Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 269 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Imagine it, and you can build it. Create your very own game world and explore, build and conquer. When night falls the monsters appear, so ensure you’ve made yourself a shelter before they arrive. Make it through the night and the world is only limited by your imagination you choose what youImagine it, and you can build it. Create your very own game world and explore, build and conquer. When night falls the monsters appear, so ensure you’ve made yourself a shelter before they arrive. Make it through the night and the world is only limited by your imagination you choose what you want to make or what to do. Play on your own, cooperatively with friends in 2 player and 4 player split screen modes, or online with up to 8 players. Split screen option requires HD TV with HD connection. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    95
    Turning a pristine landscape into grand palaces and irrigation systems using your own two hands while things try to kill you isn’t just an amazingly rewarding gaming experience, it’s a clever retelling of human history.
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    91
    It's the excellent game it always has been, with as much to get out of it as you're willing to put in. [Issue#240, p.62]
  3. The game that changed games arrives on PlayStation in fine form with an improved crafting system, tarnished only slightly by a cramped map size. Until the full-fat PS4 Edition arrives, this’ll do nicely.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    85
    A good port of Minecraft, nearly identical to the Xbox 360 one. The PC version is bigger and better, but this is a quality console experience.
  5. May 20, 2014
    80
    Minecraft: PlayStation 3 Edition is a joyous adventure, despite being lighter on content than its other iterations.
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    So finally we've got Minecraft on PlayStation 3 and it was well worth the wait.
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    75
    This Minecraft Edition is a simplified version, perfect for everyone and for who has never experienced the PC version.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    In my opinion minecraft is a great game for me it builds autonomy because it is also fun to play but it let us learn some things related toIn my opinion minecraft is a great game for me it builds autonomy because it is also fun to play but it let us learn some things related to real life, like survival; In PS3 which was very expected minecraft it came out now it´s even more fun! Collapse
  2. May 17, 2014
    10
    awesome game just plain awesome i love minecraft and the ps3 version amazing i mean come on its freaking awesome you guys should all go out and buy it
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    this game is all some game to play because it like if your day is bad, it is like you are in a diffent world and there is nothing to dealthis game is all some game to play because it like if your day is bad, it is like you are in a diffent world and there is nothing to deal with. I like this game..... Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    This game is amazing. I just started playing Minecraft in 2014,and I do not regret buying it. The add-ons are awesome and cheap,and you getThis game is amazing. I just started playing Minecraft in 2014,and I do not regret buying it. The add-ons are awesome and cheap,and you get the platinum very easy if you wanted to.May be a bit expensive and not having all of the PC stuff, but that's the least of your worries. Just buy and play the game. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Yes, we all know about Minecraft as the hit sensational PC game that almost EVERYONE plays. But what happens when you lack a good PC to beYes, we all know about Minecraft as the hit sensational PC game that almost EVERYONE plays. But what happens when you lack a good PC to be able to run it smoothy? Are you **** out of luck? Well not anymore! PS3 Minecraft is a god send for people who prefer consoles than PCs. I'll admit, it's not as good as the PC version, and it's not open to the modding community, but it's a great game to just pick up your controller, message your friends and just relax to. I highly recommend this game to the Minecraft community who have PS3s and want to have fun with friends. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2014
    7
    mixed reviews nice fun to play with 2 people but alone its boring plus one MEGA DOWNSIDE its kinda a short map its limited defo limited nomixed reviews nice fun to play with 2 people but alone its boring plus one MEGA DOWNSIDE its kinda a short map its limited defo limited no where near pc Expand
  7. May 23, 2015
    0
    uhu'll swear one more game to **** Earth face mano these kids playing this crap station junkies hey play a man's game and not gay game moreuhu'll swear one more game to **** Earth face mano these kids playing this crap station junkies hey play a man's game and not gay game more than **** ;( Expand

See all 55 User Reviews