Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
Buy On
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    95
    The re-release is just as strong as the original. They jammed the disc full of everything and even chipped in some extras. Even the thing they omitted (the online pass) is a plus. It's just up to you whether it's worth the door charge.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    86
    The Komplete Edition is a compelling release, especially for those who held off on purchasing Mortal Kombat to this point.
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    70
    This is a superb game in a mildly disappointing new package.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 10, 2013
    60
    Mortal Kombat continues to nail the low bar it sets for itself, but we wouldn't want it any other way. [July 2013, p.75]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Adding all the dlc to an already brilliant game, grab it if you haven't got a copy. Everything you loved about the MK series is carried on inAdding all the dlc to an already brilliant game, grab it if you haven't got a copy. Everything you loved about the MK series is carried on in a brilliant follow on to the series Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2016
    8
    Mortal Kombat com certeza é uma franquia que marcou a vida de muitos jogadores e o melhor é que ainda tem muito potencial para continuarMortal Kombat com certeza é uma franquia que marcou a vida de muitos jogadores e o melhor é que ainda tem muito potencial para continuar marcando...essa versão é ótima e mostra uma franquia que em real decadência conseguiu reverter a situação e voltar a ser protagonista.Recomendo!!! Full Review »
  3. Feb 26, 2016
    9
    I'm not a big fan of the fighting game genere, but this game is simply amazing.

    Story: I really don't know how to describe MK9's plot, but
    I'm not a big fan of the fighting game genere, but this game is simply amazing.

    Story: I really don't know how to describe MK9's plot, but i'll try to do my best. Shao kahn has finally killed all the MK fighters and raiden is the only one left, after losing to Shao kahn, the raiden from the future sends his memories to the raiden of the past to warn him of what will happen in the future, so eventually raiden teams up with some of the other MK characters to prevent, pretty much armageddon. That's the story, nothing special but very entreteining for me.

    Presentation: Wow this game is great looking, MK9 doesn't fall into the trap of sacrificing a color palette, just for the sake of being realistic (looking at you gear of war), everything has color and the models, animations and backgrounds all look great and nice on the eyes. The music fit perfectly with every situation and the blood is ALL OVER THE PLACE. The fatalities look great and every little detail like the fact that the clothes of the characters brake after intense fighting make this presentation a joy to experience.

    Gameplay: MORTAL KOMBAT!!!. The mechanics are very well thought and fun to use, you can use your usual punches and kicks, you can block, you can do special moves with a combination of commands and the new addition to your arsenal, the x-rays, can be trigger to do 30-40% damage and when you the broken bones of your enemy, it feels gooooooood :). The mechanics that this game has are very similar (to not say nearly identical) to MK vs DC Universe, however here they are more fleshed-out and fun. We also have some different modes like the story mode ,Kombat Mode, Challenge mode, Training mode, Extras and Online mode (which no longer works) all of the modes are pretty self explanatory, but extras does have a interesting mode which is the kript mode, where you spend the games cash that you get in other modes to unlock concept art, fatalities, skins etc. Kombat mode actually has some other modes inside, first is Tournament mode, where yo chose a fighter, choose a difficulty and go through various kombat's until you get to Shao kahn, Tournament with teams is the same thing, but this time is 2 vs 2. To be honest story mode, training, the kript, online, and tournament is all i played so i can't comment on the other "kombat modes", but they seem very interesting and fun.

    Overall MK9 is a fantastic game, with great presentation, story and gameplay, i can't recommend it enough and keep in mind this is coming from a guy that usually hates fighting games. If you are going to get it, i say get the ps3 version since it has an exclusive character...KRATOS!!!. With that said i'll give the game a 9/10 did i mentioned that the roster of characters is also very big?
    Full Review »