Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mortal Kombat returns to consoles after a long hiatus featuring a return to the gruesome fatalities.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. May 6, 2011
    100
    Mortal Kombat is BACK. Remember how you felt when you walked through the arcade and saw MK for the first time? That feeling will come shooting back as soon as you put the disc in. FIGHT!
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    This is the best Mortal Kombat yet. It didn't blow my mind to the degree that Mortal Kombat 2 and 3 did back in the day, but when it comes down to the gameplay and longevity tied to it, this new entry towers above its 2D lineage.
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    90
    The silky smooth combat combined with the classic twists on the fatalities in the game, of which there are at least two per character not including stage specific ones, and naturally some hidden things that I don't want to spoil here.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    85
    A very good reboot for the series. 3D-arenas have been axed, so the combat system is simpler and at the same time more refined. [May 2011]
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    84
    When you take it all into consideration, Mortal Kombat is a pretty good entry into the series, namely for the surprisingly high-quality story mode, but it falls short in other areas. You'll spew vulgarities almost every time you have to choke down a 1v2 fight and when the AI suddenly gains near-psychic prediction abilities, but when it's an even 1v1 fight, the game is a lot of fun. The choice to essentially reboot the series was a wise one, and now is probably your best chance to get caught up with the Mortal Kombat story, short of replaying the originals. However, some truly asinine fights will certainly dull the enjoyment from time to time.
  6. May 2, 2011
    80
    Returning to give fans the proper dose of Fatality driven action, Mortal Kombat regains its passion.
  7. May 13, 2011
    50
    The fact that, in harking back to earlier days, the game feels stuck in the past, the fact the fighting system really isn't deep compared to other modern-day brawlers, the fact the gore is little more than a sideshow and the fact that most of the fan service appeals to fans who have grown up a great deal since the Nineties throws up numerous reasons to criticise, however.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 121
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest Mortal Kombat games in the series. This really does take you back to the original games with its 2D gameplay and goryOne of the greatest Mortal Kombat games in the series. This really does take you back to the original games with its 2D gameplay and gory fatalities. If you are a veteran of the series, this is a must have. The levels are greatly detailed, and the character models are pretty cool. Each character has several fatalities, and casual gameplay is rewarded by a point system generated by combos, wins, and fatalities. The game runs smooth, the online is fun, and the fatalities are gruesome. Pick this game up now. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Well, JapanMan's review sums it all up nicely but I just wanted to add my thoughts on the game anyway.
    I was a Mortal Kombat fan back in the
    Well, JapanMan's review sums it all up nicely but I just wanted to add my thoughts on the game anyway.
    I was a Mortal Kombat fan back in the early 90s from 1 through to Trilogy but never liked the rest...Until now.

    The game feels very much like those original MK games, only without the Broken movies, and Cheap AI tactics of pre-empting your button presses.
    On the whole, it's a very balanced fighter and of the 20+ characters i feel they each have their uses and none of greatly over-powered. Some are easier to use than others but once you get the buttons down they are all pretty close.
    I also really like the choice of characters. With over 60 to pick from I feel they chose all of the best, and main characters. I'm particularly happy they did add Smoke, as he was always my favourite. Worth noting too that, unlike the originals each character really has their own playing style and move list unlike in the originals were Reptile was basically just a green Sub-Zero. Here, all the main ninjas are in (except Rain) but are all very unique.

    This game is very violent, although you do unlock the option to turn the blood and gore off if you wish.

    Story Mode is a very nice addition and is a lot deeper and more expansive than I expected. I'd estimate it could be about 6-8 hours long depending on how good you are. Not bad for a fighting game!

    4 player offline tag matches are great fun if you have some friends around, or just stick to 2v2 against the Ai or 1v1 etc.
    There are a lot of game modes on offer, and a load of extra content to unlock in the Krypt.
    Again, this is all more than I expected.

    The beauty of this is that these things are all in addition to the actual fighting mechanics being brilliant, rather than fancy features on a poor game.

    The attention to detail in the backgrounds and stages is as good as it comes. The subway level for instance has trains passing by and above you which sends paper flying across the screen and if you have surround sound on it can get quite immersive.
    The stages themselves are mostly the old classic ones with some extras. It's a good idea to play through story mode 1st and you'll see where each stage fits in to the plot.

    1 thing I always loved about MK is the depth in the characters Bios and back stories, all of which is on display here and even played out in hours of cut scenes which are brilliantly done.

    The X-Ray attacks are a nice touch, although learning not to use them is the best way to save for multiple powerful attacks or combo breaking etc. But if you have it ready and you're opponent is nearing death it's a nice way to finish them off!
    Fatalaties are possibly the most brutal I've seen too helped of course by the brilliant graphics.

    Also, 3 of my friends pre-ordered this game just from the demo and neither were MK fans and all think the full game is great. The demo does it no justice really, as always.

    This is the best fighting game I've ever played and as high as my expectations of it were from numerous footage and the demo, it has surpassed them all considerably.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    MORTAL KOMBAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am a huge fan of Mortal Kombat. I have the first movie on Blue-ray, and have even watched the cartoon at
    MORTAL KOMBAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am a huge fan of Mortal Kombat. I have the first movie on Blue-ray, and have even watched the cartoon at some point (I can't remember **** from it, but who cares). This game is everything that I had hoped for. I've played Mortal Kombat 2 and I will admit the game has aged. The game's punch mechanics were incredibly dated and everyone had the same moves. There is none of that here. Every character is unique and has their own style of fighting. Even basic moves like uppercuts and sweeps are given different animations and incorporate different fighting styles. For example: Quan-Chi's sweep is a full rotation on one foot, while Cyrax's sweep is only 180 degrees, incorporates his hand for balance, and ends in a slight pause. The gameplay is balanced (now that the patches have gotten through) and the fatalities are awesomely gory. For those of you complaining about Shao Kahn I just have one thing to say: Quit your **** and stop sucking! I don't think I have heard so many people complaining about a fighting game boss since...ever! What were you people expecting? It's not like you can take him online. As for his hammer that can stun you, try forward jumping over it. This is the only complaint that a lot of people have mentioned and I can't understand why. The story mode is all sorts of cheesy awesomeness and the online play is fun as all hell. If there was one thing I have to complain about is the fact that you couldn't play as the villians in the story mode. I love Ermac and Baraka, so not having a chapter for them kind of disappointed me. But dispite that, I can't give this game anything lower than a ten out of ten. It's simply that amazing of a game that deserves more praise than what most critics are giving it. Best Mortal Kombat game ever made.
    Expand
  4. MFZ
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Solid HD reproduction of a classic old school fighting game.

    Graphics - 8.5 Sound - 9.0 Gameplay - 9.0 Replay Value - 8.5 I played through
    Solid HD reproduction of a classic old school fighting game.

    Graphics - 8.5
    Sound - 9.0
    Gameplay - 9.0
    Replay Value - 8.5

    I played through the story mode and was surprised how much it sucked me into it. It was more than I expected - even though I shouldn't have been THAT surprised after playing through Deception's story mode !

    Test your Luck matches are interesting and sometimes funny. It adds a twist to the game especially when playing with a couple friends - not sure if it's available online though.

    Online is eh. I've experienced a little bit of input lag with half the games I've played. It's not my internet provider or router either.

    If you're a fan of Mortal Kombat, get this game.
    Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    This game takes MK back to its roots while improving and adding depth to the gamplay. The single player components alone give you a ton ofThis game takes MK back to its roots while improving and adding depth to the gamplay. The single player components alone give you a ton of gameplay, and the addition of up to four player playing tag team makes this a great game for game night (if you and your friends are into fighting games). Hardcore MK fans, this is the game you have most likely been waiting for. Casual MK fans, you certainly enjoy this rebirth of classic MK. Casual fighting game fans, you will enjoy its accessibility. Non fighting game fans, give it a try before you buy it, it may or may not be your cup of tea. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Glad to see this series return to it's roots and fixing a lot of the issues plaguing the last few games. If you have ever liked a MK gameGlad to see this series return to it's roots and fixing a lot of the issues plaguing the last few games. If you have ever liked a MK game (especially the first few) then you will most likely enjoy this. Expand
  7. nop
    Apr 27, 2011
    1
    Unplayable because of two very serious problems:
    Terrible input lag and low overall speed.
    Ugly art and 3d models. Woman characters are
    Unplayable because of two very serious problems:
    Terrible input lag and low overall speed.
    Ugly art and 3d models. Woman characters are especially hideous.

    Seriously, you call this game "mature"? No mature person will tolerate this level of artistic/technical impotence for more than ten minutes.
    Expand

See all 121 User Reviews