• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 25, 2010
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 177

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    The gameplay rivals the finest iteration of Mario Kart, but with the option to customise everything in sight ModNation Racers is up there with the greatest kart racers.
  2. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Nicely Done. An enjoyable game which I would and many others would put right up there with any racing game. I enjoyed this just as much or maybe more than Mario Kart, which frightened me as Mario Kart is possibly my favourite ever game.
  3. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    Modnation Racers does a lot to be similar to Mario Kart all the while being equally similar to Little Big Planet. is it as good as either of them?No. Now that's not to say it's awful-seeing as I'm giving this an 8 in all- it just doesn't have the charm of either title. The create suites are like a game unto themselves, meaning you'll lose hours just making whacky costumes,levels and karts for your rough rider. On the track everything feels familiar but there are some cool tweaks like having a consistant boost meter and blasting rivals is still great fun. However there is a tonne of rubber banding going on and the weapons don't deviate from the norm. The hub world (or creation station) is a nifty little area where you can explore to access menus and see the top 3 best creations that other people have made. In conclusion I don't think this is as strong or as original as Split/Second or Blur but it doesn't need to be. MNR is an impressive kart title that adds some juice to usually bland karting formula. It's a worthy PS3 exclusive and a good time sink. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    ModNation Racers unfortunately happens to belong to the same micro genre as one of the best loved franchises Nintendo has ever produced. One of the criticisms levelled at MNR is that it lacks the charm of Mario Kart, but itâ
  5. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    ModNation is a great blend of Mario Kart and LittleBigPlanet. It is the PS3's racing play-create-share game. Gameplay is excellent and the controls are simple and intuitive. However, the biggest thing about ModNation Racers is the ability to create your own character, or Mods, as well as your own tracks and karts. Character creation is well done, and those with the patience can create almost anything they want, minus the use of tails and backpacks. Track creation is simple. It is easy to make a course that works, and auto sculpt will fill in the scenery and/or the gameplay items for you. If you are a very creative person and/or like kart racing, this is one that you owe it to yourself to try out. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    One the best games I've played. Unbelievably customizable. but it does have long loading times that is true but its definitely worth it! fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller fillerfiller Expand
  7. LE_
    Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This is a great game! This is the next gen Mario Kart for PS3. What it lacks in a main character(Mario), it more than makes up with the creation aspect.

    Its a good, well rounded kart racer with easy to use controls and great online play. There are a few small issues I have with the game, but not enough to lower it to a 9.

    The best thing about this game is the mod/kart/track creation.
    This is where the title really shines. It has the best character creation tool ever. Whats best is its easy to use.


    The only 2 points I have against the game are: 1. Not enough points given for XP racing. So many level 30s are still playing, its hard to earn XP points. 2. Too many times, the "Unofficial" results were incorrect. I've clearly won races, then had it taken back in the Official results.

    This is a must buy for PS3. Especially with the price you can get it for now. I paid $60, and it was worth every penny.
    Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Second best only on playstation kart racing game of all time behind CTR: Crash Team Racing. This game is great. Online is super fun, the creating is awesome and the graphics are pretty good. The loading time is a minor setback for me but i get past it. btw im a modnation beast look up ripperroo1992 and u will c my stats which r not the best but i only had the game for 2 months
  9. May 5, 2011
    9
    Besides the load times this game is fun but also the online community can be rough even to new commers, Lets hope your friendly cause in Modnation ONLINE its easy to get reported.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Fun great game, seems like a cross between CRT and Mario Kart But different:) so many customisational options, create your own character, or Mods, as well as your own tracks and karts:) Spit screen (great fun in 2), online, offline game modes:)
  11. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    This is one of the most underrated games. Okay the loading times are long but their not much longer than other great games such as Uncharted 2. This game is astoundingly good. The graphics are incredible and the gameplay is so much fun, especially online. You can customise anything, make anything and this is an extremely enjoyable game. If you like racing, this is a must. But if not, there's a 90% chance that you will still like this game. For example I have a friend who doesn't like racing so much but this is still his favourite game. Definitely the king of kart races. Mario kart isn't even in it's league Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2010
    7
    There's defiantly something missing from Modnation racer's that Little Big Planet and Mario cart have but it doesn't stop it being a good game rising over any issues you may have heard about.
  13. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    i also bought this thing.... i'm plenty late reviewing it... i love sony, but split second and modnation suck in comparison to blur.... blur captured my heart and soul... i'm VERY sad they disbanded.... freek ya'll i DID NOT LIKE THIS GAME...long long times, ugly graphics a sorry mario kart wannbe be bad ass ripoff... sony rip mario he awesome modnation sucks... really i hated it. waste of my money and time... i ran over a powerup, with some ugly graphically challenged boy... i said fu... this and put in blur... this game sucked Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    As with LBP,ModNation Racers is a joy to play with the character,car and track options all infinite.Though the racing is simplistic,the game is fantastic and best enjoyed with friends.
  15. Apr 30, 2011
    2
    Eternal loading times, you spend 1/3 of the time loading. It's even worse because the "lobby" or main menu is another circuit so it has to be loaded too, so you spend like a minute loading the race and after finishing the lobby will have to load and then the next circuit.

    The drift mechanic is good, but the other mechanics in the game are really poor: power ups are few and badly done,
    circuits have a lot of unpredictable hazards and taking shortcuts can be exceedingly punishing is you make an error.

    It's like the developers spent too much time doing the "modding" part of the game and left the real game unfinished. A poor Mario Kart clone implementing the create - edit - share mechanics of LBP.
    Expand
  16. Oct 6, 2011
    6
    A popular game following the "Play, Create, Share" concept pioneered by LittleBigPlanet to add its own spin on the kart racing genre. The end result is a game that offers the player a brutal single-player campaign with cheap enemy A.I. and long load times (even after the latest updates). The community itself rarely shows original designs in both character and kart creations. Then again, you probably shouldn't expect much with a game being marketed, if not completely dominated, by a younger audience. Skip this and go for LittleBigPlanet 2 instead. Expand
  17. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    It's hard to say what is really wrong with this game. The racing and feel of the cars isn't bad, although the cars feel to light and there's no sense of speed really, it's still better then LBP planet carting. The biggest flaw are actually the weapons, there's just no satisfaction in it. The point of games like Mario cart and crash team racing is that it gives you satisfaction to personally screw one guy over by hitting him with a bomb or some other weapon. But in Modnation the weapons are two powerful and there's not personal because if you wait for them to be more powerful you can always hit more enemies. It feels like you're playing alone even though there's a lot of other racers there somehow.
    Also, all the racers look alike. It's fun to play with crash or his friends in Crash team racing because all the characters are completely different and their reaction to getting hit was fun. They forgot to put the fun in Modnation Racers.
    Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    Modnation Racers is a racing game that tries to emulate the "mario - kart" formula for the ps3 owners. What does this game bring to the table to be worth buying or to be valued as remarkable? Create, play, share. It's simple, it's funny and it's rewarding. This game lets the user create his own tracks, and if you don't like wasting your time, you can create a simple track in a few minutes. Drive through your own-designed track is very funny and rewarding. This game is designed to be played by everyone, accessible to new comers, rewarding to core gamers. With that in mind it was a let down the overall difficulty of the main campaign, somehow doesn't reward the good driver, but punishes you very often with weapons from opponents. A few seconds can be vital and you can easily shift from the top sspot to the last. Once you master the high difficulty (even though a later patch gives the option of scale it down), you can better enjoy the experience. Audio/video is good, polished, not groundbreaking but funcional to the gameplay. Voice acting ( in italian at least) is very good and dialogue is funny. Overall i can reccomend this game if you don't get scared of the high difficulty. Expand
  19. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    A successful fun racers with great graphics and witty remarks. The control is in order to inspire the routes. Occasional lag or too long loading times murky but the overall impression as well as the fast and furious increasing difficulty.
  20. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    nothing like lbp at all it's quite boring
    lbp is waaay beter then this.okay it's probably the most closed video game too lbp but still no fun the races feel so fake and weird i don't know maybe the only good thing about this game is that levels are easier too make then in lbp and that you can download costumes from other gamers so that you don't have too play the hole campaign.

    it's
    not worthy of spending more then 15 dollars at.
    maybe kids will like it more
    Expand
  21. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    a ton of fun. The sheer oblivion-extent of customisation is almost a game by itself. the tracks are challenging, colourful, fast pace and a ton of fun. Perfect to play with a group. Even gaming novices. I had a lot of fun creating my own circuits from the ground up literally, soaring through the skies through flaming hoops suspended by helicopters while dodging obstacles popping up just as you take off a ramp. The ability to fire missiles at opponents adds to the mad fun. The graphics may look as though they're aimed for young teens and younger, but it is just as much fun for those of us whom like challenging racers. A definite must-buy! Expand
  22. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    If you enjoy racing games and played with Lego as a kid then this is the perfect game for you. The track creator is the centre of this game, if your not interested building tracks this game is not for you, stick to Mario Kart. However, if you are the creative type the ability to create any race track imaginable is provided in ModNation. I created realistic replicas of Laguna Seca, Tsukuba and Suzuka Circuit whilst also recreating Mario Karts DK mountain. You can share and trade your creations online and you could download astonishingly accurate reincarnations of everything from MarioKart to South Park characters, Batman and everything in-between.

    My only problems with this game are the lousy weapons which leave much to be desired. I left them off and just raced the game with my friends as a pure go kart racer that was still extremely fun and more rewarding than MarioKart where it was the luck of the item draw. The loading times are also a bit too long to be acceptable but it is understandable when you consider the detail that is put into the tracks, characters and vehicles of ModNation.

    Turn off items, download and create any track you ever wanted and this game seriously gives MarioKart a run for its money.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    75
    Although Modnation has its problems that doesn't stop Modnation racers from being the go to game if you are looking for a fun kart-racing experience on the Playsation 3.
  2. It's a game that makes you feel like there aren't enough gaming hours during the summer months.
  3. Overall, this is a really fun racer, I can't emphasise enough how much the customisation adds to the game.