• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 2, 2010
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 99
  2. Negative: 12 out of 99

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    The best thing about this game is even if you're not a big baseball fan, (which I'm not, at all) the game is a lot of fun due to all the options and tweaks you can do. For example, Want to change the amount of innings to just 5, 6, or 7 because it starts to get boring after an hour of playing? You can. But then wouldn't the strategy to put in a relief pitcher or pinch hitter be wasted?The best thing about this game is even if you're not a big baseball fan, (which I'm not, at all) the game is a lot of fun due to all the options and tweaks you can do. For example, Want to change the amount of innings to just 5, 6, or 7 because it starts to get boring after an hour of playing? You can. But then wouldn't the strategy to put in a relief pitcher or pinch hitter be wasted? Nope! Because you can adjust (and save for later games with your buddies) a pitchers fatigue level so that he'll get tired in the 5th inning instead of the 8th so you're still forced to make a managerial decision. Do you like to try and steal bases when your friend's are pitching but get annoyed at how many failed attempts turn into outs and wonder why even bother? Just turn up the players ability to run just a little bit faster around the bases. The level is up to you. You'll still get called out if you're trying to steal with a slow player but at least your success rate will improve with the faster players to make it a more strategic game. It all depends on how far you want to adjust your options. This, plus all the other reasons why this game is good which you've probably already read about, (graphics, commentary, control, etc) are what makes this game so much fun and exciting. There is no equal to Sony's baseball games. At this point, one could probably find this game for no more than $5 used. It's a definitely....a home run. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    This game I think is not so good the pitching sucks, where you go to pitch it it doesn't go. Also when you go to hit the ball the best way is the power swing which is the square button because when you hit X on good balls they won't swing all the way they stop and strike you out. Also if you have the runners on auto they try to steal the base when t he ball is to close to the catchersThis game I think is not so good the pitching sucks, where you go to pitch it it doesn't go. Also when you go to hit the ball the best way is the power swing which is the square button because when you hit X on good balls they won't swing all the way they stop and strike you out. Also if you have the runners on auto they try to steal the base when t he ball is to close to the catchers and they end up getting you out. Overall this game sucks. Collapse
  3. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    I still play this game on a regular basis and I got it right when it came out. Heck if you count the show 09 Ive been playing this series for about about 22 months in a row. This was the only reason I wanted a ps3 and Its been totally worth it. Cannot wait for the next version. At least the mets win the WS in my reality.
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I have to be honest here,I love basketball and baseball.Nba 2k11 I thought was the best sports game ever and it is true except for Mlb 10 the show.I know the two are completely different games entirely but after playing both for a very long time I will crown this game the king of sports games.This game is utterly amazing in every way possible to the point were now I don't want to play anyI have to be honest here,I love basketball and baseball.Nba 2k11 I thought was the best sports game ever and it is true except for Mlb 10 the show.I know the two are completely different games entirely but after playing both for a very long time I will crown this game the king of sports games.This game is utterly amazing in every way possible to the point were now I don't want to play any of my other baseball games and I have just about every one that has came out on all systems.When I was younger I used to play Hard ball for the commodore 64 and I loved that game but basically this game is so good it has ruined all other baseball games and one that I don't believe will be topped at least in the next five years.Unless Sony has another trick up there sleeve,what a game! Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    This game is f*****g awesome, IT'S a hell of a lot better than the PS2 version, I love it. It's so cool how you can call strikes and balls as a catcher
  6. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The most realistic sports game ever. Thats all you can say about it. It is sort of fun but sometimes it can get boring. This is made up by all of the game modes and features that this game has to offer like franchise, season, and road to the show, which is when you are a rising mlb star trying to make a team. Overall, This game is alright but it could be better.
  7. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    This game I think is not so good the pitching sucks, where you go to pitch it it doesn't go. Also when you go to hit the ball the best way is the power swing which is the square button because when you hit X on good balls they won't swing all the way they stop and strike you out. Also if you have the runners on auto they try to steal the base when t he ball is to close to the catchersThis game I think is not so good the pitching sucks, where you go to pitch it it doesn't go. Also when you go to hit the ball the best way is the power swing which is the square button because when you hit X on good balls they won't swing all the way they stop and strike you out. Also if you have the runners on auto they try to steal the base when t he ball is to close to the catchers and they end up getting you out. Overall this game sucks. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nothing captures the flavor of Major League Baseball better or in so many ways. Addictive as can be, even for the casual fan.
  2. While MLB 10 The Show remains the best baseball videogame money can buy, it’s no longer light-years ahead of 2K Sports’ effort. Is it better than MLB 09? Definitely, but not by a wide margin.
  3. The depth, the possibilities and the realism make this a must have purchase for those interested in baseball. A title that truly rewards those who commit themselves to the game.