User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3657 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ed
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I am not allow to spoil anything and that was the deal for getting an early copy of MGS4 but guys this game is worth even the $85+ for the collectors edition.

    it has all you need in a game full of action and espionage.
    that 90 minute scene crap is all nothing but flamebait.
    If you are an early MGS fan you wont be disappointed
  2. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game follows the greate path of the rest of the MGS games. The controls, grapichs, and story is just plaine awsome. This game will emerge you deep into the world of Solid Snake for hours and hours and you wont get bored. This is truly a must have game, because you will have missed one of the gaming worlds Brighest pearls if you dont. 10/10, and i would rate it higher if possible:)
  3. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game, along with MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, are the best games I've ever played. The game is full of emotional moments, and some of them brought me to tears. The gameplay is amazing, allowing you to stealth or shoot your way through the game. And the cutscene length is no problem, as they are really well done cutscenes, and you'll probably enjoy watching them. Amazing game, the #1 game on PS3, and the #1 game of all time {along with the entire series of course}. Expand
  4. It'sme,Mario!
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    The game is excelent in every way. Graphic, sound, gameplay, history... The game makes you play for hours and hours with a very good amount of fun.
    See those comments under here? The people who gave it a 5 just dont know what they say. The game is briliant, and if you dont like the cutscenes, you can just skip it.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Five years later this game still holds up as one of the best ever released on the console. Everything about it is perfect for fans of the title's previous releases. Yeah, there are a lot of cut scenes, but you know that's going to happen when you're walking into a MGS game. Bottom line, one of the best games ever made on any system.
  6. DavidP.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    It's an interactive movie, nuff said.
  7. Seth
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best and most epic games I will ever remember! MGS4 = Mind blowing gameplay, challenging boss fights, emotional and laugh out loud cut scenes! People who say this game is garbage, dont have the attention spand to watch and pay attention to the genius cut scenes! Thats one of the elements that that makes it beautiful!! Both thumbs up!
  8. RoryB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    A tour-de-force for the franchise. Compelling story and cinematography, so-good-I-can't-believe-it's-not-real graphics, a musical score that combines the best of Metal Gears past and present. Kojima should be incredibly proud.
  9. RichardB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game It's been a long time since I've seen action and plot and game play integrated this well. Every time I think "that would be cool", the game turns around and does it. The characters and emotions seem so real, the action is smooth and still maintains the true stealth base that sets it apart, and the graphics are possibly the best I've seen in any game ever made. This game doesn't do anything half way; anything it does, it does well. In addition to the phenomenal story and action, the game is OVERFLOWING with small nicknack's and secrets and inside jokes that make it feel REAL. From your octocamo, that I messed with for about a half hour, to a small coke-drinking monkey with an arms dealer, this game is everything a MGS fan could want, and something a non fan would be pulled in by. Expand
  10. MK
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to One word: WOW. This is the latest and the final installment of MGS saga. It literally answers every single question you had about MGS saga. Although I prefer some of stuff left to be unanswered, it does it nicely anyways. This "game" cannot be seen as a mere video game. It seems Kojima reached ultimate art form in interactive media. Some might argue gameplay might be lacking in ratio to cutscenes. However, it all depends out how you play the game. You can play in easy setting and go all out Rambo-style and be done with a level within minutes. On the other hand, you can play in harder difficulties and sneak with out hurting anyone. Harder difficulties make Rambo-style near impossible due to various limitations, like increased damage. I found NORMAL difficulty for MGS4 much easier than previous MGS games. Thus, I was taking action/all out approach more often than previous MGS games. Almost all cutscenes have some sort of interactivity imbedded in them, similar to MGS3. You can often see what Snake is actually seeing or trigger flashbacks. Talk abut flash backs, Kojima plays with your nostalgia. It often makes funs of itself and previous MGS games to toy with your memories. Remember Psycho Mantis from MGS1? Remember how you defeated him? Try it on one of the bosses. People have been praising MGS4's visual fidelity. Yeah, it's amazing. It's given for MGS series to leap beyond any games in visual department. Actually, the sound in this game is the most impressive part to me. As a result of using Skywalker Ranch (used for movies) to do sound recordings, the game's 5.1 mix is superior to many feature films. With truely amazing sound and AAA film-like angles on cutscenes and gameplay, it make the experience much better than previous ones. Most reviews won't tell you that you need to install for 8 minutes initially, and for 3 minutes in between ACTS. Loading is lot more frequent than expected due to real-time cutscenes. Some cutscenes load after another. Little things, but they weren't too annoying. If you are a FAN or feel like take a role in an epic 15 hour interactive art film, be my guest and play it! THIS IS THE REASON TO OWN PS3. Expand
  11. EvanB.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing! I was amazed at how the cut scenes and the game play were seamless! I have never seen that before in a video game! This is the game of the year, over GTA IV by a long shot! I agree with IGN...if this game could get an "11", it would! BUY it!
  12. ThomasC.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable, I waited a long time for this game and it definitely made the wait worth it. The graphics are amazing, the story is well told as you play, and the stealth component is a lot of fun. This game contains a lot of 'wow' moments too. Certainty a must for your collection.
  13. PaulM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I'm a fan of Metal Gear Solid since the first one came out for PS1. They all took my breath away and made me laugh for joy like no other game. This one is no exception, in fact, it's a lot more than I expected. Metal Gear Solid 4 is more than a game. It's like the best novel, with the greatest storyline, the best movie, and the best game, all-in-one.
  14. sigma
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    By far the best out of the entire series. Hideo and his clan put together one of the most inspirational games ever made. So much detail, beautiful animations, compelling script and story telling. I am overwhelmed by the amount of content in this game. 11 out of 10!
  15. GeorgeH.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    The game of all games, one of the best games ever created. Actually it is more than just a game, it is an immersing journey for both solid snake and the player. Salute
  16. JulianV.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time All the praise this game has received is deserving and I agree with all of it! Any zero or one ratings are clearly not well thought out and therefore don't hold any weight. I think the main problem I had with this game was an internal one, as supposed to being the fault of the creators. Considering it is such an addictive and immersive game I felt a craving for more actual play time (especially towards the end of the game). That said I am looking forward to playing it through again on a harder difficulty and trying to complete all the unlockable stuff. The fact that levels can be completed a multitude of different ways and that no two battles between the PMC's and the militants are the same should ensure that the game has good replay value. Expand
  17. KevinH
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A modern day masterpiece! And the first "Killer App" for the PS3!
  18. MgsForever
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played I have never played a game with such breathtaking visuals, innovative gameplay, and well-rounded characters. My only complaint is that it was too short. Some people say that MGS4 is a bit to chatty, but for me that doesn't serve a problem unless there's more gameplay like in MGS2. And Kojima did an excellent job in tying up the knots for the MGS storyline (that is IF you played the previous games, otherwise you won't understand much of the story). Expand
  19. JasonH
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game First of all , MGS4 is a "must have" for all PS3 owners! As far as why? It's pretty simple, this is one of the finest crafted games ever made. Every angle is thought out, the gameplay is spot on, the options never stop, and the graphics are ill! My only knock would be that some of the cutscenes can go long...but even they've been done perfectly. If you don't own this game but you do own a PlayStation 3, then go directly to a retailer and make the purchase. Expand
  20. AndrewLittle
    Aug 29, 2009
    9
    Loved it, thought the gameplay, graphics and gameplay were awesome, the story line was good as well except the fact that Snake was around 60 and yet able to run around shooting... i know it kinda explains it in the story but i dont think that was a good move by Hideo Kojima !
  21. DarrnK.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    I have to say this is one of the finest games ever made. Kojima really outdid himself with this game, I mean all the customizations are noticable in the in-game cutscenes and even those are just using in-game graphics. This game also comes packed with an Online mode which only increases the value, this game is a must have.
  22. SteveM.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersive, emotional and downright brilliant game the PS3 has seen.
  23. PhilY.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    This game is virtually flawless, its so well polished and detailed its unbelievable. This game truly beckons next gen gaming.
  24. GordonR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  25. TysonB
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just I will give this a 10, mainly because this has shown what PS3 can handle. Yes, Kojima said himself that it wasn't up to his expectations, but he is a Perfectionists. He was expecting more than he could do, which honestly was expected. He was probably expecting a video game to pretty much come to life with "real life" graphics. No matter what, in today's world, that just isn't possible. The Cell can handle way more than what PS3s graphics card can. Anyways, besides all of that, this game is insane, in a very good way. Graphically it's beautiful and stunning. Story wise it is truly something else, it lives up to expectations that many were wanting. Game play it's different and makes you keep wanting to play. Yes, it does have long cut-scenes but it does not off set it from the true colors. Replay is definitely a 10/10 on it's own, since skipping the cut-scenes opens up a lot of game play. Yes, the game could have been better in Kojima's eyes. All great minds end up not liking there work, it's a fact. It's just that way, can't fault the game because it is very perfect. Expand
  26. BenWalker
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    I did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cutI did not know anything about the Metal Gear story before playing this game which made the story hard to follow. I even found myself skipping some scenes because they were so long and I just wanted to get back to the gameplay. I liked the game a lot, I just wish the cut scenes weren't so long. I am looking forward to playing through the game again so I can skip past all the cut scenes and just "play the game". Expand
  27. JohnG.
    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    OK so after reading all of the MGS4 reviews I was excited to pick up this game. Having never played any of the games in this series I really didn't know what to expect. I am currently midway through act II and the game is just OK. The graphics are pretty good, not outstanding. The story line is good but there are way way too many cut scenes and for stupid things too. IE it will OK so after reading all of the MGS4 reviews I was excited to pick up this game. Having never played any of the games in this series I really didn't know what to expect. I am currently midway through act II and the game is just OK. The graphics are pretty good, not outstanding. The story line is good but there are way way too many cut scenes and for stupid things too. IE it will return from one cut scene and give you control again, but after taking 10 steps forward it will go back to another cut scene. Is this really necessary? However, my biggest complaint is the fact that you could play this entire (except when you fight the boss') without firing a gun. This seems sssooo lame. I want to play a game with a lot of action and cool weapons. Which this game does have but it's really set up for you to be as sneaky as possible and not really for killing or taking advantage of the cool weapons. What this equates to is a cool game but definitely not a game I couldn't live without. I will finish the game and then return it. I don't think I would play this game again after I beat it. Expand
  28. PM
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    Fans of the MGS series will be moved and mostly satisfied with MGS4. Sure, it's mostly cutscenes - I finished it in 15 hours, with probably 9-10 of those being non-interactive - but what cutscenes! More than ever before, MGS4 is less a game and more an interactive story, and while I don't often subscribe to that philosophy, everything here works. The scale, the over-the-top Fans of the MGS series will be moved and mostly satisfied with MGS4. Sure, it's mostly cutscenes - I finished it in 15 hours, with probably 9-10 of those being non-interactive - but what cutscenes! More than ever before, MGS4 is less a game and more an interactive story, and while I don't often subscribe to that philosophy, everything here works. The scale, the over-the-top operatic emotion, the game mechanical innovations, the setpieces, and every tiny detail meld together to make for a truly epic conclusion. On the other hand, if you are not a fan of the MGS series, do not bother. You will be lost and bored. Expand
  29. GabrielN.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, Oh boy, what a mind blowing experience ! MGS4 screams quality and inspiration, from the first pixel that appears on screen, to the very last. I can't imagine how these guys managed to always pull it off and make the next MGS game better than the last, but MGS4 is the pinnacle of the series in every single aspect. The story is beatifully crafted in both writing and cinematography, smart, elaborate and so incredibly poignant, think the end of MGS3 and multiply it by 5, that there are scenes where you litterally feel all your senses soaring. It is a moving and deeply profound experience, unlike any other. The gameplay, graphics, sound, music, everything is pretty much as good as it gets. This one is, without a doubt, for the history books. Expand
  30. AlexC
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Unless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettableUnless you're just in it for the exciting online aspect, this one isn't for the casual gamer. No time is taken to explain the meaning behind the onslaught of terminology that peppers the sprawling cutscenes that make up most of this very narrative title. For those who endure the windingly intense cinematic sections are rewarded with barrel-blazing vehicle chases, unforgettable boss battles, NINJAS, giant robot battles, NINJAS, classic secret agent action (or a frantic Gears' style shooter if stealth isn't your thing) and NINJAS! Expand
  31. May 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ending of a great man, solid snake. I always liked the solid snake more than big boss so this might be the best, epic, last solid snake appearing game in the series. Bosses are a bit lame, and some conversions are a bit long (especially on the plane and briefing scenes). Expand
  32. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    I have played Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3 and they are amazing, epic and both have epic stories and gameplay but i can't just compare them to Metal Gear Solid 4. This game is E.P.I.C. The cut screens may be huge but they are important to the story. Everything is perfect in this game, the characters, the gameplay, THE SONGS (Epic soundtrack). A huge amount of emotions is presentI have played Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3 and they are amazing, epic and both have epic stories and gameplay but i can't just compare them to Metal Gear Solid 4. This game is E.P.I.C. The cut screens may be huge but they are important to the story. Everything is perfect in this game, the characters, the gameplay, THE SONGS (Epic soundtrack). A huge amount of emotions is present in this game from the beginning to the end, this game won't disappoint long therm fans or newcomers. One of the best action/ stealth game ever and one of the best PS3 games. I could tell you 100 more things that make this game perfect, but i will just tell you the top reasons:
    1. Epic story.
    2. Great (Boss) fights.
    3. Epic soundtrack (the main menu music is so good).
    4. Great gameplay, great weapons and gadgets.
    5. Great war atmosphere.
    6. Great cut screens.
    7. Epic ending.
    8. I don't know if i forgot anything but i think that are the most important reasons.

    I like Konami games, especially Metal Gear Solid and Silent Hill but this is my favorite Konami game.
    Expand
  33. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is an absolutely phenomenal game! This along with Bioshock Infinite and The Last of Us should be the measuring stick to which all other games compare not only their quality but their stories as well!
  34. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    What can I say?
    It was such a delight playing this superb game.
    It has everything that an art fan want to check on a piece of art. Metal Gear Solid 4 is the reason that i play video-games, it really can fill my need to trans-hip my mind, or meditate during the little time that I have with a controller in my life. Yes, you may say that the action is a little bit jammed or sticky, or
    What can I say?
    It was such a delight playing this superb game.

    It has everything that an art fan want to check on a piece of art.
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the reason that i play video-games, it really can fill my need to trans-hip my mind, or meditate during the little time that I have with a controller in my life.
    Yes, you may say that the action is a little bit jammed or sticky, or the complexity of asian novels during the cutscenes is too high, or the battles of some super big robots reminds you asian animes or comics, well, that's just a small part that in nothing harms the game itself. Because the profundity of the story and characters is so immense and emotional that your ''judging mind'' will completely disappear.
    As the moral values and the nowadays problems who affects not just soldiers but ''us'' too.
    The perfections of a whole, make the imperfections perfections.
    Expand
  35. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Completed this game around 9 times, and believe me it does not get old, If you do buy this, remember you will be investing in a franchise because after completing this you will definalty be addicted and will probably spend tonnes of money paying for all the others.
  36. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the absolute greatest games I have ever played. Instead of telling you what's GREAT about it because you can read any of the good reviews to know that, I'm going to tackle the criticisms.

    Cutscenes The total length of time for the cutscenes clocks in at about 9.5 hours. That seemed a lot to me at first, but the scenes are so well done that if you are a fan of the series
    Simply one of the absolute greatest games I have ever played. Instead of telling you what's GREAT about it because you can read any of the good reviews to know that, I'm going to tackle the criticisms.

    Cutscenes The total length of time for the cutscenes clocks in at about 9.5 hours. That seemed a lot to me at first, but the scenes are so well done that if you are a fan of the series then you won't care.

    Graphics They're fantastic, especially for 2008's standards.

    Story I thought MGS2 was a bit convoluted, but this one was pretty easy to follow.

    Gameplay This one I didn't get. I played the game the way it should be played (Stealthily) and I thought there was plenty of gameplay. I also like exploring and acquiring items. If you just Rambo your way through the game then yeah, it's gonna feel light on gameplay, but these games aren't SUPPOSED to be played that way.

    With that said, I understand these games aren't for everyone, and I wouldn't suggest this to anyone who hasn't played any of the other games. It does, however, deserve a 10 in my opinion.
    Expand
  37. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a legend in it's own right. Hideo Kojima did an amazing job for this game and it is a thrilling conclusion to Solid Snake. The game is truly breathtaking. The visuals are some of the best on the system and the splatter effects are quite well implemented. Environments are fantastic. All are well detailed and just a pure joy to explore. Sound is also used very well, you can hearThis game is a legend in it's own right. Hideo Kojima did an amazing job for this game and it is a thrilling conclusion to Solid Snake. The game is truly breathtaking. The visuals are some of the best on the system and the splatter effects are quite well implemented. Environments are fantastic. All are well detailed and just a pure joy to explore. Sound is also used very well, you can hear everything that is going on around you. Gameplay is great. Everything fits well. People may complain that it is a bit like a third-person shooter game, but there are many moments were stealth can and is implemented. The Drebin Shop system is a unique addition to the game. It is surprising about how well Kojima implemented it into the game. People may also complain about that. Here's an interesting bit of trivia, you don't have to use it if you don't want to. The game also carries over the stealth mechanics of camouflage from MGS3 and it works well with the game. Another new addition is the Psyche Gauge. It works much like the stamina gauge from MGS3, but this gauge is affected by stress that Solid Snake feels in the game, such as when he is being chased by guards or in an intense firefight. To replenish it, one must find a place to hide and wait for Snake's stress to lower so that the Psyche can recover. It's well used and it makes sense, after all, Snake is old. Controls are really tight. It works really well. The soundtrack is great. The orchestral scores are easily some of the best in the series. Boss battles are incredibly memorable and are some of the best. The last fight, is easily the best in the series. Lastly, the story is amazing. People complain about the long cutscenes, but you can pause it. The cutscenes are paint easily the most fantastic story in all of gaming. And people complain about how the story is unlikely. That is not true. The Patriots is a secret society, and our world is full of them. War is a present theme of the story, and it's foretelling a war economy which our world seems to be going towards slowly. As for the nanomachines, well, it is entirely possible. The story is beautiful, yet bleak and completely possible. The story is sad because all throughout it, people who are close to Snake die and soldiers on because he knows that unless he beats Liquid, all their deaths would be in vain. The story is the best part, and anyone who says otherwise are ignorant and don't understand Kojima's vision. It's so easy to talk about everything about this game. In total this game is perfect. 10/10. This game is worth any price, and it is a pure joy to play Expand
  38. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is just a masterpiece! Hideo did it again, he manage to create another MGS better and better than the last. but every MGS are beyond expectation, there's nothing not to love in the franchise. it got everything. It's really complex, but that's the way we love MGS.
  39. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Hideo Kojima does it again. This game is a true masterpiece, and I don't say this lightly.
    If you are a fan of The Metal Gear Solid franchise you know what I mean when I say that most games directed by Hideo Kojima feels like an interactive movie and this one is not the exception.
    The graphics were at the top the gaming industry when this game came out and I can say it's still better
    Hideo Kojima does it again. This game is a true masterpiece, and I don't say this lightly.
    If you are a fan of The Metal Gear Solid franchise you know what I mean when I say that most games directed by Hideo Kojima feels like an interactive movie and this one is not the exception.

    The graphics were at the top the gaming industry when this game came out and I can say it's still better than most games that have been recently released.
    The story is so well written and has even an underline philosophical profoundness to it, every scene is beautifully thought of.
    Character wise this game is amazing, a LOT of characters from previous MGS titles return, and like always even the villains are so perfectly created that you seem to empathise with them to some degree.

    Solid Snake (Probably one of my favorite vg characters of all time) is back for what seems to be his last adventure, and in the end everything finishes on a perfect note.

    Cant wait for the next instalment of Metal Gear Solid. In the meantime, if you haven't played this game I highly recommend you pick it up, and if you haven't played any of the MGS games and want to check out the MGS Legacy Collection for PS3.
    Expand
  40. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece to say the least. Metal Gears Solid 4 presents one of the best cinematic stories ever told in gaming. It will stay in the hearts of many gamers out there forever. That being said, this game is really for those who have a strong knowledge of the other metal gear solid games. If you haven't played the other games you will be lost in this convoluted tale. The game's story isA masterpiece to say the least. Metal Gears Solid 4 presents one of the best cinematic stories ever told in gaming. It will stay in the hearts of many gamers out there forever. That being said, this game is really for those who have a strong knowledge of the other metal gear solid games. If you haven't played the other games you will be lost in this convoluted tale. The game's story is really only at its best with the knowledge of the other games in the back of your head. The gameplay is great as well. Drebin points allow you to unlock an impressive array of weapons and other equipment. The Boss battles are also very well crafted; frantic, fun and keeps you on your feet (Not to mention they are sexy as hell near the end of each battle). A great game that balances true cover based gunplay with awesome stealth options as well. Guns blazing or keep it stealthy. Either way, they gameplay is amazing

    One of the best stories in gaming and some really engaging gameplay MGS 4 should be a must play game for any gamer who wants a truly immersive and masterful experience.
    Expand
  41. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome, the perfect end to the story of Solid Snake. MGS's fans is necessary have this game, if you unknown Metal Gear Solid's saga, get away from this game, and best begin with Metal Gear Solid 1 for PSX.
  42. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This is the best franchise EVER MADE! If you havent play it yet, than you have to. I really love this game and all the series you really need to play this really great story and gameplay!
  43. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favourite titles on PS3. Hideo Kojima has a sharp eye for details in games and one gets to appreciate this in MGS4. There is an insane level of detail given to everything from the menu, through the movie like cutscenes and to the gameplay itself. It is a unique experience on the PS3 and one you should not skip over. The environments are greatly varied and you'll find themThis is one of my favourite titles on PS3. Hideo Kojima has a sharp eye for details in games and one gets to appreciate this in MGS4. There is an insane level of detail given to everything from the menu, through the movie like cutscenes and to the gameplay itself. It is a unique experience on the PS3 and one you should not skip over. The environments are greatly varied and you'll find them a pleasure to see. Expand
  44. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Easily the greatest game of this gen,the story is fantastic you feel like a true legend playing through the eyes of solid snake AKA old snake ,at times there is the odd silliness but this is expected as part of the series the boss fights are epic the cut scenes are long winded but is a joy to sit back and watch this game is a must for all gamers
  45. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This game is pretty much my favorite MGS game, the game play was truly astonishing back in the days and still is, this was such a quality game for the PS3 console when it was first released, the graphics, the animation, the cut scenes, the gameplay, the sound.. everything was top notch, Kojima Productions really pushed the PS3 to it's limits when most of the games at that time couldn'tThis game is pretty much my favorite MGS game, the game play was truly astonishing back in the days and still is, this was such a quality game for the PS3 console when it was first released, the graphics, the animation, the cut scenes, the gameplay, the sound.. everything was top notch, Kojima Productions really pushed the PS3 to it's limits when most of the games at that time couldn't even be compared to MGS4, visually.

    And then, the most important aspect of the game, the story obviously. The storyline was beyond amazing, i've played through the game so many times because of the storyline, i'm not supposed to spoil anything when writing a review even tho most people have already played this, but i can say that the story was both dramatic and exciting.

    I know i'm quite late with a review but i didn't create a user account on metacritic until now so why not give this game some more credits
    Expand
  46. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    For fans of the stealth genera, you will want to buy this game. This game can be hard at times, but for hardcore players this is a good thing. The boss fights are amazing, and the story goes along perfectly. There are some flaws, and some aspects are overrated. One of the biggest points is that there are a lack of checkpoints throughout the game. Overall though for a $10 pre-owned MGS4,For fans of the stealth genera, you will want to buy this game. This game can be hard at times, but for hardcore players this is a good thing. The boss fights are amazing, and the story goes along perfectly. There are some flaws, and some aspects are overrated. One of the biggest points is that there are a lack of checkpoints throughout the game. Overall though for a $10 pre-owned MGS4, this game would be worth your time with its tactical-stealth experience. Expand
  47. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    The best Metal Gear Solid game to date and easily the best Playstation 3 exclusive (The Last of Us comes close though). Everything about this game is just perfect: the visuals are great, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is amazing and the characters are extremely memorable. I just love what they did to Raiden after how he was in Metal Gear Solid 2, they made him into an awesome cyborgThe best Metal Gear Solid game to date and easily the best Playstation 3 exclusive (The Last of Us comes close though). Everything about this game is just perfect: the visuals are great, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is amazing and the characters are extremely memorable. I just love what they did to Raiden after how he was in Metal Gear Solid 2, they made him into an awesome cyborg and a character with a very interesting back story. This is one of best games ever made and one of my personal favorites of all time. Expand
  48. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    awesome game all the feels on thata, th best way to close the saga is that. i love how kojima write the history, and old snake oh god is so sad is a mature game and a nostalgic game i love it remeber me metal gear 1
  49. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    I don’t care what some critics say; this is a worthy sequel to a worthy series. It is just as indispensible as the other Metal Gear games and the final scenes leading up to, and including, the final boss battle are some of the most well-designed, emotional and memorable scenes in a videogame.
  50. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    People give this game such a bad reputation because there are a Lot of cutscenes in this game however if you are a fan of the games universe this is perfect for you because this game series has been going on for near 20 years at the point this game was released and in that time there had been about 7 other games released which covered content from the cold war onwards to the games presentPeople give this game such a bad reputation because there are a Lot of cutscenes in this game however if you are a fan of the games universe this is perfect for you because this game series has been going on for near 20 years at the point this game was released and in that time there had been about 7 other games released which covered content from the cold war onwards to the games present day. This game fills almost all the gaps that were there before the game was released.

    Now the game itself is amazing for numerous reason such as its graphics, camouflage system, different environments and enemy diversity. The game is made so that stealth is more rewarded but not completely necessary, that surveying the area gives better rewards in ways such as better weapons,drebin points or better vantage points. The graphics for the year are amazing and to this day has only small differences to the 'next gen' graphics from some military franchise or other which is released every year. The variety weapons and equipment gives not only stealth or offensive options but options inside those options which does help when faced with a very secure location.
    Expand
  51. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    this game is just one big piece of awsome .....and sadness the final part of the mgs saga mgs4 has old snake coming out of retirement and has to go kill liquid ocelot but there is one problem snake has accelerated aging this game has so man cutscenes but i could not decide whether this was a good thing or abad thing this game has less a focus on stealth and more a sense of action and thethis game is just one big piece of awsome .....and sadness the final part of the mgs saga mgs4 has old snake coming out of retirement and has to go kill liquid ocelot but there is one problem snake has accelerated aging this game has so man cutscenes but i could not decide whether this was a good thing or abad thing this game has less a focus on stealth and more a sense of action and the ending this is the sort of ending you cry at and anyone who says they didnt is either lying or a haertless **** Expand
  52. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece and a great ending to Solid Snake's legacy. The graphics, story and gameplay are all extremely well crafted. A definite must buy for any PS3 owner.
  53. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    One of the must own exclusives, and games period for the Ps3. Sure the cut scenes can be a bit long, but they help make the game the masterpiece that it is. This is a great game, and should be played by anyone who owns a Ps3. Would definitely buy this as a collector.
  54. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    awesome, gamme ,long cinematics, good conclusion, i cryed alot, is one of the best ends ever, the graphics where good for being 2008 graphics , and kojima just take all the metal gears and mixed it, love this game
  55. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, BUT you need to play MGS 1,2,3 to understand the story...if you played the other 3, you'll love this game, it's awesome from the start menu to the after credits
  56. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    Graphics: 10 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 9.5 Fun/Story: 10

    A great game with nice movie touch by Hideo. Some of the longest cutscenes ever in a videogame could not be liked by everybody but i loved it. Amazing sound, voices, gameplay, graphics, ... A masterpiece.
  57. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    This should have been the best Metal Gear game. Sadly it isn't.
    I won't go in-depth, put here are a few things that people fail to point out in this game.
    1. There are so many cutscenes that are entirely pointless, or could be speed up to save time. Nothing would be lost if these cutscenes were removed. In fact, there are 3 relationships in this game that take up at least 1 hour, of the
    This should have been the best Metal Gear game. Sadly it isn't.
    I won't go in-depth, put here are a few things that people fail to point out in this game.
    1. There are so many cutscenes that are entirely pointless, or could be speed up to save time. Nothing would be lost if these cutscenes were removed. In fact, there are 3 relationships in this game that take up at least 1 hour, of the 8.5 hours of cutscenes ,that should have been removed as they add nothing to the story. The story should have been refined more.

    2. There are a few forced or nonsensical moments. While few in quantity, these moments could have easily been changed.

    3. Something that is never addressed is the blizzard effects. This might qualify as the best effect in video game history! Developers generally think as rain, snow, fog, ect... as an auxiliary to the game. If the blizzard effects were not in MGS4, the game would be much less impressive. The snow gradually collects on stationary objects. The high winds can push snow off, or carry more onto an object. Taking cover will make the snow gradually fall off in an impressive manner. The blizzard obscures Snake's vision, sometimes inhibiting his line of sight to a meter in front of him; conversely the storm may lighten up to allow Snake to see 15 meters in front off him. taking cover behind an object were the wind isn't blowing will cause the snow to fall off. What needs to be understood is that the blizzard effect was not an afterthought. It is a very graphically impressive feature ahead of its time.

    4. The music and voice acting some of the best in gaming history, even for today.

    5. The world building is great. The game provides visuals and information that establish the Metal Gear world well.

    MGS4 has a great main plot, some very evocative moments, and is extremely graphically impressive. This review doesn't cover much, but the 5 points are rarely covered and need to be known. This game should be a 10/10, but too many idiotic additions to the story prevent it from being so.
    Expand
  58. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    Es un buen juego que podría ser muchísimo mejor si no fuera por las interminables y cansinas escenas de vídeo y por el poco tiempo que pasamos jugándolo. Para ser de 2008 es un juego bastante grande a nivel técnico y no se le notan mucho los años.
    Un juego inclasificable y muy friki, que también se disfruta mas si se ha jugado a los anteriores, aunque esperemos que MGSV tenga menos
    Es un buen juego que podría ser muchísimo mejor si no fuera por las interminables y cansinas escenas de vídeo y por el poco tiempo que pasamos jugándolo. Para ser de 2008 es un juego bastante grande a nivel técnico y no se le notan mucho los años.
    Un juego inclasificable y muy friki, que también se disfruta mas si se ha jugado a los anteriores, aunque esperemos que MGSV tenga menos cháchara y mas acción.
    Expand
  59. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    For anyone who has played a metal gear solid game this is a must have. It is a perfect blend of action and adventure and the story is so great in its depth it will keep you playing "to see what happens next. Very few games deserve a perfect score but this is one of them. Even if you've never played metal gear solid you can't miss this. If you really want to play it I suggest getting twinFor anyone who has played a metal gear solid game this is a must have. It is a perfect blend of action and adventure and the story is so great in its depth it will keep you playing "to see what happens next. Very few games deserve a perfect score but this is one of them. Even if you've never played metal gear solid you can't miss this. If you really want to play it I suggest getting twin snakes on GameCube, and the metal gear solid 2 and 3 remake on the ps3 just to know the story before playing this. The metal gear series offers the best story telling of any game hands down. Expand
  60. Jun 8, 2015
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 4 has pretty much everything you need in Metal Gear. Funny moments, Customization, Gripping story, Stealth Action, and the final chapter in Snake's Life. How can you not love this game.
  61. Oct 7, 2015
    10
    Talk about a ride. In the conclusion of Solid Snake's story, I found myself with chills down my spine and holding my breath more than once. Does a wonderful job of really tying the whole series together, and the game play is spot on.
  62. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns Of The Patriots is one of the best games on PS3, along with Last Of Us, and Uncharted 2, and I will explain exactly why. The gameplay, while moderately different, still clings on to the classic MGS1 mechanics. Instead of the square button to fire, you use the left and right triggers to aim and shoot, while using the left and right bumpers to cycle through yourMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns Of The Patriots is one of the best games on PS3, along with Last Of Us, and Uncharted 2, and I will explain exactly why. The gameplay, while moderately different, still clings on to the classic MGS1 mechanics. Instead of the square button to fire, you use the left and right triggers to aim and shoot, while using the left and right bumpers to cycle through your inventory. Guns Of The Patriots still has the camouflage mechanic carried over from Snakeater. Guns Of The Patriots takes place 5 years after Sons Of Liberty, where The Patriots control the War Economy, where random PMCs do war against one another for no reason other than that the Patriots have ordered them to. This system allows the Patriots to put the war economy in the balance that they think it should be balanced. Solid Snake, who has changed his name to Old Snake, has been hired to assassinate Liquid Ocelot, who is Liquid Snake controlling Revolver Ocelots body. If Snake can finish this last job, then he can live in peace, so he heads to The Middle East, where most of the proxy wars are going on, with Otacon and Raiden, who is now an armored ninja. There is more cut scenes than gameplay throughout your playtime, so be wary of that. Metal Gear Solid fans will be happy because this game is chock full of nostalgia moments and flashbacks to previous Metal Gear games. If you only bought a PS3 to play The Last Of Us, then pick up this game too. Expand
  63. Jan 31, 2016
    10
    Simply, an amazing game, a complete masterpiece with a lot of detail and perfect gameplay. Cutscenes are great too. Amazing storyline. Enough said.
    ****10/10****
  64. Jun 25, 2015
    9
    Following the events of Shadow Moses, The tanker Incident & The Big Shell event, you play as the hero of the first two events. Storywise this is the be-all and end-all of the story, the gripping emotion and characters are what make this game unique as it is, this is for the players who have stuck with the game since MGS1 and atleast MGS2.
  65. Jun 26, 2017
    10
    I think Kojima really lived up to his billing here; an experience truly 75% movie, 25% game. The story is masterfully written, and the team finally learned how to make the controls bearable. True, I could totally knock the game for having rather horrendous boss fights, but the amount of tears i shed throughout the game makes it easy to ignore.
  66. Apr 15, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Лучшее что во что я играл и видел. Лучший сюжет,лучшая графика 2008 года,лучший саунд 2008,лучший геймплей 2008 года.11001010100100101010 Expand
  67. Apr 22, 2016
    10
    It is a masterpiece by the end of this legend.
    music, plot, the graphics are really bestial.
    the only thing I complain about this title is that the areas of juegon are very flat are limited that is very bad for videjos of today which is limited whole world can not go to open a clear example is the final fantasy XIII. the gear ps1 and ps2 metal are coarser wing when the areas to
    It is a masterpiece by the end of this legend.
    music, plot, the graphics are really bestial.

    the only thing I complain about this title is that the areas of juegon are very flat are limited that is very bad for videjos of today which is limited whole world can not go to open a clear example is the final fantasy XIII.

    the gear ps1 and ps2 metal are coarser wing when the areas to investigate but this title envargo maximum and deserves rate.
    Expand
  68. Jan 13, 2017
    10
    Story-wise like, is the best of the saga. As for the whole gaming experience, maybe not (it's like watching a movie, more than gaming). Gameplay improved, compared to the previous games. Of course, a non-MGS fan would not understand a damn thing of what's going on in here. But every time I played it, the more I liked it. It has also the perfect mixture between corridor/tunnel and freedomStory-wise like, is the best of the saga. As for the whole gaming experience, maybe not (it's like watching a movie, more than gaming). Gameplay improved, compared to the previous games. Of course, a non-MGS fan would not understand a damn thing of what's going on in here. But every time I played it, the more I liked it. It has also the perfect mixture between corridor/tunnel and freedom (medium sized maps) and like usual, the many options to get to your goal. Also, for such an old game, it has one of the best visuals on PS3. And like always, a great script, acting, the voices... The last MGS with proper cutscenes and codec dialogues, after they died in MGSV. In addition, MGO was a game by itself too, and was one of a great online experience, who'd expected that. It took a while but then they added the trophies, which (sadly, or not!) made you replay the game another time to get them. An experiece to repeat once every 2 years or so. Expand
  69. Jul 15, 2017
    10
    Greatest Metal Gear game, ever. This is after playing MGSV, and I still love this more. Yeah, Snake is old in this, but well, it works for the story and finishes out on almost all high notes. Combat is fun and keeps a solid balance between stealth and not-so-much ;) Boss fights are still really cool, too.
    As a follower of the series since, DAY ONE, (As in, NES Metal Gear) the story
    Greatest Metal Gear game, ever. This is after playing MGSV, and I still love this more. Yeah, Snake is old in this, but well, it works for the story and finishes out on almost all high notes. Combat is fun and keeps a solid balance between stealth and not-so-much ;) Boss fights are still really cool, too.
    As a follower of the series since, DAY ONE, (As in, NES Metal Gear) the story is, by far the most epic in gaming. Provided you are familiar with the story, you'll find that EVERYTHING IS WRAPPED UP with very few questions left open.

    For the vets, I recommend you play this bad boy on Hard or above.

    Gameplay wise, MGSV is better, but the final chapter in the story of Solid Snake MGS4, beats it out by LIGHT YEARS.
    Expand
  70. Mar 17, 2017
    10
    Yes, too much fan service but for me this is where Metal Gear Solid ended. The game is not perfect and is a bit too linear. But back in 2008 many of us bought a PS3 just for playing this. The game looked good even on CRT TV's. You can't understand how much we were hyped about this. This was the real goodbye. V is not.
  71. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of
    I was browsing through Metacritic and couldn't help but notice this game had a below-than-expected user rating. So I must do this masterpiece justice by writing one of my own. In my opinion, MGS 4 is a glimpse of what games will be in the future: movies in which you will interact. Right when the menu pops up you get the feeling this game is different.

    I won't lie, I am a huge fan of this franchise since I played Metal Gear on NES. I consider Metal Gear Solid 4 to be the best of all. Snake, the main character, has never been so likeable, and even those who never knew him will soon enough love this guy. He's old, he's fighting enemies far stronger than him. He endures pain throughout the game, yet he never gives up. And he still has time to make us smile with his "simple soldier" reactions as he interacts with the other characters. This game is flawless. The animation still competes and even beats most games. The movement of the different characters, vehicles, and natural objects is extremely well made. The atmosphere of this game is incredible. The sound effects are top notch and the music comes in at the right moment to add more intensity to what is happening on the screen. The graphics are still very, very good. I believe they finally were equalled a couple of years ago by a few other games. This game's scenario is perhaps the only bad thing about it. It's complicated even for Metal Gear fanatics. The cutscenes are long, yes, but they can easily be equals to movie scenes you watch in theaters. Many of them are breathtaking in terms of epicness, and others add more character to the different people involved in the story. You will forever remember how you felt throughout your first playthrough of this game, it's so intense that you will sometimes think about it after playing it.

    You can complete levels in various ways depending on your style. Solid Snake is an expert at CQC ( Closed Quarters Combat ), and once you are sure enough of your skills, you will enjoy knocking out your enemies a lot more than simply shooting them. You have many many gadgets to help you in your quest and you can unlock many more as you play. Many have a cartoony feeling to it, such as the legendary cardboard box in which you can hide to avoid detection. There are no trophies for this game since it was released in the pre-trophy era of the PS3.

    This game has an online mode and it's lots of fun. You can do pretty much everything you do in solo mode. There's even a game mode that allows people to be Snake and his remote controlled robot while both teams fight each other. Some players have become experts now, and you might have a hard time winning, which can lead to frustration. You can, however, access a training area and be trained by one of the experts who can teach you how to play online.

    This game was already a classic the day it came out. It will forever be remembered by those who played it. In retrospect I believe nobody can give this game a bad note, it has to be 9 or 10. Those who gave it a lower note should not be worthy of writing reviews. This game is pretty much a cornerstone in video gaming and was, to me, the symbol of what PS3 ( and other same-gen consoles ) were going to do in the upcoming years.
    Expand
  72. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Truly an epic game in it's presentation and execution. Obviously, it can be seen as a little fishy for a game to have only (at most) 10 hours gameplay through the story and probably twice that length of time in cut-scenes, but that's what this game is all about. The game has a near perfect consistent quality of it's ideas and invention. There is certainly more of a focus on the challengeTruly an epic game in it's presentation and execution. Obviously, it can be seen as a little fishy for a game to have only (at most) 10 hours gameplay through the story and probably twice that length of time in cut-scenes, but that's what this game is all about. The game has a near perfect consistent quality of it's ideas and invention. There is certainly more of a focus on the challenge and an engrossing story, which a lot of gamers don't appreciate as being fun, but the gameplay itself is relatively flawless for it's genre. Problems with gameplay do occur when playing on the hardest difficulty - where luck is as necessary as skill in certain chapters, so this is only advised for the hardcore fans. Most can over-look the flaws throughout the game, making this a staple for any PS3 owner and any fans of the series. Expand
  73. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. Just so awesome.
  74. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also likeAbsolutely one of the best games I've played on my PS3. I have all 4 of the MGS titles, and I kinda think this one is much better. It's not the graphics, though the graphics are amazing. But the storyline is incredible. The controls are easier and better, much better than the old ones. The villains look bad ass, some villain's and characters return from MGS, MGS2, and MGS3. I also like Solid Snakes new suit that camoulflages automatically. I can't find any problems with this game, except the extremely long cut scenes like the last 3 game. But, the cutscenes are pretty cool anyway but too long. However, this is an amazing game. If your a fan of the MGS series and have a PS3, this is a MUST GET game in the collection. Expand
  75. MarkWood
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    From The Stoneage of 3D gaming came MGS1, a rev olution in gaming. With the next generation came MGS2, pushing the boundaries of graphics and gameplay. The PS3 is near and it is innevitable that hideo kojima will produce another game that will bring the joy back to games again
  76. CodyB.
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    If it is possible to give a game an 11, this would be the only game in the world to reach that score. I'm not even an mgs fan but I just LOVE the series as if I were a fanboy! MOST people love this game to death for the glowing angel of an epic masterpiece it truly is, while SOME people diss it because of the long cutscenes (THEY HAVE TO BE LONG OR YOU WONT GET THE STORY), the If it is possible to give a game an 11, this would be the only game in the world to reach that score. I'm not even an mgs fan but I just LOVE the series as if I were a fanboy! MOST people love this game to death for the glowing angel of an epic masterpiece it truly is, while SOME people diss it because of the long cutscenes (THEY HAVE TO BE LONG OR YOU WONT GET THE STORY), the dialogue (those people who say this game has terrible dialogue are just angry because they are just to damn retarded to understand what the characters are actually saying, too much high-class words for them), & the story itself (PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT THE STORYLINE IS TELLING, SUCH AS THE HORRORS OF WAR, ABOUT MORALS IN LIFE, ACCEPTING DEATH, AND SOOO MUCH MORE). 89% of gamers all over the world who experienced this epic masterpiece praised the storyline as well as the characters and presentations, hideo kojima was extremely plesed with the final version of the game as he said in the metal gear 20th anniversary party, however he was dissapointed with the early versions though but that's in the past. Millions of gamers preordered this game way before it even came out & even camped outside malls & outlets for days & nights just to get their hands on this game!! Only 11% of gamers around the world who played this game were dissapointed but nobody cares about them anyway, they're dumbasses, they're way too mentally retarded to understand the complexity & substance of the epic moments this masterpiese presents (too many big words for inexperienced gamers who hate this game because they don't understand it?). Anybody who rates this game low is an INEXPERIENCED gamer who has NO LIFE and understands NOTHING of videogaming...or life AT ALL, get this game or be like one of them. I SWEAR TO GOD this is a true masterpiece of EPIC proportions!!! Expand
  77. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals,
    Kojima and Konami had the same vision as the fans as to what next generation console gaming should have been. Many had that vision, but very few could achieve it.
    MGS4 shows how incredible games would be today if developers still poured their hearts into their projects regardless of how long it took and didn't have to constantly give in to shareholders and publishers. The story, visuals, music, boss battles, controller mapping, everything in MGS4 was flawless. I wish more games were this complete.
    9.7
    Expand
  78. HassanAlArafat
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best gameEasily the best game of all time. Why? You'll just have to play it. Never mind the people with no brains to understand the story, or not appreciate the cutscenes, because the humor, the tension, the excitement, the stealth, the action, the bosses and everything that makes a game so close to being perfect. It's the best thing you'll ever play on PS3, no, sorry, the best game of all time, period. Expand
  79. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Flawless, this game is perfect. Playing Metal Gear Solid 4 was the most fun I have ever had playing a video game. The weapons are cool and the graphic's are great and the game play is amazing. This game was my all time favorite video game. There should really be another one cause I adored this game so much. Absolutely terrific!
  80. May 31, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of timeMetal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of time as Kojima's legacy, let alone a series that constantly improves and refines. Metal Gear Solid 4 brings to an end 20+ years of tactical espionage action, unforgettable characters and convoluted post-modern plotlines. With the sheer amount of essential engrossing cutscenes that take up your playtime, It's almost criminal that the game mechanics have been refined to such high standards this time around. But you won't care, because none of this is filler; with regards to certain pivotal moments in the story, Kojima has even found a way for you to watch and play at the same time. In this way it's a game of compelling opposites; cutscenes infiltrate the great gameplay, fourth-wall hammering innovations subvert the dominance of the sweeping story, and even though the game ends the tale of Solid Snake with such bold finality, I expect nothing more than his triumphant return. Expand
  81. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A must have for ps3 owners, metal gear solid fans, and people who enjoy stealth action games. The most satisfying conclusion to any video game series ever. The graphics are the BEST ever seen on any game system. The ending fight scene is epic and really ends the series on a great note. Komina productions even added an online mode to keep players into this game for months at a time.
  82. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    This is quite possibly the greatest movie of all time. Hideo Kojima is a pioneer in film-making, right up there with legends such as Tommy Wiseau and Uwe Boll.
  83. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    The true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and alsoThe true sequel to my best game ever (MGS2). I played MGS4 when I first bought a PS3. Since I had forgotten a lot of the details from the series, I got half of the exprerience. Now, I decided it was a good time to refresh my MGS storyline, so I played through MGS, MGS2 and MGS4 (I plan to continue to the Big Boss games). Now that I have a full idea of what's happening and why, and also I've grown as a gamer, since 2008 is 5 years back, I can firmly say that it deserves a perfect score since it ticked all of the boxes and even beyond as a great sequel and as a story ending.

    This is Kojima at his best. Both gameplaywise and storywise.
    Expand
  84. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    As a game was so good for that time, i recognize you hat there was better games like GTA 4 and Uncharted 1. But this was really good, i enjoy playing it, the CQC was really cool, the amounts of arms that you can use too, and i loved that you can help the terrorist and pass the missions in a different ways, something that we don't see on the metal gear saga before this game.

    For the
    As a game was so good for that time, i recognize you hat there was better games like GTA 4 and Uncharted 1. But this was really good, i enjoy playing it, the CQC was really cool, the amounts of arms that you can use too, and i loved that you can help the terrorist and pass the missions in a different ways, something that we don't see on the metal gear saga before this game.

    For the graphics.....was else can i say, to this date (2015) it's so hard to find games with better graphics like this. By far the best game graphics by that time.

    And for the plot and the storyline, another BIG 10 for this. I REALLY LOVE ALL THE CUTSCENES, i remember people telling me if this was a game or a movie.

    This was amazing, and because it it's a game it's so much better than a overral movie, he can put codecs to additional information, the briefing flights, etc.

    Other thing that i love was that Kojima tried to put the most possibly characteres of the saga, even the dead characteres are mentioned, and put some more like Drebin or Sunny. And we know that in the Metal Gear saga there are sooooooooo many characters.

    There are so memorable cutscenes in only one game who it's hard to believe that we will see something like that them, and not to mention the emmotional means for every one of them.

    We have the death of Naomi, the Meryl reconcialition with Campbell, The Vamp history, etc.
    We have funny things too like the monkey of Drebin, he Akiba thing, the cigarretes of Snake, the eggs of Sunny.

    And we have very deep moments, when Snake returns to Shadow Moses (plus you can play the MGS1 game for 2 or 3 minutes), was the best moment on a PS3 for me, i put the console on pause and i remember when i was a child and play the MGS1 game, and the most amazing thing was that i was remembering everything, that was beautiful.

    The only thing I don't like was the bosses, i mean there was 1 or 2 good boss fighting, but the characters wasn't that good like the amazing cobra unit, fox-hound or even dead cell. I love the Psycho Mantis part btw.

    But the best reason to considerer this one of the best PS3 games ever, was for the final!!!!.

    if you was playing this since the PSOne days, or even the NES/MSX days. Goddamn you wait so much time for that moment, so many years for that **** happen, it's true that was very predictable, but i was soo much deep inmeerse on the game and like we know Kojima, like you don't thing of that, after it happen.

    Was very very beautiful. The Ocelot - Snake fight was on the same level too.

    10/10 for this!!
    Expand
  85. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    The final act of Solid Snake is here, a perfect ending for his story.

    PROS: Plot, Graphics, design, music, voices, gameplay, online... As usual, mostly. CONS: Only fans of the saga will enjoy completely the plot of this game. The story is very intricate and complicated, so if this is your first time with a MGS game... Is the easiest MGS, isn't too difficult like others games
    The final act of Solid Snake is here, a perfect ending for his story.

    PROS:

    Plot, Graphics, design, music, voices, gameplay, online... As usual, mostly.

    CONS:

    Only fans of the saga will enjoy completely the plot of this game. The story is very intricate and complicated, so if this is your first time with a MGS game... Is the easiest MGS, isn't too difficult like others games in the saga because we have more options and helps in our mission.

    Install each act.
    Expand
  86. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I am a huge fan of the metal gear series and mgs 4 is one of if not the best one yet. the game is well polished and i find it hard to criticise it. if i had to say one bad thing about the game it would be that the game can sometimes seem to be more cutscenes than gameplay but if you are a long time fan of the series you will be used to this and it will be but a minor problem. overallI am a huge fan of the metal gear series and mgs 4 is one of if not the best one yet. the game is well polished and i find it hard to criticise it. if i had to say one bad thing about the game it would be that the game can sometimes seem to be more cutscenes than gameplay but if you are a long time fan of the series you will be used to this and it will be but a minor problem. overall kojima continues to deliver a high quality gaming experience with great gameplay, cutscenes and story telling Expand
  87. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    First metal gear solid game I ever played, I bought this in 2013 and think its good for a 2008 game as many games I own that are from 2008 no longer impress me. The game was difficult to play at first as I progressed through the first mission but I eventually got the hang of it before I reached the end of that first mission. There is a lot of options while trying to be stealthy and I meanFirst metal gear solid game I ever played, I bought this in 2013 and think its good for a 2008 game as many games I own that are from 2008 no longer impress me. The game was difficult to play at first as I progressed through the first mission but I eventually got the hang of it before I reached the end of that first mission. There is a lot of options while trying to be stealthy and I mean a lot which makes missions more fun.
    The cut scenes are very long and even the shortest of them go on for a few minutes but the cinematic's are interesting even if I did not get it at first i eventually understood what was happening. If your into games that give you a load of options I recommend trying it.
    Expand
  88. Apr 8, 2015
    10
    the perfect ending to one of the greatest franchises of all time. I have nothing bad to say about this game it was a blast the whole way through. the only thing I will say is if you are not an invested fan of the series or are not a fan of cinematic games than you probably wont like this game because you probably spend more time watching cutscenes than you do actually playing. that's not athe perfect ending to one of the greatest franchises of all time. I have nothing bad to say about this game it was a blast the whole way through. the only thing I will say is if you are not an invested fan of the series or are not a fan of cinematic games than you probably wont like this game because you probably spend more time watching cutscenes than you do actually playing. that's not a bad thing because the story and cinematic storytelling is the main appeal of metal gear solid games and this one just happens to be the most cinematic yet. and when you do get to play, the gameplay is nearly perfect and some of the best in the series. Stealth is not as emphasized in this game as it was in previous entries but the change to a more action orientated style of gameplay works really well and fits the story well. this is one of the best games in the franchise and is one of the best games of its generation. Expand
  89. Aug 20, 2015
    10
    Amazing game with absolutely no flaws. I can't even think of another game that shines so much in the way of game play, humor and graphics. You would be doing yourself a disservice by not playing this game.
  90. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metal Gear Solid 4 delivers a great gameplay and cinimatic experiance for those who are fans of the series. Mgs has a very nice story with amazingly polished cutscenes that are long, but persinally I love the long cutscenes because for me it makes the story not feel rushed and really takes time to explain alot of gaps in the story (and lore) of the MGS universe. The stoy has been taking hit after hit of people not liking the nano-machine explinations for everything, but personally I liked it, it felt right and bang on for the setting and time of the story where technology is very advance and nano machines are used for almost every perpose. For a gamer that poors alot of emotions into games I felt this was a great ending to the legendary Solid Snake! For gameplay it was great with alot of variation to combat. When putting people in a head lock you have so many differnt ways to end your enemy! There are alot of guns, but you may only find yourself using a few of the same but if you choose to use other it can change up gameplay alot! You will recieve neat gear from bosses that you can use in new game+ and are really fun to use. If you are planning to go for the platinum you will find yourself playing the game with alot of playstyles to get all the games emblems which need at least 8 playthroughs. Metal gear solid guns 4 from start to platinum is a blast with an amazingly told story and great stealth gameplay (if you choose to play like that) that will keep you engaged for as many playthroughs as you choose to play. That is why I give Metal Gear Solid 4 a 10/10 as a fan of the lore and series, I highly recommend Snakes last mission. Expand
  91. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    This is by far my favorite of the series! The length of the cutscenes are not surprising since MGS does have long cutscenes in general. Gameplay is a bit more like a shooter and a bit too easy. The story and characters and story are stronger then they have ever been. This game contains nostalgia, good characters, great story, an amazing final boss, and the perfect ending! 10/10
  92. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Four letters for this stunningly amazing masterpiece: E-P-I-C. Literally this is the Godfather/Citizen Kaneof the PSN exclusives for PS3. Just play this game or play legacy colelction and then this to get this game fully nonetheless this is a visually impressive and story rich classic. Public enemy pun: BELIEVE THE HYPE.
  93. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is not much I can say about MGS4 that hasn't been said already; it is a masterpiece. Yes, there are hours upon hours of long cutscenes and explanation, but for Metal Gear fans, including myself, they are all very fun and entertaining to watch. MGS4 is also one of the most emotional games I have ever experienced, watching Solid Snake go to the ends of the Earth to get this final job done is heart-breaking and makes you love the character even more. The ending is perfect, any fan of the series who has played the previous games, is sure to shed the tear. Rest in Peace, Solid Snake. We salute you. Expand
  94. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    I cannot believe what this game did to me. It's the first time i cried this hard (i cried like a bab) on a videogame and it's the second time i cried like that (the first one being Breaking Bad's ending). The game has got everything: Great gameplay, excellent graphics, perfect sound and soundtrack and an excellent story. If you liked any of the old Metal Gear games, you'll love this one,I cannot believe what this game did to me. It's the first time i cried this hard (i cried like a bab) on a videogame and it's the second time i cried like that (the first one being Breaking Bad's ending). The game has got everything: Great gameplay, excellent graphics, perfect sound and soundtrack and an excellent story. If you liked any of the old Metal Gear games, you'll love this one, maybe not as much as i do but i can guarantee you'll like it. Expand
  95. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    Master Piece.
    This is the best game I have ever played. It is.... words can't describe. It's so far beyond anything else out there that there is nothing to compare it to. Just play it.
  96. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    Excelente Metal Gear, história complexa e emocionante, gráficos soberbos até hoje, jogabilidade precisa,um final simplesmente surpreendente, a unica coisa que falta é um equilibrio entre gameplay e cutcenes.
  97. infamousbutcher
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    well 9.9 coz theres no such thing as a perfect game. but this is as cose as you will ever get. This game plays up to the Metal Gear series.now im finding it hard to describe coz i dont know where to start. If you havnt played the series, go out and buy MGS, MGS2 and MGS3 subsistance (metal gear 1 and metal gear 2 solid snake included) then play this game, you will be in for a story thatwell 9.9 coz theres no such thing as a perfect game. but this is as cose as you will ever get. This game plays up to the Metal Gear series.now im finding it hard to describe coz i dont know where to start. If you havnt played the series, go out and buy MGS, MGS2 and MGS3 subsistance (metal gear 1 and metal gear 2 solid snake included) then play this game, you will be in for a story that changes direction more than you change your underwear. It is without a doubt the best game series and story in existance. Expand
  98. OwnedL
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is This game is the final one with Snake in it and has untold amounts of blood, sweat and tears into this. I thought that it overall had great gameplay, visuals were very good, and the audio was a bit under my tasted. The video was remarkable, having dust fly up ontu the screen when you enter a dusty area. Blood will also fly onto the screen. Though I hate to see Snake leave the seen, he is old, tired and lonely (lol). You desreve your rest we salute you. Expand
  99. Apr 29, 2013
    6
    Metal Gear Solid 4 Guns of the Patriots is very much into its own self importance. This does not really feel like a game but more an interactive movie. Out of the 22 hours to complete the game, I only spent 7 hours actually moving. I know this because at the end of the game there are stats of how long you spend prone, crouching and walking etc. The action in the game is very much whatMetal Gear Solid 4 Guns of the Patriots is very much into its own self importance. This does not really feel like a game but more an interactive movie. Out of the 22 hours to complete the game, I only spent 7 hours actually moving. I know this because at the end of the game there are stats of how long you spend prone, crouching and walking etc. The action in the game is very much what Metal Gear fans like with the classic formula still intact. Its just a shame that these are broken up by LONG video sequences that CANNOT be skipped. One scene i had to watch two or three times at 20 minutes each because I died. It was just painful. There is one really genius moment which fans of the original will spot and hopefully enjoy as much as I did.
    I cannot say this game is bad because it wasn't. But the story really took over what is meant to be a game. At times I began to really switch off to the story just because it felt like my life was being sucked away from the LONG LONG backwards and forwards conversations throughout the game.
    The serious serious fans of the series are likely to not have a bad word to say but if like me you just want to play a game then this just goes on for far to long. Playing only one third of a game does not sound right does it?
    I had such hopes of this game and its the reason i brought a PS3, but it left me very disappointed.
    Expand
  100. jasonAnsari
    May 31, 2008
    10
    i dont have words to explain how good the visual quality of the game is, i mean from the moment game starts everything seem real and as if ur are playin a movie....gameplay mechanics are tigher and interchange b/w first person and third person is smooth...also the drebin points improves longevity of the game...but all i can say about the game is from the moment its starts and ends....u oni dont have words to explain how good the visual quality of the game is, i mean from the moment game starts everything seem real and as if ur are playin a movie....gameplay mechanics are tigher and interchange b/w first person and third person is smooth...also the drebin points improves longevity of the game...but all i can say about the game is from the moment its starts and ends....u on every occasion u praises KOJIMA for his fantastic work..and playing game show how much sweat and tears they have shed making it possible...its an experiance u must have...game requires 0 prior knowledge about MGS series...this game cant be more perfect...must buy for every ps3 owner and the one on the fence..here ur chance to buy ps3....go for it... Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.