MotorStorm: Apocalypse PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 3, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    Apr 1, 2011
    71
    Impressive destruction, but surprisingly unfulfilling as a proper 'racing' game. [May 2011, p.92]
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    This is a loud, often spectacular dash through countless set-pieces and ragdoll pedestrians. However, 'trying not to crash' isn't as fun as racing or combat, but that's what you'll be doing for 95% of the time. It's just not as fun as it should be.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    I can't help but feel underwhelmed.
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    The over-the-top racing game, MotorStorm: Apocalypse, convinces with its spectacular concept. The game definitely shines as a multiplayer game, whether it's splitscreen or online. It's too bad though, that it doesn't play as well as its predecessor and the artificial intelligence of your opponents and arbitrary crashes will get your blood pressure to rise significantly from time to time.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    70
    Easily the best of the series so far, but the actual driving is still nowhere near as much fun as the tracks and the stunning 3D visuals.
  7. May 10, 2011
    64
    Motorstorm has its moments where it is impactful and fun... and because of this, it is still worth checking out. However, long time fans of the series so step with caution, this isn't your old Motorstorm.
  8. May 24, 2011
    60
    It's a cleverly ruinous game frequently ruined by its own cleverness.
  9. May 4, 2011
    60
    The levels are a spectacle, and give Apocalypse the adrenaline shot it needs to stay afloat, but it fails to rise above other, more innovative titles by relying too heavily on its boost mechanic and doing little else.
  10. Apr 22, 2011
    60
    MotorStorm Apocalypse really nails the whole apocalypse thing, no question. It's the actual racing that's taken the back seat. There are moments when the planets align and the experience becomes pure arcade racing magic -- but they're only moments. The rest of the time you're just an angsty, glorified crash test dummy.
  11. Apr 21, 2011
    60
    All these criticisms may make it sound like Apocalypse is a substandard game, but it isn't. It's just that the stuff that's different from previous MotorStorm games is mostly bungled or simply boring, but the stuff that's the same is still enjoyable. Apocalypse is just a vanilla, if basically solid, racing game that tries to throw a few curveballs at you, but ends up hitting the backstop instead of the strike zone.
  12. games(TM)
    Mar 23, 2011
    60
    Perhaps the most telling criticism of all is that Apocalypse manages to render the sight of an entire city's ongoing death as interminably dull. [Issue#107, p.95]
  13. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    It's not the best racing game around – it's not particularly unique or innovative, the "plot", as it is, in story mode isn't engaging or well told, the soundtrack is undistinguished, but its flaws are forgiven thanks to its great looks and fantastic playability.
  14. 60
    Racing through the end of the world is a great idea, but Motorstorm: Apocalypse is held back by an unsatisfying driving experience, extremely low difficulty curve and a lack of variety. It ends up as a rather average arcade racer that runs out of gas too quickly.
  15. May 12, 2011
    59
    This game is based on a great idea but it suffers from poor execution. Gameplay counts and this one misses the mark big time in that respect, which is the reason for why I scored this game as I did. A real shame considering the pedigree of Sony exclusives. This one could have been so good.
  16. May 8, 2011
    58
    The final kiss of death for Apocalypse is that the elaborate tracks are often so busy coming to pieces that it's impossible to spot crash-inducing debris and obstacles in your path.
  17. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    Motorstorm: Apocalypse is all about explosions, chaos and crumbling structures. Unfortunetly, the actual driving and the physics haven't been updated at all since the first game, almost five years ago, and this feels both old and unfinished.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. May 4, 2011
    10
    This is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get toThis is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get to the pole position. The variety of tracks and locations is the best yet and have to say that whilst I wasn't a total fan of the 'story' some of it was pretty funny and when it grated I simply hit the X button to get me back into the AWESOME racing! Buy it and you won't be disappointed :) Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2011
    6
    Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1)Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1) This game still has the same floaty physics which were present in the very first game years ago. I think if they ever make another game in this series, this has to be addressed. 2) Because the physics are off, so too are the controls. 3) The tracks. They look nice. There is no pop in or slowdown that I've seen, no screen tearing, etc. BUT, on the other hand, they are too littered with objects. I know the festival takes place during a natural disaster, but IMO, when you crash so often, it ruins the flow of the racing. Playing online, the tracks do become altered as you race, BUT you don't actually see any buildings fall down or streets break apart while racing. At the start of each new lap, these changes will have ALREADY occurred. Weak. At least in the sp the tracks become altered as you are racing with buildings collapsing, etc. It's well done in sp and one of the redeeming qualities of the game and why I pretty much give it a 6. Otherwise, overall, I was let down by some of the tracks in general even though I just praised them for the sp destruction going on. But that's just it, this is, to me, a middle of the road racer and little else. Most of my score is composed of the quality of the graphics, otherwise it would be even lower. I liked the first Motorstorm the best by far and since then I haven't cared for the second or third edition in the series. I think I'm all Motorstormed out. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2011
    9
    I made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'dI made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'd call it that) is forgettable, but remember it's a racing game and that's where it delivers. Not just in gameplay, but even more so in presentation and never ending appeal. If racing at the in of the world sounds cool, then that's exactly what you'll get. Just know what to expect, this game is meant for multiplayer on- or offline. (I'm from Europe, Denmark, so I played it before the PSN hack) Let the singleplayer be an introduction to the game, which is the best to say about it. Now you will be arriving and leaving the festival in some little special events to feel more connected to the festival, which is cool, but for a festival there's still lots of those background events from the first MotorStorm that I would have like to be playable.

    So, also if you enjoyed the previous MotorStorms, then you will love this game. Don't worry about the handling, it's great once you get used to it. I might say MS1 had better handling, but at least it's better than the ice skating Pacific Rift, which had no traction to speak of (Yeah, I was disappointing with PR and still I love this game). The handling of the vehicles is more focused around the chaos and tempo, so even with the great handling of MS1, it probably wouldn't fit the game, and again, it works very well for the fun of the game. MotorStorm has never been about true realism, it's just plain chaos and fun and you will get more of that than ever in Apocalypse.
    Full Review »