Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MLB 12 The Show builds on what has been delivered in previous franchise releases, adding compelling features that bring unparalleled innovation.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Up-'til-3am immersive. [May 2012, p.108]
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    91
    Once again, Sony raises the bar on what should be expected from a baseball game. Whoever picks up the pieces next year after 2K leaves the scene; they better bring their 'A' game as I can't foresee anyone touching MLB The Show when it comes to visuals, playability, modes, and the pure realism that is captured by this game of baseball better than any other franchise captures another sport.
  3. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    MLB 12: The Show is an excellent experience that honors and respects one of America's oldest institutions.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    89
    If you love baseball, it's a no brainer. MLB 12: The Show offers the most realistic, authentic, and diverse baseball simulation experience to date.
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    87
    MLB 12: The Show offers a massive amount of gameplay wrapped up in a simple brown cardboard box. This is like the slightly less-attractive sister who is really smart, so while her hot sibling (MLB 2K12) is getting all the superficial action, those seeking a more permanent and richer baseball relationship should probably overlook these surface flaws and stick with the REAL DEAL – MLB 12: The Show. From a purely gameplay standpoint - it doesn't get any better or more complete than this.
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    85
    MLB 12: The Show is yet again the victor. More than anything, it just feels like baseball.
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    75
    A new and effective pitching system makes MLB 12: The Show a solid baseball experience.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    MLB 12: The Show is one of the best sports games ever made. San Diego studios has been pumping out the best baseball game on the market this console generation. I've personally owned every single one and its always the best 60 bucks i spend a year. This year however shows the effects of years of fine tuning. With an unprecedented broadcast presentation, graphics, and animations. MLB 12 is one of the best looking games ever. Player models are - mostly - spot on. The days of having a generic batting stance or pitching mechanics for several players is long gone. Each play oozes with detail and uniqueness. Anybody who has played these games the past couple years will notice a graphical advancement, while those putting on the cleats for the first time will be spending most of their time picking their jaws off the floor. But, once again, its what Sony has done under the hood that makes this game a true standout. The new ball physics are a huge leap forward in sports games. Each ball, hit, pitch...play carries its own spin. Where and how you hit the baseball affects the spin on the ball which in turn makes each hop, bounce and hit off the bat lifelike and completely unpredictable. Your games will keep you at the edge of your seat as the game forces each ounce of your attention. A showdown in the 9th inning with the game on the line in MLB 12 is an experience unlike no other for baseball fans. Your palms will sweat. Your heart will pound as the pitcher-batter duel is refined to perfection in The Show. All this and i haven't mentioned the all-new Diamond Dynasty mode, the best superstar creation in Road to the Show, cross-game suports for Vita and PS3, and reduced load times. This is an amazing game and a must-buy for any baseball fan! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I've played The Series for years and somehow every year they pack in more features and improvements. I really want to see how Diamond Dynasty pans out. The ball physics and new animations are awesome. road to the show is still addicting and I do think online timing has improved. I have yet to check out the Franchise improvements, but on to that next. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Year after year the best sports game out there, and this year is no exception. I can play for hours and not get bored, I prefer manager mode so I can control the team that way than actually playing, but I'm weird like that. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Good for the kids of San Diego Studios, have embroidery again this time with the physics of the ball almost perfect, everything is richly detailed, stadiums, uniforms of the players, the franchise mode is great, and also online. For me the best game of baseball and far exceeding MLB 2K12 Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    The updates to last years iteration don't seem all that major at first, but the sum of the parts add up to be an awesome game. If you haven't owned The Show previously, this is the best version yet. Only the stale commentary holds this back from being an all-time masterpiece. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    MLB 12: The Show is a great baseball simulator. Very addictive and realistic are the best ways to describe this game. If you own a PS3, The Show series is a must have. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    0
    It is impossible to hit consistently. Nothing but ground balls and double plays. I could understand if it is tough to hit on a high difficulty level, but it is the same on every difficulty level. Don't waste your money. You will have more fun playing World Series Baseball '95. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews