Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 31
  2. Negative: 25 out of 31
  1. Objectively this is a game that basically sucks. It's technically limited, characterised by treacle-slow, far-from-original gameplay that's beset by niggles, and sorely unadorned by fancy cut-scenes or easy-to-navigate menus. But subjectively, in spite of all of its flaws, what emerges is something that has the potential to be hypnotically absorbing and, yes, even fun. [JPN Import]
  2. You could even call it Mobile Suit - but I prefer Immobile Suit, because few too many problems stand in the way of the gameplay being in any way entertaining or enjoyable.
  3. All of their energy seems to have been directed at making fantastic-looking robots that do interesting things, while everything else feels almost like an afterthought.
  4. Essentially a niche game, and for the huge army of mech fans, with a little persistence and a great deal of patience there is a playable game here. Better avoided if you are not a die-hard fan.
  5. Sure, it's oddly satisfying to lumber around trading shots and crossing plasma swords with other stylized death machines, but the slow, stiff gameplay overshadows the cool stuff. [Jan. 2007, p.84]
  6. In the final analysis, Mobile Suit Gundam: Crossfire is just not worth your time...and this coming from a Gundam maniac. [Jan. 2007, p.73]
  7. No tutorial, no use of the sixaxis, wingmen that would just as soon walk into a wall as fight, things are looking pretty bleak. Melee combat with weapons is impossible to work.
  8. A mech-based game would have been perfect to showcase the PS3, but Namco Bandai missfires with this rushed and bare boned actioner.
  9. Only the most blinkered Mobile Suit fetishist could love this clunky battle sim, which trades speed, finesse, and depth for...well, nothing, really.
  10. 40
    While folks new to the license will undoubtedly be disappointed in the unmanageable controls and cheesy voice acting, die-hard fans of the series will not be terribly surprised by the subpar elements.
  11. The graphics are poor, the frame rate is ridiculously slow, the gameplay is primitive, there's no online play, and simply no reason to play this game.
  12. I have nothing positive to say about this game. I even hate the menu screen. Perhaps the best thing I can come up with is that this miserable piece of trash is so awful that it’s destined to be the worst-selling game of the PS3 launch.
  13. 37
    It's a lazy attempt to make money on a new hardware launch, which utterly ruins the Gundam name. [Issue 148, p.70]
  14. Atrocious gameplay. Avoid this one at all costs, unless you're a huge Gundam fan. A huge, huge fan who hasn't played a video game since Tetris. But even then, no promises.
  15. Series fans should be outraged at this desecration of the Mobile Suit Gundam name.
  16. 32
    Crossfire simply fails to do the one thing it has to do, and that's to entertain. It takes archaic forms of gameplay and tries to update them for the next-generation but fails in almost every respect.
  17. In the end, it proves too bland and generic for mech enthusiasts and just a poor game for the uninitiated.
  18. Pretty far from brilliant. [May 2007, p.120]
  19. Let's hope that Namco Bandai issues an "oops" and ships the real game soon. [Jan. 2007, p.72]
  20. The problem though is the framerate, graphics, and controls are miserable and certainly don’t show off any of the PlayStation 3’s capabilities.
  21. We've not played anything this shoddy in ages. A disgrace on pretty much every level. [Feb 2007, p.76]
  22. Avoid this title like a 12th century leper. It’s easily the worst game of the launch, the worst giant robot game ever, and front runner for worst anime-inspired game in history.
  23. Strike one: Piss poor gameplay. Strike two: Abominable graphics and sound quality. Strike three: A plot so thin, it would have no bearing even to collective fans of the anime.
  24. Just forget this ever existed. It's honestly that bad, folks. [Apr 2007, p.61]
  25. In practice, Gundam: Crossfire is barely playable. We blame the game’s frame rate which we reckon must run as low as 10 fps and only as high as what looks like about 20fps. [Jan 2007, p.103]
  26. The controls are crap, the storyline nonexistent, and the whole game just feels like a giant slap in the face of Gundam fans who were hoping for an honest-to-goodness next-gen entry into the series.
  27. 20
    The game is an embarrassment to the Gundam name, and raises suspicions that it was rushed for the PS3 launch. Clearly, the series -- and the fans -- deserve better.
  28. 20
    Crossfire wouldn’t pass muster as a PS2 game, let alone a PS3 launch title. Onlookers will probably mistake it for a PS2 game at first glance. It’s not like we expected a Gundam game to set the world on fire, but even for a Gundam title, Crossfire is a special kind of bad.
  29. 20
    There's no online component whatsoever, and splitting the screen for local one-on-one match-ups just exacerbates the already intolerable frame-rate woes. The sad truth is that even the most hardcore robot battle junkie will feel ripped off by this mess.
  30. 15
    The game was of incredibly poor quality and featured problems such as an abysmal frame rate, choppy controls, and gameplay dating back over 10 years. Subsequently, the tension and frustration caused by this game led to insomnia, nervous tics, loss of appetite, loss of self-respect, loss of friends, and severe mental anguish.
  31. With flaw after flaw, not only is Mobile Suit Gundam: Crossfire the worst game on the PlayStation 3 and the worst launch title in recent memory, it's a prime candidate for worst game of the year.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    4
    a pretty poor excuse for a gundam game . graphics look like it should be on the PS2 . not a big gundam selection . very short can beat it in less then 5 hours. missions arnt very intresting . story is dull . i was really hoping for some thing like gundam side story 0079 like on the dreamcast but bigger and better . even though i only paid $15 for this game 3 years ago still wasnt worth it the cash . hopefully we get a better gundam game for the US soon. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2014
    2
    Now when a game is adapted for a large amount of source material, like the Gundam franchise, you expect the game to utilizes much of said source material as possible. This allows for a great story for newcomers to the source material or nostalgia for those who have already seen it. Gundam: Crossfire on the other hand does none of that and tosses you into a story you know almost nothing about with the weakest mobile suits of the bunch. Let's see where this catastrophe went wrong.

    The story of Gundam Crossfire is supposed to take place in the first series, Mobile Suit Gundam. Now instead of getting you into the great parts like the Battle of A Boa Qu or Odessa, it sets you up in battles that well didn't have much significance to the overall plot. You destroy a Zakutank here and there, but the main story is out there with the actual Gundam! You play as a soldier who is fighting up to the Battle of Odessa operation in hopes of changing the course of the war. I would care more...if you actually gave us characters to understand! This game is more or less sending you out as an unnamed soldier with no relationships. It's more like a demo for a game rather than an actual game itself.

    Now don't get me started on the gameplay, this game passes off as a Gundam game purely from being in the universe. It should be called "Mobile Suit Battle Simulator" since the only Gundam you see will be further down the line. The damage aspect of the game is actually well thought out and actually pays homage to the source material. Your radar diminishes the more your head is damaged, if your arms get damaged your weapons start going, walking speed goes with the legs and the Mobile Suit gets destroyed once the torso gets too much damage. I love this part and would like to see it imputed in other Gundam games. The problem with this one is the combat, the mobility is off at times and the aiming itself can be a little too precise. The AIs literally sit there and take punishment. There is more damage done to at higher difficulties but the problem is that the AI doesn't get smarter. I don't want the game to take forever and the AI to just not care. You are allowed to recruit people, and sometimes even some from the actual story. Sadly this customization aspect was not given too much thought like most of the game and takes a backseat for most of the time. I'm done ranting about everything wrong with the gameplay.

    The sound is almost non-apparent and the graphics are actually the only thing I love about this game. It looks damn good, the Mobile Suits look good while moving and shooting. Other than that the terrain is nothing special and only some Mobile Suits have more detail put in. All in all the asthetics of the game are really the only thing to truly look at.

    When you look at the Mobile Suit GUNDAM universe, you don't look at a GM and say "I want to pilot that one!". You look at the GUNDAM and say "Dear god let me pilot that!". I'm disappointed that this was a launch title for the PS3. I guess it would make sense if they rushed it all to fit it in since you can actually see ideas forming here and there. It's just not enough to make a decent game. Would I replay this game? I'm just holding onto it until I have children then tell them never to play games like this pile of crap. It'll show them standards for gaming and for that I applaud Namco Bandai.

    Story: 1
    Gameplay: 1.1
    Sound: 1
    Graphics: 3.1
    Overall: 1.5
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    The one I played was the one that was named "Mobile Suit Gundam: Target in Sight" instead, but from what I know, its essentially the same game.

    Back when I first played it some time ago, I thought it was a great game. Looking back, it did have some flaws, however the game is extremely under-rated. I remember the experience of going through the campaign to be extremely pleasing. First off, the soundtrack in this game is AMAZING. The epic music in the game is still stuck in my head after so many years, and it really improved the gaming experience. Visuals on the other hand, weren't exactly anything amazing, but it was never so bad that it took me out of the experience. Now on Gameplay, I remember having a bit of frustration here and there, but I remember getting used to the way the game played and still had a great time. The mobile suit customization system was pretty fun, and it was sufficient to make the mechs feel important and the experience more personal. And I remember having pilots stick with me throughout the game, and had them kind of grow on me. The damage and repair system was also very interesting, and it sometimes forces you into uncomfortable situations, which was something I loved. And yes, the actual combat was quite clunky, but that was what I loved. It just felt realistic and enjoyable. Although not on the level of something like Mechwarriors, it just felt right, and the shooting and all felt responsive. The only downer in combat is that the AI that accompany you aren't as useful as they could be, and every other supporting vehicle is essentially useless.

    Overall, it was a great experience for me, and "Crossfire" was a game that I never regretted purchasing and playing.
    Full Review »