• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 3, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. May 25, 2011
    100
    If you can't tell from this glowing review, let me come out and say it plainly: I LOVE MotorStorm Apocalypse. The game is an absolute blast and a top-class production. Evolution has created the total package, from addicting and fun gameplay to incredible track design... it's all here. The MotorStorm series finally has it's "great" game...
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    100
    Motorstorm Apocalypse is almost an entirely new game compared to the previous installments. Richer, more innovative, it will warm arcade-style racing games amateurs with spectacular trials, and immediate fun. Full of content and replay value, with cool local and online multiplayer, it's by far the best of the series.
  3. May 31, 2011
    94
    MotorStorm: Apocalypse is essentially a 20+ hour experience of non-stop WOW moments. If Michael Bay were making video games then this is the game he would be making, so if you love that epic style of cinematic destruction and global disaster combined with intense competitive racer AI and purely instinctive and reflexive gameplay then take one final spin through San Francisco before the city and your race tracks sink into the ocean.
  4. May 2, 2011
    90
    Motorstorm Apocalypse delivers an exhilarating experience that you will want to visit again and again.
  5. 90
    Stimulating, frustrating and visually spectacular, MotorStorm: Apocalypse takes arcade racing to a whole new thrilling level.
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    It offers more posibilities than ever before, a deep online mode designed to last for months, and enough fun to become the perfect buy for racing fans. More complete and fun than previous Motorstorm games, and powered by an unprecedented cinematic spectacle.
  7. 90
    MotorStorm is bigger and better. We now have customized vehicles, a more robust online, with perks and betting, and a career mode with a story that gives context to what is happening at the festival.
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    89
    A ridiculously fun racing experience that changes at every turn.
  9. 89
    A massive technical achievement of real spectacle with heart-pounding fun at the core, but we can't help feeling that racing has taken a back seat.
  10. May 17, 2011
    88
    Despite some frustrating gameplay quirks, Motorstorm Apocalypse is a must-buy for series fanatics, and a must-play for newcomers because of its fast action, sharp controls, and incredible sound design.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. May 21, 2011
    6
    Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1)Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1) This game still has the same floaty physics which were present in the very first game years ago. I think if they ever make another game in this series, this has to be addressed. 2) Because the physics are off, so too are the controls. 3) The tracks. They look nice. There is no pop in or slowdown that I've seen, no screen tearing, etc. BUT, on the other hand, they are too littered with objects. I know the festival takes place during a natural disaster, but IMO, when you crash so often, it ruins the flow of the racing. Playing online, the tracks do become altered as you race, BUT you don't actually see any buildings fall down or streets break apart while racing. At the start of each new lap, these changes will have ALREADY occurred. Weak. At least in the sp the tracks become altered as you are racing with buildings collapsing, etc. It's well done in sp and one of the redeeming qualities of the game and why I pretty much give it a 6. Otherwise, overall, I was let down by some of the tracks in general even though I just praised them for the sp destruction going on. But that's just it, this is, to me, a middle of the road racer and little else. Most of my score is composed of the quality of the graphics, otherwise it would be even lower. I liked the first Motorstorm the best by far and since then I haven't cared for the second or third edition in the series. I think I'm all Motorstormed out. Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2011
    10
    This is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get toThis is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get to the pole position. The variety of tracks and locations is the best yet and have to say that whilst I wasn't a total fan of the 'story' some of it was pretty funny and when it grated I simply hit the X button to get me back into the AWESOME racing! Buy it and you won't be disappointed :) Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2011
    9
    I made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'dI made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'd call it that) is forgettable, but remember it's a racing game and that's where it delivers. Not just in gameplay, but even more so in presentation and never ending appeal. If racing at the in of the world sounds cool, then that's exactly what you'll get. Just know what to expect, this game is meant for multiplayer on- or offline. (I'm from Europe, Denmark, so I played it before the PSN hack) Let the singleplayer be an introduction to the game, which is the best to say about it. Now you will be arriving and leaving the festival in some little special events to feel more connected to the festival, which is cool, but for a festival there's still lots of those background events from the first MotorStorm that I would have like to be playable.

    So, also if you enjoyed the previous MotorStorms, then you will love this game. Don't worry about the handling, it's great once you get used to it. I might say MS1 had better handling, but at least it's better than the ice skating Pacific Rift, which had no traction to speak of (Yeah, I was disappointing with PR and still I love this game). The handling of the vehicles is more focused around the chaos and tempo, so even with the great handling of MS1, it probably wouldn't fit the game, and again, it works very well for the fun of the game. MotorStorm has never been about true realism, it's just plain chaos and fun and you will get more of that than ever in Apocalypse.
    Full Review »