User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 444 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 444

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This Mortal Kombat is in my opinion in the top 5 games of 2011. Your getting your moneys worth if you like the mortal kombat series. If you are more into street fighters slow confusing gameplay (IMO) id skip this game. It has a fun challenge tower, cheesy but entertaining story mode, and fun tag team action. The big drawback is the extremely difficult boss fights. Shao Kahn is the 2011This Mortal Kombat is in my opinion in the top 5 games of 2011. Your getting your moneys worth if you like the mortal kombat series. If you are more into street fighters slow confusing gameplay (IMO) id skip this game. It has a fun challenge tower, cheesy but entertaining story mode, and fun tag team action. The big drawback is the extremely difficult boss fights. Shao Kahn is the 2011 most difficult boss (IMO). He will test your patience. This game is at least worth a rent, but id suggest buying it. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    if ur a mortal kombat addict like me, then the latest edition of this bloody fighter will blow ur mind. Forget about MK vs DC, this game has a far more deeper combat system, a bigger roster to choose from, and most of all, more replay value uve than ever dreamed of. A few problems exist, such as imbalances in difficilty in the single player story, and the fact tht the graphics arent as topif ur a mortal kombat addict like me, then the latest edition of this bloody fighter will blow ur mind. Forget about MK vs DC, this game has a far more deeper combat system, a bigger roster to choose from, and most of all, more replay value uve than ever dreamed of. A few problems exist, such as imbalances in difficilty in the single player story, and the fact tht the graphics arent as top notch as they cudve been. (Im looking at u character models) Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Mortal Kombat is an awesome fighter. The graphics in this game and the sheer brutality in this game go beyond most fighters ever created. Brutality especially, Mortal Kombat IS the most brutal fighter on the market today. When playing locally with two players, the experience is the best, no lag, and maintaining a solid 60fps, yes 60fps. Online mode is a bit rough with noticeable lag,Mortal Kombat is an awesome fighter. The graphics in this game and the sheer brutality in this game go beyond most fighters ever created. Brutality especially, Mortal Kombat IS the most brutal fighter on the market today. When playing locally with two players, the experience is the best, no lag, and maintaining a solid 60fps, yes 60fps. Online mode is a bit rough with noticeable lag, it somewhat detracts from the experience, but not by much (also note that you have to have an Online pass to play MK online). Single player is extremely rough. The battles are really difficult, and 2 on 1 battles (guess who is the 1), are difficult to the point that you might just chuck your game controller across the room. The lack of ability to skip or even pause mid-cutscene is annoying, and I would hope gets patched sometime after this review date. But thats just rambling, if you need a good fighter, get Mortal Kombat, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Best Mortal Kombat ever.
    It is our dream in 1996.
    All others fightins always sucks.
    Especially I hate Street Fighter.
    Goodbye Teeken, hello again Mortal Kombat!
  5. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    this game is one of the best fighting games i have ever played but it does have some problems for example a few bosses are overpowered and the story does feature some 2 or 1 battles. however the x-rays and fatality's are still amazing with good detail added in to them. then again when you see some one float in the air and there neck snap but still phone god and just get up again stillthis game is one of the best fighting games i have ever played but it does have some problems for example a few bosses are overpowered and the story does feature some 2 or 1 battles. however the x-rays and fatality's are still amazing with good detail added in to them. then again when you see some one float in the air and there neck snap but still phone god and just get up again still confuses me. Finlay this game is great for co-op and just for fun but only do the story when you know your way around every character BECAUSE YOU DON'T PICK WHO TO PLAY AS. this did annoy me if you didn't notice by the big bold letters. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Somewhat better than the last offering against the DC Universe which really didn't have much brutality at all. This MK dishes blood out in pails. And the X-ray mode is a great addition. Graphics are great but some of the models are downright ugly (even with Sonia). Every female character has the requisite DD cup up top of course. With the MK pedigree, I was hoping they'd go back toSomewhat better than the last offering against the DC Universe which really didn't have much brutality at all. This MK dishes blood out in pails. And the X-ray mode is a great addition. Graphics are great but some of the models are downright ugly (even with Sonia). Every female character has the requisite DD cup up top of course. With the MK pedigree, I was hoping they'd go back to the photo-realistic style and costumed actors that set the arcade console above the rest back in the day. At least throw in some of the original voicework for old times' sake... Anyway there at least seems to be continuity as the story builds on the mythology that's been going on through the PS2 titles Deadly Alliance, Annihilation, Deception, and Armageddon. I explored the various options: Krypt, gallery, tutorial. Typical fare and it was good to see help with fatalities. I couldn't get the social messaging to work very well though. The game's associated website may be swamped with all the new sign-on's. The fighting is smooth and deep. Some of the control timing is challenging and casual players like myself will find even beginner mode isn't a walk in the park. The original rosters from MK1, 2, and 3 are fully included along with some select choices from newer MK's. However, the characters seem to be limited to a single intro which gets old real quick. At least story mode looks well written for as far as I've gotten. Rumors of being able to use your own soundtrack in-game (a la the MK movies) are untrue, unfortunately. Still, the game will see replay value with purchases from the Krypt and of course online. Finally, bringing the God of War into the MK universe not only rewards us PS3 owners but also reminds us of the awesomeness of Kratos. Not so sure I should have paid full price but it does also buy you the online pass. A must-buy for true MK fans. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I was not a big fan of Deadly Alliance/Deception/Armageddon and there hasn't been a decent new character or storyline since the original creator Tobias (the Saibot of NoobSaibot) left the series. He was the guy who actually created the characters and stories of the original games. Ed Boone (the Noob of NoobSaibot) is an amazing programmer/designer, but I don't think he had anything to doI was not a big fan of Deadly Alliance/Deception/Armageddon and there hasn't been a decent new character or storyline since the original creator Tobias (the Saibot of NoobSaibot) left the series. He was the guy who actually created the characters and stories of the original games. Ed Boone (the Noob of NoobSaibot) is an amazing programmer/designer, but I don't think he had anything to do with the characters/story and they really fumbled things with the 3D versions of MK. That's one of the reasons why this one works so well for me. They went back to all of the original characters and based the storyline on Tobias' original storylines -- you know, all of the good ones. That's why this new one is awesome!!! What a throwback to the originals... I loved playing MK3 in the arcade when I was a kid and Trilogy on the PS1 was incredible fun. This game stacks up to the originals like none of the other 3D versions ever have and I would say even surpasses the originals. Netherrealm Studios did a great job and this is the most fun I've had playing a fighting game since... well I guess since Street Fighter 4, but that's not to knock MK. I mean that as a compliment. Not only do we get all of the original favorite characters and stories (with some twists), but it is incredible fun to play and really for a fighting game that is what counts most of all! I don't know what they plan on doing with the next one, but I hope they don't try to re-tell the stories or bring back all of the god-awful characters from the post-Tobias games (maybe except for Kenshi). I'd take Liu Kang/Sub-Zero/Scorpion/Sonya/Goro/ Shang Tsung over Daegon/Taven/Mavado/Li Mei/Darious/Nitara any day.Even though he hasn't worked on MK in a long time, Tobias should create the characters and stories for the next one. Expand
  8. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Blows my mind. Awesome story mode. Way better than SF4. Forget all about the convoluted storylines that don't quite line up from the previous titles. This game irons everything out in the outstanding story mode which also forces you to try everyone
  9. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    The game is based on the events of MK1, MK2 and MK3, but with a storyline that differs from the original games. If you enjoyed the early Mortal Kombat games, this new one is well worth looking into. Story Mode is lengthy, but introduces you to every character and shows you all the character relationships as the time line progresses. Challenge Tower is akin to the 'Tower of Lost Souls' fromThe game is based on the events of MK1, MK2 and MK3, but with a storyline that differs from the original games. If you enjoyed the early Mortal Kombat games, this new one is well worth looking into. Story Mode is lengthy, but introduces you to every character and shows you all the character relationships as the time line progresses. Challenge Tower is akin to the 'Tower of Lost Souls' from Soul Calibur; beat 300 varying challenges to earn Koins. The challenges start off very easy but get difficult the further up the tower you get. Then there's the 'Test Your Might/Sight/Strike/Luck' minigames. Test Your Might is a button-masher from the first game, Test Your Strike is the same but requires precision, Test Your Sight is the old 'ball under a cup' game (but you die if you get it wrong!), and Test Your Luck is fights with slot reels that influence the battle. For example, Player 1 might be Narcoleptic, which makes them fall asleep randomly, but Player 2 might be Poisoned and lose health over time. There are so many combinations that it makes the mode very entertaining (and nauseating if the screen gets flipped upside down).

    Ladder is the typical mode from older MKs, where you fight 10 kombatants (8, 9, and 10 all being bosses), except now there is also a Tag Ladder so you can play either 1 player in a 2vs2, or use two players to control one character each. My only criticism with Ladder is that I feel the difficulty doesn't scale well; you'll generally decimate everyone upto the bosses, and then get completely humiliated.

    The fighting is a lot more in-depth than previous MK games, using a Super Meter which can be used for Enhanced Special Attacks, breakers to interrupt enemy combos, or for an X-Ray move which does high damage and shows internal damage. Word of warning though; X-Rays use all of your meter and can be usually blocked with relative ease.

    The Krypt and Nekropolis are where you'll get all your unlocks by spending Koins. These range from minor things like concept art, up to alternate costumes and secret fatalities.

    Speaking of fatalities, this MK has gone back to the gore in a big way. X-Ray moves show breaking bones, ruptured organs and so on, and the fatalities are mostly gruesome while not necessarily believable. Stage Fatalities also make a return, such as the Dead Pool's acid bath and the Pit's spikes.

    Finally, if you get the PS3 version, you also get Kratos from God of War as a playable character, as well as a stage based on the GoW series.

    Overall, MK 2011 is a huge return to form, and fans of the series will love it. While it's not the most refined fighter going, there's so much to do that you'll be busy for hours. Absolutely brilliant.
    Expand
  10. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    This game takes MK back to its roots while improving and adding depth to the gamplay. The single player components alone give you a ton of gameplay, and the addition of up to four player playing tag team makes this a great game for game night (if you and your friends are into fighting games). Hardcore MK fans, this is the game you have most likely been waiting for. Casual MK fans, youThis game takes MK back to its roots while improving and adding depth to the gamplay. The single player components alone give you a ton of gameplay, and the addition of up to four player playing tag team makes this a great game for game night (if you and your friends are into fighting games). Hardcore MK fans, this is the game you have most likely been waiting for. Casual MK fans, you certainly enjoy this rebirth of classic MK. Casual fighting game fans, you will enjoy its accessibility. Non fighting game fans, give it a try before you buy it, it may or may not be your cup of tea. Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    All I can say is welcome back Mortal Kombat. After years of absolutely dreadful 3d games Mortal Kombat is back with the fury of a thousand suns. If you liked the older Mortal Kombat titles you will feel a sense of nostalgia yet freshness when playing this title. Giving it a 9 because nothing is worth a 10.
  12. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    this game is just awesome dont listen to the bad reviews, the only negatives about this game are the insanely tough boss fights in story mode and the computer sometimes reads your controller inputs to dodge but you can always fix the difficulty. The game has plenty of kontent such as challenge tower which gives you koins to spend on alternate costumes and theres even a training mode tothis game is just awesome dont listen to the bad reviews, the only negatives about this game are the insanely tough boss fights in story mode and the computer sometimes reads your controller inputs to dodge but you can always fix the difficulty. The game has plenty of kontent such as challenge tower which gives you koins to spend on alternate costumes and theres even a training mode to help you with the learning curve. Trust me when i say it has enough to satisfy your purchase for a long time Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    Beyond amazing. Decent sized roster, brutal fatalities, challenge tower, and an actual story mode. And when I say a Story Mode, I mean it; cut scenes, voice acting, everything; I mean sure, it may be a little corny at times, and you can't skip the cut scenes the first time through, but we're talking about a whole chunk of content most fighting games completely skip over. In short, if youBeyond amazing. Decent sized roster, brutal fatalities, challenge tower, and an actual story mode. And when I say a Story Mode, I mean it; cut scenes, voice acting, everything; I mean sure, it may be a little corny at times, and you can't skip the cut scenes the first time through, but we're talking about a whole chunk of content most fighting games completely skip over. In short, if you like fighting games, check it out; if you like Mortal Kombat, stop reading this and go buy it. Defiantly one of the better games I've boughten in awhile. Expand
  14. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    I remember 1992 when Mortal Kombat had first come out, my 7 year old mind was dazzled by the gore. 19 years later, after so many other bloody titles in the subsequent time, this incarnation of MK is impressive to say the least. Aside from the creative violence, MKâ
  15. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Mortal Kombat in it's Klassic form. The graphics are crisp and the models look absolutely great. The revamped maps are reminiscent of my childhood days while still looking very clean and and up-to-date. The series brings back what it was known for, gory and bloody fun. The fatalities are gruesome, detailed, and hilarious; just the way they should be. With a new focus on balance inMortal Kombat in it's Klassic form. The graphics are crisp and the models look absolutely great. The revamped maps are reminiscent of my childhood days while still looking very clean and and up-to-date. The series brings back what it was known for, gory and bloody fun. The fatalities are gruesome, detailed, and hilarious; just the way they should be. With a new focus on balance in gameplay, fighting feels fast-paced and rewarding. The 2v2 is flawless and great to play with a buddy. The matchmaking however is horrible and should be avoided when possible, a good connection is almost impossible to find when using the automated matchmaking. Overall, MK9 is one of the most solid games in the series and deserves a definite pick-up. Expand
  16. May 1, 2011
    9
    It's a love letter to fans of the first three Mortal Kombat games. Has all the combos, gore and secrets that have made this franchise a fan favorite. Best MK since the third installment by far.
  17. May 1, 2011
    9
    Growing up, I was one of those kids that played Super Street Fighter II all day and sneered at anyone that didn't herald it as the greatest fighting game of all time. I thought Mortal Kombat was bloody, over-the-top, and only successful because of its shock value. The later incarnations of the series didn't help my opinion, especially since Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe was my firstGrowing up, I was one of those kids that played Super Street Fighter II all day and sneered at anyone that didn't herald it as the greatest fighting game of all time. I thought Mortal Kombat was bloody, over-the-top, and only successful because of its shock value. The later incarnations of the series didn't help my opinion, especially since Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe was my first official MK game. I was thoroughly unimpressed. With Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition looming in the distance, I thought I'd pass the time with another game to fill the void. So I bought Mortal Kombat and played it over a weekend. Unfortunately, now I have no void to fill. Mortal Kombat is a great, great game. It has so much more to offer than most standard fighters. The Challenge Tower is an excellent addition to the game, pumping in well over a dozen hours of play time. And it's actually a challenge. And more importantly, it's actually fun. The game doesn't baby you around on the higher levels, and it really shows. It acts as a tutorial at first, but exponentially rises in difficulty the further you get. They're fun, unique, hard, and reward you greatly for doing them. I mean, who doesn't like racking up coins? Now as for the combat, I was really skeptical about it at first. I thought it'd just be a button-mashing frenzy like DoA, but I was actually really surprised to see that it was, in a way, kind of like Street Fighter! I didn't do any research on the game before I picked it up, so I just dived right in without knowing what I'd see. The combat is stellar. Awesome animations, very fluid movements, and infinite possibilities for combos as well as partner combos. I never had any problems with performing moves, except for online. It's the one glaring flaw in the game. It's a bit biased, but for some reason, Mortal Kombat becomes Lag Kombat when I play on the PSN. It works just fine when I play Super Street Fighter IV though. It might just be me, but it bothers me so much when I can't deliver Johnny's crotch punch and instead just get a weak forward punch.

    But the one thing I absolutely loved about Mortal Kombat the inclusion of four players. For Super Street Fighter IV my friends and I have to do a 'loser swaps out' play scheme. But with Mortal Kombat, we can all play at once. Awesome, awesome, awesome idea. It makes the game so much more fun for parties where a group of guys like my friends and I huddle around a T.V. and scream for our characters to win.

    As for the Story Mode, I actually loved that too. It was so much better than I thought it'd be. I thought it'd have as much of a story as the Street Fighter franchise (ie. none), but it actually had a well thought out, interesting, and well-played plot. It's got an easy mode for beginners and a hard mode for experts. But even on the easiest difficulty, it packs a pretty decent challenge. Don't expect to spam your way through it.

    And then there's the fatalities. Easily the most anticipated and memorable part of each battle, the fatality is to Mortal Kombat as an Ultra Combo is to Street Fighter. Only way, way cooler. Fatalities are all bloody, intense, and awesome. They range from relatively mild (eg. Kitana) to HOLY @#%! WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?! (eg. Noob Saibot) First time I saw his fatality... God. I still have nightmares about it. And what's even more awesome about fatalities is the fatality theater mode, where you can basically try out every fatality, save for the babalities. Great idea to add that in!

    The only bone I have with the game is the basic combat system. There are combos, of course, but it's not exactly on the same level as Street Fighter. But that's the whole point. It's not supposed to be. Mortal Kombat knows exactly what it is: a bloody, over-the-top, action-pumped game. And it delivers. It's only my personal opinion that the combat system should be more advanced and allow for more diverse game play. But if you're looking for an insanely fun and awesome fighting game that you can pick up and play with your friends for hours and hours on end, Mortal Kombat is what you need. Cheaply priced at $38.00, Mortal Kombat is worth well more than its weight in cash. And blood.
    Expand
  18. May 9, 2011
    9
    Awsome. There's not much else to say about Mortal Kombat. As soon as I started playing it felt just like it did back in the 90's, when we would gather around a small screen tv to play infinite rounds of MK on the SNES. Great cast, tons of stuff to do and unlock and rewarding gameplay. Vicious and violent; I just can't get enough out of it. If only it had slightly better graphics (and IAwsome. There's not much else to say about Mortal Kombat. As soon as I started playing it felt just like it did back in the 90's, when we would gather around a small screen tv to play infinite rounds of MK on the SNES. Great cast, tons of stuff to do and unlock and rewarding gameplay. Vicious and violent; I just can't get enough out of it. If only it had slightly better graphics (and I emphasize: slightly). Mortal Kombat is almost perfect. It's not as deep as Super Street Fighter IV, but it definetely secures its place in the pantheon of great fighting games. Awsome. Awsome. Awsome. Expand
  19. May 10, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best fighters to be put out in a long time, next to Street Fighter. Not too bad of a learning curve, unless you want to be a master. It's fun, addictive, and oh-so nostalgic for those old MK fans out there. Not to mention the huge amount of content in the Krypt that can be unlocked. The character models look great, the fighting is smooth, and my only problem? The damn PSNEasily one of the best fighters to be put out in a long time, next to Street Fighter. Not too bad of a learning curve, unless you want to be a master. It's fun, addictive, and oh-so nostalgic for those old MK fans out there. Not to mention the huge amount of content in the Krypt that can be unlocked. The character models look great, the fighting is smooth, and my only problem? The damn PSN is still down. Expand
  20. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    This is THE definitive Mortal Kombat and a strong return to form for the series. The combat (kombat?) itself is faster, more fluid, and easy to pick up. Most characters have unique play styles and it is fun to experiment with finding your favorites. It's gory and satisfying, and the story mode is the new standard bearer for all future fighting games. The seamless integration of fights intoThis is THE definitive Mortal Kombat and a strong return to form for the series. The combat (kombat?) itself is faster, more fluid, and easy to pick up. Most characters have unique play styles and it is fun to experiment with finding your favorites. It's gory and satisfying, and the story mode is the new standard bearer for all future fighting games. The seamless integration of fights into the story modes cutscene is flawless (see what I did there? ^__^ ) and this is the kind of storytelling I'd love to see in Blazblue, Street Fighter, Tekken, and all other fighting games. Especially with this being the first big fighting since Marvel vs Capcom 3, it is even more obvious how great this game is in comparison, looking at how much MvC3 was lacking in not just story mode, but in extra modes and content. Mortal Kombat has lots of stuff for you to do with the Krypt, challenges, arcade mode, tag matches, tutorials, training, and more. Lots of work was put into this game and it shows. However, there are a few flaws, among them is Shao Kahn's insane cheapness that makes you have to fight like a complete coward in order to win. The Krypt has good stuff in it, but it's all vague and arbitrary...and in order to get everything you really need to grind, grind, grind, and grind through arcade mode and the challenges. It's most advisable to just beat Story Mode (which gives you 100,000+ tokens) and then look at a list online for what number the items you want in the Krypt are. Other than that, I have to praise the roster, the art style, and the combat. It's a job well done and I think this game sets the bar for what other fighters should aspire to offer. This felt like a $60 well spent, unlike Marvel vs Capcom 3 which was the bare minimum and left me feeling ripped off. Expand
  21. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Get over here!!! and play this, MK definitely is a most own game for fighting fans seriously. I'm a little picky with the MK games because of the huge amount of gore, brutality and violent animations never called me to play ever a game of the series. But this time was the exception , MK is not just a simple knock your friend's goofy face, it offers big awesome content that is not avoidableGet over here!!! and play this, MK definitely is a most own game for fighting fans seriously. I'm a little picky with the MK games because of the huge amount of gore, brutality and violent animations never called me to play ever a game of the series. But this time was the exception , MK is not just a simple knock your friend's goofy face, it offers big awesome content that is not avoidable . And every character ( even Johnny Cage ) have an impossible to not look animations of the fatalities. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    MORTAL KOMBAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am a huge fan of Mortal Kombat. I have the first movie on Blue-ray, and have even watched the cartoon at some point (I can't remember **** from it, but who cares). This game is everything that I had hoped for. I've played Mortal Kombat 2 and I will admit the game has aged. The game's punch mechanics were incredibly dated and everyone had the same
    MORTAL KOMBAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am a huge fan of Mortal Kombat. I have the first movie on Blue-ray, and have even watched the cartoon at some point (I can't remember **** from it, but who cares). This game is everything that I had hoped for. I've played Mortal Kombat 2 and I will admit the game has aged. The game's punch mechanics were incredibly dated and everyone had the same moves. There is none of that here. Every character is unique and has their own style of fighting. Even basic moves like uppercuts and sweeps are given different animations and incorporate different fighting styles. For example: Quan-Chi's sweep is a full rotation on one foot, while Cyrax's sweep is only 180 degrees, incorporates his hand for balance, and ends in a slight pause. The gameplay is balanced (now that the patches have gotten through) and the fatalities are awesomely gory. For those of you complaining about Shao Kahn I just have one thing to say: Quit your **** and stop sucking! I don't think I have heard so many people complaining about a fighting game boss since...ever! What were you people expecting? It's not like you can take him online. As for his hammer that can stun you, try forward jumping over it. This is the only complaint that a lot of people have mentioned and I can't understand why. The story mode is all sorts of cheesy awesomeness and the online play is fun as all hell. If there was one thing I have to complain about is the fact that you couldn't play as the villians in the story mode. I love Ermac and Baraka, so not having a chapter for them kind of disappointed me. But dispite that, I can't give this game anything lower than a ten out of ten. It's simply that amazing of a game that deserves more praise than what most critics are giving it. Best Mortal Kombat game ever made.
    Expand
  23. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    I'm giving the game a 9/10, I was hesitant to buy the game after reading a few of the reviews here on metacritic that claimed "cheating" boss fights and severe input lag both are which obviously now only claimed by those who have no willingness to learn or strategise. The combo system in this game is as great as all it's early games and easily picked up by those willing to take the time toI'm giving the game a 9/10, I was hesitant to buy the game after reading a few of the reviews here on metacritic that claimed "cheating" boss fights and severe input lag both are which obviously now only claimed by those who have no willingness to learn or strategise. The combo system in this game is as great as all it's early games and easily picked up by those willing to take the time to learn each fighters abilities and combos. The game is matched equally in it's visuals which look great. The story while not flawless, works as it was intended although not being able to skip cinematics can become tedious at times. Which brings me to fatalities.. The only thing wrong with them is that they are a bit too preset things like Kung lao s hat being cut in 2 and still staying on is where the visuals let down, would have been nice to see a bit more attention to detail but overall the fulfill their purpose. Great game for anyone willing to learn at least basic combos, worth the money. Expand
  24. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This is what Mortal Kombat is about! It's great. Gameplay is fantastic. Characters are presented well. Best fighting game out there! Still have the clash between Scorpion (my favorite) and Sub Zero.
  25. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest Mortal Kombat games in the series. This really does take you back to the original games with its 2D gameplay and gory fatalities. If you are a veteran of the series, this is a must have. The levels are greatly detailed, and the character models are pretty cool. Each character has several fatalities, and casual gameplay is rewarded by a point system generated byOne of the greatest Mortal Kombat games in the series. This really does take you back to the original games with its 2D gameplay and gory fatalities. If you are a veteran of the series, this is a must have. The levels are greatly detailed, and the character models are pretty cool. Each character has several fatalities, and casual gameplay is rewarded by a point system generated by combos, wins, and fatalities. The game runs smooth, the online is fun, and the fatalities are gruesome. Pick this game up now. Expand
  26. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    WOW! I love this game. So glad they went back to the 2D fighting and fatalities. It is easy enough to play for a beginner yet still complex enough for the Hardcore MK fan. I also love all the original maps remastered in 3D HD. They look great. And KRATOS on the PS3 version is a really amazing idea. Sorry XBox guys, He's all ours!!!! lol
  27. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I'm in my 30's and remember vividly going to the arcades to play MK1, then MK2. Talk about a blast, with 20 people putting their quarters on the machine to get in line to play, everyone stoked about the game, crowding around, getting into it. God those were good times. Those may never be brought back due to everyone playing from their households now, but let me tell you, this MK isI'm in my 30's and remember vividly going to the arcades to play MK1, then MK2. Talk about a blast, with 20 people putting their quarters on the machine to get in line to play, everyone stoked about the game, crowding around, getting into it. God those were good times. Those may never be brought back due to everyone playing from their households now, but let me tell you, this MK is BEYOND anything I could have hoped for. The line-up of characters is perfect, the attention to detail in the graphics is unreal as you can see in the stage backgrounds, Krypt, fatalities, etc. And if you wanted brutal, this game is EASILY the most extreme and gory MK so far. There is a TON of single player content to go through with story modes, challenge tower, regular old school fight ladder with specific endings for each character like the old days, etc etc etc. The fighting engine is pretty fast paced and I'm working on getting used to that, it is definitely much deeper than old MK games with the power bar and options you have with that. Literally every special move comes in two forms due to the power bar and they all affect the opponent differently so there is endless combo options. Tag team is kick ass and easy to learn also. Seriously, this is a game for the ages. DO NOT PASS THIS ONE UP. Expand
  28. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Beautiful graphics and loads of content to unlock in the Krypt. I would love for the game to add newer characters in the DLC though. It just doesn't feel right without the entire roster from MK 4, Deadly Alliance and Deception.
  29. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Best MK ever. I got it at a midnight release and have been playing just about non-stop since. I really couldn't ask for more other than to include an updated, current-gen Konquest mode, but there is more than enough single player content to make up for it. Graphically the game looks great. Although some of the character models look a little strange (Smoke, what's up with the fro?) they allBest MK ever. I got it at a midnight release and have been playing just about non-stop since. I really couldn't ask for more other than to include an updated, current-gen Konquest mode, but there is more than enough single player content to make up for it. Graphically the game looks great. Although some of the character models look a little strange (Smoke, what's up with the fro?) they all look really detailed and cool. The arenas look great and the fact that this PS3 game actually takes advantage of my TV and is displayed in full 1080p is awesome as most PS3 games don't. Sound is great as always, the evil announcer returns and all of the quirky character voices are in there. The soundtrack also rocks. There are a ton of game modes and unlockable content unlike any of Capcom's recent fighters (Stop nickle and diming your customers!). Standard arcade, tag matches, versus, and online multiplayer are all here, as well as many others. Test your sight, might, and luck also are thrown in. There is a new mode reminiscent of how it used to be in the arcade with a group of people standing around a cabinet waiting to play the winner or just watch the gore and talk trash, this is really cool. There is a story mode where you'll be playing through several chapters, changing out fighters every 4 or 5 fights and the plot is easily the best yet as it isn't as goofy as usual and seemed to me like watching the first movie. In story mode you'll unlock 2 things, one of which is really cool but I won't spoil it. Challenge Tower, if you are like me, is where you'll spend a lot of time. There are 300 challenges that range from straight-forward matches to fighting off hoards of zombies, matches where you can only damage your opponent in the light, in a few matches Johnny Cage just beats up his stunt-double and director, what a jerk. They get really tough but you can pay some Koins and bypass them. You win currency for just about anything you do and spend it once again in the Krypt, though this time it is a 3D space you can explore. There are costumes, fatalities, artwork and various other things to unlock, lots of things actually. This MK takes place between MK1 and MK3, so most of the characters and environments come from that period, although they have been updated. The fighting engine is back in the 2D plane and while simplified from the overly-complex style of Deception, Deadly Alliance, and Armageddon (no more stances or multiple fighting styles), the game retains the classic depth from the good old days. Old school gore is back and has been turned up to 11, no more PG-13 fatalities like MK vs DC Universe, and now there are gruesome x-ray moves. Other than Smoke's goofy character model (which can be swapped out for one unlocked later) I really don't have anything to complain about. Netherrealm poured their heart and souls into this game and it really shows, and the fan service is everywhere to be seen. Between the lengthy Challenge Tower (depending on your skill) and the lengthy story mode, there is plenty of single player content to keep you going for a while. And then there is the local versus and online play so you'll be playing this for a long time. I recommend this to any fighting game fan and if you like MK you probably already have it. If you don't, go out and buy it right now. Expand
  30. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Brutally violent and throughly addicting, Mortal Kombat, is back and at its best!! The difficulty is as hard as ever and even on easy it becomes a challenge at times. I got the deluxe "tournament edition" and i can honestly say its the best $150 i've spent in a while. The fact that i got to play it all day long on 420 makes the whole experience completely fulfilling!
  31. Apr 30, 2011
    0
    Putting aside how manly the female characters in the game look, this is my favorite incarnation of the MK series. The amount of detail and love that was put into this game really show in Story mode. I'm surprised that I've never seen a fighting game's story progress like this, and it works really well. Basically it takes about 10 different characters and plays though the game using eachPutting aside how manly the female characters in the game look, this is my favorite incarnation of the MK series. The amount of detail and love that was put into this game really show in Story mode. I'm surprised that I've never seen a fighting game's story progress like this, and it works really well. Basically it takes about 10 different characters and plays though the game using each character for a couple of fights. This gets you familiar with most of the roster, as well as tells the Mortal Kombat stories together in the best way it's ever been told. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    90
    The silky smooth combat combined with the classic twists on the fatalities in the game, of which there are at least two per character not including stage specific ones, and naturally some hidden things that I don't want to spoil here.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    85
    A very good reboot for the series. 3D-arenas have been axed, so the combat system is simpler and at the same time more refined. [May 2011]
  3. 90
    Mortal Kombat is a great service to fans, but not only fans. It's also a great proposal for anyone who is interested in fighting games.