Metal Gear Solid HD Collection PlayStation 3

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 411
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    Metal Gear Solid HD Collection does exactly what it says on the tin. If you loved the originals, you'll love this. If you didn't like them... well, enough said. If you are a new player, perhaps you should approach with caution. Games have evolved a lot since the peak of MGS. Devoid of nostalgia, these games can flounder a little. MGS2, for example: Great game all the way up until the lastMetal Gear Solid HD Collection does exactly what it says on the tin. If you loved the originals, you'll love this. If you didn't like them... well, enough said. If you are a new player, perhaps you should approach with caution. Games have evolved a lot since the peak of MGS. Devoid of nostalgia, these games can flounder a little. MGS2, for example: Great game all the way up until the last third, where it suddenly disintegrates into an incoherent mess. It is widely considered to be the weakest of the franchise (not by me, though). Conversely, many would say that MGS3 is probably the best Solid Snake outing, but I strongly disagree. Part 3 was where the balance between the cut-scenes and gameplay was thrown out of whack. Play for ten minutes, watch for fifteen. It got worse in MGS4 but the rot started back here in Snake Eater. MSG3 also suffers from being a transitional title. The newly introduced elements such as it's camera system are not yet perfected and feel cumbersome when compared to modern games. Overall, this is a solid (pun intended) package, but these games are not perfect and they never were... And where the hell is the first game? That WAS perfect. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Great series but I wish the first Metal Gear Solid was including along with trophies. Overall each game looks fantastic and I am glad they added trophies. Something that MGS4 lacked and MGS1 for PSN.
  3. May 26, 2012
    6
    Some of the most overrated games ever. The sneaking is primitive, cumbersome and bugged. It relies on you memorizing enemy paths like an autistic robot. There is no real free thinking involved. There is no real way to quick load the game after being detected. The 3 games are just extremely obnoxious and unejoyable. The controls are complete **** I'd recommend checking out Splinter Cell:Some of the most overrated games ever. The sneaking is primitive, cumbersome and bugged. It relies on you memorizing enemy paths like an autistic robot. There is no real free thinking involved. There is no real way to quick load the game after being detected. The 3 games are just extremely obnoxious and unejoyable. The controls are complete **** I'd recommend checking out Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory or Thief 3 if you want a real stealth game. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    6
    çok güzel :)
    Every single game in this collection is worth 10/10 score and now it's on one disc, in HD, in 60 fps and in the best possible edition. If you never played Metal Gear games before, you should buy it. Every single game in this collection is worth 10/10 score and now it's on one disc, in HD, in 60 fps and in the best possible edition. If you never
    çok güzel :)
    Every single game in this collection is worth 10/10 score and now it's on one disc, in HD, in 60 fps and in the best possible edition. If you never played Metal Gear games before, you should buy it. Every single game in this collection is worth 10/10 score and now it's on one disc, in HD, in 60 fps and in the best possible edition. If you never played Metal Gear games before, you should buy it.
    Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    I desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are the crappiest aiming controls I have experienced in any action game, not to mention current gen games. This spoils the whole game for me. Aside from the great cutscenes and characters, I can't understand how people can say that this game can in any wayI desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are the crappiest aiming controls I have experienced in any action game, not to mention current gen games. This spoils the whole game for me. Aside from the great cutscenes and characters, I can't understand how people can say that this game can in any way compete with current gen games. The visuals in the outside levels are cool, but the buildings and character animations look just plain bad. I can imagine how people who played the original get nostalgic and that it must have been a great game at the time, but for a newcomer it just cant hold up with todays competition. I think I will give it another try with the 3DS version, which will be a real remake with updated controls. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    In the Metal Gear Solid – HD Collection fans and newbies alike will find an almost perfect adaption of the classic games.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 13, 2012
    92
    Features three different Metal Gear Solid games that have been improved graphically quite a bit. However, the basic gameplay remains unchanged, so there aren't any new changes to the old formula. This is only a good thing if you like the series' stealth action style of play but a very bad thing if you just hate sneaking around and prefer shooting your enemies. Nevertheless, even without any big changes this is still a great collection of some really good games for fans of the series. [March 2012]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    89
    Kojima-san spent most of his childhood in front of the television and always wanted to be a movie director. Even though he might not have made it to Hollywood, his genius and cinematic talent are what made this series and its characters so iconic. [March 2012, p.90]