Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MLB 12 The Show builds on what has been delivered in previous franchise releases, adding compelling features that bring unparalleled innovation.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Up-'til-3am immersive. [May 2012, p.108]
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    91
    Once again, Sony raises the bar on what should be expected from a baseball game. Whoever picks up the pieces next year after 2K leaves the scene; they better bring their 'A' game as I can't foresee anyone touching MLB The Show when it comes to visuals, playability, modes, and the pure realism that is captured by this game of baseball better than any other franchise captures another sport.
  3. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    MLB 12: The Show is an excellent experience that honors and respects one of America's oldest institutions.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    89
    If you love baseball, it's a no brainer. MLB 12: The Show offers the most realistic, authentic, and diverse baseball simulation experience to date.
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    87
    MLB 12: The Show offers a massive amount of gameplay wrapped up in a simple brown cardboard box. This is like the slightly less-attractive sister who is really smart, so while her hot sibling (MLB 2K12) is getting all the superficial action, those seeking a more permanent and richer baseball relationship should probably overlook these surface flaws and stick with the REAL DEAL – MLB 12: The Show. From a purely gameplay standpoint - it doesn't get any better or more complete than this.
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    85
    MLB 12: The Show is yet again the victor. More than anything, it just feels like baseball.
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    75
    A new and effective pitching system makes MLB 12: The Show a solid baseball experience.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    MLB 12: The Show is one of the best sports games ever made. San Diego studios has been pumping out the best baseball game on the market thisMLB 12: The Show is one of the best sports games ever made. San Diego studios has been pumping out the best baseball game on the market this console generation. I've personally owned every single one and its always the best 60 bucks i spend a year. This year however shows the effects of years of fine tuning. With an unprecedented broadcast presentation, graphics, and animations. MLB 12 is one of the best looking games ever. Player models are - mostly - spot on. The days of having a generic batting stance or pitching mechanics for several players is long gone. Each play oozes with detail and uniqueness. Anybody who has played these games the past couple years will notice a graphical advancement, while those putting on the cleats for the first time will be spending most of their time picking their jaws off the floor. But, once again, its what Sony has done under the hood that makes this game a true standout. The new ball physics are a huge leap forward in sports games. Each ball, hit, pitch...play carries its own spin. Where and how you hit the baseball affects the spin on the ball which in turn makes each hop, bounce and hit off the bat lifelike and completely unpredictable. Your games will keep you at the edge of your seat as the game forces each ounce of your attention. A showdown in the 9th inning with the game on the line in MLB 12 is an experience unlike no other for baseball fans. Your palms will sweat. Your heart will pound as the pitcher-batter duel is refined to perfection in The Show. All this and i haven't mentioned the all-new Diamond Dynasty mode, the best superstar creation in Road to the Show, cross-game suports for Vita and PS3, and reduced load times. This is an amazing game and a must-buy for any baseball fan! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I've played The Series for years and somehow every year they pack in more features and improvements. I really want to see how Diamond DynastyI've played The Series for years and somehow every year they pack in more features and improvements. I really want to see how Diamond Dynasty pans out. The ball physics and new animations are awesome. road to the show is still addicting and I do think online timing has improved. I have yet to check out the Franchise improvements, but on to that next. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Year after year the best sports game out there, and this year is no exception. I can play for hours and not get bored, I prefer manager modeYear after year the best sports game out there, and this year is no exception. I can play for hours and not get bored, I prefer manager mode so I can control the team that way than actually playing, but I'm weird like that. Collapse
  4. MFZ
    Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Why I gave this game a 9:

    - Completely redone realistic ball physics - Improved graphics - New and improved animations from swinging the bat
    Why I gave this game a 9:

    - Completely redone realistic ball physics
    - Improved graphics
    - New and improved animations from swinging the bat to throwing the ball
    - New front end that efficiently integrates online and offline modes
    - New and improved sound
    - Improved presentation that lends a very authentic feel to the flow of a game
    - Improved online

    This game keeps getting more realistic every year. SCEA is an awesome development team in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    The first few years of MLB: The Show offered gamers an amazing product with a rareness not often seen in sports games. Unlike EA releases, TheThe first few years of MLB: The Show offered gamers an amazing product with a rareness not often seen in sports games. Unlike EA releases, The Show improved with each year and did not stagnate, rivaling the likes of the NBA 2K series. Fans started to get nervous in 2011 as it appeared SCEA was running out of fresh ideas. While MLB 12: The Show is not a completely new experience, it is not a complete rehash either and continues to appeal to the most dedicated fans.

    THE GOOD:

    GRAPHICS (8/10) - With a few new animations thrown in, little has been done to improve on this aspect. But it really does not matter. People joke that HDTV was created for Baseball and Golf specifically. It's not a joke anymore. Old or not, The Show is beautiful.

    HOME RUN DERBY (8/10) - After this year's upgrade, I'm really not sure what else they could do with this game mode. A few new camera angles here, a little polish there, and a ball trail showing where your homers went after everything is said and done. Grab a few friends and enjoy.

    DIAMOND DYNASTY (7/10) - This is a very new concept and you will find this game mode discussed in Good, Bad and Unproven perspectives for that very reason. It's too soon to tell how it will play out. But as it stands, it has immense potential. Tons of customization options for team logos and uniforms. The ability to train and customize Dynasty players alongside the option to hire MLB journeymen is a lot of fun, and makes it unique from EA's Ultimate Team formats.

    SETTINGS CUSTOMIZATION (10/10) - My absolute favorite part of MLB 12. In the past, if you wanted to play with a plate coverage indicator, you HAD to be playing on Veteran difficulty. Likewise, if you wanted timing based hitting, you HAD to be on Rookie. MLB 12 not only allows you to mix and match settings, but it will accomodate your choices and try to match you with a similar opponent in Online play. Amazing!

    CROSS PLATFORM (8/10) - I do not have much to say about this. It is a brand new feature. It's the Seventh Inning Stretch and you need to leave for work? No problem. Sync your Playstation Vita with your PS3 and finish your game on the run. Just please don't do it while you are driving.

    THE UNPROVEN:

    DIAMOND DYNASTY (7/10) - There are many things which may or may not work in this game mode. Like Ultimate Team, its success is contingient on players buying and selling cards. We've seen both good and bad here. In NHL and FIFA, the market is bustling. In MADDEN, the market is so dead they had to implement trading. Who knows what will happen.

    CHALLENGE OF THE WEEK (Not Rated) - Yet to be activated. Looks interesting.

    THE MIDDLE:

    COMMENTARY (6/10) - A complete rehash from prior games. If there is a single line that has been added, I have yet to find it.

    ROAD TO THE SHOW (7/10) - The only real change is that you are now a Double-A starter from the beginning of your career. This may reduce the time it takes to get to the Bigs, but overall, this change is underwhelming.

    FRANCHISE (6/10) - Once again, no changes.

    RIVALRY (7/10) - No changes, but I've always felt as if this was an underrated game mode. If you have a friend who loves ball as much as you do, it's not hard to spit out 15 head-to-head games. This format lets you do that competitively.

    ONLINE PLAY (7/10) - Only change here is that Diamond Dynasty head-to-head games count for your online win-loss. TOO MANY GAME OPTIONS? - A personal pet peeve maybe, but it feels to me that they are changing the game mechanics too much. Guess pitch 1/4, 1/6, 1/8. Meter pitching. Analog hitting and pitching. Timing hitting and pitching. Zone hitting. And now Pulse Pitching? Pulse just feels unnecessary, and most diehards of the game stick to the classics. Guess Pitch 1/4, Meter Pitching and Zone Hitting all day baby.

    The bad:
    KING OF THE DIAMOND, removed in 2010, has yet to return. The last remaining "arcade" piece to what is now a very "sim" game.

    DIAMOND DYNASTY has no trading as SCEA admits they ran out of time to fit it in.

    Also, one season in DIAMOND DYNASTY lasts five games. I hate, hate, hate this. When you play a head-to-head match, it only shows the current season. You are basically being misrepresented on the experience level of your opponent every single time.
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    This game is OUTSTANDING. Not perfect, but with realistic ball physics, more realistic sounds, better broadcasts (yes, all of which you canThis game is OUTSTANDING. Not perfect, but with realistic ball physics, more realistic sounds, better broadcasts (yes, all of which you can notice), this edition of The Show is the best baseball game of this console generation. The Diamond Dynasty mode is very cool. It has been compared to Ultimate Team, but trust me, it does it at least 5 times better. You can customize just about EVERYTHING about your team, from logo to uniforms to name. It is truly something you have never seen in any sports game before. It is also relatively easy to pick up. Play 5 games, re-evaluate your standings, and standings is what you ultimately play for, just like it should be. The Move controls are cool, they work well, but there is a definite learning curve associated with it, however, they do work intuitively. The only criticism I have of MLB 12: The Show is the still dodgy online, but rest assured, it has improved over MLB 11 noticeably. If you own a PS3, this is the baseball game to buy, hands down. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    0
    It is impossible to hit consistently. Nothing but ground balls and double plays. I could understand if it is tough to hit on a highIt is impossible to hit consistently. Nothing but ground balls and double plays. I could understand if it is tough to hit on a high difficulty level, but it is the same on every difficulty level. Don't waste your money. You will have more fun playing World Series Baseball '95. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews