Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe PlayStation 3

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 107
  2. Negative: 20 out of 107
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WebsterB
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    This game deserves a 10 for the care, attention, and respect with which it handles the DC license. Each DC character is not only excellently balanced and crafted in terms of its move-set and animation but their back stories and personalities are well integrated into an enjoyable and surprisingly good story mode. For a DC fan the 'T' rating is preferable to seeing Superman This game deserves a 10 for the care, attention, and respect with which it handles the DC license. Each DC character is not only excellently balanced and crafted in terms of its move-set and animation but their back stories and personalities are well integrated into an enjoyable and surprisingly good story mode. For a DC fan the 'T' rating is preferable to seeing Superman eviscerate someone or be decapitated himself. For the comic fan the story is reminiscent of some of the more fun elseworld storylines and shows a good understanding of the characters. The voice acting is very good on the DC side. The fights are incredibly fun and to be able to play a fighter with fan service such as epic fights between Batman and The Joker, Superman and Lex Luthor as well as cool cross license fighting is more than worth the price of admission. One of the most purely fun games I've played in a while... and I play many games. Not a tournament fighter, but a fantastically fun game that does the DC universe proud( it even makes Captain Marvel cool!). Here's hoping for a sequel with an expanded roster. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    There's only two things really wrong with this game. One: Due to the T rating, any and all fatalities are seriously censored, and can't even really count as a "I beat your ass, you loser!" effect. That really sucks, and it even limits the brutality of the "good" DC heroes who don't do fatalities, but instead fo "heroic brutalities", which are identical, but simply aren't fatal (even thoughThere's only two things really wrong with this game. One: Due to the T rating, any and all fatalities are seriously censored, and can't even really count as a "I beat your ass, you loser!" effect. That really sucks, and it even limits the brutality of the "good" DC heroes who don't do fatalities, but instead fo "heroic brutalities", which are identical, but simply aren't fatal (even though some of them would most certainly be). The second thing is that combat lacks complexity. This is a really bare-bones fighter, and aside from the standard special moves and combos and the like, all you get is a "Rage Meter". Once your rage meter is full, you can go into a very brief Rage Mode, which essentially makes you invincible and your attacks unblockable. This "Rage Meter" doesn't work at all, though. It's bad enough that it's simply boring, and just makes your character glow while it's in effect, but in the right hands it's certain death for the opponent. A well-used Rage can nearly empty an opponent's life bar, which they can do nothing about since there is no dodging, and thus should not be. This game really needed anything besides this poorly-thought-out Rage Meter. I don't know what, maybe they could have taken a page from BlazBlue and thrown in special Drive moves for each character or something. In any case, the Rage Meter simply sucks as the mechanic that can determine the outcome of a match, regardless of skill level. When you can't block or avoid their barrage of attacks, it's hard to win after losing more than half your life bar. Still, the game's not bad, and still has everything it needs. The story mode is well-done, the roster is good, the fatalities, while censored, are still not terrible (but not exactly Mortal Kombat, 'cause you know, T rating), the voice acting is all there, everyone's special moves are appropriate for each character, the stages are plentiful and detailed, as well as destructible and interactive with some fun things you can do to cause damage in each stage, and while the extras are kind of slim (only two unlockable characters), it works on its own. Plus, I mean, you can pit Batman against Scorpion. That's worth something in itself. Don't expect a classic here, but for what it costs now, it's worth a look for anyone interested. It's definitely not a fighter that'll get any tournament time, but it's a nice diversion, and serves its purpose. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    The gameplay is just awesome,its really fun to play,a respectful roster with a enjoyable story mode it offers,the story mode explains everything unlike MVC which is kinda goofy if you ask me,but still good game,you have to give Ed Boon a credit for having big balls,the game handles the DC license good,this game will please any casual gamer,but the lack of gore the game will not be so muchThe gameplay is just awesome,its really fun to play,a respectful roster with a enjoyable story mode it offers,the story mode explains everything unlike MVC which is kinda goofy if you ask me,but still good game,you have to give Ed Boon a credit for having big balls,the game handles the DC license good,this game will please any casual gamer,but the lack of gore the game will not be so much a favorite among MK fans! if this was just a DC beat em up,the game would be a HUGE succes! Expand
  4. SamL.
    Jan 8, 2009
    9
    As a long time Mortal Kombat fan, I am very pleased with my purchase. It may not be as gory as its predecessors, but it's still MK. It still feels like MK. A lot of classic characters and moves, and the awesomeness that is the DC characters. You won't want to play with the MK characters for a long while because it's just so much fun beating people senseless with Batman, or As a long time Mortal Kombat fan, I am very pleased with my purchase. It may not be as gory as its predecessors, but it's still MK. It still feels like MK. A lot of classic characters and moves, and the awesomeness that is the DC characters. You won't want to play with the MK characters for a long while because it's just so much fun beating people senseless with Batman, or running circles around people with The Flash. My current favorites are Captain Marvel and Superman! This game is a must own for anyone who likes Mortal Kombat, and definitely anyone who's been wanting a good DC fighting game, because this is the whole package. Expand
  5. lycan7hropystevens
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    My favorite fighter this gen (sorry SF4). its just fun. its not the most balanced fighter, the blocking is off, there is a lack of punches and kicks, which is stupid, and only one throw for fighter....also incredibly stupid. a few of the backgrounds are a bit stale also. the game has a slight film grain on the visuals which distracts. but the fighters are fun to use, the special moves are My favorite fighter this gen (sorry SF4). its just fun. its not the most balanced fighter, the blocking is off, there is a lack of punches and kicks, which is stupid, and only one throw for fighter....also incredibly stupid. a few of the backgrounds are a bit stale also. the game has a slight film grain on the visuals which distracts. but the fighters are fun to use, the special moves are great, it runs smooth online, and the rest or the presentation is great. kudos to anyone who can do all the combo challenges. Expand
  6. KameleonV
    Mar 20, 2009
    9
    As far as Fight games go this one is fun and easy to learn. There is also enough sophisticated moves to appeal to those that would want some difficulty. I found the single player story line a little odd but it did a good job at allowing you to play the different styles. Over all though I am a fan of the MK line and in my opinion this is a great game that you can just pick up whenever you As far as Fight games go this one is fun and easy to learn. There is also enough sophisticated moves to appeal to those that would want some difficulty. I found the single player story line a little odd but it did a good job at allowing you to play the different styles. Over all though I am a fan of the MK line and in my opinion this is a great game that you can just pick up whenever you want some Comic book MK carnage. Captain marvel is by far one of the easiest players to learn and win repeatedly with IMO. Expand
  7. PatrickG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    As of late the Mortal Kombat series has hit its stride, with several games offering solid gameplay with lots of replay value. The addition of DC characters to this game only sweetens the deal and online puts the cherry on top. Don't let the T rating make you miss out on this gem.
  8. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    As far as fighting games go, it's rather good, the best part of it is that it has mortal kombat control scheme. Goofy storyline, tame fatalities, corny design – it's almost like a super-hero cartoon. The biggest flaw is 20 core characters, which sounds like descent number, but even with 3 unlocked bosses you feel roaster lacking. There's also no unlockables.
    Game feels like it was planned
    As far as fighting games go, it's rather good, the best part of it is that it has mortal kombat control scheme. Goofy storyline, tame fatalities, corny design – it's almost like a super-hero cartoon. The biggest flaw is 20 core characters, which sounds like descent number, but even with 3 unlocked bosses you feel roaster lacking. There's also no unlockables.
    Game feels like it was planned to add content with multiple dlc, but they were butchered. In the end, fighting mechanic is fun, you can set the fight between batman and sub zero and it's what matters.

    I would have given it 7,5 but metacritic don't understands halfs.
    Expand
  9. ERB
    Aug 2, 2013
    8
    The only word for this game is that It is awesome.It really deserves a good score.But only problem is that this game is no longer brutal even the fatality is not good.It might be better if this game has more brutality in It.But still good game.
  10. Sep 24, 2015
    8
    When I first saw this I was like "that is wierdest idea for a crossover I have ever seen" and to my surprising it was a great game. I did think that it should be upped to Mature because it is a mortal kombat game, but I can understand why the guys at DC didn't want to see scorpion decapitating superman. Plus there are a few characters missing. Like where is Johnny cage, robin, goro, orWhen I first saw this I was like "that is wierdest idea for a crossover I have ever seen" and to my surprising it was a great game. I did think that it should be upped to Mature because it is a mortal kombat game, but I can understand why the guys at DC didn't want to see scorpion decapitating superman. Plus there are a few characters missing. Like where is Johnny cage, robin, goro, or even green arrow. So even though it's not a perfect fighting game I'd say it's worth a buy or at the least a rental. Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    I drained a good amount of time into this game. Single player arcade ladder is as you would expect. The story is okay, giving you a chance to play as most of the characters. Each character plays completely different from one another, which is great. There are a few game breaking bugs that the developers didn't fix (Superman's ground pound) The online lobby is where it's at. Most of theI drained a good amount of time into this game. Single player arcade ladder is as you would expect. The story is okay, giving you a chance to play as most of the characters. Each character plays completely different from one another, which is great. There are a few game breaking bugs that the developers didn't fix (Superman's ground pound) The online lobby is where it's at. Most of the time connection is good. MK fans like to complain about the fatalities being watered down. If all you play a fighting game for is to see gruesome fatalities, you probably shouldn't waste your money on it. All in all a good fighting game. Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2015
    7
    The premise is original and interesting but,there is no blood and the fatalities are not that good.The DC characters story was pretty good but the fights and the game itself were ruined by the fact that there was no blood.
  13. Mar 19, 2016
    7
    Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe in my opinion is a good , but somewhat flawed game.

    STORY: MK vs DC does something pretty unique in the fighting game genre. Instead of having one straightforward story, there's 2 different viewpoints on how the story progress. There's the MK side and the DC side, each one having a different vision on the events, but both tell the same story. Both sides
    Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe in my opinion is a good , but somewhat flawed game.

    STORY: MK vs DC does something pretty unique in the fighting game genre. Instead of having one straightforward story, there's 2 different viewpoints on how the story progress. There's the MK side and the DC side, each one having a different vision on the events, but both tell the same story.

    Both sides start the same way. Superman and Raiden are just finishing off the main villains of their respective universes, Shao Kahn and Darkseid, and somehow both raiden and superman synchronize themselves to "eliminate" both Shao Kahn and Darkseid, while both of them are standing in a portal which somehow fuses both of them to create 1 single being...Dark Kahn...haha. When this happens a force called rage starts taking over the villains and the heroes of each universe and this causes for both universes to slowly but surely...fuse. Ok there are obviously a lot of conveniences in this plot and while this may annoy some players...meh i personally don't mind, but this story is not strong by any means.

    PRESENTATION: In terms of presentation MK vs DC looks pretty decent for a 7th gen 2008 game and it actually did some things that would later be reused for MK9. For example, the character clothing will break while the battle is progressing. This is a really cool detail and when you are playing the game it looks very nice. The backgrounds are well done, same goes for the character models, the 60 fps are there, the music is good, overall is a really solid presentation..., but (and this is a big one) one of the key defining things that MK is known for is the violence, but in this game the use of blood is severely reduced and they did something to the fatalities that i really didn't like, but aside from that the presentation is very good.

    GAMEPLAY: MK vs DC set some of the basics that MK9 would improve upon, like the speed, which is very well balanced, but i feel like the characters feel a little floaty.

    One of the main mechanics is the rage mechanic, by dealing and taking damage a bar will fill up and when is full you can go into a super rage mode where you take little damage and your strength is increased for a short period of time. Another cool thing are what i call "Attack and Defend moments". Like the name suggest, in some moments of the fight you will have to do 1 of 3 things usually involved with attacking and defending. One of them is "Close Kombat", when this happens both fighters will have to press buttons and when the attacking player picks a different button than the other fighter, he will do damage, but if both fighters pick the same button, the defending player will counter attack, this is a really cool feature. Another one is "Falling Kombat", in certain stages you will be able to knock your opponent out of the stage and start a freefall kombat, this follows the same rules of "Close Kombat", but here instead of counterattacking, the places of the attacking player and the defending players will be switched and on top of that, there's a meter that will fill up the more you punch the other fighter and when it's full the attacking player can do a special move to brutally send the other fighter to the ground, this is a really awesome addition. And the 3rd one is what i call "Wall attack", the attacker will take the other fighter and smack him into some walls, whether or not you deal damage depends on which fighter mashes the buttons faster, this one is not as cool as the other ones, but it is satisfying.

    You obviously have the typical modes like: Arcade, Story, challenges, training, online, extras and so on and so forward (tho it would be nice to get a few more modes because this game is really lacking in content). The special and normal moves are there, there's 22 characters to play with and the Fatalities...uuugh...are pathetic, for one thing only the dc villians and the mk characters will have fatalities, while the heroes will have heroic brutalities (which totally sucks!!) and on top of that the actual fatalities are a complete joke, barely any of them have blood and the gore and violence have been incredibly reduced, only one fatality comes to mind when discussing violence in this game (that would actually be reused in MK9), the joker's fatality.

    In the end Mortal Kombat vs DC universe is a good game with decent graphics, good music, well thought mechanics, censored violence, convenient story, great characters and more, but i feel like it's crushed in so many ways by MK9 and MKX that the only reason to buy it, is if you are a hardcore Mortal Kombat fan, but it did come up with some ideas that would later be reused in MK9 so i'll give it that. So with that said i'll give Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe a 7/10.
    Expand
  14. KnightMare
    Nov 25, 2008
    6
    I am deeply saddend that this franchised has been hit with scorpions spear..... This game lacks the wow effect that should have been carried on from at least the first mortal kombat. the teen rating really kills the maturity of this game which is what mad MK, well, Mk! I can stress enough about the WOW factor and i think another voter said it best. the game is "meh" i was not very I am deeply saddend that this franchised has been hit with scorpions spear..... This game lacks the wow effect that should have been carried on from at least the first mortal kombat. the teen rating really kills the maturity of this game which is what mad MK, well, Mk! I can stress enough about the WOW factor and i think another voter said it best. the game is "meh" i was not very enthused to play this game and took it back within an hour for return to pick up something more promising. the "special" moves, or lack thereof are not so well.......special at all with the acception of a chosen few. green lantern especially. he's an awsome D.C. character but boy did they drop the ball on this one in my opinion. if you have kids but dont want them to play nothing to hardcore but entertaining, this ones for them, for all the hardcore mortal kombat fans, and even the D.C. fanboys, we might wanna wait a good while longer for something a lot more mature Expand
  15. May 3, 2011
    6
    Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe is overall, under-achieved, mainly due to its imbalanced censorship and lack of innovation. However, it should still make for a damn good time amongst comic book fan boys. Pros: Fantastic visuals; best controls in a MK game; variety of MK and DC characters and moves. Cons: Imbalanced censorship, resulting with some often comical fatalities and brutalities;Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe is overall, under-achieved, mainly due to its imbalanced censorship and lack of innovation. However, it should still make for a damn good time amongst comic book fan boys. Pros: Fantastic visuals; best controls in a MK game; variety of MK and DC characters and moves. Cons: Imbalanced censorship, resulting with some often comical fatalities and brutalities; lousy story mode; lack of innovation. Expand
  16. Jan 13, 2013
    6
    The game didn't need to link itself to mortal kombat and would have been stronger if it had more DC characters. Despite its gameplay manages to fudge up with its horrible story.
  17. Feb 16, 2016
    6
    There is nothing memorable about this game. It will be easily forgotten and hasn't managed to entertain me for long enough for me to change my mind about it. I played it about 5 times and I was bored.
  18. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    The DC universe versus one of fighting games' most popular characters was an excellent concept, which eventually lead NetherRealms to developing 2013's Injustice: Gods Among Us. But my concerns aren't for the lack of M rated content -- before 2011's reboot of the franchise came out, Mortal Kombat wasn't even taken serious beyond blood and guts -- as much as it is for the imbalancedThe DC universe versus one of fighting games' most popular characters was an excellent concept, which eventually lead NetherRealms to developing 2013's Injustice: Gods Among Us. But my concerns aren't for the lack of M rated content -- before 2011's reboot of the franchise came out, Mortal Kombat wasn't even taken serious beyond blood and guts -- as much as it is for the imbalanced handling of the ESRB content, as well as the overall dullness you feel after running through it for a week. (I previously reviewed it as KendylKlownfish in 2011, I'm reviewing it again just because, well, I always want to restate my thoughts on a game, old or now -- and I have no social life, ahem).

    Pros? Although I once called it "lousy", it has an overall engaging story mode in spite of some cheesiness in the character's dialogue and execution, NetherRealms obviously cherishes canon details over Capcom, who usually focus on arcade mode and, well, that's it; great graphics; kombatants versing against DC legends is a comic geek and gamer's wet dream. Cons? The imbalanced handling of content, which ends up making fatalities (and um, "heroic" brutalities, *snickers*) look unintentionally comical; core gameplay hasn't reduced the clunkiness of the PS2 games; not much variety for fighters seeking out challenge; an overall dull experience.
    Expand
  19. Jul 5, 2016
    6
    Mais uma vez vemos um titulo com muito potencial não ser aproveitado da melhor forma,não gostei da jogabilidade e o gráfico bem mediano,nada de inovador...esperava mais.
  20. BartR.
    Nov 17, 2008
    4
    Horrible AI makes this game just as weak as the predecessors (past MK3). The opponents sometimes just stand there idly waiting to be completely annihilated, and then in split second they become unbeatable, and this is on easy difficulties. The "kombo" challenge is horribly tuned, with combos not registering upon completion. If this game was supposed to revive the series, it falls short on Horrible AI makes this game just as weak as the predecessors (past MK3). The opponents sometimes just stand there idly waiting to be completely annihilated, and then in split second they become unbeatable, and this is on easy difficulties. The "kombo" challenge is horribly tuned, with combos not registering upon completion. If this game was supposed to revive the series, it falls short on many, many levels. If it's Teen rating was the only problem, we would only be so lucky. Expand
  21. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    This is not a bad game, let me be clear on that. It just doesn't deserve the "Mortal Kombat" name on it. MK needs to be bloody and gory and have finishers to kill your opponent brutally. This is NOT mortal kombat.
  22. Apr 2, 2013
    4
    This game is not that great. The story is ridiculous and does a lousy job of explaining why the DC Characters are underpowered versions of themselves. Superman, the indestructible son of Krypton can be taken out by a few sweeping kicks from Sonya Blade or an ice blast to the chest courtesy of Sub Zero? That's lame. All of the usual MK fatalities have been removed. Apparently parentThis game is not that great. The story is ridiculous and does a lousy job of explaining why the DC Characters are underpowered versions of themselves. Superman, the indestructible son of Krypton can be taken out by a few sweeping kicks from Sonya Blade or an ice blast to the chest courtesy of Sub Zero? That's lame. All of the usual MK fatalities have been removed. Apparently parent company, WB who owns DC and MK doesn't want to see Wonder Woman's heart get ripped out or Batman's head get torn off. The gameplay is wonky. There's a slight delay between hitting the buttons and the characters' actions. It's also very unbalanced. There aren't alot of gameplay modes an the ones that do exist aren't worth your time to explore. Since it's release, its become drastically cheaper and that means you can pick it up in a bargain bin for a very low cost if you're looking for a few extra trophies or achievements. Otherwise, I'd pass up on this game. Expand
  23. May 30, 2013
    4
    This game is way too short and difficult, even on the very easy mode. The story is pretty lame and the klose kombat was annoying. As soon as I finished it, I gave it away to a friend.
  24. May 11, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. bad game.

    I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it...............
    Expand
  25. Apr 8, 2013
    3
    This game is awful and lacks imagination and innovation. They should not have put MK and DC together they just don't mix. Fatalities were comical but they were...stupid at the same time. Mortal Kombat was always gory but this is a huge disappointment.
  26. Aug 9, 2013
    2
    Worst. Mortal. Kombat. Ever!
    But, to be fair, I will write all +/-.
    + Graphics
    + Isn't expensive
    - Fatalities aren't brutal [!]
    - Audio
    - Ugly DC characters
    - BORING !!!!
    - Heroic Brutalities
  27. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    The second worst game i've ever played, overall game play is clunky and unrefined, the 'campaign' is useless, theres time in the fight where your just randomly falling and it turns into a weird QTE deal. overall crappy game, deserves every 0 it gets... also no replayability just utter crap.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 75
    Casual players will punch through the storyline before burning out after getting stumped by one or two Kombo Challenges, while Mortal Kombat fans will have trouble accepting the toned down Fatalities and somewhat slower gameplay. In short, this game's fun, but its legs probably can't carry it beyond the whole "Wow, Batman's fighting Superman" first impression.
  2. The game is not a failure by any means, but you will find yourself asking for more or wanting to play other more fleshed out fighting games. The visuals were also a big letdown, especially the backgrounds, mainly because we've been spoiled by other visually appealing fighting games.
  3. 84
    The combat is solid, the story mode is substantial and if you are a fan of either universe there is something here to enjoy. The lackluster finishing moves and lack of extras really hurt the overall experience, but if you are indeed looking for a game that pits two franchises full of beloved characters there is a lot to love here.