Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Lord knows how long the San Diego boys can continue trumping themselves year after year, but for now their golden touch shows no sign of fading. [June 2011, p.106]
  2. The new version of MLB: The Show is available. Play ball. [April 2011, p.86]
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    100
    MLB 11: The Show is so full of the heart and soul of baseball that even jaded baseball video gamers have to admit how close it is to the real thing.
  4. Apr 6, 2011
    98
    MLB 11 The Show remains the best baseball game on the market and is a worthy upgrade for any baseball fan.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    98
    MLB 11 The Show is an upgrade from last year's game, and that's saying a helluva lot considering how good last year was for a majority of baseball fans. With added/improved modes, gorgeous graphics and better controls you will get the best baseball experience from Sony's baseball franchise.
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    95
    MLB 11: The Show doesn't change a ton of content from last year, but that's not a bad thing. It makes enough small improvements to the visuals, animations, and gameplay mechanics to keep the experience fresh while advancing the series. It is by far the best baseball game ever made, without a doubt. If you're a baseball fan, sports fan, or even if you simply own a PS3, this game is a must-have.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    95
    I can't imagine any fan of our national pastime that wouldn't love MLB 11.
  8. Mar 9, 2011
    93
    Includes most every feature, strategy, tactic, and gameplay element any die-hard fan could ask for. It's all here and really, I could go on writing and explaining for a very long time. But here's the point- the game attempts to put our nation's pastime at our fingertips, and it succeeds wonderfully.
  9. Mar 7, 2011
    93
    The new analog pitching is the most polished and challenging gameplay mechanic a baseball game has ever offered. [Apr 2011, p.90]
  10. Mar 11, 2011
    92
    New precision controls take some time to learn, but are rewarding for those who want to ultimate sim experience.
  11. Mar 11, 2011
    91
    New control schemes that work this well have been long overdue in baseball games, especially when you consider that we've been hanging onto the standard pitch meter for the past eight years. It's time to move on and analog controls are the first step in the right direction.
  12. Apr 5, 2011
    90
    All in all, Sony's MLB franchise continues to drive out home runs year after year and this year is no exception. MLB 11: The Show remains the undisputed champion of baseball games in this next-generation era. While there is still always some room for improvement, MLB 11: The Show is about as good as it gets on the PS3.
  13. Mar 24, 2011
    90
    It's amazing that after making what is essentially the same game for a half-decade, the crew at Sony Santa Monica still manages to craft such a great experience every time there's a new edition of The Show. Each year's game feels substantially improved over the last, and this time around is no different.
  14. Mar 24, 2011
    90
    The pitching/hitting interface is excellent and teaches players how to throw and hit in an intuitive and natural manner.
  15. Mar 18, 2011
    90
    MLB 11 finally moves the series forward with enough meaningful change to make the game feel like a fresh start.
  16. 90
    Does an admirable job at upgrading the leading baseball simulator. The new analog control scheme feels natural for hitting, pitching and fielding, while the announcers have a more lifelike flow to their conversations. It seems that only some stiff Road To The Show fielding as well as unreliable online are the only blemishes on an otherwise faultless package.
  17. Mar 11, 2011
    90
    Although not a monumental step forward, MLB 11: The Show continues to be the king of the diamond. The new analog controls add an extra layer to the experience that works really well.
  18. 90
    MLB 11: The Show delivers a homerun thanks to new analog controls, authentic and detailed stadiums, and overall terrific presentation.
  19. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    In many ways, MLB 11 The Show is a victim of its own success. It succeeds completely as a baseball simulator – the best we've ever played. We're spoiled, though, and would love to use it to dive into something completely new.
  20. Dec 12, 2011
    88
    MLB 11: The Show redeems itself somewhat the longer you play in Road to the Show mode, much like an RPG rewards gamers who go through all that level grinding.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Simply the best baseball simulation out. None of the old ea games or the current 2K series can compete with The Show. Definitely a systemSimply the best baseball simulation out. None of the old ea games or the current 2K series can compete with The Show. Definitely a system seller for the PS3. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Every year I purchase both MLB: the show and MLB 2k series baseball games for the PS3 and Xbox 360 respectively, reason being i like beingEvery year I purchase both MLB: the show and MLB 2k series baseball games for the PS3 and Xbox 360 respectively, reason being i like being able to play baseball in the man cave "PS3" and also in the bedroom "Xbox" before i hit the sack. Needless to say I am familiar with the game of baseball as well as it's video game counterpart- which brings me to why i felt the reason to post a review on this game... IGN giving this game an 8 out of 10... seems suspect when everyone else scores it above a 90% doesn't it? Seeing as IGN gave MLB 10 The Show a score of 9.0* stating the need for analog stick controls as a big vice for the 2010 version, and as how the big addition to MLB 11 The show is finally analog pitching-hitting-and fielding controls, It's pretty clear IGN low balled the Show. IGN would have an argument for giving it a lower score than last year if Sony would have just added analog controls and left the rest alone waiting for next year to improve, but this is not the case. Right from the get go you can see the Menu overlays have been greatly improved as well as textures and player models- not to mention the lighting is literally night and day from last years lighting engine. And those are just the visual enhancements, commentary has gotten a much needed color boost by replacing Rex Hudler with Eric Karros, the "Road to the Show" mode has seen a huge change with the replacement of checklist style goals to an overall performance review style system, and not to mention the inclusion of both local and online Co-op play as well as numerous other upgrades and gameplay improvements- Dynamic Weather anyone? But all in all this years version of The Show is easily the best video game baseball game made on next gen hardware, IGN... Normally I'm a fan of your work, but this time- You struck out on 3 pitches. LET'S PLAY BALL!! Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Such a fantastic baseball experience. The improvements made are well worth the purchase even if you own last years. The Fielding is fantasticSuch a fantastic baseball experience. The improvements made are well worth the purchase even if you own last years. The Fielding is fantastic and really makes a difference in the outcome of the game. Adding the new Pure Analog Controls similar to EA's old NCAA MVP Baseball is a blessing. It really adds more depth to pitching, making YOU put in control of everything now. If you're a baseball fan do yourself a favor and get this, it's only on the Sony consoles- so buy yourself one if you don't own one. It's worth the purchase of a system for any die hard baseball fan. tl;dr- If you're planning on buying a baseball game- get The Show. 2K11 is complete garbage. If you're still curious on it read the reviews they don't lie. Just ignore IGN's score it was obviously influenced by a check 2K wrote. Full Review »