't imagine a better piece of gaming or film coming for a decade. I think most of the people who have played it will agree that anyone who gives a blatantly bad review just doesn't really get it. Some are even claiming to be long time fans. Cutscenes are too long? Says who, the Pac-man dev team? There are varying genres of games, the MGS series is one in it's own, bordering on film, but not restrained by time. There are plenty of lame first-person shooters being pumped out of the machine if you enjoy them more. I'd say most real fans were sad to see it end. Someone even said it is too difficult. If the difficulty options were not clear enough at the beginning then consult the manual, or better yet try a more "child friendly" product, this is a game for adults. Being a fanboy and praising something you love is one thing and lots of reviews are guilty of that but getting pissed and giving a 0 to a piece of art you didn't even try and appreciate is just disappointing. Popular review sites and magazines generally have a good view of what is good and bad in this generation of video games(the same can't be said for film reviewers sadly). MGS4 follows and in some areas exceeds the previous titles in the series. It's fun, smart, different, beautiful, emotional, and engaging. Expand
  63. JoeR
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    This was the first metal gear game I've ever played, and while it was a little hard to follow not knowing the back story to it, I thought the game was unbelievably entertaining, and well worth the full price. I would recommend this game to pretty much anyone who enjoys stealth games and anyone who enjoys 3rd person shooters. I think what I enjoyed the most was the option to either This was the first metal gear game I've ever played, and while it was a little hard to follow not knowing the back story to it, I thought the game was unbelievably entertaining, and well worth the full price. I would recommend this game to pretty much anyone who enjoys stealth games and anyone who enjoys 3rd person shooters. I think what I enjoyed the most was the option to either sneak around enemies, or, if you were feeling a little bored of that, to just blow through them with your absolutely enormous arsenal of weapons. Fantastic game. Expand
  64. ScottF
    Mar 30, 2010
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. I loved MGS1 & 2 as they featured lots of tight stealth action. However, I found MGS4 left me cold. Instead of sneaking correctly through the more open ended levels, I found it easier to just run through in the open in a dash to the next checkpoint. I found the cutscenes stupidly long, and excruciatingly boring. Whats the fun in playing for 5 minutes, I really wanted to like this game. I loved MGS1 & 2 as they featured lots of tight stealth action. However, I found MGS4 left me cold. Instead of sneaking correctly through the more open ended levels, I found it easier to just run through in the open in a dash to the next checkpoint. I found the cutscenes stupidly long, and excruciatingly boring. Whats the fun in playing for 5 minutes, and then watching a mind numbing 20 minute cut scene? Another 5 mins of playtime, and another 20 mins of putting the pad down and twiddling your thumbs? It'a an absolute mess of pacing. The game is technically very sound, and if you are a big MGS fan you might be able to put up with it and enjoy it. But for non series fans, and people who actually want to PLAY a video game, and not just stare at cut scenes, steer clear. Expand
  65. Randyb
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    MGS has long been a outstanding franchise and guns of the patriots is the single exception, It is a masterpeice. This game could be no better, the conclusion to solid snakes legendary adventures is the best installment in the series and the rest falls in line. First of, metal gear solid 4 is fun to play! the weapon upgrade system is great and the gunplay itsel is addicting to the extreme. MGS has long been a outstanding franchise and guns of the patriots is the single exception, It is a masterpeice. This game could be no better, the conclusion to solid snakes legendary adventures is the best installment in the series and the rest falls in line. First of, metal gear solid 4 is fun to play! the weapon upgrade system is great and the gunplay itsel is addicting to the extreme. Of course stealth is a supreme option as well and it transcends my old standards of what stealth in a game means. The story never faulters and returning to shadow moses is more then nostalgic. Most interesting component however is the characters, Old snake is fascinating and raidens redmption story is awesome. sound has always been important in MGS-hearing the "youve been detected" excalmation point is just as heart-racing as ever and the score is wonderful, using an ipod found n the game world you can play tracks spanning the series 20 year history-including metal gear one and two tracks-nd theres even in-game podcasts to listen to. Its not often a game is annouced and i have no doubts that it will be a great game, but when that game is by kojima productions i know it will be more then great, and Guns of the pariots is proof to that. Expand
  66. EdgarVeríssimo
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is pure genious, from the graphics to the gameplay which come together to create a very intense experience... crippled only by the fact that you almost don't need the controller due too an enormous quantity of cutscenes from the very start to the awesome finale...
  67. AlbertCiccon.e
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game was not intended for people to just pick up and play without any prior knowledge to the game. Calling it boring is just pathetic and inexperienced... Its kind of like an inside joke, unless you know what Kojima is expressing, your'e left completely out of the loop. That is exactly what Kojima was trying to achieve in this Fantastic Finel installment of MGS.
  68. JalexD.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    It sounds cliche, but for nearly four months, I have thought of this game as THE greatest game ever. All the amazing things one can do in the game as well as all the amazing cinematics make this a truly incredible game. It innovates even more than previous 'Metal Gear' titles and polishes every single game mechanic to an absolute shine. It's great drama. It's great It sounds cliche, but for nearly four months, I have thought of this game as THE greatest game ever. All the amazing things one can do in the game as well as all the amazing cinematics make this a truly incredible game. It innovates even more than previous 'Metal Gear' titles and polishes every single game mechanic to an absolute shine. It's great drama. It's great fun. It's great immersion. Expand
  69. MGSforever
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    The graphics will blow you away. The stroy will blow you away. Everything will blow you away. The gameplay is extremely innovative. One level you're blowing up a bunch of baddies in the middle east, next you're traking down a scientist using only your wits, then one level you get to actually CONTROL a metal gear. I swear that particular level was THE funnest level out of any The graphics will blow you away. The stroy will blow you away. Everything will blow you away. The gameplay is extremely innovative. One level you're blowing up a bunch of baddies in the middle east, next you're traking down a scientist using only your wits, then one level you get to actually CONTROL a metal gear. I swear that particular level was THE funnest level out of any game I have played. Kudos to you Hideo Kojima. You have done it again. Expand
  70. mikemike
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    if someone puts in this game 5 or 0 just doesnt understand the story and that kojima is trying to end a perfect end with an appropiate sotry so all of you go to hell and learn how to play a game.Alsp please stop gaming you are just embarrasing it
  71. AustinH.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    What can I say? MGS4 is, in the simplest terms, a masterpiece. The story-telling is simply phenomenal, the story itself and character design is a work of art, the graphics set the new standard in consoles, the sound effects and voice acting are breathtaking, and the end result is THE game of our generation. Of course, the game will have its fair-share of "haters", but as you can tell by What can I say? MGS4 is, in the simplest terms, a masterpiece. The story-telling is simply phenomenal, the story itself and character design is a work of art, the graphics set the new standard in consoles, the sound effects and voice acting are breathtaking, and the end result is THE game of our generation. Of course, the game will have its fair-share of "haters", but as you can tell by the universal acclaim, it's an astonishing step-forward in gaming. Expand
  72. KeithLamprecht
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Truly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a systemTruly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a system that can provide such great graphics, sound, and realism, this game will blur the line between games and art. Expand
  73. MartinAndy
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Epic from start to finish. I received an early copy of the game, and for a MGS4 it is nothing short of pure brilliance. You will NOT be disappointed. If you have been a fan of the series, this is utter perfection. Enjoy on June 12th.
  74. solidzellmofasa
    May 30, 2008
    10
    i bet my friend $400 that metal gear is going to win game of the year he bet on grand theft auto 4.gta is way over rated and i own the game it deserves a 7 and mgs4 derves a 10 this is way better than gta4 on graphics,gameplay,trill,story and lets not forget the legendary snake can kick the russians butt
  75. JohnA.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    OMFG this game is the best game of ALLL TIMMEEEEE What an amazing piece of software....best game on planet earth HANDS DOWN! Wow...just wow.
  76. ChrisLou
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    In short, Metal Gear Solid 4's gameplay takes the best of the previous MGS games while mixing elements from Resident Evil 4.

    The story does a spectacular job concluding Old Snake's journey that will please fans over and over.

    This game is truly one of the greatest and most memorable games to date.
  77. JackP.
    Jun 11, 2008
    4
    Games like this are just too slow paced for me. I'm more of a run in and kill everything type a guy. Not a hide and wait guy.
  78. RichardR.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    I have been waiting for this game for 4 years, and it has met and exceeded my wildest expectations. Arigato Kojima-san.
  79. BobM.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    It's the small things that count, right? MGS4 definitely excells in this and all other areas. From the animations to the way Snake acts, everything is perfection.
  80. TimNA
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Metal gear solid so far for me has greatly exceeded my expectations, and the reviews for it thus far on here have truly been piss poor the sheer quality of this game. Edge is obviously a sell-out magazine now after giving GTA4 100% despite the OBVIOUS Fps issues in the game, yet gave MGS 80, GTA learned from hindsight aswell. The graphics, voice-acting, story and game play completely Metal gear solid so far for me has greatly exceeded my expectations, and the reviews for it thus far on here have truly been piss poor the sheer quality of this game. Edge is obviously a sell-out magazine now after giving GTA4 100% despite the OBVIOUS Fps issues in the game, yet gave MGS 80, GTA learned from hindsight aswell. The graphics, voice-acting, story and game play completely immersed me in playing, one game that has actually been able to grab me and force me to play on and on, I can't tear myself away, Immersion is a rarity in games these days. MGS even has comedy in the game to boot, As usual Fruity Koj has added some things in the game that will make you jump up and go "Holy crap i get that". Best game I've played in years, probably the best purchase I've done in my life. Expand
  81. BenW.
    Jun 12, 2008
    6
    Install times are annoying. Some cut scenes are way too long, and provide nothing to the MAIN plot. Controls could be a lot better.
  82. LeonF.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Since everyone reviews it already b4 its out. I'll give it a 10.
  83. JAce
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It really is as good as it promised to be - maybe even better.
  84. MikeG.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Simply Stunning, what more can I say.
  85. MikeM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Simply incredible. This game is a masterpiece.
  86. KritU.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    The best game I have played in a long time. who cares if the cut scene is long when they are high quality ones. Who cares if there isn't as much shooting. Do your research "gamedaily" MGS series have never been in FPS gene. My bottom line is, who cares if this is the first and might be the only high quality exclusive PS3 offers so far. It's far beyond the 360's The best game I have played in a long time. who cares if the cut scene is long when they are high quality ones. Who cares if there isn't as much shooting. Do your research "gamedaily" MGS series have never been in FPS gene. My bottom line is, who cares if this is the first and might be the only high quality exclusive PS3 offers so far. It's far beyond the 360's exclusives' qualities combined. Then again, that's only my opinion. Expand
  87. SteveG.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    A stellar game for veterans of the series.
  88. Ape15
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    The most disapointing game I have ever played more dissappointing than halo 3 ,which was pretty bad I stayed with Sony For my love of this franchise but having seen the end result I may as well have bought a wii.... at least it has games that don't call themselves the best game of all time and then turn out to be.... Garbage.
  89. ElliottP.
    Jun 13, 2008
    6
    This game is a lot less than it could've been. I'm sorry to see that too, since it's the last game in the saga. Oh well.
  90. FarooqA.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    So immense and "COMPLETE" ! I would've given it a 13/10 if there had been an option... no words to express this game, you just NEED to experience it first hand, for crying out loud!
  91. JimB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    The game simply lives up to the hype. I am not a MGS fan from long ago, never played it until recently. This game appeals to all kinds of players, and styles. Graphically it pushes the PS3 to the limit. The storytelling is the best I have ever seen in a game. Finally, the online is simply fun with the automatching making things interesting. If you have a PS3 you must own this game.
  92. JasonS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I couldn't ask for a better game. Blew me a way!
  93. AnonymousMC
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    Great game, not quite up to the hype but never was going to live up to it. The gunplay has been vastly improved by adopting the option to use a gears of war or call of duty perspective. The camera is now free to move like in portable ops which is much better and the octocamo is fantastic, so many options on how to play the game depending on your tastes. If you liked the other games in theGreat game, not quite up to the hype but never was going to live up to it. The gunplay has been vastly improved by adopting the option to use a gears of war or call of duty perspective. The camera is now free to move like in portable ops which is much better and the octocamo is fantastic, so many options on how to play the game depending on your tastes. If you liked the other games in the series then you will like this but if hated them then this wont change your mind. Only grumble is with the respawning enemies in certain areas and it could of done to be longer. Expand
  94. KeithC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    5
    The movement of the character is not smooth at all... I don't understand why this game must be on a blue ray disc.
  95. Chris
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Wow. What an experience. This game was not meant to be a shooter, the main complaint I've seen thus far. It was meant to be one of the greatest stories told in video game history. RPG's don't even reach this story mastery very often (except Mass Effect). The experience this affords can make you smile, laugh, and cry. Just pick it up and see for yourself.
  96. BryanJ.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome new PS3 game! It defines the PS3 because it has such revolutionary graphics and gameplay and it couldn't be a better end to the snake series. Buy now!
  97. PedroS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    An excellent finale for the series. Pretty much exactly what I expect from a new metal gear game.
  98. HarniqS.
    Jun 14, 2008
    5
    Good game but horribly overrated/overhyped. The biggest problem is it's niche market. Whilst it might cater to some people, it won't bring new people to the series nor be a huge system seller. After the most likely lackluster sales, it might even come to the 360 so no rush for a PS3.
  99. DanW.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Who needs Hollywood? This game is absolutely stunning.
  100. DanM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Haven't got it yet, but have seen a leaked sending video, it will blow your mind with the ending alone, such a greart way to warp things up, I expect the rest of the game to be very playable just like the previous ones, but it deserves a 10 just for that end sequence in my eyes. Kojima please make a sequel to Snatcher now!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.