Metal Gear Solid HD Collection PlayStation 3

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 414 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection bundles Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker and updates them with HD visuals.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    100
    Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is an essential purchase, and more content worth experiencing than just about any other game released in the past year.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    92
    If you've never played these classics, you owe it to yourself to run out and pick up a copy this instant. If you've played them before, this is a budget-priced return to some of the most influential video games ever made. Either way, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is $50 you won't regret spending.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Metal Gear Solid is a potpourri of ideas that insists you take the good with the bad. Certainly indulgent, it's also melancholy, exhilarating, clever, and ludicrous. It's never entirely clear what, if anything, Kojima and company are taking seriously - and the end result, in this collection, is a fascinating chronicle of one of video games' strangest successes.
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2012
    90
    Graphics age and controls grow outdated, but genius never fades. [Jan 2012, p.85]
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection is more than a convincing argument to upgrade from your old PlayStation 2 copies. It's an essential title in the library of anyone interested in narrative-lead gaming.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    88
    Even if we would have preferred the first chapter instead of the more recent PSP title, this collection contains one of the most important legacies of the videogame industry to old gamers and new generations.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    It's hard not to fall for such an offer, of 3 great games for less than a full retail HD game. But at the same time, one can't help but notice some lazyness in the remastering process. Efforts have been reduced to a minimum, with no additionnal content whatsoever, and there are even some technical shortcomings (frame rate drops on MGS2 and 3). For the nostalgia, for the collection, for the fans, or those who never had the chance to play them, it's still a cult saga with memorable sequences.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Peace of art..I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it.............. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    this is a real piece of art a grat chance for new players play a fantastic collection , metal gear have a nice balance of gameplay, history ,this is a real piece of art a grat chance for new players play a fantastic collection , metal gear have a nice balance of gameplay, history , and graphics Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Now this is a true HD make over.

    There is so much content on 1 disc that it's almost a dream come true,since many of these mgs titles are
    Now this is a true HD make over.

    There is so much content on 1 disc that it's almost a dream come true,since many of these mgs titles are some of the best in the epic series.mgs hd collection looks great in hd,and runs at a steady 60fps with no hick-ups from what I've seen so far.plus let's not forget that you also get metal gear and metal gear 2 solid snake as an added bonus,so those new to the metal gear series will get to see it all on 1 disc.best polished games ever made period.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    i was worried about how much i would really enjoy playing these games again, so i was hesitant on picking it up but my lord this is the besti was worried about how much i would really enjoy playing these games again, so i was hesitant on picking it up but my lord this is the best hd collection made to date!! better than the shadow of colossus /ico collection and both god of war collections if you are remotely a mgs fan buy this now! stop reading and buy it Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fan-freaking-tastic. MGS4 was the first mgs game I ever bought, back when it first came out. Ever since, I fell in love with theAbsolutely fan-freaking-tastic. MGS4 was the first mgs game I ever bought, back when it first came out. Ever since, I fell in love with the metal gear characters and story. However, I never did get around to buying earlier installments until much later, when I bought MGS1 on the psn a while back. Right after doing so I bought mgs2 and 3 on a gamefly trial, and after speed playing them I felt really dissatisfied, I wanted to own them. So I considered buying them used on amazon, until i caught wind of the MGSHD collection. I decided to wait over half a year for it's release, and I am not disappointed. If you already have the games and just want to play them in HD, I don't think it would be wise. MGS2 still looks a lot like a ps2 game, only it doesn't distort or granulate when played on big expensive tv's. MGS3, however, looks extremely close to a ps3 game, but the added kicks is that it's the subsidence version so it has a bunch of added features and a controllable camera, making gameplay a whole lot less awkward. I have yet to play peace walker, but I have heard that it is the main selling point with it has much better controls and ps3-esque graphics. It also has a new, addictive multiplayer. So if you own MGS2 Substance, MGS3 subsidence, and peace walker, then you should skip this. But if you don't and love metal gear, or just want to give this game series a try, then I can't recommend this game enough. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2015
    9
    Pros:

    HD remastering is very well done, and all three games look crisp and crystal clear. Bonus content includes most of MGS2's
    Pros:

    HD remastering is very well done, and all three games look crisp and crystal clear.

    Bonus content includes most of MGS2's Substance edition, the improved third person camera for MGS3, and both MSX Metal Gear games ("Metal Gear" and "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake")

    Cons:

    Games might feel a little dated to some unfamiliar with the PS2 originals.

    No Secret Theater.

    ???

    Worth owning for MGS3 alone.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    I desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are theI desperately wanted to play MGS3, since I haven`t played the original. But I have to say I hate the aiming controls. Seriously, these are the crappiest aiming controls I have experienced in any action game, not to mention current gen games. This spoils the whole game for me. Aside from the great cutscenes and characters, I can't understand how people can say that this game can in any way compete with current gen games. The visuals in the outside levels are cool, but the buildings and character animations look just plain bad. I can imagine how people who played the original get nostalgic and that it must have been a great game at the time, but for a newcomer it just cant hold up with todays competition. I think I will give it another try with the 3DS version, which will be a real remake with updated controls. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews