Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection bundles Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker and updates them with HD visuals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    100
    Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is an essential purchase, and more content worth experiencing than just about any other game released in the past year.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    92
    If you've never played these classics, you owe it to yourself to run out and pick up a copy this instant. If you've played them before, this is a budget-priced return to some of the most influential video games ever made. Either way, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is $50 you won't regret spending.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Metal Gear Solid is a potpourri of ideas that insists you take the good with the bad. Certainly indulgent, it's also melancholy, exhilarating, clever, and ludicrous. It's never entirely clear what, if anything, Kojima and company are taking seriously - and the end result, in this collection, is a fascinating chronicle of one of video games' strangest successes.
  4. Graphics age and controls grow outdated, but genius never fades. [Jan 2012, p.85]
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection is more than a convincing argument to upgrade from your old PlayStation 2 copies. It's an essential title in the library of anyone interested in narrative-lead gaming.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    88
    Even if we would have preferred the first chapter instead of the more recent PSP title, this collection contains one of the most important legacies of the videogame industry to old gamers and new generations.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    It's hard not to fall for such an offer, of 3 great games for less than a full retail HD game. But at the same time, one can't help but notice some lazyness in the remastering process. Efforts have been reduced to a minimum, with no additionnal content whatsoever, and there are even some technical shortcomings (frame rate drops on MGS2 and 3). For the nostalgia, for the collection, for the fans, or those who never had the chance to play them, it's still a cult saga with memorable sequences.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Um presente da Konami para os fãs da quinta e sexta geração de consoles. O que realmente faltou foi o primeiro Metal Gear Solid, mas nada que comprometa a nostalgia. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this is a real piece of art a grat chance for new players play a fantastic collection , metal gear have a nice balance of gameplay, history , and graphics Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This is christmas come early for me!. A chance to play some of my favorite games of all time in HD was too good too miss. I was never really a big fan of Sons of Liberty too be honest, thought the storyline was too confusing and the less said about the character Raiden the better!. Playing it again in this HD collection made me realise what a good game it is tho. Defiantly gone up in my estimation. As for Snake Eater...probably one of my best games of all time. The storyline, characters and gameplay are a thing of beauty, and playing it in HD made me drool!. Not had a chance to play Peace Walker yet but Ive heard good things about it and even without playing that i am able to give this a 10/10. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    It's just absolutely unbelievable how above par the MGS series stands not only as a video game but as a work of art. Even knowing all of even the smallest details, playing through these just blows me away. Makes the early Bond films seem not only vapid but dull in comparison, not to mention putting Elder Scrolls/ Uncharted/ Batman/ et al "game of the year" titles to shame. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Worth the price of admission for mgs3 alone. Peacewalker and mgs2 are gravy. I'm rating this based on mgs3, the game looks great in HD and cleans up the display which I found muddy on the ps2. If you missed mgs3 or are a big fan of the metal gear series, you owe it to yourself to pick these up and enjoy some classic gaming. These games are just so much fun and interesting. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    As A Metal Gear Solid fan this is possibly the best HD remastered game I could ask for. I more or less grew up playing Metal Gear solid 2 so it was nostalgic to be able to play it again, but in HD this time. Seeing all of the textures updated in this format does show it's age I'd admit but in a lot of cases the game looks best. Metal Gear Solid 3 to my surprise looks the most impressive in HD. Apparently Hideo Kojima and his creative team put the PS2 to it's full potential because it does shine in HD and more or less passes off as an early PS3 game in some areas.The game is also much much different the MGS 1 and 2 by adding a jungle environment throughout half the game and relying on camo patterned clothing and face paint by blending into the environment. Very different but also yet much more enjoyable and challenging too.

    Disappointingly Peace Walker does not hold up well on this set. Being a PSP game this does show it was meant for that format by showing off the limited textures in a lot of the environments and characters. It also dumbs down the stealth element and it does take time getting used to the RPG and customization gameplay aspect.Once getting used to all of this the game can be quite fun and enjoyable at the same time.

    Saying that I think this set is truly worth getting because not only do you get MGS 2, 3 and Peace Walker remastered in HD but you also get Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 as well. Only downside is that Metal Gear Solid Twin Snakes isn't included in this and it is a shame because that is the first chapter to this series and really would've made this set more worth it entirely.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    I desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are the crappiest aiming controls I have experienced in any action game, not to mention current gen games. This spoils the whole game for me. Aside from the great cutscenes and characters, I can't understand how people can say that this game can in any way compete with current gen games. The visuals in the outside levels are cool, but the buildings and character animations look just plain bad. I can imagine how people who played the original get nostalgic and that it must have been a great game at the time, but for a newcomer it just cant hold up with todays competition. I think I will give it another try with the 3DS version, which will be a real remake with updated controls. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews