User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3234 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and alsoThe true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of this franchise since I played Metal Gear on NES. I consider Metal Gear Solid 4 to be the best of all. Snake, the main character, has never been so likeable, and even those who never knew him will soon enough love this guy. He's old, he's fighting enemies far stronger than him. He endures pain throughout the game, yet he never gives up. And he still has time to make us smile with his "simple soldier" reactions as he interacts with the other characters. This game is flawless. The animation still competes and even beats most games. The movement of the different characters, vehicles, and natural objects is extremely well made. The atmosphere of this game is incredible. The sound effects are top notch and the music comes in at the right moment to add more intensity to what is happening on the screen. The graphics are still very, very good. I believe they finally were equalled a couple of years ago by a few other games. This game's scenario is perhaps the only bad thing about it. It's complicated even for Metal Gear fanatics. The cutscenes are long, yes, but they can easily be equals to movie scenes you watch in theaters. Many of them are breathtaking in terms of epicness, and others add more character to the different people involved in the story. You will forever remember how you felt throughout your first playthrough of this game, it's so intense that you will sometimes think about it after playing it.

    You can complete levels in various ways depending on your style. Solid Snake is an expert at CQC ( Closed Quarters Combat ), and once you are sure enough of your skills, you will enjoy knocking out your enemies a lot more than simply shooting them. You have many many gadgets to help you in your quest and you can unlock many more as you play. Many have a cartoony feeling to it, such as the legendary cardboard box in which you can hide to avoid detection. There are no trophies for this game since it was released in the pre-trophy era of the PS3.

    This game has an online mode and it's lots of fun. You can do pretty much everything you do in solo mode. There's even a game mode that allows people to be Snake and his remote controlled robot while both teams fight each other. Some players have become experts now, and you might have a hard time winning, which can lead to frustration. You can, however, access a training area and be trained by one of the experts who can teach you how to play online.

    This game was already a classic the day it came out. It will forever be remembered by those who played it. In retrospect I believe nobody can give this game a bad note, it has to be 9 or 10. Those who gave it a lower note should not be worthy of writing reviews. This game is pretty much a cornerstone in video gaming and was, to me, the symbol of what PS3 ( and other same-gen consoles ) were going to do in the upcoming years.
    Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals,
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals, music, boss battles, controller mapping, everything in MGS4 was flawless. I wish more games were this complete.
    9.7
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also likeAbsolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Personal favorite in the series followed by Sons of liberty, the original, and then Snake Eater, a game which happens to become better when the series is complete. Guns of the Patriots includes all the great things from its predecessors and follows with its own brilliant work. Play it if you have not yet done so.
  7. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls. There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10. The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever. Absolutely amazing.
  8. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the greatest console game of this generation. Unfortunately MGS4 caters completely to the fans and those that don't rate this game highly are those that have not played the previous ones.
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendaryMetal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendary thing, and at such cheap used prices nowadays, YOU GOTTA GET! Expand
  10. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Ahh....MGS what more can i say that ALOT of people don't already know, the game is amazing. i never played any mgs games until Guns of the Patriots came out soo i went out and bought all 4 games at once and i gotta thank Kojima for giving me one of the best summers of my life.
  11. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar forI will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar for best picture, just a flawless game, go get it, you will cry cause its so good! Expand
  12. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Flawless, this game is perfect. Playing Metal Gear Solid 4 was the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. The weapons are cool and the graphic's are great and the game play is amazing. This game was my all time favorite video game. There should really be another one cause I adored this game so much. Absolutely terrific!
  13. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    First off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest theyFirst off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest they read the cover of the game or look at the back-of-the-box features listed on any game case to see what kind of game it is. For example: are you a gamer who likes only RTS's? Than look at the game case and see how it reads: tactical espionage action. These are not words that desribe an RTS. So you probably shouldn't buy the game. Are you a person who doesn't like watching lengthy cut-scenes in a game? Well look at the back of the game case and you will find the words "Experience a stunning cinematic adventure that will keep you hooked until the very end". These words are obviously meant to say "Hey, we like fast-paced games as much as the next gamer, but we like to create a game with a deep story and interesting plot that engrosses you in a wonderful fictional world that has been telling a story since the first game." The metal gear series has always had lengthy cut-scenes and it is what has helped make the metal gear story the most compelling and awesome story in the history of video games. For those of you out there who are fans of the series or stealth games in general, I highly recommend you play this game. The controls are the best in the series, the graphics are phenomenal, and the set-piece moments will stay in your memory forever. The game sums up every plot questions of the entire series and the last hours of the game are the most emotional you will spend outside of a book or movie. Metal Gear Solid 4 is without a question a masterpiece, as not only is it an amazing game, but it is devoted to the fans that have loved the genre for so long. Expand
  14. WEL
    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Last time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are stillLast time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are still awesome too. Now I can't wait to see Raiden again on the next chapter... Metal Gear Solid 4 truly is one of the best games of this generation and I hope Kojima comes up with a MGS5 soon even if it's just a pre-quel. This series is way too good to disappear now. Expand
  15. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest achievements of this generation, the perfect combination of excellence in all aspects of the game. A beloved game without flaws and a great ending for the saga of Solid Snake.
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A must have for ps3 owners, metal gear solid fans, and people who enjoy stealth action games. The most satisfying conclusion to any video game series ever. The graphics are the BEST ever seen on any game system. The ending fight scene is epic and really ends the series on a great note. Komina productions even added an online mode to keep players into this game for months at a time.
  17. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    best game i ever played ..perfect in a every way,u feel like playing real soldier,best story and best aspect of drama,,u must play this game and if u dont own a ps3,,immediately turn off internet and go to shopping,,it is worht it,
  18. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  19. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Almost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionallyAlmost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionally high, even in 2011. Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  21. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    i just beat this game for the fifth time in the past years since it came out, and i have to say, it still holds up and even beats some games out graphically. Game play did indeed change between series to fit a more casual audience, but it was for the better, as it made the game into a more fluid experience during those big set pieces. There's a ton of stuff aimed at fans that they willi just beat this game for the fifth time in the past years since it came out, and i have to say, it still holds up and even beats some games out graphically. Game play did indeed change between series to fit a more casual audience, but it was for the better, as it made the game into a more fluid experience during those big set pieces. There's a ton of stuff aimed at fans that they will understand FAR more to players who just pick it up because of the Hype factor. GOTYAY Expand
  22. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Expand
  23. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . thethis is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  24. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overallI do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overall feeling of the game ..... The final mission of my favorite character (hence my nickname) , the legendary soldier , now an old man , ready to tackle the impossible just one last time before he can rest in peace, you can see him struggling , His unbreakable will and his skill are his only advantage against a legion of enhanced soldiers much younger than him ....... if you are a fan of the series , this game is an absoulte masterpiece , this game alone is worth the 500 dlls i paid for my ps3 when it was launched ...... The graphics, the soundtrack (In the final battle , i was losing but when i started to hear Snake Eater i made a comeback and bamm!!!!), the controls , the variety of ways you can complete this game is amazing...... Feel like sneaking in ? do it .... Feel like going guns blazing? .... go ahead..... this game has raised the bar in some many ways that it has become the best game of the past 10 years. The only game that i have ever played that made such a huge impact in me was The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game was launched on 1998 , i never tought that i would see a game that could top this ...... yeah , there have been great games these past years , Uncharted 2, Gears of war, COD4, Metroid Prime , Mario Galaxy , Mass Effect 1 and 2 , God of War 3 , The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion....i have played and finished all of these awesome games , but none could come close to Ocarina of Time.....until i played Metal Gear Solid 4 .....Thank you Master Kojima ....i am a 27 year old man , parent and husband ......but you Sir made a game that made me remember why i loved this Hobby so much back when i was 10 years old. Expand
  25. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    I feel like Hideo Kojima's message isn't just designated towards the Metal Gear franchise, but at the gaming industry itself. In the sea of garbage video games that are released today, Metal Gear Solid 4 is the hidden gem and the final swan song of the once stellar business.
  26. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" ButI just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" But within the hour I honestly couldn't put the controller down. MGS4's original and has an amazing story that most games lack now a days. Simply a masterpiece. Expand
  27. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Truly one of the best Metal Gear Solid games of all time, I recommend you play this if you're a true hardcore fan of the series.
  28. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is a fun game for the PS3 its story was great and it kept me playing the game till the end GREAT GAME! its a game ALL PS3 owners must have and play till the finish.
  29. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is no doubt the greatest single player experience ever to grace a console. The multiplayer is also pretty good, but I'll get to that later. Casual gamers may be turned off by the heavy reliance on strategy, especially for a shooter, but just because you aren't noob tubing across the map doesn't mean it's anything shy of an amazing game. Hideo Kojima delivered a complete package, with stellar graphics that, even 3 years old, beat anything on the market today. The character models are so real you'll swear it was filmed. The environments aren't original, but look spectacular. Now, as many gripe, the game does have plenty of cutscene. HOWEVER, a mere push of the start button brings up an option to skip a cutscene, and letting you get right back into the action. Gameplay revolves around either trying to be stealthy and remain undetected, or going out guns blazing and over powering the enemy. Each course of action has its own consequences - and get this - in the GAMEPLAY, not in the cutscenes (which remain constant on every play through) as with RPGs. With 69 weapons in your arsenal (plus 1 secret weapon), the options are incredible. You can set a C4 on a guard, and let him walk into a group, then blow them all up at once, for example. You could avoid detection by a chopper, or load up a stinger, then dive into the nearest dumpster. The sheer amount of possibilities for every obstacle brings this game to an unprecedented scale. Now the cutscenes are long, and frequent, but they are interesting and engaging. Anyone with an IQ higher than 80 (on a typical 50-150 scale) will be hooked, and absolutely engaged by the clever plot twists, background plots, real world references, series references, breaking of the 4th wall, and that scary sensation that Kojima has delivered (since the original MGS) that the (at least political) events of the game COULD ACTUALLY HAPPEN and may be happening as we speak (watch the infamous MGS2 "patriots" cutscene, and you'll always see the world in a new light). Even the casual, passive gamer won't help but be able to watch in awe at the more epic points of the story. The multiplayer is built on great mechanics, but the menus aren't user friendly, it takes a while to load, it taxes your internet connection, the expansions are far too costly, and it has become less and less active over time. Keep in mind Kojima did not plan on making Metal Gear Online, and it really is just a bonus to the amazing single player game. Kojima planned on delivering an unforgettable experience to his faithful followers, and he did just that. Many believe that MGS4 may have saved the PS3. That could very well be the case, and if so, it was more than successful. After all, "Just like your father... you're pretty good!" Expand
  30. May 28, 2012
    10
    To rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount ofTo rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount of detail on faces, the environment, and combat on a console game is mesmerizing. Watch the ripples of wind from a helicopter hit Snake's hair and clothes.] [Sound: 10, The guns are loud and echo in the distance. Metal Gear Gekkos, however, sound strangely like cows.] [Music: 10. Nothing less of orchestra and mixes of old and new electronica to give MGS4 a truly epic feel.] [Voiceovers: 9, worthy of a summer blockbuster movie, although I'm getting tired of Snake's overly scratchy, guttural voice.] [Gameplay: 9, the same sneak and disable (or kill) mechanics of the past Metal Gears are here, and are better than ever. Your advanced sneaking suit can camoflage to any surface, giving you a new level of stealth. A new feature includes holding an enemy hostage and firing over their shoulder. There is also a VERY wide array of weapons at your disposal, each coming with a detail description of their histories and capabilities, as well as upgrades. Another new option is switching between over-the-shoulder and FPS view for your firearms, which can be clunky or smooth depending on your settings. There's a slight learning curve for these new mechanics, especially if you're new to the series, but once you get used to it, the game is an absolute blast to play.] [Plot: 10, more interactive movie than a traditional game. MGS4's story is a bit convoluted, but becomes clearer as it moves along. It's themes of war, change and freedom is going to inspire a lot of philosophical discussion. Ultimately, once you discover Solid Snake's ultimate fate, you'll realize the overall direction of the story is more tragic than it is triumphant. Of course, for those who are impatient or have OCD, you can simply skip the cutscenes.] [Replay Value: 9. Four years after buying this game, I am still playing it with joyful glee.] Conclusion: MGS4 has showed how far video games have come as an art form, and will forever stand as one of the pinnacles of gaming. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.