Minecraft: PlayStation 3 Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 306 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Imagine it, and you can build it. Create your very own game world and explore, build and conquer. When night falls the monsters appear, so ensure you’ve made yourself a shelter before they arrive. Make it through the night and the world is only limited by your imagination you choose what youImagine it, and you can build it. Create your very own game world and explore, build and conquer. When night falls the monsters appear, so ensure you’ve made yourself a shelter before they arrive. Make it through the night and the world is only limited by your imagination you choose what you want to make or what to do. Play on your own, cooperatively with friends in 2 player and 4 player split screen modes, or online with up to 8 players. Split screen option requires HD TV with HD connection. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    95
    Turning a pristine landscape into grand palaces and irrigation systems using your own two hands while things try to kill you isn’t just an amazingly rewarding gaming experience, it’s a clever retelling of human history.
  2. Play UK
    Feb 15, 2014
    91
    It's the excellent game it always has been, with as much to get out of it as you're willing to put in. [Issue#240, p.62]
  3. The game that changed games arrives on PlayStation in fine form with an improved crafting system, tarnished only slightly by a cramped map size. Until the full-fat PS4 Edition arrives, this’ll do nicely.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    85
    A good port of Minecraft, nearly identical to the Xbox 360 one. The PC version is bigger and better, but this is a quality console experience.
  5. May 20, 2014
    80
    Minecraft: PlayStation 3 Edition is a joyous adventure, despite being lighter on content than its other iterations.
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    So finally we've got Minecraft on PlayStation 3 and it was well worth the wait.
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    75
    This Minecraft Edition is a simplified version, perfect for everyone and for who has never experienced the PC version.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 65
  2. Negative: 8 out of 65
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    In my opinion minecraft is a great game for me it builds autonomy because it is also fun to play but it let us learn some things related toIn my opinion minecraft is a great game for me it builds autonomy because it is also fun to play but it let us learn some things related to real life, like survival; In PS3 which was very expected minecraft it came out now it´s even more fun! Expand
  2. May 17, 2014
    10
    awesome game just plain awesome i love minecraft and the ps3 version amazing i mean come on its freaking awesome you guys should all go out and buy it
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I cant get my TV back from my two kids because of this game. But when I do get to finally play it I too really enjoy getting lost in the worldI cant get my TV back from my two kids because of this game. But when I do get to finally play it I too really enjoy getting lost in the world of creation this game allows. Between this and Legos I know the kids will be ok until they try and start playing COD.. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2016
    8
    The reason i'm not going crazy giving this game a 10 is because if your not on singleplayer and don't have psn friends that have the game,The reason i'm not going crazy giving this game a 10 is because if your not on singleplayer and don't have psn friends that have the game, then it sucks, and even so, it's better to play split screen because there is no chat, preventing you from communicating. But if you have a friend who likes to play the game and a additional controller, this a good game. Survival and creative mode are fun to, survival if you like to work with your friends and 1v1 combat your friends creative with host privliges on if you want build w/ your friends and maybe troll them. Verdict is a game that you will quickly get bored with if you do singleplayer, but will be incredibly fun if you do multiplayer. 8/10 Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Yes, we all know about Minecraft as the hit sensational PC game that almost EVERYONE plays. But what happens when you lack a good PC to beYes, we all know about Minecraft as the hit sensational PC game that almost EVERYONE plays. But what happens when you lack a good PC to be able to run it smoothy? Are you **** out of luck? Well not anymore! PS3 Minecraft is a god send for people who prefer consoles than PCs. I'll admit, it's not as good as the PC version, and it's not open to the modding community, but it's a great game to just pick up your controller, message your friends and just relax to. I highly recommend this game to the Minecraft community who have PS3s and want to have fun with friends. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    It's definitely a solid game but it feels utterly lacking when compared to the PC version. Several items (that are pretty useful in the PCIt's definitely a solid game but it feels utterly lacking when compared to the PC version. Several items (that are pretty useful in the PC version) are just missing. The game itself feels solid and intuitive but it also feels limited. A map size of 864x864 kind of limits you to just this island, where in the PC version you could roam endlessly. It's definitely great to play as a couch co-op and it's very suited for playing with people that are not into videogames. For what it's worth, it doesn't feel as if the PS3's hardware is properly used. Hopefully the PS4 version will be better.

    Simply put, it's definitely a thing, but very underdeveloped.
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2015
    0
    uhu'll swear one more game to **** Earth face mano these kids playing this crap station junkies hey play a man's game and not gay game moreuhu'll swear one more game to **** Earth face mano these kids playing this crap station junkies hey play a man's game and not gay game more than **** ;( Expand

See all 65 User Reviews