Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition delivers the critically acclaimed game, all previously released downloadable content (DLC), plus digital downloads of the 2011 release of Mortal Kombat: Songs Inspired by the Warriors album with a bonus track, and the 1995 Mortal Kombat film on the PlayStation®Store or Xbox Live Zune. The DLC includes fan-favorite warriors Skarlet, Kenshi and Rain, as well as the infamous dream stalker Freddy Krueger. The game also offers 15 Klassic Skins and three Klassic Fatalities (Scorpion, Sub-Zero and Reptile). Mortal Kombat: Songs Inspired by the Warriors is a collection of electronic music inspired by the game and is executive produced by JFK (of the DJ/ production duo MSTRKRFT and Death From Above 1979). Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    95
    The re-release is just as strong as the original. They jammed the disc full of everything and even chipped in some extras. Even the thing they omitted (the online pass) is a plus. It's just up to you whether it's worth the door charge.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    86
    The Komplete Edition is a compelling release, especially for those who held off on purchasing Mortal Kombat to this point.
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    70
    This is a superb game in a mildly disappointing new package.
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    Mortal Kombat continues to nail the low bar it sets for itself, but we wouldn't want it any other way. [July 2013, p.75]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Adding all the dlc to an already brilliant game, grab it if you haven't got a copy. Everything you loved about the MK series is carried on in a brilliant follow on to the series Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am going through a couple of games I have played in recent weeks, and found that I am being too nice and giving them all "10" ratings. The thing with Mortal Kombat is, the last one that deserved a 10 was the very first one. The rest of them usually had something to really turn you off. With the Komplete Edition, you get Freddy Krueger. I love those awful Nightmare movies, so it was a perfect fit. There are few things to dislike with this game, and Freddy Krueger was one of them. And it was a problem because I couldn't select Freddy right away. I had to learn how to navigate the fighter selection menu in order to do so. That is actually the only thing I didn't like. It was not as plug-in-and-play as I had thought. Just that ONE thing, though. The rest of the game gives you everything you'd want in a TRUE Mortal Kombat game. Excessive gore. Questionable fatalities. Question in that, you ask yourself while playing, "Was it really necessary to show that? To be THAT detailed?" NO! That's what makes it so great. The first MK posed the same questions. I actually had to lie to my mom about owning it. She wouldn't buy it for me, even though I had saved the money for it. I ended up buying something else and trading for it. You also had to get the infamous "Blood Code" from friends at school. That's how I felt this time around. I felt like I was hiding this terribly gory, mean-spirited contest of a game from my mom. I felt again like it was 1992-1993, and I was having to ask around for the blood code. There was a culture, an underground one, with the original MK. The newest version gives that same feel. It's a bad game. It's naughty. It's a bad game to show impressionable youths. That's why it's the best one since the first one. I've already said that a couple of times now. You have to know, however. You have to. This game makes even the dullest of the storied MK lineup exciting. New life is given to the Good and the Bad characters. The boring, stupid filler characters that really removed the dynamics of the MK sequels are actually really, really cool in this version. I hate Mileena. I always have. Now, I like her. Her moves are incredible. Her fatality is a horror movie. And so is every other one. I even almost found myself liking Striker, who is the lamest and dullest of all of the MK characters past or present. Even he kind of gets you going, "Hey, he's not so bad. I'm gonna pick him". This is the nature of the game. The menu is amazing. You already feel like you're knee deep in MK gore and living in fear of the next match before you even start the game. Loading times are minimal. Backgrounds are beautiful, nightmarish, cinematic even. The characters all give you a feel that they are worthy opponents, and that they may have earned their place in the tournament the same as the obvious ones like Liu Kang or Scorpion himself. That is a rare thing to have in MK. The moves are incredibly seamless. You don't have to sit there and study them like an exam just to get through one whole match. If you remember even a couple of moves, you'll get the rest. Easy package to get into. You play this game and you feel like you never left the first one. You just got an impressive clean-up and HD treatment. It's so wonderful. It's so great. Could it be that all that Warner Brothers money made its way to Tobias Boon and his pals(Noob Saibot.....? Tobias Boon? Hmmm......), allowing them, finally, to make a true and worthy heir apparent to the fighting game that changed all games, fighting or not? Yes! If you don't believe me, go play MK 4. Then think it over. Please, buy this game. Play it with friends. Beat it. You'll wanna keep going and going. I did. Which reminds me, the Shao Khan/Kahn fight is top notch. Fun, really hard(when he isn't stopping to gloat, pride-before-the-fall style), and gives you a great end cinema with storybook ending for each character that really brings the replay value of this game to astronomical levels. A gamer will love this game. A casually playing casual gamer with love this game. A fighting game fan will love this game. But, a Mortal Kombat fan will feel like they've been reunited with a long lost love. A love that we've been trying to replace with every fighting game since. Well, Peggy Sue Got Married. To Me. Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    Mortal Kombat in its original version is something extraordinary, and I honestly can not give this Edition Komplete a note lower than the original is given, although disapprove Complete Editions generally prejudiced by the buyers of the game on day 1.
    Assi, this conyinua to be a great game and highly recommended.
    Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    For everything you're getting -- an excellent and exceptionally nostalgic fighting experience with DLCs included -- at a valuable price, Mortal Kombat: Komplete Edition has to be one of the easiest purchases in your collection. It's not a special edition as much as it is a thoughtful, tailor made buy for anyone who hasn't already purchased the game or the DLCs. For casuals or traditional kombatants, no one could go wrong with it, it's the best in the franchise.

    Pros? Enough single player and multiplayer content to maintain a gamer's attention span for longer than anticipated; one of the most cinematic story modes ever introduced into a fighting game; challenge tower has 300 challenges that'll have you up all night; excellent arcade mode with character endings; excellent controls; excellent implementation of X-Ray moves, which make the game even more bloody fun; excellent implementation of tag team fighting; excellent training mode; GOREgous graphics and blood and gore galore; excellent online experience, featuring lobbies and King of the Hill; variety of characters from the original trilogy have had a makeover and are all unique; Test Your Might, Strike, and especially Luck are addictive; can't go wrong with DLC.

    Cons? Distribution of unlockables; the Krypt could offer more than just primarily art; minor balancing issues, some characters are overpowered; minor cheap A.I., specifically Shao Kahn; minor online lags; the story mode has some corny dialogue and voice acting.
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    good exciting game... i decide to buy this bluray disc and play with families and friends, very interest someone who never play fight game. it will become a recomended game to play at fasting month,, Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    this game not bad in all retro spec it took 2 days to complete it but i like the game the fighting is good i could not believe it was ban in australia Collapse
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition 8/10...................................................................................................................