Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Celebrating the 25th anniversary of the METAL GEAR SOLID franchise, this PlayStation 3 exclusive package will include METAL GEAR SOLID, METAL GEAR SOLID 2: HD Edition, METAL GEAR SOLID 3: HD Edition (which includes the original MSX versions of METAL GEAR and METAL GEAR 2), METAL GEAR SOLID:Celebrating the 25th anniversary of the METAL GEAR SOLID franchise, this PlayStation 3 exclusive package will include METAL GEAR SOLID, METAL GEAR SOLID 2: HD Edition, METAL GEAR SOLID 3: HD Edition (which includes the original MSX versions of METAL GEAR and METAL GEAR 2), METAL GEAR SOLID: Peace Walker HD Edition, METAL GEAR SOLID: VR MISSIONS and METAL GEAR SOLID 4: Trophy Edition. In addition, the collection will also include two Ashley Wood digital graphic novels. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    96
    There’s a reason why Metal Gear Solid is so beloved — if you’ve never had the chance to find out, now’s the perfect time to take the plunge.
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    95
    Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection is an incredible compilation of one of the most important videogame series in all time, with good price and better presentation.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    92
    At the end of the day, you get a fabulous 'ultimate' collection of all the Metal Gear games that make us Metal Gear fanatics happy. While there are a couple of games missing from the 'portable' side of things, most of what you want is in this Legacy Collection. It will certainly be worth your time and money in exchange for playing this games once again (or packaging and storing them somewhere safe).
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aug 12, 2013
    90
    If you’re an absolute newcomer to this series, this is must-buy material as it’s the best value PS3 bundle since the Orange Box. Each title has been lovingly remastered and every entry included pushed the boundaries back in the day to be the best titles of their release year, if not their entire generation. No serious PlayStation gamer should be without these. [September 2013, p78]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Ohohoho, this game right here, this masterpiece, is what reminds me of what is to come in TPP. If you haven't played any of the Metal GearOhohoho, this game right here, this masterpiece, is what reminds me of what is to come in TPP. If you haven't played any of the Metal Gear Solid games, then I command you to buy this game, it will enlighten you as to what the pinnacle of modern gaming is. With incredibly memorable characters and some of the most innovative gameplay since Half-life was released, this game will hold a very special place in your heart. I know it does for me. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    The best MGS collection ever? No, the best gaming collection in history. It includes some critically acclaimed classics like MGS1, MGS2, andThe best MGS collection ever? No, the best gaming collection in history. It includes some critically acclaimed classics like MGS1, MGS2, and MGS3, and current gen titles like the flawless MGS4 and the biggest PSP game MGSPW.

    It's rather hard to make a review for a collection of 7 games, so I'll make it quick: don't go and buy it, run down to your closest gaming store and take this motherf*cker!
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    There has never been a better deal in the history of video games. This would even be worth twice the amount for half the quality it isThere has never been a better deal in the history of video games. This would even be worth twice the amount for half the quality it is offering. I need 6 more characters to post this Collapse
  4. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    metal gear is the goat okay halo fanboys go and cry because this is the goat okay gta fanboys cry cry cyr far cy cuz im just doing this to getmetal gear is the goat okay halo fanboys go and cry because this is the goat okay gta fanboys cry cry cyr far cy cuz im just doing this to get 150 characters i like turtles Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    one of the best game franchise in history 10 full games absolutely amazing if you have not played metal gear this is the time the legacyone of the best game franchise in history 10 full games absolutely amazing if you have not played metal gear this is the time the legacy collection contains every single metal gear game to date except metal gear rising this is a piece of gold get the legacy collection and live the legendary moments again aregatoo kojima long live metal gear Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Nine is my personal score to this terrific MGS collection. Why not Ten? I'll explain you at the end of the review. Note well: this is a reviewNine is my personal score to this terrific MGS collection. Why not Ten? I'll explain you at the end of the review. Note well: this is a review to the collection itself, not to the single games (Although I've nothing to say about. They are all almost perfect).
    Let's see what's inside the box. First of all the game case, where we find two discs: the first one contains MGS4: Guns of The Patriots. The second one is basically the MGS HD Collection, and contains MGS2: Sons of Liberty, MGS3: Subsistence, and MGS: Peace Walker. In addition to the MGS HD Collection, the second disc contains also the graphic novels of the first two chapter of the MGS Saga. In the case, we also have a piece of paper reporting a PSN Code we can use to download the digital version of the first MGS (Originally for PSX), including VR Missions.
    The surprises don't end here: as a matter of fact, in the box there's a huge art book, containing the story of all the MGS saga, including some cool images of the various games. It's not the usual art book you find in the special editions of various games, cause It's elegant and It has a cardboard cover, so It's quite resistant.

    At the end you have 7 games (including MG1 and MG2 contained in the Subsistence edition of MGS3), two graphic novels, and an art book. I recommend It to anyone is a fan of the MGS Saga and also to people who never played these fantastic games. Considering the price, It's a real bargain!

    The only flaw: considering the releasing of MGS V next year, I would have included also the HD version of MGS: Portable Ops, in order to complete the story of Big Boss. That's the reason It doesn't deserve full score 10/10.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    This is a disaster on Konami part as far as I'm concerned. MGS Legacy Collection is for people who want to play the entire MGS series fromThis is a disaster on Konami part as far as I'm concerned. MGS Legacy Collection is for people who want to play the entire MGS series from start to finish, so imagine my surprise to find out that the first and most critically acclaimed MGS, which you want to play as a first MGS title, is not even included on the physical discs. After searching what is going on you find out that they didn't bother to add it and just sliced the digital code for download somewhere between useless manual and Konami promo cards. Even worse is the fact that they sell region locked codes, so the code won't work on EU versions of this collection. The worst part is the Konami customer center, when I wrote them with this problem, I got a reply after a week of waiting that said I should contact another Konami department, as if they couldn't transfer the request internally. Their final solution was something to the effect of buy the collection again, give us more money, and the highlight was the signature - Thank you for your interest in Pro Evolution Soccer, which I never even mentioned. Worst case of terrible money grabbing corporation with absolutely zero customer-friendly behaviour. It's also worth noting that this review has been deleted before, that's why there are only positive reviews of Konami products, Konami is corrupting media to publish only positive reviews, but they will never stop the freedom of speech. This is just a fair warning, avoid this collection, especially if you're in EU, it simply doesn't work. 0/10 Expand

See all 26 User Reviews