Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Imagine it, and you can build it. Create your very own game world and explore, build and conquer. When night falls the monsters appear, so ensure you’ve made yourself a shelter before they arrive. Make it through the night and the world is only limited by your imagination you choose what you want to make or what to do. Play on your own, cooperatively with friends in 2 player and 4 player split screen modes, or online with up to 8 players. Split screen option requires HD TV with HD connection. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 26, 2014
    95
    Turning a pristine landscape into grand palaces and irrigation systems using your own two hands while things try to kill you isn’t just an amazingly rewarding gaming experience, it’s a clever retelling of human history.
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    91
    It's the excellent game it always has been, with as much to get out of it as you're willing to put in. [Issue#240, p.62]
  3. The game that changed games arrives on PlayStation in fine form with an improved crafting system, tarnished only slightly by a cramped map size. Until the full-fat PS4 Edition arrives, this’ll do nicely.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    85
    A good port of Minecraft, nearly identical to the Xbox 360 one. The PC version is bigger and better, but this is a quality console experience.
  5. May 20, 2014
    80
    Minecraft: PlayStation 3 Edition is a joyous adventure, despite being lighter on content than its other iterations.
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    So finally we've got Minecraft on PlayStation 3 and it was well worth the wait.
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    75
    This Minecraft Edition is a simplified version, perfect for everyone and for who has never experienced the PC version.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 8 out of 54
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    In my opinion minecraft is a great game for me it builds autonomy because it is also fun to play but it let us learn some things related to real life, like survival; In PS3 which was very expected minecraft it came out now it´s even more fun! Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    this game is all some game to play because it like if your day is bad, it is like you are in a diffent world and there is nothing to deal with. I like this game..... Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I cant get my TV back from my two kids because of this game. But when I do get to finally play it I too really enjoy getting lost in the world of creation this game allows. Between this and Legos I know the kids will be ok until they try and start playing COD.. Expand
  4. May 27, 2014
    8
    Finally edition for PS3. Mainly the game offers single player and local multiplayer lobbies. With new updates
    Minecraft PS3 is going better
    and better. The sad point is "There is no online playing". I still suggest everyone to try it out cause it's still MINECRAFT. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    I love Minecraft. It's fun, it's rewarding, and overall one of the best games to grace the PC and Xbox 360. Oh, it's on PS3? Well... That's great for someone who hasn't played it, but come on. It's been almost THREE YEARS since Minecraft came to PC, and almost two years on Xbox. It should have come earlier, but nevertheless, it's fine. Go play it if you have a PS3. (PS: If you read my DNF review before this, I may seem like I'm contradicting myself, which I kind of am.) Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2014
    7
    This game was not was I was expecting at all. I hoped the game would be updated and easy to play but ps3 edition was none of these things. But it was still fun. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    This game on PS3 is just really bad. It is better on other platforms. I'm sorry, but I need to give it a 0/10... on PS3. But I really mean it, PC version has better graphics, Poctet edition is on the phone, that's why it is awesome, and Xbox version just has more content Expand

See all 54 User Reviews