Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Up-'til-3am immersive. [May 2012, p.108]
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    92
    If you want substantially new play options and features, then MLB 12 may come as a disappointment, particularly if you aren't interested in playing the game online. Yet if you place a higher value on the quality of the on-field action, then MLB 12's attention to detail will enthrall and entertain.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    91
    Once again, Sony raises the bar on what should be expected from a baseball game. Whoever picks up the pieces next year after 2K leaves the scene; they better bring their 'A' game as I can't foresee anyone touching MLB The Show when it comes to visuals, playability, modes, and the pure realism that is captured by this game of baseball better than any other franchise captures another sport.
  4. Really, though, The Show is all about the modes. Road to the Show in particular is much less of a grind now. [May 2012, p.84]
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    MLB 12: The Show is an excellent experience that honors and respects one of America's oldest institutions.
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    At its most basic levels, The Show is fun, playable, and lifelike in a family-friendly way, but it has the depth, intensity, and detail for franchise or career growth that can suck in stat fans and drag them all through this season and beyond.
  7. Mar 18, 2012
    90
    MLB the Show 12 is an excellent game, incrementally better than its predecessor and still miles ahead of its competitor.
  8. Mar 17, 2012
    90
    While the game stands leagues ahead of its competition, there are some needed changes that I hope make their way into next year's version. Updated presentation, a new commentary team and some rudimentary facelifts to RTTS would go a long way towards refreshing the franchise and ensuring its continued success for years to come.
  9. Mar 14, 2012
    90
    MLB The Show 12 continues the tradition of excellence in this installment of the yearly title. Beautifully realistic parks, Vita integration, and a myriad of control options expand on what was already the leading MLB experience.
  10. 90
    A gold standard for baseball games and sports games alike.
  11. 90
    One of the best baseball games to date, MLB 12 The Show gets an overhaul just where it needed it. With cross-platform play, hardcore fans can take their long season wherever they want.
  12. Apr 16, 2012
    89
    If you love baseball, it's a no brainer. MLB 12: The Show offers the most realistic, authentic, and diverse baseball simulation experience to date.
  13. Mar 14, 2012
    88
    While showcasing significant enhancements on the field, The Show finds itself down in the count thanks to some archaic game modes and unreliable online. The Show remains the best baseball series to date, but if it wants to be heralded as one of the best sports games, the Franchise and Road to the Show modes need to catch up with the current trendsetters in the genre.
  14. Mar 15, 2012
    87
    MLB 12: The Show offers a massive amount of gameplay wrapped up in a simple brown cardboard box. This is like the slightly less-attractive sister who is really smart, so while her hot sibling (MLB 2K12) is getting all the superficial action, those seeking a more permanent and richer baseball relationship should probably overlook these surface flaws and stick with the REAL DEAL – MLB 12: The Show. From a purely gameplay standpoint - it doesn't get any better or more complete than this.
  15. Apr 13, 2012
    85
    While much remains the same, what is new in MLB 12: The Show truly shines. Pulse pitching and SimulView implementations are terrific additions to an already strong franchise.
  16. Mar 14, 2012
    85
    MLB 12: The Show is yet again the victor. More than anything, it just feels like baseball.
  17. Mar 7, 2012
    85
    MLB 12: The Show continues the legacy of being the best baseball game on the market. The best looking, the best playing, the most realistic, and the most robust. It'd be nice if San Diego Studios could get their presentation up to par with MLB 2K.
  18. Apr 20, 2012
    81
    MLB 12: The Show is once again the king of the hill of baseball games, but I'm starting to wonder if the developers might be taking the series for granted slightly. They aren't taking risks or dramatically improving the mechanics to any significant degree. This is all well and good seeing as how they are miles ahead of the competition.
  19. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    Last year I said that MLB 11 wasn't a monumental step forward. I would say that MLB 12 is only a half-step forward for the series. Sure the competition within the genre is weak but that is still no excuse to leave much unchanged from last year's version. MLB 12: The Show is a fantastic game of baseball there just isn't enough new to make it an outright purchase recommendation.
  20. Mar 31, 2012
    80
    Overall, MLB 12: The Show is another solid installment of the baseball franchise that any fan of the sport will love. Sony took some risks in the gameplay department, which I particularly didn't care for. However, after switching to the ones I prefer it was just like last year's version.
  21. Mar 15, 2012
    80
    The Show, through and through, is a fun baseball game to play with buddies but won't keep the average fan playing. It's a coin toss to which MLB title to get.
  22. Mar 16, 2012
    75
    MLB 12 is a sign of a franchise growing stale, a formerly pristine playing field in need of re-sodding. As enjoyable as it still is to play, important elements of the experience aren't up to par.
  23. Mar 5, 2012
    75
    A new and effective pitching system makes MLB 12: The Show a solid baseball experience.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    MLB 12: The Show is one of the best sports games ever made. San Diego studios has been pumping out the best baseball game on the market this console generation. I've personally owned every single one and its always the best 60 bucks i spend a year. This year however shows the effects of years of fine tuning. With an unprecedented broadcast presentation, graphics, and animations. MLB 12 is one of the best looking games ever. Player models are - mostly - spot on. The days of having a generic batting stance or pitching mechanics for several players is long gone. Each play oozes with detail and uniqueness. Anybody who has played these games the past couple years will notice a graphical advancement, while those putting on the cleats for the first time will be spending most of their time picking their jaws off the floor. But, once again, its what Sony has done under the hood that makes this game a true standout. The new ball physics are a huge leap forward in sports games. Each ball, hit, pitch...play carries its own spin. Where and how you hit the baseball affects the spin on the ball which in turn makes each hop, bounce and hit off the bat lifelike and completely unpredictable. Your games will keep you at the edge of your seat as the game forces each ounce of your attention. A showdown in the 9th inning with the game on the line in MLB 12 is an experience unlike no other for baseball fans. Your palms will sweat. Your heart will pound as the pitcher-batter duel is refined to perfection in The Show. All this and i haven't mentioned the all-new Diamond Dynasty mode, the best superstar creation in Road to the Show, cross-game suports for Vita and PS3, and reduced load times. This is an amazing game and a must-buy for any baseball fan! Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I've only played this game about 2 days and I had 09 The Show before this and let me say...this is a BIG update...and didn't do overboard though. It's really the same game play set (but that's of course it you choose Pulse or Pure Anolog) with the different presentation and that's not a bad thing. I haven't used pure anolog or Pulse or Move in the game...I just simply go with the meter pitching (as is was in 09 the game I had before) stats got a huge upgrade and you only really get joy outta that if your Joe Buck or something. The new animations are a very nice thing for this game and look really good... I really think the new parks(Marlins and twins) look great even if twins got their new place in 2010 It still is my first time playing in it. Road To The Show was ok but I played as a Starting pitcher...it seamed more relistic but it still had it's simple problems. In the end this game is amazing on visuals but with minor freezing issues (in start intro videos and when trying to upload my highlights on to my xmb screen) and frame rate issues that I didn't notice in 09 which can turn out to be a big let down...even more because I downloaded the 5 gigs on to my ps3 which i believe is a new thing but it takes about 30 minutes...all in all this is still a good outing at the ballpark Full Review »
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Best baseball game to date. The move motion controllers are so much fun for pitching and batting. The fielding is a bit strange as you only have to time the ball goin in your glove. Overall awesome graphics, gameplay and new scenes that adpat to what's really going on. An absolute pleasure to play. Full Review »