• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 3, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. May 25, 2011
    100
    If you can't tell from this glowing review, let me come out and say it plainly: I LOVE MotorStorm Apocalypse. The game is an absolute blast and a top-class production. Evolution has created the total package, from addicting and fun gameplay to incredible track design... it's all here. The MotorStorm series finally has it's "great" game...
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    100
    Motorstorm Apocalypse is almost an entirely new game compared to the previous installments. Richer, more innovative, it will warm arcade-style racing games amateurs with spectacular trials, and immediate fun. Full of content and replay value, with cool local and online multiplayer, it's by far the best of the series.
  3. May 31, 2011
    94
    MotorStorm: Apocalypse is essentially a 20+ hour experience of non-stop WOW moments. If Michael Bay were making video games then this is the game he would be making, so if you love that epic style of cinematic destruction and global disaster combined with intense competitive racer AI and purely instinctive and reflexive gameplay then take one final spin through San Francisco before the city and your race tracks sink into the ocean.
  4. May 2, 2011
    90
    Motorstorm Apocalypse delivers an exhilarating experience that you will want to visit again and again.
  5. 90
    Stimulating, frustrating and visually spectacular, MotorStorm: Apocalypse takes arcade racing to a whole new thrilling level.
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    It offers more posibilities than ever before, a deep online mode designed to last for months, and enough fun to become the perfect buy for racing fans. More complete and fun than previous Motorstorm games, and powered by an unprecedented cinematic spectacle.
  7. 90
    MotorStorm is bigger and better. We now have customized vehicles, a more robust online, with perks and betting, and a career mode with a story that gives context to what is happening at the festival.
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    89
    A ridiculously fun racing experience that changes at every turn.
  9. 89
    A massive technical achievement of real spectacle with heart-pounding fun at the core, but we can't help feeling that racing has taken a back seat.
  10. May 17, 2011
    88
    Despite some frustrating gameplay quirks, Motorstorm Apocalypse is a must-buy for series fanatics, and a must-play for newcomers because of its fast action, sharp controls, and incredible sound design.
  11. Apr 21, 2011
    85
    Apocalypse has high expectations of the player, but the reward for hard work, diligence and patience is one of the most exciting racing games available. Even with the lingering issues, this is Motorstorm at its most extravagant, at its most intense, and at its absolute best.
  12. Mar 28, 2011
    85
    Destructive environments and excellent track design make MotorStorm: Apocalypse one of the most exciting racing experiences on the PlayStation 3.
  13. Mar 21, 2011
    85
    Undoubtedly Apocalypse is much better than the second Motorstorm. Very recommendable for the fans of the wildest speed games.
  14. Mar 20, 2011
    85
    Race trough an apocalyptic setting where every building is collapsing and the ground is tearing apart because of earthquakes. By far the most intense MotorStorm game in the franchise with a great singleplayer and very cool new multiplayer elements.
  15. Mar 11, 2011
    85
    The best and most spectacular Motorstorm so far, but it still has some minor annoyances.
  16. Mar 10, 2011
    85
    MotorStorm: Apocalypse raises the frenzy of past shows to unprecedented heights. Phenomenal graphics, frantic action and high doses of adrenaline together form the best installment of the series.
  17. Apr 22, 2011
    84
    With forty tracks, thirteen vehicle types to master, and a fun (if somewhat basic) online mode, this is one you won't be able to put down.
  18. 84
    The new racing game is fast and fun. The 3D mode looks pretty cool and includes a lot of 3D effects. The multiplayer is good while the single player campaign is only a tutorial.
  19. May 16, 2011
    83
    But, with four player split screen and 3D support, those with a big enough telly are in for some incredibly intense, high revving racing. Sure it's chaotic and epic and it starts out too easy and hits a point where it becomes too frustrating. But, and this is most important thing, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is exciting and thrilling and awesomely fun from the moment you start playing.
  20. May 16, 2011
    82
    A boatload of fast-paced fun, infused with an energy that almost seems insurmountable. This energy alone is worthy of your attention.
  21. Mar 18, 2011
    82
    Apocalypse is solid, funny and extremely various. A little bit chaotic, maybe; but as the track design is so brilliant, we can forgive the flaws of the engine.
  22. Apr 10, 2011
    81
    Not quite the juggernaut it was at launch, but still a very playable racer. [May 2011, p.88]
  23. Mar 21, 2011
    81
    In the end, Motorstorm: Apocalypse is an enjoyable game to play, however it's very hard to beat the original premise of the first game and continue being unique.
  24. Mar 10, 2011
    81
    A fun ride while it lasts and an interesting take on the standard arcade racer formula. The story-based campaign mode can feel limiting and immature at times but, once you get out on the track, the sheer amount of action taking place at any given moment generally makes up for up.
  25. Like Test Drive Unlimited 2 before it the cutscenes in Apocalypse are universally terrible. The obviously deliberate digital comic approach feels cheap too, making the sequences feel like placeholders for real animation that never eventuated. It's all a bit childish, really, and features the worst approximation of a foreign accent since Christopher Lambert tried to sound like a Scotsman in Highlander. You'll know it when you hear it. We do question why Evolution bothered devoting manpower to the story mode and we'd be happy not to see it again. Fortunately, players will spend far more time playing Apocalypse than they will do with awful cutscenes. The racing is still furious and fun – and that's always the main thing. [May 2011 p.74]
  26. 80
    The third big Motorstorm and third major success. Placing game story into a collapsing town has showed as a great idea – it is no need to remind that multiplayer is fantastic. [Issue#203]
  27. May 4, 2011
    80
    Now that it is here, I would be remiss not to mention my disappointment with some of its features. Still, the more I dug into the game, the more I found myself appreciating the direction the developers took.
  28. 80
    It's the ultimate conclusion to an already beloved IP that's one of the most technically impressive titles in an already prestigious group.
  29. May 3, 2011
    80
    In a year that's already had a few really solid racers and is expecting a couple more, Apocalypse stands out as a game that should be played by racing fans.
  30. Apr 21, 2011
    80
    Racing through the rubble is unpredictable and thrilling, but some of the rougher edges have also been amplified. Its ambition can push the game beyond the limits of frustration, though it also gives rise to some spectacular moments that help make this an experience that, while flawed, is brilliantly unique.
  31. Apr 17, 2011
    80
    An aggressive racer with a bit of a weak single player campaign but a really entertaining multiplayer.
  32. Fans of traditional arcade racers will find more value in Apocalypse's replay-rewarding multiplayer, but it's the campaign that'll have them instinctively gripping their Hyundai's steering wheel a little tighter every time they cross a rickety bridge. [May 2011, p.74]
  33. Apr 14, 2011
    80
    For underneath the rage of Mother Nature at the heart of Apocalypse lies a racing game whose visceral impact is almost unlike anything in the modern genre, an anarchic experience built on both arcade simplicity and technical complexity.
  34. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    MotorStorm: Apocalypse has to deal with some contingency situations (the earthquake in Japan and the consequent delayed release) that inevitably created problems, especially in terms of online content. The single player campaign, however, is long enough thanks to the three different "chapters", thirteen vehicle classes and more than thirty races placed in nine different locations. The on-screen disaster is convincing both in terms of visuals (except for the color palette, too bright) and gameplay, with scenarios that change dynamically between a lap and the other.
  35. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    In the era of big set-piece arcade racing, Evolution has created a strong competitor for pole position.
  36. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    The third Motorstorm may have stripped away some of the class of its predecessors and replaced it with noise and bluster, but it has done so with a technical bravado that is, at times, astonishing.
  37. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    A mad, break-neck ride and locations changing in front of our eyes on such a scale is something that the competitors haven't had a chance to show. Evolution Studios have yet again proved to be a true master of off-road racers.
  38. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    A good arcade racing game. The main campaign has some design flaws, but multiplayer is where Evolution Studios' game really shines.
  39. For a game that spends most of its time grinding you down, smashing you into pieces and throwing you off high-rise buildings, MotorStorm Apocalypse is as much fun to be around as a rock star uncle. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  40. Mar 19, 2011
    80
    MotorStorm: Apocalypse is a fine racing game. The singleplayer doesn't live up to its expectations, but the multiplayer makes it all better. It's one big spectacle, and you don't get bored from a good thing like that.
  41. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    Another thrilling (but not flawless) ride for the Motorstorm series. The new, apocalyptic scenario delivers excellent track designs and incredible visuals, but the entire single-player experience feels a little bit unbalanced. On the other hand, sound and multiplayer options are top-notch.
  42. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    Motorstorm has a special relationship with chaos, and if you can keep your head when all about you are throwing their controllers, you're just as likely to lose. Less battle than survival racing, it's happy to let fairness be a stain on the tarmac. [Apr 2011, p.95]
  43. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    It's more intense, and way more linear, with less strategy involved. If you love Hollywood-style racing action, and consider spending some time with the great online mode, this might be your deal. On the other hand, if you're just interested in the single player campaign, it might not be worth all the while.
  44. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    It's not perfect, but it represents pure arcade racing with a central device that never feels tired – the earthquake scenario managing to stretch itself over forty different events and still feel fresh at the very end, when the game turns everything up to eleven.
  45. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    A relentless assault on the senses, with grandiose set pieces that would make Michael Bay gush with delight. The racing itself doesn't offer a tremendous amount of depth, but the destruction unfolding around each event offers an edge-of-your-seat experience that more than makes up for it.
  46. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    It works because it's not subtle...But beneath all this clamour you can detect the stable, confident hum of a decent racing series finding its feet – in its improved boost mechanic, substantial feature set and streamlined campaign.
  47. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Because of its name it's fitting that MotorStorm: Apocalypse is somewhat of a rebirth for the series, and the racing feels fresher than ever. It may have lost a bit of its identity whilst borrowing so much from SplitSecond, but the apocalyptic city setting is so strong that it doesn't matter. The best MotorStorm game yet.
  48. Dec 12, 2011
    77
    However, even with all those aspects and the insane environments, I found it too hard to overcome the crashing. I've played games in other genres that "yank" players out of the experience, but it's not happened often in the racing arena. With MotorStorm: Apocalypse, it does, and specifically because of the crashes
  49. Mar 21, 2011
    76
    Apocalypse's racing feels like it's received less attention than creating spectacle, but the focus on track deformation is exhilarating and fun nevertheless. [Issue#203, p.84]
  50. Jun 27, 2011
    75
    Despite the strong online component, MotorStorm: Apocalypse still doesn't do enough to stand out.
  51. Jun 12, 2011
    75
    While still a bit rough around the edges, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is a unique racing experience that's exciting to look at as well as play, even if that experience is partially neutered online.
  52. Jun 6, 2011
    75
    A game that plays and looks great, it ticks all the boxes that a MotorStorm game should, but unfortunately the storyline featured in the Festival mode is really weak. However, the most important area of the game – racing - is wild, chaotic and most importantly fun to play.
  53. May 3, 2011
    75
    As laughable as the context for the story might seem, the apocalyptic vision of a destroyed city by the bay feels very real, and surprisingly, as a space for races, works very well.
  54. May 1, 2011
    75
    Out of the three titles I found MotorStorm Apocalypse to be the weakest of them all. I'd admit, it is brave for its developers to take this new approach to the franchise but as a result I feel the game as a whole has been harmed, but not in an apocalyptic way, as there is still some good to come out of this game.
  55. Apr 25, 2011
    75
    A giant leap in the right direction for the series and for off-road racers.
  56. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    Motorstorm: Apocalypse is a highly enjoyable arcade racer let down by poor presentation and a manifest lack of focus on the part of Evolution Studios, who are in danger of losing track of what made the series so appealing in the first place.
  57. Mar 9, 2011
    75
    Although it suffers from some fundamental design flaws -like the poor A.I. and some unfair crashes due to the destruction of the environment- MotorStorm offers a solid, fun and beautiful arcade racing experience, equal to its predecessors.
  58. Apr 1, 2011
    71
    Impressive destruction, but surprisingly unfulfilling as a proper 'racing' game. [May 2011, p.92]
  59. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    This is a loud, often spectacular dash through countless set-pieces and ragdoll pedestrians. However, 'trying not to crash' isn't as fun as racing or combat, but that's what you'll be doing for 95% of the time. It's just not as fun as it should be.
  60. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    I can't help but feel underwhelmed.
  61. Mar 18, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  62. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    The over-the-top racing game, MotorStorm: Apocalypse, convinces with its spectacular concept. The game definitely shines as a multiplayer game, whether it's splitscreen or online. It's too bad though, that it doesn't play as well as its predecessor and the artificial intelligence of your opponents and arbitrary crashes will get your blood pressure to rise significantly from time to time.
  63. Mar 14, 2011
    70
    Easily the best of the series so far, but the actual driving is still nowhere near as much fun as the tracks and the stunning 3D visuals.
  64. May 10, 2011
    64
    Motorstorm has its moments where it is impactful and fun... and because of this, it is still worth checking out. However, long time fans of the series so step with caution, this isn't your old Motorstorm.
  65. May 24, 2011
    60
    It's a cleverly ruinous game frequently ruined by its own cleverness.
  66. May 4, 2011
    60
    The levels are a spectacle, and give Apocalypse the adrenaline shot it needs to stay afloat, but it fails to rise above other, more innovative titles by relying too heavily on its boost mechanic and doing little else.
  67. Apr 22, 2011
    60
    MotorStorm Apocalypse really nails the whole apocalypse thing, no question. It's the actual racing that's taken the back seat. There are moments when the planets align and the experience becomes pure arcade racing magic -- but they're only moments. The rest of the time you're just an angsty, glorified crash test dummy.
  68. Apr 21, 2011
    60
    All these criticisms may make it sound like Apocalypse is a substandard game, but it isn't. It's just that the stuff that's different from previous MotorStorm games is mostly bungled or simply boring, but the stuff that's the same is still enjoyable. Apocalypse is just a vanilla, if basically solid, racing game that tries to throw a few curveballs at you, but ends up hitting the backstop instead of the strike zone.
  69. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    Perhaps the most telling criticism of all is that Apocalypse manages to render the sight of an entire city's ongoing death as interminably dull. [Issue#107, p.95]
  70. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    It's not the best racing game around – it's not particularly unique or innovative, the "plot", as it is, in story mode isn't engaging or well told, the soundtrack is undistinguished, but its flaws are forgiven thanks to its great looks and fantastic playability.
  71. 60
    Racing through the end of the world is a great idea, but Motorstorm: Apocalypse is held back by an unsatisfying driving experience, extremely low difficulty curve and a lack of variety. It ends up as a rather average arcade racer that runs out of gas too quickly.
  72. May 12, 2011
    59
    This game is based on a great idea but it suffers from poor execution. Gameplay counts and this one misses the mark big time in that respect, which is the reason for why I scored this game as I did. A real shame considering the pedigree of Sony exclusives. This one could have been so good.
  73. May 8, 2011
    58
    The final kiss of death for Apocalypse is that the elaborate tracks are often so busy coming to pieces that it's impossible to spot crash-inducing debris and obstacles in your path.
  74. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    Motorstorm: Apocalypse is all about explosions, chaos and crumbling structures. Unfortunetly, the actual driving and the physics haven't been updated at all since the first game, almost five years ago, and this feels both old and unfinished.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. May 21, 2011
    6
    Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1) This game still has the same floaty physics which were present in the very first game years ago. I think if they ever make another game in this series, this has to be addressed. 2) Because the physics are off, so too are the controls. 3) The tracks. They look nice. There is no pop in or slowdown that I've seen, no screen tearing, etc. BUT, on the other hand, they are too littered with objects. I know the festival takes place during a natural disaster, but IMO, when you crash so often, it ruins the flow of the racing. Playing online, the tracks do become altered as you race, BUT you don't actually see any buildings fall down or streets break apart while racing. At the start of each new lap, these changes will have ALREADY occurred. Weak. At least in the sp the tracks become altered as you are racing with buildings collapsing, etc. It's well done in sp and one of the redeeming qualities of the game and why I pretty much give it a 6. Otherwise, overall, I was let down by some of the tracks in general even though I just praised them for the sp destruction going on. But that's just it, this is, to me, a middle of the road racer and little else. Most of my score is composed of the quality of the graphics, otherwise it would be even lower. I liked the first Motorstorm the best by far and since then I haven't cared for the second or third edition in the series. I think I'm all Motorstormed out. Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2011
    10
    This is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get to the pole position. The variety of tracks and locations is the best yet and have to say that whilst I wasn't a total fan of the 'story' some of it was pretty funny and when it grated I simply hit the X button to get me back into the AWESOME racing! Buy it and you won't be disappointed :) Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2011
    9
    I made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'd call it that) is forgettable, but remember it's a racing game and that's where it delivers. Not just in gameplay, but even more so in presentation and never ending appeal. If racing at the in of the world sounds cool, then that's exactly what you'll get. Just know what to expect, this game is meant for multiplayer on- or offline. (I'm from Europe, Denmark, so I played it before the PSN hack) Let the singleplayer be an introduction to the game, which is the best to say about it. Now you will be arriving and leaving the festival in some little special events to feel more connected to the festival, which is cool, but for a festival there's still lots of those background events from the first MotorStorm that I would have like to be playable.

    So, also if you enjoyed the previous MotorStorms, then you will love this game. Don't worry about the handling, it's great once you get used to it. I might say MS1 had better handling, but at least it's better than the ice skating Pacific Rift, which had no traction to speak of (Yeah, I was disappointing with PR and still I love this game). The handling of the vehicles is more focused around the chaos and tempo, so even with the great handling of MS1, it probably wouldn't fit the game, and again, it works very well for the fun of the game. MotorStorm has never been about true realism, it's just plain chaos and fun and you will get more of that than ever in Apocalypse.
    Full Review »