User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3532 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ed
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I am not allow to spoil anything and that was the deal for getting an early copy of MGS4 but guys this game is worth even the $85+ for the collectors edition.

    it has all you need in a game full of action and espionage.
    that 90 minute scene crap is all nothing but flamebait.
    If you are an early MGS fan you wont be disappointed
  2. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  3. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably enjoy watching them. Amazing game, the #1 game on PS3, and the #1 game of all time {along with the entire series of course}. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Truly an epic game in it's presentation and execution. Obviously, it can be seen as a little fishy for a game to have only (at most) 10 hours gameplay through the story and probably twice that length of time in cut-scenes, but that's what this game is all about. The game has a near perfect consistent quality of it's ideas and invention. There is certainly more of a focus on the challengeTruly an epic game in it's presentation and execution. Obviously, it can be seen as a little fishy for a game to have only (at most) 10 hours gameplay through the story and probably twice that length of time in cut-scenes, but that's what this game is all about. The game has a near perfect consistent quality of it's ideas and invention. There is certainly more of a focus on the challenge and an engrossing story, which a lot of gamers don't appreciate as being fun, but the gameplay itself is relatively flawless for it's genre. Problems with gameplay do occur when playing on the hardest difficulty - where luck is as necessary as skill in certain chapters, so this is only advised for the hardcore fans. Most can over-look the flaws throughout the game, making this a staple for any PS3 owner and any fans of the series. Expand
  5. It'sme,Mario!
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    The game is excelent in every way. Graphic, sound, gameplay, history... The game makes you play for hours and hours with a very good amount of fun.
    See those comments under here? The people who gave it a 5 just dont know what they say. The game is briliant, and if you dont like the cutscenes, you can just skip it.
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    First metal gear solid game I ever played, I bought this in 2013 and think its good for a 2008 game as many games I own that are from 2008 no longer impress me. The game was difficult to play at first as I progressed through the first mission but I eventually got the hang of it before I reached the end of that first mission. There is a lot of options while trying to be stealthy and I meanFirst metal gear solid game I ever played, I bought this in 2013 and think its good for a 2008 game as many games I own that are from 2008 no longer impress me. The game was difficult to play at first as I progressed through the first mission but I eventually got the hang of it before I reached the end of that first mission. There is a lot of options while trying to be stealthy and I mean a lot which makes missions more fun.
    The cut scenes are very long and even the shortest of them go on for a few minutes but the cinematic's are interesting even if I did not get it at first i eventually understood what was happening. If your into games that give you a load of options I recommend trying it.
    Expand
  7. DavidP.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    It's an interactive movie, nuff said.
  8. Seth
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best and most epic games I will ever remember! MGS4 = Mind blowing gameplay, challenging boss fights, emotional and laugh out loud cut scenes! People who say this game is garbage, dont have the attention spand to watch and pay attention to the genius cut scenes! Thats one of the elements that that makes it beautiful!! Both thumbs up!
  9. RoryB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    A tour-de-force for the franchise. Compelling story and cinematography, so-good-I-can't-believe-it's-not-real graphics, a musical score that combines the best of Metal Gears past and present. Kojima should be incredibly proud.
  10. RichardB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game doesn't do anything half way; anything it does, it does well. In addition to the phenomenal story and action, the game is OVERFLOWING with small nicknack's and secrets and inside jokes that make it feel REAL. From your octocamo, that I messed with for about a half hour, to a small coke-drinking monkey with an arms dealer, this game is everything a MGS fan could want, and something a non fan would be pulled in by. Expand
  11. MK
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to cutscenes. However, it all depends out how you play the game. You can play in easy setting and go all out Rambo-style and be done with a level within minutes. On the other hand, you can play in harder difficulties and sneak with out hurting anyone. Harder difficulties make Rambo-style near impossible due to various limitations, like increased damage. I found NORMAL difficulty for MGS4 much easier than previous MGS games. Thus, I was taking action/all out approach more often than previous MGS games. Almost all cutscenes have some sort of interactivity imbedded in them, similar to MGS3. You can often see what Snake is actually seeing or trigger flashbacks. Talk abut flash backs, Kojima plays with your nostalgia. It often makes funs of itself and previous MGS games to toy with your memories. Remember Psycho Mantis from MGS1? Remember how you defeated him? Try it on one of the bosses. People have been praising MGS4's visual fidelity. Yeah, it's amazing. It's given for MGS series to leap beyond any games in visual department. Actually, the sound in this game is the most impressive part to me. As a result of using Skywalker Ranch (used for movies) to do sound recordings, the game's 5.1 mix is superior to many feature films. With truely amazing sound and AAA film-like angles on cutscenes and gameplay, it make the experience much better than previous ones. Most reviews won't tell you that you need to install for 8 minutes initially, and for 3 minutes in between ACTS. Loading is lot more frequent than expected due to real-time cutscenes. Some cutscenes load after another. Little things, but they weren't too annoying. If you are a FAN or feel like take a role in an epic 15 hour interactive art film, be my guest and play it! THIS IS THE REASON TO OWN PS3. Expand
  12. EvanB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing! I was amazed at how the cut scenes and the game play were seamless! I have never seen that before in a video game! This is the game of the year, over GTA IV by a long shot! I agree with IGN...if this game could get an "11", it would! BUY it!
  13. ThomasC.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable, I waited a long time for this game and it definitely made the wait worth it. The graphics are amazing, the story is well told as you play, and the stealth component is a lot of fun. This game contains a lot of 'wow' moments too. Certainty a must for your collection.
  14. PaulM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I'm a fan of Metal Gear Solid since the first one came out for PS1. They all took my breath away and made me laugh for joy like no other game. This one is no exception, in fact, it's a lot more than I expected. Metal Gear Solid 4 is more than a game. It's like the best novel, with the greatest storyline, the best movie, and the best game, all-in-one.
  15. sigma
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    By far the best out of the entire series. Hideo and his clan put together one of the most inspirational games ever made. So much detail, beautiful animations, compelling script and story telling. I am overwhelmed by the amount of content in this game. 11 out of 10!
  16. GeorgeH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The game of all games, one of the best games ever created. Actually it is more than just a game, it is an immersing journey for both solid snake and the player. Salute
  17. JulianV.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time (especially towards the end of the game). That said I am looking forward to playing it through again on a harder difficulty and trying to complete all the unlockable stuff. The fact that levels can be completed a multitude of different ways and that no two battles between the PMC's and the militants are the same should ensure that the game has good replay value. Expand
  18. KevinH
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A modern day masterpiece! And the first "Killer App" for the PS3!
  19. MgsForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played the previous games, otherwise you won't understand much of the story). Expand
  20. JasonH
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game but you do own a PlayStation 3, then go directly to a retailer and make the purchase. Expand
  21. AndrewLittle
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Loved it, thought the gameplay, graphics and gameplay were awesome, the story line was good as well except the fact that Snake was around 60 and yet able to run around shooting... i know it kinda explains it in the story but i dont think that was a good move by Hideo Kojima !
  22. DarrnK.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    I have to say this is one of the finest games ever made. Kojima really outdid himself with this game, I mean all the customizations are noticable in the in-game cutscenes and even those are just using in-game graphics. This game also comes packed with an Online mode which only increases the value, this game is a must have.
  23. SteveM.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersive, emotional and downright brilliant game the PS3 has seen.
  24. PhilY.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is virtually flawless, its so well polished and detailed its unbelievable. This game truly beckons next gen gaming.
  25. GordonR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  26. TysonB
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just isn't possible. The Cell can handle way more than what PS3s graphics card can. Anyways, besides all of that, this game is insane, in a very good way. Graphically it's beautiful and stunning. Story wise it is truly something else, it lives up to expectations that many were wanting. Game play it's different and makes you keep wanting to play. Yes, it does have long cut-scenes but it does not off set it from the true colors. Replay is definitely a 10/10 on it's own, since skipping the cut-scenes opens up a lot of game play. Yes, the game could have been better in Kojima's eyes. All great minds end up not liking there work, it's a fact. It's just that way, can't fault the game because it is very perfect. Expand
  27. BenWalker
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    I did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cutI did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cut scenes and just "play the game". Expand
  28. JohnG.
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    OK so after reading all of the MGS4 reviews I was excited to pick up this game. Having never played any of the games in this series I really didn't know what to expect. I am currently midway through act II and the game is just OK. The graphics are pretty good, not outstanding. The story line is good but there are way way too many cut scenes and for stupid things too. IE it will OK so after reading all of the MGS4 reviews I was excited to pick up this game. Having never played any of the games in this series I really didn't know what to expect. I am currently midway through act II and the game is just OK. The graphics are pretty good, not outstanding. The story line is good but there are way way too many cut scenes and for stupid things too. IE it will return from one cut scene and give you control again, but after taking 10 steps forward it will go back to another cut scene. Is this really necessary? However, my biggest complaint is the fact that you could play this entire (except when you fight the boss') without firing a gun. This seems sssooo lame. I want to play a game with a lot of action and cool weapons. Which this game does have but it's really set up for you to be as sneaky as possible and not really for killing or taking advantage of the cool weapons. What this equates to is a cool game but definitely not a game I couldn't live without. I will finish the game and then return it. I don't think I would play this game again after I beat it. Expand
  29. PM
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    Fans of the MGS series will be moved and mostly satisfied with MGS4. Sure, it's mostly cutscenes - I finished it in 15 hours, with probably 9-10 of those being non-interactive - but what cutscenes! More than ever before, MGS4 is less a game and more an interactive story, and while I don't often subscribe to that philosophy, everything here works. The scale, the over-the-top Fans of the MGS series will be moved and mostly satisfied with MGS4. Sure, it's mostly cutscenes - I finished it in 15 hours, with probably 9-10 of those being non-interactive - but what cutscenes! More than ever before, MGS4 is less a game and more an interactive story, and while I don't often subscribe to that philosophy, everything here works. The scale, the over-the-top operatic emotion, the game mechanical innovations, the setpieces, and every tiny detail meld together to make for a truly epic conclusion. On the other hand, if you are not a fan of the MGS series, do not bother. You will be lost and bored. Expand
  30. GabrielN.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, smart, elaborate and so incredibly poignant, think the end of MGS3 and multiply it by 5, that there are scenes where you litterally feel all your senses soaring. It is a moving and deeply profound experience, unlike any other. The gameplay, graphics, sound, music, everything is pretty much as good as it gets. This one is, without a doubt, for the history books. Expand
  31. AlexC
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Unless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettableUnless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettable boss battles, NINJAS, giant robot battles, NINJAS, classic secret agent action (or a frantic Gears' style shooter if stealth isn't your thing) and NINJAS! Expand
  32. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Metal gear solid 4 is an example of a great game that could have been much better if it wasn't for the lousy dialog and unbalanced story. in terms of gameplay the game is outstanding. there are many things to do and the game never gets dull. oh wait i forgot about the cutscenes... the long ass cutscenes that go on for hours, diminishing the enjoyment and fun from the game. mgs 3 was aMetal gear solid 4 is an example of a great game that could have been much better if it wasn't for the lousy dialog and unbalanced story. in terms of gameplay the game is outstanding. there are many things to do and the game never gets dull. oh wait i forgot about the cutscenes... the long ass cutscenes that go on for hours, diminishing the enjoyment and fun from the game. mgs 3 was a fantastic game because it had great gameplay AND great story. apparently Kojima decided to go bananas with this game, creating a complex, yet idiotic story that barely makes any sense the more you keep playing. he took long forgotten characters from past metal gear games and brought them back even if they have nothing to do with the story. the graphics and music are ,of course, outstanding. in the moments that you actually get to play the game its fantastic. the game is a technical marvel and even today, a couple of years after it came out, it still has some of the best graphics and most polished gameplay i have ever seen in video games. I liked the first 3 mgs games because their story was consistent and logical besides great gameplay. It's a shame mgs 4 doesn't have it, especially considering it's the last game of solid snake's era. this series deserved a better ending. Expand
  33. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    The story was great. It kept me interested but the final final cut scene really ticked me off in a lot of ways. Ninja Raiden was just a replacement for Grey Fox and he is still as annoying as ever. I was never a huge fan of Solid Snake, but this game actually manages to create an interesting story around him even if the revelations at the end ruin everything.

    I love the game play. The
    The story was great. It kept me interested but the final final cut scene really ticked me off in a lot of ways. Ninja Raiden was just a replacement for Grey Fox and he is still as annoying as ever. I was never a huge fan of Solid Snake, but this game actually manages to create an interesting story around him even if the revelations at the end ruin everything.

    I love the game play. The controls are fantastic. While the early boss fights leave a lot to be desired, the last three are great. The new control system makes Boss fights much more natural and stealth much different. My only problems with the game play would be it being regularly interrupted by cutscenes and each act was shorter then the last. The environments are interesting, but you never get enough of any of them. The game looks great. Even today it's one of the most smooth looking games I've ever played. The returning roster of characters looks great in HD.

    The music is just as good as the rest of the franchise, but I wasn't a huge fan of the credits song.

    I'm not really sure that Replay value is there. Sure you can get more weapons and all the hidden tracks, but the story is really something that doesn't need replaying. It's good but nothing that is worth sitting through the long cut scenes again.

    While in my opinion 3 and Peace Walker sit at the top of the pack, this is definitely the 3rd greatest game in the franchise.
    Expand
  34. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and alsoThe true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  35. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    As a game was so good for that time, i recognize you hat there was better games like GTA 4 and Uncharted 1. But this was really good, i enjoy playing it, the CQC was really cool, the amounts of arms that you can use too, and i loved that you can help the terrorist and pass the missions in a different ways, something that we don't see on the metal gear saga before this game.

    For the
    As a game was so good for that time, i recognize you hat there was better games like GTA 4 and Uncharted 1. But this was really good, i enjoy playing it, the CQC was really cool, the amounts of arms that you can use too, and i loved that you can help the terrorist and pass the missions in a different ways, something that we don't see on the metal gear saga before this game.

    For the graphics.....was else can i say, to this date (2015) it's so hard to find games with better graphics like this. By far the best game graphics by that time.

    And for the plot and the storyline, another BIG 10 for this. I REALLY LOVE ALL THE CUTSCENES, i remember people telling me if this was a game or a movie.

    This was amazing, and because it it's a game it's so much better than a overral movie, he can put codecs to additional information, the briefing flights, etc.

    Other thing that i love was that Kojima tried to put the most possibly characteres of the saga, even the dead characteres are mentioned, and put some more like Drebin or Sunny. And we know that in the Metal Gear saga there are sooooooooo many characters.

    There are so memorable cutscenes in only one game who it's hard to believe that we will see something like that them, and not to mention the emmotional means for every one of them.

    We have the death of Naomi, the Meryl reconcialition with Campbell, The Vamp history, etc.
    We have funny things too like the monkey of Drebin, he Akiba thing, the cigarretes of Snake, the eggs of Sunny.

    And we have very deep moments, when Snake returns to Shadow Moses (plus you can play the MGS1 game for 2 or 3 minutes), was the best moment on a PS3 for me, i put the console on pause and i remember when i was a child and play the MGS1 game, and the most amazing thing was that i was remembering everything, that was beautiful.

    The only thing I don't like was the bosses, i mean there was 1 or 2 good boss fighting, but the characters wasn't that good like the amazing cobra unit, fox-hound or even dead cell. I love the Psycho Mantis part btw.

    But the best reason to considerer this one of the best PS3 games ever, was for the final!!!!.

    if you was playing this since the PSOne days, or even the NES/MSX days. Goddamn you wait so much time for that moment, so many years for that **** happen, it's true that was very predictable, but i was soo much deep inmeerse on the game and like we know Kojima, like you don't thing of that, after it happen.

    Was very very beautiful. The Ocelot - Snake fight was on the same level too.

    10/10 for this!!
    Expand
  36. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a very enjoyable stealth game with an interesting story and characters, some may complain that the cut-scenes are too excessive as they pop up so often and last long, but if you don't mind that then you will find a gripping experience unlike anything else on the PS3, It's a tricky game to score since it really depends on if you are going to beMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a very enjoyable stealth game with an interesting story and characters, some may complain that the cut-scenes are too excessive as they pop up so often and last long, but if you don't mind that then you will find a gripping experience unlike anything else on the PS3, It's a tricky game to score since it really depends on if you are going to be bothered by long cut-scenes or not. If you don't mind then this game is definitely worth picking up, but if you don't want your gameplay to be interrupted very frequently then you may be better off picking up something else, nonetheless this is one of the best games on the PS3. Expand
  37. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Im going to begin with saying: I didnt consider MGS4 a game at all, It wasnt close to being a game. What it was however was a cinematic experience that got me Crying, Laughing and even getting angry because of the characters expressions and voices.

    Its an amazing interactive movie, But it sure as hell isnt a full on game So everyone looking for alot of intense gameplay, dont turn this
    Im going to begin with saying: I didnt consider MGS4 a game at all, It wasnt close to being a game. What it was however was a cinematic experience that got me Crying, Laughing and even getting angry because of the characters expressions and voices.

    Its an amazing interactive movie, But it sure as hell isnt a full on game
    So everyone looking for alot of intense gameplay, dont turn this way.
    For everyone who enjoys a good story however i highly recommend this game.

    PS: Reason it was pushed down to an 8 was because of a thing in the end game, Dont worry it doesnt really concern the story, it was just incredibly tedious is all.
    Expand
  38. Jan 24, 2015
    10
    How can someone even say something negative about this game. One of the best games I have ever played in my entire life. If you're fan of the MGS series and haven't played this game you have do that, believe me. Masterpiece!
  39. Apr 8, 2015
    10
    the perfect ending to one of the greatest franchises of all time. I have nothing bad to say about this game it was a blast the whole way through. the only thing I will say is if you are not an invested fan of the series or are not a fan of cinematic games than you probably wont like this game because you probably spend more time watching cutscenes than you do actually playing. that's not athe perfect ending to one of the greatest franchises of all time. I have nothing bad to say about this game it was a blast the whole way through. the only thing I will say is if you are not an invested fan of the series or are not a fan of cinematic games than you probably wont like this game because you probably spend more time watching cutscenes than you do actually playing. that's not a bad thing because the story and cinematic storytelling is the main appeal of metal gear solid games and this one just happens to be the most cinematic yet. and when you do get to play, the gameplay is nearly perfect and some of the best in the series. Stealth is not as emphasized in this game as it was in previous entries but the change to a more action orientated style of gameplay works really well and fits the story well. this is one of the best games in the franchise and is one of the best games of its generation. Expand
  40. Aug 20, 2015
    10
    Amazing game with absolutely no flaws. I can't even think of another game that shines so much in the way of game play, humor and graphics. You would be doing yourself a disservice by not playing this game.
  41. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metal Gear Solid 4 delivers a great gameplay and cinimatic experiance for those who are fans of the series. Mgs has a very nice story with amazingly polished cutscenes that are long, but persinally I love the long cutscenes because for me it makes the story not feel rushed and really takes time to explain alot of gaps in the story (and lore) of the MGS universe. The stoy has been taking hit after hit of people not liking the nano-machine explinations for everything, but personally I liked it, it felt right and bang on for the setting and time of the story where technology is very advance and nano machines are used for almost every perpose. For a gamer that poors alot of emotions into games I felt this was a great ending to the legendary Solid Snake! For gameplay it was great with alot of variation to combat. When putting people in a head lock you have so many differnt ways to end your enemy! There are alot of guns, but you may only find yourself using a few of the same but if you choose to use other it can change up gameplay alot! You will recieve neat gear from bosses that you can use in new game+ and are really fun to use. If you are planning to go for the platinum you will find yourself playing the game with alot of playstyles to get all the games emblems which need at least 8 playthroughs. Metal gear solid guns 4 from start to platinum is a blast with an amazingly told story and great stealth gameplay (if you choose to play like that) that will keep you engaged for as many playthroughs as you choose to play. That is why I give Metal Gear Solid 4 a 10/10 as a fan of the lore and series, I highly recommend Snakes last mission. Expand
  42. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    This is by far my favorite of the series! The length of the cutscenes are not surprising since MGS does have long cutscenes in general. Gameplay is a bit more like a shooter and a bit too easy. The story and characters and story are stronger then they have ever been. This game contains nostalgia, good characters, great story, an amazing final boss, and the perfect ending! 10/10
  43. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Four letters for this stunningly amazing masterpiece: E-P-I-C. Literally this is the Godfather/Citizen Kaneof the PSN exclusives for PS3. Just play this game or play legacy colelction and then this to get this game fully nonetheless this is a visually impressive and story rich classic. Public enemy pun: BELIEVE THE HYPE.
  44. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is not much I can say about MGS4 that hasn't been said already; it is a masterpiece. Yes, there are hours upon hours of long cutscenes and explanation, but for Metal Gear fans, including myself, they are all very fun and entertaining to watch. MGS4 is also one of the most emotional games I have ever experienced, watching Solid Snake go to the ends of the Earth to get this final job done is heart-breaking and makes you love the character even more. The ending is perfect, any fan of the series who has played the previous games, is sure to shed the tear. Rest in Peace, Solid Snake. We salute you. Expand
  45. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    I cannot believe what this game did to me. It's the first time i cried this hard (i cried like a bab) on a videogame and it's the second time i cried like that (the first one being Breaking Bad's ending). The game has got everything: Great gameplay, excellent graphics, perfect sound and soundtrack and an excellent story. If you liked any of the old Metal Gear games, you'll love this one,I cannot believe what this game did to me. It's the first time i cried this hard (i cried like a bab) on a videogame and it's the second time i cried like that (the first one being Breaking Bad's ending). The game has got everything: Great gameplay, excellent graphics, perfect sound and soundtrack and an excellent story. If you liked any of the old Metal Gear games, you'll love this one, maybe not as much as i do but i can guarantee you'll like it. Expand
  46. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    Games this good should be celebrated!

    it's a master of the craft simply showing off.

    There's so many metaphors and meanings in this game that they begin to mock themselves, mock you for enjoying them then makes you cry when it comes to it's end.

    it can be played in any way you want and is still a classic.
  47. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    Master Piece.
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  48. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    Excelente Metal Gear, história complexa e emocionante, gráficos soberbos até hoje, jogabilidade precisa,um final simplesmente surpreendente, a unica coisa que falta é um equilibrio entre gameplay e cutcenes.
  49. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of this franchise since I played Metal Gear on NES. I consider Metal Gear Solid 4 to be the best of all. Snake, the main character, has never been so likeable, and even those who never knew him will soon enough love this guy. He's old, he's fighting enemies far stronger than him. He endures pain throughout the game, yet he never gives up. And he still has time to make us smile with his "simple soldier" reactions as he interacts with the other characters. This game is flawless. The animation still competes and even beats most games. The movement of the different characters, vehicles, and natural objects is extremely well made. The atmosphere of this game is incredible. The sound effects are top notch and the music comes in at the right moment to add more intensity to what is happening on the screen. The graphics are still very, very good. I believe they finally were equalled a couple of years ago by a few other games. This game's scenario is perhaps the only bad thing about it. It's complicated even for Metal Gear fanatics. The cutscenes are long, yes, but they can easily be equals to movie scenes you watch in theaters. Many of them are breathtaking in terms of epicness, and others add more character to the different people involved in the story. You will forever remember how you felt throughout your first playthrough of this game, it's so intense that you will sometimes think about it after playing it.

    You can complete levels in various ways depending on your style. Solid Snake is an expert at CQC ( Closed Quarters Combat ), and once you are sure enough of your skills, you will enjoy knocking out your enemies a lot more than simply shooting them. You have many many gadgets to help you in your quest and you can unlock many more as you play. Many have a cartoony feeling to it, such as the legendary cardboard box in which you can hide to avoid detection. There are no trophies for this game since it was released in the pre-trophy era of the PS3.

    This game has an online mode and it's lots of fun. You can do pretty much everything you do in solo mode. There's even a game mode that allows people to be Snake and his remote controlled robot while both teams fight each other. Some players have become experts now, and you might have a hard time winning, which can lead to frustration. You can, however, access a training area and be trained by one of the experts who can teach you how to play online.

    This game was already a classic the day it came out. It will forever be remembered by those who played it. In retrospect I believe nobody can give this game a bad note, it has to be 9 or 10. Those who gave it a lower note should not be worthy of writing reviews. This game is pretty much a cornerstone in video gaming and was, to me, the symbol of what PS3 ( and other same-gen consoles ) were going to do in the upcoming years.
    Expand
  50. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals,
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals, music, boss battles, controller mapping, everything in MGS4 was flawless. I wish more games were this complete.
    9.7
    Expand
  51. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also likeAbsolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  52. MarkWood
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    From The Stoneage of 3D gaming came MGS1, a rev olution in gaming. With the next generation came MGS2, pushing the boundaries of graphics and gameplay. The PS3 is near and it is innevitable that hideo kojima will produce another game that will bring the joy back to games again
  53. CodyB.
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    If it is possible to give a game an 11, this would be the only game in the world to reach that score. I'm not even an mgs fan but I just LOVE the series as if I were a fanboy! MOST people love this game to death for the glowing angel of an epic masterpiece it truly is, while SOME people diss it because of the long cutscenes (THEY HAVE TO BE LONG OR YOU WONT GET THE STORY), the If it is possible to give a game an 11, this would be the only game in the world to reach that score. I'm not even an mgs fan but I just LOVE the series as if I were a fanboy! MOST people love this game to death for the glowing angel of an epic masterpiece it truly is, while SOME people diss it because of the long cutscenes (THEY HAVE TO BE LONG OR YOU WONT GET THE STORY), the dialogue (those people who say this game has terrible dialogue are just angry because they are just to damn retarded to understand what the characters are actually saying, too much high-class words for them), & the story itself (PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT THE STORYLINE IS TELLING, SUCH AS THE HORRORS OF WAR, ABOUT MORALS IN LIFE, ACCEPTING DEATH, AND SOOO MUCH MORE). 89% of gamers all over the world who experienced this epic masterpiece praised the storyline as well as the characters and presentations, hideo kojima was extremely plesed with the final version of the game as he said in the metal gear 20th anniversary party, however he was dissapointed with the early versions though but that's in the past. Millions of gamers preordered this game way before it even came out & even camped outside malls & outlets for days & nights just to get their hands on this game!! Only 11% of gamers around the world who played this game were dissapointed but nobody cares about them anyway, they're dumbasses, they're way too mentally retarded to understand the complexity & substance of the epic moments this masterpiese presents (too many big words for inexperienced gamers who hate this game because they don't understand it?). Anybody who rates this game low is an INEXPERIENCED gamer who has NO LIFE and understands NOTHING of videogaming...or life AT ALL, get this game or be like one of them. I SWEAR TO GOD this is a true masterpiece of EPIC proportions!!! Expand
  54. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    This game is good. One of the best stories i have ever experienced, some of the better stealth gameplay out there, and excellent graphics. The story is told in very long cutscenes and this game was very short without them. I was playing this game like i usually do a normal game on my first playthough and it took about 9 hours but without the cutscenes this game is reduced in half. TheThis game is good. One of the best stories i have ever experienced, some of the better stealth gameplay out there, and excellent graphics. The story is told in very long cutscenes and this game was very short without them. I was playing this game like i usually do a normal game on my first playthough and it took about 9 hours but without the cutscenes this game is reduced in half. The gameplay also is not as good as the other metal gear solid games. There is a lot less stealth in the game. The game is very smooth in gameplay during the stealth parts. But there are a lot of run and gun parts and you can tell that the game was made for stealth. Most Sections are stealth, but you are sneaking around a huge battlefield which makes it almost impossible to be spotted because they don't detect you from your bullets because it blends in and they don't see a lot because the enemies all focus on the other AI. This is still a fun game but is is far from perfect. Expand
  55. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Expand
  56. HassanAlArafat
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best gameEasily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best game of all time, period. Expand
  57. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Personal favorite in the series followed by Sons of liberty, the original, and then Snake Eater, a game which happens to become better when the series is complete. Guns of the Patriots includes all the great things from its predecessors and follows with its own brilliant work. Play it if you have not yet done so.
  58. Sep 8, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've made a metacritic account just for this game, it truly deserves a better rating. Metal Gear Solid 4 is just one of the best games i ever played in my whole life! i've played all MGS games, this game gives the best storytelling MGS got until now. The graphics are amazing, so much detail in every texture! The Gameplay is extremely better, Its more stealthy. Its just amazing how the characters react to things, they look like real people!! This game is extremely rare, its not something that you see everyday. If you have a Playstation 3 i recomend you buying it. When you finish the game MGO will keep you engaged for weeks! I give this game a '' because it really deserves... Expand
  59. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls. There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10. The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever. Absolutely amazing.
  60. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the greatest console game of this generation. Unfortunately MGS4 caters completely to the fans and those that don't rate this game highly are those that have not played the previous ones.
  61. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendaryMetal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendary thing, and at such cheap used prices nowadays, YOU GOTTA GET! Expand
  62. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Ahh....MGS what more can i say that ALOT of people don't already know, the game is amazing. i never played any mgs games until Guns of the Patriots came out soo i went out and bought all 4 games at once and i gotta thank Kojima for giving me one of the best summers of my life.
  63. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar forI will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar for best picture, just a flawless game, go get it, you will cry cause its so good! Expand
  64. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Flawless, this game is perfect. Playing Metal Gear Solid 4 was the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. The weapons are cool and the graphic's are great and the game play is amazing. This game was my all time favorite video game. There should really be another one cause I adored this game so much. Absolutely terrific!
  65. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    First off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest theyFirst off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest they read the cover of the game or look at the back-of-the-box features listed on any game case to see what kind of game it is. For example: are you a gamer who likes only RTS's? Than look at the game case and see how it reads: tactical espionage action. These are not words that desribe an RTS. So you probably shouldn't buy the game. Are you a person who doesn't like watching lengthy cut-scenes in a game? Well look at the back of the game case and you will find the words "Experience a stunning cinematic adventure that will keep you hooked until the very end". These words are obviously meant to say "Hey, we like fast-paced games as much as the next gamer, but we like to create a game with a deep story and interesting plot that engrosses you in a wonderful fictional world that has been telling a story since the first game." The metal gear series has always had lengthy cut-scenes and it is what has helped make the metal gear story the most compelling and awesome story in the history of video games. For those of you out there who are fans of the series or stealth games in general, I highly recommend you play this game. The controls are the best in the series, the graphics are phenomenal, and the set-piece moments will stay in your memory forever. The game sums up every plot questions of the entire series and the last hours of the game are the most emotional you will spend outside of a book or movie. Metal Gear Solid 4 is without a question a masterpiece, as not only is it an amazing game, but it is devoted to the fans that have loved the genre for so long. Expand
  66. WEL
    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Last time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are stillLast time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are still awesome too. Now I can't wait to see Raiden again on the next chapter... Metal Gear Solid 4 truly is one of the best games of this generation and I hope Kojima comes up with a MGS5 soon even if it's just a pre-quel. This series is way too good to disappear now. Expand
  67. May 31, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of timeMetal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of time as Kojima's legacy, let alone a series that constantly improves and refines. Metal Gear Solid 4 brings to an end 20+ years of tactical espionage action, unforgettable characters and convoluted post-modern plotlines. With the sheer amount of essential engrossing cutscenes that take up your playtime, It's almost criminal that the game mechanics have been refined to such high standards this time around. But you won't care, because none of this is filler; with regards to certain pivotal moments in the story, Kojima has even found a way for you to watch and play at the same time. In this way it's a game of compelling opposites; cutscenes infiltrate the great gameplay, fourth-wall hammering innovations subvert the dominance of the sweeping story, and even though the game ends the tale of Solid Snake with such bold finality, I expect nothing more than his triumphant return. Expand
  68. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest achievements of this generation, the perfect combination of excellence in all aspects of the game. A beloved game without flaws and a great ending for the saga of Solid Snake.
  69. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A must have for ps3 owners, metal gear solid fans, and people who enjoy stealth action games. The most satisfying conclusion to any video game series ever. The graphics are the BEST ever seen on any game system. The ending fight scene is epic and really ends the series on a great note. Komina productions even added an online mode to keep players into this game for months at a time.
  70. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    best game i ever played ..perfect in a every way,u feel like playing real soldier,best story and best aspect of drama,,u must play this game and if u dont own a ps3,,immediately turn off internet and go to shopping,,it is worht it,
  71. infamousbutcher
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    well 9.9 coz theres no such thing as a perfect game. but this is as cose as you will ever get. This game plays up to the Metal Gear series.now im finding it hard to describe coz i dont know where to start. If you havnt played the series, go out and buy MGS, MGS2 and MGS3 subsistance (metal gear 1 and metal gear 2 solid snake included) then play this game, you will be in for a story thatwell 9.9 coz theres no such thing as a perfect game. but this is as cose as you will ever get. This game plays up to the Metal Gear series.now im finding it hard to describe coz i dont know where to start. If you havnt played the series, go out and buy MGS, MGS2 and MGS3 subsistance (metal gear 1 and metal gear 2 solid snake included) then play this game, you will be in for a story that changes direction more than you change your underwear. It is without a doubt the best game series and story in existance. Expand
  72. OwnedL
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is old, tired and lonely (lol). You desreve your rest we salute you. Expand
  73. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  74. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Almost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionallyAlmost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionally high, even in 2011. Expand
  75. jasonAnsari
    May 31, 2008
    10
    i dont have words to explain how good the visual quality of the game is, i mean from the moment game starts everything seem real and as if ur are playin a movie....gameplay mechanics are tigher and interchange b/w first person and third person is smooth...also the drebin points improves longevity of the game...but all i can say about the game is from the moment its starts and ends....u oni dont have words to explain how good the visual quality of the game is, i mean from the moment game starts everything seem real and as if ur are playin a movie....gameplay mechanics are tigher and interchange b/w first person and third person is smooth...also the drebin points improves longevity of the game...but all i can say about the game is from the moment its starts and ends....u on every occasion u praises KOJIMA for his fantastic work..and playing game show how much sweat and tears they have shed making it possible...its an experiance u must have...game requires 0 prior knowledge about MGS series...this game cant be more perfect...must buy for every ps3 owner and the one on the fence..here ur chance to buy ps3....go for it... Expand
  76. JamesC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I just knew this was gonna end the series badly, but this did it amazingly. Kojima is brilliant, everything was beautiful and (spoiler) when raiden was holding his sword via his mouth, I must say I started to believe in god.
  77. Jun 2, 2014
    4
    Considering the potential scope of the material, "wasted opportunity" is more than an understatement. Global conspiracies, mechs, mercenaries, a world embroiled in conflict etc. It's all familiar stuff but still effective; in theory.

    This is the pinnacle of fan-servicing. I have never seen such bad writing in a game of this caliber. Hideo Kojima was always a terrible writer but the
    Considering the potential scope of the material, "wasted opportunity" is more than an understatement. Global conspiracies, mechs, mercenaries, a world embroiled in conflict etc. It's all familiar stuff but still effective; in theory.

    This is the pinnacle of fan-servicing. I have never seen such bad writing in a game of this caliber. Hideo Kojima was always a terrible writer but the stuff he's come out with here is just beyond words. Somebody should have broken the man's fingers or at least put him into cryogenic freezing for 200 years in the hope that when he would reawaken Konami would be long gone, and there would be no company that would have his repugnant brain in employ. Some cutscenes go on for twenty minutes... some go on for two. It doesn't make any difference because by the time they get to the point you have already forgotten what you wanted to find out. The characters (protagonist(s) and antagonists) are all repugnant and two dimensional. I do not care about their hopes, dreams, desires, fears; they can all go jump in the lake.

    Oh yeah and 'uncompressed audio?' **** you.

    Gameplay mechanics are still as faulty as ever in true lovable MGS style. Restrictive environments aplenty and horrible control scheme. Movements are too jerky and unrefined to produce a smooth and subtle stealth experience. Stick to Splinter Cell (or Dishonored etc). The game also looks like garbage and this is inexcusable considering how long it was in development for... This is the same year that we had Dead Space and Far Cry 2 and they still hold up today. The biggest visual problem is that amount of really cheap cover ups, 90% of the textures are smeared and the brick walls look like an armada of pasta bakes lined up next to each other.

    The MGS series was groundbreaking at one point in time, although the golden years have long since passed. MGS might have been the first human to ever take a dump in a toilet but it missed the bowl completely. If you love Hideo Kojima then go right ahead and disregard what I have said but if you want to play an actual game then steer clear
    Expand
  78. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  79. KeithLamprecht
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Truly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a systemTruly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a system that can provide such great graphics, sound, and realism, this game will blur the line between games and art. Expand
  80. ChrisLou
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    In short, Metal Gear Solid 4's gameplay takes the best of the previous MGS games while mixing elements from Resident Evil 4.

    The story does a spectacular job concluding Old Snake's journey that will please fans over and over.

    This game is truly one of the greatest and most memorable games to date.
  81. MarcBaicu
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best ever made. I just wish that the last review (80) would just be deleted or something, because the reviewer obviously has no idea what he is talking about. We should start up a petition to remove the last review, its messing up the average!
  82. ZackM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I love t. It is definetely my best game of all time. It even beats COD4! Graphics better than anything before it!
  83. JC
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Game of the decade! No question about it!
  84. JohnB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I've played it for a couple of hours, and its amazing!
  85. AnttiA.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who doesn't have previous experience of the MG/MGS games gets a grip of the plot. Not too much is placed for plot thought. Graphics just blow away GTA4 for example with all the small things it has. I'd recommend playing this on a HDTV with HDMI and all the necessary HDMI adjustments done from PS3 settings. Expand
  86. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . thethis is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  87. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overallI do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overall feeling of the game ..... The final mission of my favorite character (hence my nickname) , the legendary soldier , now an old man , ready to tackle the impossible just one last time before he can rest in peace, you can see him struggling , His unbreakable will and his skill are his only advantage against a legion of enhanced soldiers much younger than him ....... if you are a fan of the series , this game is an absoulte masterpiece , this game alone is worth the 500 dlls i paid for my ps3 when it was launched ...... The graphics, the soundtrack (In the final battle , i was losing but when i started to hear Snake Eater i made a comeback and bamm!!!!), the controls , the variety of ways you can complete this game is amazing...... Feel like sneaking in ? do it .... Feel like going guns blazing? .... go ahead..... this game has raised the bar in some many ways that it has become the best game of the past 10 years. The only game that i have ever played that made such a huge impact in me was The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game was launched on 1998 , i never tought that i would see a game that could top this ...... yeah , there have been great games these past years , Uncharted 2, Gears of war, COD4, Metroid Prime , Mario Galaxy , Mass Effect 1 and 2 , God of War 3 , The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion....i have played and finished all of these awesome games , but none could come close to Ocarina of Time.....until i played Metal Gear Solid 4 .....Thank you Master Kojima ....i am a 27 year old man , parent and husband ......but you Sir made a game that made me remember why i loved this Hobby so much back when i was 10 years old. Expand
  88. Apr 29, 2013
    6
    Metal Gear Solid 4 Guns of the Patriots is very much into its own self importance. This does not really feel like a game but more an interactive movie. Out of the 22 hours to complete the game, I only spent 7 hours actually moving. I know this because at the end of the game there are stats of how long you spend prone, crouching and walking etc. The action in the game is very much whatMetal Gear Solid 4 Guns of the Patriots is very much into its own self importance. This does not really feel like a game but more an interactive movie. Out of the 22 hours to complete the game, I only spent 7 hours actually moving. I know this because at the end of the game there are stats of how long you spend prone, crouching and walking etc. The action in the game is very much what Metal Gear fans like with the classic formula still intact. Its just a shame that these are broken up by LONG video sequences that CANNOT be skipped. One scene i had to watch two or three times at 20 minutes each because I died. It was just painful. There is one really genius moment which fans of the original will spot and hopefully enjoy as much as I did.
    I cannot say this game is bad because it wasn't. But the story really took over what is meant to be a game. At times I began to really switch off to the story just because it felt like my life was being sucked away from the LONG LONG backwards and forwards conversations throughout the game.
    The serious serious fans of the series are likely to not have a bad word to say but if like me you just want to play a game then this just goes on for far to long. Playing only one third of a game does not sound right does it?
    I had such hopes of this game and its the reason i brought a PS3, but it left me very disappointed.
    Expand
  89. OtekaOmaru
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Haha! Those euro sites look like right arseholes right about now, don't they? Everyone gives the game 95 and up while they just sit there with their 80s. Need I remind everyone, that both Egde and Eurogamer, gave Halo 3 a shining 100. That says it all.
  90. DavidSchmidt
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    This game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and actionThis game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and action sequences that rival most Hollywood movies then you need to play this game. When I had finished this game all I immediately called up my friends to talk about how incredible this game was. This game is truly a single player masterpiece and if you haven't played it yet do yourself a favor and go buy/rent it. Expand
  91. MikeWinter
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    I've been playing video games for, about, 25 years (got an intellivision around 1983), and this is, simply, the best game I have ever played. I am a huge Metal Gear fan, and being so does enhance the experience of playing this game, but even if you have no, prior experience playing this series, I think It can still be a very rewarding and unique experience.
  92. KamilNie?
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is very good game, if game is so great as others MGS games it must be great. Fuck hamurgers that can't see nothing out of Gears of War or other games with so inteligent history. Now I understand why other side of earth say that americans are the most dumb country in the world!
  93. LarryGrauss
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    This game just blew my tiny little mind to pieces. The graphics are undoubtedly the best ever made. I do not exagerate at all. MGS4 is the only game to take up the whole 50G of the Blu-Ray, and that's after extensive data compression. This game was one of the reasons I returned my XBOX 360 and got a PS3 (thank God I still had the receipt!)
    And what is it with hating the cutscenes?
    This game just blew my tiny little mind to pieces. The graphics are undoubtedly the best ever made. I do not exagerate at all. MGS4 is the only game to take up the whole 50G of the Blu-Ray, and that's after extensive data compression. This game was one of the reasons I returned my XBOX 360 and got a PS3 (thank God I still had the receipt!)
    And what is it with hating the cutscenes?
    The cutscenes are jaw-droppingly amazing and quite enticing. And the story is complex, but it is also the best of any game so far.
    10/10.
    Expand
  94. AJHill
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls.

    There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10.
    The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever.
    Absolutely amazing.
  95. MartinAndy
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Epic from start to finish. I received an early copy of the game, and for a MGS4 it is nothing short of pure brilliance. You will NOT be disappointed. If you have been a fan of the series, this is utter perfection. Enjoy on June 12th.
  96. DanielDunn
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I have yet to play it but since 140 other people who have yet played it can score it I will to, The first 3 (not including the 2 original) were great games with great story's, so I cant wait for MGS4, I also game it a 10 to help balance out all the BS reviews from PS3 Haters and Xbots.
  97. AlexAguilera
    May 31, 2008
    10
    I loved this game from start to finish and a great way to end the story of snake. I wish I could play as Snake when he was younger, but everything else in th game makes up for it. It's the whole package: Graphics, Gameplay, Presentation, Tilt, and Replay Value. Three words :Buy This Game! You will not be unsatisfied.
  98. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    Fantastic graphics, good gameplay and fairly non-linear objectives made the first few levels really enjoyable, but I quickly became increasingly frustrated with the volume and length of the cutscenes - if you were to take them all out, you'd find that there's hardly any actual "game" here at all. Some of the objectives aren't clear, and you have to keep repeating sections Fantastic graphics, good gameplay and fairly non-linear objectives made the first few levels really enjoyable, but I quickly became increasingly frustrated with the volume and length of the cutscenes - if you were to take them all out, you'd find that there's hardly any actual "game" here at all. Some of the objectives aren't clear, and you have to keep repeating sections over and over until you get it right. The bit where you get to play as Snake in MGS1 was genius though, but it just made me want to dig it out of the loft and play it through again rather than sit through any more of this pile of drivel. Expand
  99. AtratusS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set aside because you're not going to want to stop playing until you reach the end. Expand
  100. MiguelM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    A game like this comes only every so often, a remarkable culmination to a remarkable series.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.