User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 108
  2. Negative: 15 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I've been playing this franchise for since back on the original Playstation, and I can honestly say I am blown away by this year's game. I honestly was not expecting much this season, but the improvements the devs made for this year really improve the overall gameplay. Hitting is no longer so difficult that every game is a pitcher's duel; now hitting is easy enough on the Veteren settingI've been playing this franchise for since back on the original Playstation, and I can honestly say I am blown away by this year's game. I honestly was not expecting much this season, but the improvements the devs made for this year really improve the overall gameplay. Hitting is no longer so difficult that every game is a pitcher's duel; now hitting is easy enough on the Veteren setting as to be fun, but still realistic. I'm sure after a few games I'll bump up the difficulty a bit and see how that goes. As for the presentation improvements, new camera angles, commentating, and cut scenes make the game look even more like a real TV broadcast. The new Postseason mode is really cool as well. The entire presentation changes to create a playoff atmosphere, and is nice for those who don't want to play through a whole season to experience the playoffs. As a diehard of the series I probably notice more changes than the casual player, but I can honestly say that this is the best baseball game I've played and am more than happy with dropping the $60 for it. A must buy for baseball fans! Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is probably the best baseball game I've ever played. The changes to this year are excellent. Playing in the field and running the bases is incredibly immersive, intuitive and fun. The game now teaches you how to become a better batter, a feature I've desperately needed for ages now, and it really helps.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    The key factor for this game was the vastly improved commentary. It's much more faster paced and put together than the previous game's long periods of time without a word of commentary. It now competes with 2k in that category, as that was THE only category 2k was better in. Loving the new camera angles that get excellent views of inside the stadium that were missed in all the previousThe key factor for this game was the vastly improved commentary. It's much more faster paced and put together than the previous game's long periods of time without a word of commentary. It now competes with 2k in that category, as that was THE only category 2k was better in. Loving the new camera angles that get excellent views of inside the stadium that were missed in all the previous games. Sound is fantastic as always. I can't find issues with the game after a month of playing. The new features just make it worth the purchase. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Having allowed MLB 11 the Show hold me over until this year, I've found that this year's installment is a must buy for all baseball fans who haven't had the pleasure of playing last year's game. It's the best baseball game money can buy and Road to the Show alone is worth the purchase. I'll gladly shell over $60 to not have to listen to EK ramble on during my RttS play-through.
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Sliders people. It's all about finding the perfect options. If I didn't figure that out I might have gave it a zero. Sliders people. I love you all. Just find your sweet spot.
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    hey fish,a 3? are you serious.this is not call of duty it's mlb how many changes do you expect.the players to float? it's the best mlb sim period.changes?nobody listen to fish mlb 13 is great
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I don't really write reviews on metacritic, but I just wanted to come in here and speak for those who are skeptical. Those other guys dont know what they are talking about. This years show is the most refined show I have played. Mind you, I have started with The show 10 for PS2 and PS3 and havent found a Show better than that one it terms of all around quality and for the period in time.I don't really write reviews on metacritic, but I just wanted to come in here and speak for those who are skeptical. Those other guys dont know what they are talking about. This years show is the most refined show I have played. Mind you, I have started with The show 10 for PS2 and PS3 and havent found a Show better than that one it terms of all around quality and for the period in time. This one beats out the Show. They did everything the community wanted, especially for online. I have no idea why or what those other guys are complaining about. This is THE BEST show to date. I live in Toronto, Canada where baseball is not popular, but I am still finding ranked games with no problem and virtually no lag. They really did a good job with the netcode for this game this time around. I also like the fact that I can make my ranked games suited to how I like to play now (which makes this an auto 10 for me) I like to play guess pitch 1/4 with all realistic settings on (ejects, injuries, variable ump) and the hot zone to preview (which only shows the hot zone first for the first pitch of every batter) Its the best. Another cool thing (mplayer is my main focus since I dont have many people that like the show) is that the matchmaking is based on who you pick for starting pitcher as well. you dont see who the other team picks until the game starts. the system matches your pitchers as well as teams! Anyway, pick this up, you wont be disappointed. Those other guys are butthurt cause they cant glitch now or something most likely Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Sorry for the late review. Been having too much fun with RttS mode. It isn't that this is basically a spruced up version of last year's title, there's a real cohesion to the mechanics this time around. Getting you into the game is swift and has flourish. The ambient audio is incredible. And the hitting is tight. If you've passed on this title for the past few years, know that this one isSorry for the late review. Been having too much fun with RttS mode. It isn't that this is basically a spruced up version of last year's title, there's a real cohesion to the mechanics this time around. Getting you into the game is swift and has flourish. The ambient audio is incredible. And the hitting is tight. If you've passed on this title for the past few years, know that this one is solid and, more importantly, fun as hell. Gotta go. I'm up. Expand
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    By far the best sports sim available. This game quite literally defines what a MLB game should be; other sports sims take notice. They've revamped batting completely. You can even allow the game to teach you to be a better batter and you can increase the difficulty as you start to see yourself improving to different levels (it also has it's own levels within that difficulty it can scale toBy far the best sports sim available. This game quite literally defines what a MLB game should be; other sports sims take notice. They've revamped batting completely. You can even allow the game to teach you to be a better batter and you can increase the difficulty as you start to see yourself improving to different levels (it also has it's own levels within that difficulty it can scale to fit your ability). When you hit the ball the physics are a million times better. It's no longer like bouncing a ping-pong ball on a table. When it hits, it'll skid, turn, stop short. There is no longer a consistent amount of ground-rule doubles when you knock a ball into the outfield (it doesn't just automatically bounce out). It's loads more realistic in the physics.

    Postseason mode is amazing. From the music, to the crowd interaction, to the interaction from the other players (the "1st person-mode" is really cool you don't see the game in 1st person, but the noise in the game comes from around your player: either from your teammates to even a snarky fan giving you grief or even one cheering you on). It's amazing. I don't really need to comment on how perfect pitching is in this game.

    What this boils down to: MLB 13 The Show should be your one and ONLY choice for a baseball game. 2K cannot compete. Sorry Xbox (only) owners, you do get a decent game but nothing like this.
    Expand
  10. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    I'm not sure why people have such a problem with this game. The Show is, year after year, the best baseball game I've ever played. I feel like they've nailed down how to make a great game, and there won't be massive improvements or changes from here on out because there isn't much to improve upon, until they completely redesign and redevelop the game. I like the small improvements andI'm not sure why people have such a problem with this game. The Show is, year after year, the best baseball game I've ever played. I feel like they've nailed down how to make a great game, and there won't be massive improvements or changes from here on out because there isn't much to improve upon, until they completely redesign and redevelop the game. I like the small improvements and changes this year that I've noticed so far, like FINALLY using a numbering system for player ratings. It was always just the red bar or letter grades. I'm not a big online gamer because most people who play online quit when they start losing, and it's not fun. Or they play like morons, which is also not fun. But as a game to play on your own or with other people in who are sitting right next to you, it's great. They can't change the game completely every single year, because it's costs a ton of money to do that, and they'd never get it done on time. The game isn't broken like Madden has become, or like 2K baseball has pretty much always been, so there's no need for a complete overhaul. The graphics and animations are as smooth as ever, and the interface is only slightly altered, so there's a very, very small learning curve. So stop complaining about the little things, like how this minor league isn't in the game, or that guy's tattoo isn't in the game, and appreciate the fact that you have a choice of baseball games every single year, and you're not stuck with the garbage that is 2K. Expand
  11. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    I'm not going to preface my review with silly things like "REAL REVIEW" like fish6132456. I could tell you I've been playing sports games all my life, but that just makes me another gamer who likes sports games. What I can tell you is MLB 13: The Show continues the tradition of being the best baseball game on the market. The changes are noticeable, even to those of us that have beenI'm not going to preface my review with silly things like "REAL REVIEW" like fish6132456. I could tell you I've been playing sports games all my life, but that just makes me another gamer who likes sports games. What I can tell you is MLB 13: The Show continues the tradition of being the best baseball game on the market. The changes are noticeable, even to those of us that have been playing the series since it's initial incarnation, but do not take away from the overall feel of the game. Point is this, if you want the best baseball game, this is the one for you. If you haven't played any of The Show before, you're in for an absolute treat. My only suggestion would be to eventually graduate to All-Star difficulty, as the AI pitchers throw way too many strikes in the lower modes. Enjoy! Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Here's the thing. Baseball is baseball. The PS3 is the PS3 (read "old) so we are not oging to get massive innovation. Baseball hasn;t suddenly changed teh rules and the PS3 hasn't suddenly tripled in power and capacity. Let's face it harly anyone uses "move" and when they do it barely works. So what of MLB13?
    Well we are told it's the last "Show" for the PS3 as from '14 onwards the main
    Here's the thing. Baseball is baseball. The PS3 is the PS3 (read "old) so we are not oging to get massive innovation. Baseball hasn;t suddenly changed teh rules and the PS3 hasn't suddenly tripled in power and capacity. Let's face it harly anyone uses "move" and when they do it barely works. So what of MLB13?
    Well we are told it's the last "Show" for the PS3 as from '14 onwards the main focus will be on the PS4. In itself it is THE best baseball game (alongside OOTP as a management baseball game) on the market. But what it is not is a huge change over 2012.
    If you bought a game from this franchise every 2...better still 3 years. Then this game will be a breath of fresh air. The graphics are tighter, pulse pitching is good, more stances, more pitching...great.
    If you have MLB12 then 13 is not an essential purchase. If you have '11 then it's viable but not required. If the last MLB game you bought was '10 or earlier then this is pretty essential. But with '14 on the PS4 looming there will be an essential purchase for us all next year and I can't wait!
    Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This will be as much a review of the MLB Series as much as a review about MLB The Show 13. This years addition is again stellar, as fans of this series have come to expect. I myself love sports games and sports, though I will admit that baseball is low on my list of sports I follow. I like hockey, football, rugby and THEN baseball. So this is coming from someone who is slightly jaded whenThis will be as much a review of the MLB Series as much as a review about MLB The Show 13. This years addition is again stellar, as fans of this series have come to expect. I myself love sports games and sports, though I will admit that baseball is low on my list of sports I follow. I like hockey, football, rugby and THEN baseball. So this is coming from someone who is slightly jaded when it comes to baseball as I lost interest after the first decade after Bonds left Pittsburgh and the Pirates stunk. I know we are doing well this year, but it takes more to wash away 20 years of anguish. In any case, I still respect the game, it's history and it's nuances. This is where San Diego Studios mastery of the MLB series really lies. No detail, no stat, no game mode feels unbalanced. Every player, uniform, stadium, score board....every little detail is painstakingly recreated in this game. I recently went to a game with my girlfriend to PNC Park and even she said, I feel like I'm in your video game. This is by far the best looking sports video game, There is absolutely no competition. EA wishes they has a game that looks this beautiful. There is no excuse. This game visually is stunning, even at the end of this current console run. As for gameplay....again, this game will please you. Not only are the animations spot on, the control is excellent and then on top of that, they offer you multiple modes to bat, pitch & throw. There are also customizable gameplay sliders that let you tailor the game to your liking. As for me, getting up to 37 years old now my brain doesn't fire off like a 12 year old's anymore. So I can tailor pitch speed & contact to have a fair balance as well as making myself good enough to have fun in Road To The Show. This game also sports some fantastic ball physics. Rotations, bounces and delections.....dying quails that drop in, slicing gap shots & frozen ropes are all present. I suggest playing RTTS and using a Classic Cather Cam Zoomed all the way in. You get a First Person feel to batting and really see the breaks and velocity of the pitches. Just leave a sliver of the top of home plate so you can judge your strikes. All in all every mode is fun, whether you like Franchise, Season or RTTS this game brings all the elements together that really make sports games great....attention to detail, gameplay, presentation, stats & above all atmosphere. You feel like you are in the ballpark. All that's missing is the smell of dogs and burgers & the drunk guy getting escorted out of your section. In my opinion, The MLB The Show series in addition to MLB 13 The Show is the pinnacle of sports gaming this console generation. The only missing element being Online Team Play. Besides this one aspect, EA Sports can only look at this game with admiration & wish they produced such a fantastic sports package every year. If you are a fan of baseball or a fan of sports in general & you do not own this game....go get it now!! It's the best sports game currently produced by anybody, anywhere. Not Madden, NHL, FIFA, NBA 2K....Nobody can touch the MLB The Show Series. Thanks to SONY and San Diego Studios for such a fine closing offering to this generation, I look forward with anticipation to what they throw down in the next gen. Expand
  14. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Great game with awesome graphics and a ton of control over how you want to play. Almost everything can be customized by using the sliders. Most of the changes in this years edition are subtle and won't be noticed by casual players but anyone who has played past games will surely notice. The graphics are top notch (almost life-like), the sound is as realistic as you can get without actuallyGreat game with awesome graphics and a ton of control over how you want to play. Almost everything can be customized by using the sliders. Most of the changes in this years edition are subtle and won't be noticed by casual players but anyone who has played past games will surely notice. The graphics are top notch (almost life-like), the sound is as realistic as you can get without actually going to a ballgame, even the commentary is annoying--just like real baseball!! now go out and buy this game or you'll be missing out on the best sports game ever made. Expand
  15. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Hands down, this is the best baseball game I've ever played, and I've played a lot of them. The difficulty has been scaled back just a little, which is exactly what it needed. RTTS is as good as ever while the graphics are better than ever. A must-own for baseball fans.
  16. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Simply amazing. Again, YoY this game gets it right. With some subtle upgrades in the Franchise mode, this game is great. If you're a baseball nut, or even just a hobbyist do yourself a favor and pick up The Show 13. The online leagues are fun, and the new matchmaking system for online ranked play add to the depth of the game. -1 point for some overall connection issues during onlineSimply amazing. Again, YoY this game gets it right. With some subtle upgrades in the Franchise mode, this game is great. If you're a baseball nut, or even just a hobbyist do yourself a favor and pick up The Show 13. The online leagues are fun, and the new matchmaking system for online ranked play add to the depth of the game. -1 point for some overall connection issues during online play, but the gameplay and presentation provide enough enjoyment to overlook and keep playing. Bravo. Expand
  17. May 21, 2013
    9
    As an huge MLB fan, I've played The Show series for the past five years. This is one of the only sports series, along side NHL and NBA 2k, that consistently improves almost every year. A great simulation, that adds a level of difficulty that comes along with the actual sport. If you are a baseball fan, and have a PlayStation 3, this is worth the $60.
  18. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing game great features the new playoff feature is great the show games have always been great.
  19. May 16, 2013
    9
    you will not find a better baseball game. its almost flawless with only like a couple problems but should be fixed with patches. this game has amazing graphics and mlb 14 the show will have a hard time beating this one everthing has improved
  20. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    The Show proving once again why they are the best sports franchise out there. Graphics are top notch, as usual, and gameplay is as good as it gets. Hoping they add some more game modes, but all in all, a perfect baseball game.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 29, 2013
    80
    A great, deep and entertaining baseball sim without a tutorial to welcome newcomers.
  2. May 7, 2013
    60
    It’s the best baseball simulation available, but the biggest new feature is the mode for beginners, not very interesting to PS3 baseball aficionados. And the rest will probably ignore this game. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.79]
  3. The Show remains the most authentic sports series of all time. FIFA can't touch it. [May 2013, p.108]