MotorStorm: Apocalypse PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 3, 2011
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 136

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    6
    Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1) This game still has the same floaty physics which were present in the very first game years ago. I think if they ever make another game in this series, this has to be addressed. 2) Because the physics are off, so too are the controls. 3) TheOk, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1) This game still has the same floaty physics which were present in the very first game years ago. I think if they ever make another game in this series, this has to be addressed. 2) Because the physics are off, so too are the controls. 3) The tracks. They look nice. There is no pop in or slowdown that I've seen, no screen tearing, etc. BUT, on the other hand, they are too littered with objects. I know the festival takes place during a natural disaster, but IMO, when you crash so often, it ruins the flow of the racing. Playing online, the tracks do become altered as you race, BUT you don't actually see any buildings fall down or streets break apart while racing. At the start of each new lap, these changes will have ALREADY occurred. Weak. At least in the sp the tracks become altered as you are racing with buildings collapsing, etc. It's well done in sp and one of the redeeming qualities of the game and why I pretty much give it a 6. Otherwise, overall, I was let down by some of the tracks in general even though I just praised them for the sp destruction going on. But that's just it, this is, to me, a middle of the road racer and little else. Most of my score is composed of the quality of the graphics, otherwise it would be even lower. I liked the first Motorstorm the best by far and since then I haven't cared for the second or third edition in the series. I think I'm all Motorstormed out. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    6
    Despite many environmental hazards and frequent explosions, MotorStorm: Apocalypse seems to have lost the chaotic atmosphere of its predecessors. I feel that the tracks are at fault in this case. I'm fine with racing on a large course with different routes, but the tracks in this game are far too wide open. Resulting from this, I often find myself racing along a completely isolated road,Despite many environmental hazards and frequent explosions, MotorStorm: Apocalypse seems to have lost the chaotic atmosphere of its predecessors. I feel that the tracks are at fault in this case. I'm fine with racing on a large course with different routes, but the tracks in this game are far too wide open. Resulting from this, I often find myself racing along a completely isolated road, seemingly devoid of any competitors. Of course, some tracks have disasters that occur, which make things a bit more interesting. However, the disasters are often poorly timed, and end up being just a visual flare rather than an actual hazard. Overall, this game is worth a rental, and is definitely a fun experience when playing split-screen, but it falls short in many categories and does not live up to the first two games in the series. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    this game is alright with great looking enviroments cool cars awsome carnage that happens while you drive but there is just too much packed into this game to be really enjoyable like the last 2 motorstorm games were. simply put you will crash alot and it can get very frustrating wheather it comes to being distracted by something happeneing in the enviroment or just a random peice of rockthis game is alright with great looking enviroments cool cars awsome carnage that happens while you drive but there is just too much packed into this game to be really enjoyable like the last 2 motorstorm games were. simply put you will crash alot and it can get very frustrating wheather it comes to being distracted by something happeneing in the enviroment or just a random peice of rock sticking out of the ground be ready for lots of crashing because there is just too much on the screen at some points that all you can do is hope you will make it through certain part unscathed. there is also a very sub par story and the cut scenes have nothing to do with the races that you do except maybe the last mission of each character they were just thrown in as a random thing with which to add substance and most of that substance is big cartoon boobs that look like they will fall out of the skimpy little dresses at any moment. my suggestion is rent this to see if you will be able to play with all the distractions and if not than just let this one drive on by Expand
  4. May 10, 2011
    7
    At first play it feels like winning races is a coin toss. No skill involved. At some point I'm sure I'll memorize the destruction sequences and be able to maneuver around them. I feel as if the game relies too much on gimmicks. The perk system is a great addition as well as the added vehicle customization. The new vehicle classes are pretty sweet. All in all, I feel like the developersAt first play it feels like winning races is a coin toss. No skill involved. At some point I'm sure I'll memorize the destruction sequences and be able to maneuver around them. I feel as if the game relies too much on gimmicks. The perk system is a great addition as well as the added vehicle customization. The new vehicle classes are pretty sweet. All in all, I feel like the developers tried to fix what wasn't broken. You had a winning formula ... you should have stuck with it. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Really captivating game with all of the mayhem of the other two Motorstorm games. The new festival set out is miles better than the old one. My only complaints is that they could of gone a little bit further to make the multi-player a bit more addictive. Peace of.
  6. May 15, 2012
    7
    The ATV revs over the rusted remains of another corpse of a building as the encroaching rumble of Armageddon draws ever nearer. My competitors careen off course, some failing to survive the hazard and others finding safer passage via a short cut. I don't give it a moments though, I'm in pole position; only seconds away from sweet victory -- then it hits me. The brute calamity tears me fromThe ATV revs over the rusted remains of another corpse of a building as the encroaching rumble of Armageddon draws ever nearer. My competitors careen off course, some failing to survive the hazard and others finding safer passage via a short cut. I don't give it a moments though, I'm in pole position; only seconds away from sweet victory -- then it hits me. The brute calamity tears me from the track and just like that my race is over. The win goes to my successor, and I'm left with the cold hurt of defeat. Is Apocalypse a flawless triumph in game design? No, but is it a break neck racer more than worth the £14.99 I shelled out for it? Certainly. Motorstorm is a rarity, a franchise that never fails thrill but never succeeds in impressing. It's a pity, for a game so fraught with hazard that the developer played it so safe. So much more can be done with these games, I just hope they start pushing the envelope on the next game. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    5
    Bryan Fury's mom is an avid Motorstorm fan. She has played them all when not cheering for her son during the King of Iron Fist tournaments. First of all, having previously played all of the PS3 Motorstorm games, and being thoroughly in love with Pacific Rift, Motorstorm: Apocalypse is an horrible follow up. Yes some of the levels are fun, but others are boring and instead of a more varietyBryan Fury's mom is an avid Motorstorm fan. She has played them all when not cheering for her son during the King of Iron Fist tournaments. First of all, having previously played all of the PS3 Motorstorm games, and being thoroughly in love with Pacific Rift, Motorstorm: Apocalypse is an horrible follow up. Yes some of the levels are fun, but others are boring and instead of a more variety in the level themselves, Evolution Studios decided to just make day and evening versions of most of the levels, while others just have increased natural forces occurring throughout them. After you've raced through most of them for the 1000th time trying to get the #1 position, you'll wish you could do something else. Some of the tracks have alternate routes or shortcuts where hidden trading cards are usually found, but making the split second decision to take an alternate route could and usually does cost you the race. Again, great concept, but poorly executed. After playing Pacific Rift....what were they thinking??

    An interesting introduction to this game is the ability to design your cars. While racing in the festival mode offline will throw you a few scraps in the form of new headlights, mufflers or paint liveries, most of the good stuff needs to be unlocked online. This is also true for new cars, bikes, trucks, etc. You have a standard set of cars when you start the game but if you want others....you're just going to have to play for them online. That seemed like the dumbest idea that the developers could come up with. Completing the offline Festival mode...that is "Campaign mode" in all three difficulties will hardly reward you with anything. Unless of course, you'd like to collected hidden trading cards which just give you short little stories about the locations, characters, and vehicles of previous Motorstorm games. Boring! Bryan Fury'sMom hopes that if that the next installment of Motorstorm will be MUCH better than this one. While Motorstorm Apocalypse had several fresh ideas and options for gameplay, most of them were poorly executed and not well thought out. Bryan Fury's Mom gives this game a 5 out of 10.
    Expand
  8. Mar 18, 2013
    6
    Loading screens are extremely long, especially when playing online and when first starting up the game. Tracks have an excessive amount of debris with hard edges that are easy to crash into which makes racing more difficult..and more frustrating. Single player campaign forces you to use poor-handling trucks and other less than ideal vehicles on complex maps. Lots of special effects butLoading screens are extremely long, especially when playing online and when first starting up the game. Tracks have an excessive amount of debris with hard edges that are easy to crash into which makes racing more difficult..and more frustrating. Single player campaign forces you to use poor-handling trucks and other less than ideal vehicles on complex maps. Lots of special effects but overall graphical quality lacks a certain sharpness which makes it hard to see upcoming obstacles and corners. Despite these flaws, racing online is enjoyable once you've memorized the track layouts and start acquiring better vehicles. Expand
  9. Aug 8, 2014
    7
    A large variety of vehicles and tracks, larger than in the first MotorStorm, manged to make up for ridiculously stupid storyline, and cruising on a bike on an exploding highway is just the best feeling in the world.
  10. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    77
    However, even with all those aspects and the insane environments, I found it too hard to overcome the crashing. I've played games in other genres that "yank" players out of the experience, but it's not happened often in the racing arena. With MotorStorm: Apocalypse, it does, and specifically because of the crashes
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    75
    Despite the strong online component, MotorStorm: Apocalypse still doesn't do enough to stand out.
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    75
    While still a bit rough around the edges, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is a unique racing experience that's exciting to look at as well as play, even if that experience is partially neutered online.