Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3292 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots features an aging and exhausted Solid Snake in the middle of a futuristic battlefield. In spite of his failing body, Snake is equipped with a crucial new device tentatively known as "OctoCamo," a high-tech suit that dynamically transforms its textureMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots features an aging and exhausted Solid Snake in the middle of a futuristic battlefield. In spite of his failing body, Snake is equipped with a crucial new device tentatively known as "OctoCamo," a high-tech suit that dynamically transforms its texture based on Snake's surroundings. This revolutionary new gameplay mechanic allows him to seamlessly blend into the environment, providing him with the means to stalk his enemies like never before. This latest chapter in Hideo Kojima's legendary tactical espionage actin series marks the return of several characters from previous Metal Gear Solid games including Revolver Ocelot, Meryl Silverburgh, Naomi Hunter and Raiden, and features an unforgettable story that depicts the desperate state of the future as seen through the eyes of an older Solid Snake. [Konami] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    As the supposed last entry in the Metal Gear-franchise, this is one major release. Most of the flaws found in previous entries have been removed and the variety in gameplay and weapons is simply immense. The story is told in great part by cinematic video sequences and ingame narrative sequences, and while these are fantastic in many ways they can also become a bit tedious. These flaws are minor though, Metal Gear Solid 4 is a fantastic title in every way and a worthy finale to the franchise.
  2. 100
    While debate will no doubt rage over the story and its outcomes, there really isn't a single wrong move in the gameplay sections.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  4. 95
    But where MGS4 really succeeds is in delivering an experience unlikely to ever be surpassed by Kojima ever again, providing fans everything they want to see, twists you won’t expect and more raw, lavish creativity than the video gaming medium probably deserves.
  5. Coupled with a download via the Playstation Store that’ll explain the series to you so far, this game is playable even if you haven’t been following the series for years.
  6. Yet, despite my or anyone else's qualms about the game it still is a great game that can be enjoyed by anyone willing to give it a shot.
  7. 80
    The team at Kojima Productions has at the very least set a new high-water mark for cinematic presentation that I wager any other videogame will be lucky to reach, let alone exceed, for the next few years.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 796
  1. StevenN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, loved it from start to finish.
  2. ed
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I am not allow to spoil anything and that was the deal for getting an early copy of MGS4 but guys this game is worth even the $85+ for theI am not allow to spoil anything and that was the deal for getting an early copy of MGS4 but guys this game is worth even the $85+ for the collectors edition.

    it has all you need in a game full of action and espionage.
    that 90 minute scene crap is all nothing but flamebait.
    If you are an early MGS fan you wont be disappointed
    Expand
  3. EddieH.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Cinematically wonderful, and stealth/action has never been so great. This is the type of game that all its moments will live in your head for Cinematically wonderful, and stealth/action has never been so great. This is the type of game that all its moments will live in your head for days to come. If there is one game you can only play, make it Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots. You will not be disappointed! Expand
  4. May 31, 2012
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with aMetal Gear Solid 4. Four years ago the trailer for this game cost me £280. Four years later and I know I walked away with a bargain. I jumped aboard the good ship Metal Gear in 1998, when I won Metal Gear Solid for the psx in a great competition in CVG magazine. I cannot think of any other game series that has even attempted to remain as consistent over such a period of time as Kojima's legacy, let alone a series that constantly improves and refines. Metal Gear Solid 4 brings to an end 20+ years of tactical espionage action, unforgettable characters and convoluted post-modern plotlines. With the sheer amount of essential engrossing cutscenes that take up your playtime, It's almost criminal that the game mechanics have been refined to such high standards this time around. But you won't care, because none of this is filler; with regards to certain pivotal moments in the story, Kojima has even found a way for you to watch and play at the same time. In this way it's a game of compelling opposites; cutscenes infiltrate the great gameplay, fourth-wall hammering innovations subvert the dominance of the sweeping story, and even though the game ends the tale of Solid Snake with such bold finality, I expect nothing more than his triumphant return. Expand
  5. Seth
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best and most epic games I will ever remember! MGS4 = Mind blowing gameplay, challenging boss fights, emotional and laugh out loud One of the best and most epic games I will ever remember! MGS4 = Mind blowing gameplay, challenging boss fights, emotional and laugh out loud cut scenes! People who say this game is garbage, dont have the attention spand to watch and pay attention to the genius cut scenes! Thats one of the elements that that makes it beautiful!! Both thumbs up! Expand
  6. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. If you own a PS3, then you need to have this game in your library. Fans of the series are the ones who will This game is absolutely amazing. If you own a PS3, then you need to have this game in your library. Fans of the series are the ones who will find the most to love about this game. But even if you are a newcomer to the series this game will get you hooked into the Metal Gear mythos. Expand
  7. JustinJ.
    Jun 25, 2008
    0
    Nuff said. horrible game, wait for gears of war 2 later on this year.

See all 796 User Reviews