MLB 13: The Show PlayStation 3

MLB 13: The Show Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MLB 13 The Show promises an MLB experiences like never before. Improvements have been made to Diamond Dynasty, Franchise and Road To The Show modes and all-new game modes expand gameplay options.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    100
    A ton of love, care, and attention, not only to the fundamentals, but to what the fans have been clamoring for have been answered in spades. The end result is in not only the best version this series has seen, and not only the most authentic and realistic baseball game created to date, but easily one of the best sports games this reviewer has ever played.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    95
    A triumph, MLB 13: The Show blasts the competition so far out of the park that the grazing cows out on the countryside get a souvenir. Every second of the game is exciting and enticing on different levels.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    90
    It may not be a huge leap over last year’s game but its satisfaction is almost endless.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    88
    PlayStation gamers who are also baseball fans are a lucky lot. MLB 13: The Show is another winner in a series that’s easily the best baseball sim since EA’s since-shuttered MVP Baseball line.
  5. 86
    An excellent visual package and a versatile control scheme help to set it apart from its competition and secure it a spot on store shelves for years to come.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    While the game remains challenging, the frustration factor of hitting has been dialed way back, which will draw in new players who want to get good wood on the ball like a real big leaguer.
  7. CD-Action
    May 7, 2013
    60
    It’s the best baseball simulation available, but the biggest new feature is the mode for beginners, not very interesting to PS3 baseball aficionados. And the rest will probably ignore this game. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.79]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I've been playing this franchise for since back on the original Playstation, and I can honestly say I am blown away by this year's game. II've been playing this franchise for since back on the original Playstation, and I can honestly say I am blown away by this year's game. I honestly was not expecting much this season, but the improvements the devs made for this year really improve the overall gameplay. Hitting is no longer so difficult that every game is a pitcher's duel; now hitting is easy enough on the Veteren setting as to be fun, but still realistic. I'm sure after a few games I'll bump up the difficulty a bit and see how that goes. As for the presentation improvements, new camera angles, commentating, and cut scenes make the game look even more like a real TV broadcast. The new Postseason mode is really cool as well. The entire presentation changes to create a playoff atmosphere, and is nice for those who don't want to play through a whole season to experience the playoffs. As a diehard of the series I probably notice more changes than the casual player, but I can honestly say that this is the best baseball game I've played and am more than happy with dropping the $60 for it. A must buy for baseball fans! Collapse
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    The Show proving once again why they are the best sports franchise out there. Graphics are top notch, as usual, and gameplay is as good as itThe Show proving once again why they are the best sports franchise out there. Graphics are top notch, as usual, and gameplay is as good as it gets. Hoping they add some more game modes, but all in all, a perfect baseball game. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I don't really write reviews on metacritic, but I just wanted to come in here and speak for those who are skeptical. Those other guys dontI don't really write reviews on metacritic, but I just wanted to come in here and speak for those who are skeptical. Those other guys dont know what they are talking about. This years show is the most refined show I have played. Mind you, I have started with The show 10 for PS2 and PS3 and havent found a Show better than that one it terms of all around quality and for the period in time. This one beats out the Show. They did everything the community wanted, especially for online. I have no idea why or what those other guys are complaining about. This is THE BEST show to date. I live in Toronto, Canada where baseball is not popular, but I am still finding ranked games with no problem and virtually no lag. They really did a good job with the netcode for this game this time around. I also like the fact that I can make my ranked games suited to how I like to play now (which makes this an auto 10 for me) I like to play guess pitch 1/4 with all realistic settings on (ejects, injuries, variable ump) and the hot zone to preview (which only shows the hot zone first for the first pitch of every batter) Its the best. Another cool thing (mplayer is my main focus since I dont have many people that like the show) is that the matchmaking is based on who you pick for starting pitcher as well. you dont see who the other team picks until the game starts. the system matches your pitchers as well as teams! Anyway, pick this up, you wont be disappointed. Those other guys are butthurt cause they cant glitch now or something most likely Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    I'm not going to preface my review with silly things like "REAL REVIEW" like fish6132456. I could tell you I've been playing sports games allI'm not going to preface my review with silly things like "REAL REVIEW" like fish6132456. I could tell you I've been playing sports games all my life, but that just makes me another gamer who likes sports games. What I can tell you is MLB 13: The Show continues the tradition of being the best baseball game on the market. The changes are noticeable, even to those of us that have been playing the series since it's initial incarnation, but do not take away from the overall feel of the game. Point is this, if you want the best baseball game, this is the one for you. If you haven't played any of The Show before, you're in for an absolute treat. My only suggestion would be to eventually graduate to All-Star difficulty, as the AI pitchers throw way too many strikes in the lower modes. Enjoy! Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Here's the thing. Baseball is baseball. The PS3 is the PS3 (read "old) so we are not oging to get massive innovation. Baseball hasn;t suddenlyHere's the thing. Baseball is baseball. The PS3 is the PS3 (read "old) so we are not oging to get massive innovation. Baseball hasn;t suddenly changed teh rules and the PS3 hasn't suddenly tripled in power and capacity. Let's face it harly anyone uses "move" and when they do it barely works. So what of MLB13?
    Well we are told it's the last "Show" for the PS3 as from '14 onwards the main focus will be on the PS4. In itself it is THE best baseball game (alongside OOTP as a management baseball game) on the market. But what it is not is a huge change over 2012.
    If you bought a game from this franchise every 2...better still 3 years. Then this game will be a breath of fresh air. The graphics are tighter, pulse pitching is good, more stances, more pitching...great.
    If you have MLB12 then 13 is not an essential purchase. If you have '11 then it's viable but not required. If the last MLB game you bought was '10 or earlier then this is pretty essential. But with '14 on the PS4 looming there will be an essential purchase for us all next year and I can't wait!
    Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    MLB The Show has got to be the class of the sports video gaming world. This is the first time that I've jumped onto the Show ship since MLBMLB The Show has got to be the class of the sports video gaming world. This is the first time that I've jumped onto the Show ship since MLB 2008. The graphics are impressive, and the presentation is very well done; the developers have done a great job with the camera angles and the cut scenes to make the game resemble a TV broadcast. Road to the Show is very easy to get into, and you can play through entire seasons without simulating within a few days if you play a lot. However, the online play is fairly disastrous, to say the least. It could be due to my connection (which I've rarely had problems with on other games), but I found online games to be very laggy, which makes gameplay impossible, since baseball is a timing-based game. Offline modes are very addictive, and the game is worth picking up for them alone. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    I'm writing this to warn people who like RTTS that there are now dizzying spins of the camera when you are on the field/coming to bat. SoI'm writing this to warn people who like RTTS that there are now dizzying spins of the camera when you are on the field/coming to bat. So much so, it is making some ppl sick. The devs know this and just don't care.

    Last time I'm ever getting ripped off by sony on this POS!
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings