• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 3, 2011
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 120
  2. Negative: 12 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    6
    Ok, I'm going to make this short and to the point. I've played all of the Motorstorm games, so I can make a fair assessment of this one. 1) This game still has the same floaty physics which were present in the very first game years ago. I think if they ever make another game in this series, this has to be addressed. 2) Because the physics are off, so too are the controls. 3) The tracks. They look nice. There is no pop in or slowdown that I've seen, no screen tearing, etc. BUT, on the other hand, they are too littered with objects. I know the festival takes place during a natural disaster, but IMO, when you crash so often, it ruins the flow of the racing. Playing online, the tracks do become altered as you race, BUT you don't actually see any buildings fall down or streets break apart while racing. At the start of each new lap, these changes will have ALREADY occurred. Weak. At least in the sp the tracks become altered as you are racing with buildings collapsing, etc. It's well done in sp and one of the redeeming qualities of the game and why I pretty much give it a 6. Otherwise, overall, I was let down by some of the tracks in general even though I just praised them for the sp destruction going on. But that's just it, this is, to me, a middle of the road racer and little else. Most of my score is composed of the quality of the graphics, otherwise it would be even lower. I liked the first Motorstorm the best by far and since then I haven't cared for the second or third edition in the series. I think I'm all Motorstormed out. Expand
  2. May 4, 2011
    10
    This is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get to the pole position. The variety of tracks and locations is the best yet and have to say that whilst I wasn't a total fan of the 'story' some of it was pretty funny and when it grated I simply hit the X button to get me back into the AWESOME racing! Buy it and you won't be disappointed :) Expand
  3. May 6, 2011
    9
    I made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'd call it that) is forgettable, but remember it's a racing game and that's where it delivers. Not just in gameplay, but even more so in presentation and never ending appeal. If racing at the in of the world sounds cool, then that's exactly what you'll get. Just know what to expect, this game is meant for multiplayer on- or offline. (I'm from Europe, Denmark, so I played it before the PSN hack) Let the singleplayer be an introduction to the game, which is the best to say about it. Now you will be arriving and leaving the festival in some little special events to feel more connected to the festival, which is cool, but for a festival there's still lots of those background events from the first MotorStorm that I would have like to be playable.

    So, also if you enjoyed the previous MotorStorms, then you will love this game. Don't worry about the handling, it's great once you get used to it. I might say MS1 had better handling, but at least it's better than the ice skating Pacific Rift, which had no traction to speak of (Yeah, I was disappointing with PR and still I love this game). The handling of the vehicles is more focused around the chaos and tempo, so even with the great handling of MS1, it probably wouldn't fit the game, and again, it works very well for the fun of the game. MotorStorm has never been about true realism, it's just plain chaos and fun and you will get more of that than ever in Apocalypse.
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    First review because this game is so captivating! A true thrill ride with a short learning curve. Clever environmental effects such as tornadoes, collapsing buildings, and pissed off bystanders that throw Molotovs and rocket launchers. Spilt Second meets Burnout meets PAIN and Spyhunter; an outstanding combination. It is very fun blasting through bystanders and trash while adapting to the morphing track. Also, its very entertaining racing with all the different classes such as monster truck and dirtbikes.
    Overall, Motorstorm is a fun and rewarding experience.
    Expand
  5. Gex
    Jun 19, 2011
    0
    This game is garbage plain and simple, as someone else stated, you can't get into any rhythm from the constant crashes from things littering on the ground. If you're just starting out, get ready for HOURS of frustration as the higher ranks have access to perks that make their cars go faster.
  6. May 5, 2011
    10
    Awesome gameplay! I like racing games where you always feel like you are on the edge of teetering out of control, and MotorStorm Apocalypse delivers. If you like Need for Speed, F1, or GT, this is not that kind of gameplay. The environments are spectacular, strewn with debris and truly chaotic. Skip the story, if you want a story watch a movie. If you want to play a game where you get sucked into races full of mayhem and edge of your seat thrills, this does the trick. There's even one track where you are actually driving across the tops of buildings AS THEY COLLAPSE! Like the previous titles in the series the gameplay and winning races varies with your driver and progress. You start out barely needing to boost to even win a race, but as the game progresses you have to work out the strategy for each track and race knowing when to boost, which paths to take at which point in the race, and when you have to take out other vehicles in order to win. The presentation and gameplay is much more polished and streamlined this time around. My only complaint would be that they included a story (keep your story out of my games, I came to play!) rather than just making it a narrative like they did with Pacific Rift. I can't wait to see what kind of DLC they come out with. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2012
    4
    A very poor effort in the context of the Motorstorm series. Despite the plethora of options and vehicle customisations, the je ne sais quoi of the franchise is completely lost MS:A. They removed the good - natural themes, track deformation, beautiful vistas - added the bad - generic post-apocalyptic cities, tracks fraught with distracting 'junk', a half-assedly implemented 3D functionality (it doesn't work in split-screen and has copious 'cross-talk') - and exacerbated what already need fixing - the 'floaty'race physics, über cheesy AI, lack of coöp-able campaign play. All in all, this is a very disappointing MS game; although an okay-ish arcade racer in its own right. 4/10 Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Pretty enjoyable. The track destruction is nice. Comic book cutscenes are tacky and unnecessary in my opinion. Overall, I found this game to be more Motorstorm 1 than Pacific Rift (a good thing, for me at least). Could do with less crap all over the tracks though. Regularly crashing kind of kills the flow. Overall, pretty enjoyable.
  9. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    The game is very beautiful and also the roads and very nice effects ... And near of the game StuntMan on ps2 and ps3

    by adil khojah
    from saudi arabia - jeddah city 10-07-2011 sunday
  10. Jun 7, 2011
    6
    Despite many environmental hazards and frequent explosions, MotorStorm: Apocalypse seems to have lost the chaotic atmosphere of its predecessors. I feel that the tracks are at fault in this case. I'm fine with racing on a large course with different routes, but the tracks in this game are far too wide open. Resulting from this, I often find myself racing along a completely isolated road, seemingly devoid of any competitors. Of course, some tracks have disasters that occur, which make things a bit more interesting. However, the disasters are often poorly timed, and end up being just a visual flare rather than an actual hazard. Overall, this game is worth a rental, and is definitely a fun experience when playing split-screen, but it falls short in many categories and does not live up to the first two games in the series. Expand
  11. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Innovative, Beautiful, Fast and filled with adrenaline. These are only a few words that can descripe Motorstorm: Apocalypse. If you love arcade racing games then this one is simply must buy game. Motorstorm serie has gone to right direction and hopefully we can see more this type of arcade racing games in future.
  12. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    this game is alright with great looking enviroments cool cars awsome carnage that happens while you drive but there is just too much packed into this game to be really enjoyable like the last 2 motorstorm games were. simply put you will crash alot and it can get very frustrating wheather it comes to being distracted by something happeneing in the enviroment or just a random peice of rock sticking out of the ground be ready for lots of crashing because there is just too much on the screen at some points that all you can do is hope you will make it through certain part unscathed. there is also a very sub par story and the cut scenes have nothing to do with the races that you do except maybe the last mission of each character they were just thrown in as a random thing with which to add substance and most of that substance is big cartoon boobs that look like they will fall out of the skimpy little dresses at any moment. my suggestion is rent this to see if you will be able to play with all the distractions and if not than just let this one drive on by Expand
  13. May 17, 2011
    10
    Simply incredible... This game is relentlessly spectacular as endless destruction unfolds around you. If you liked the previous Motorstorms then you will love this, even newcomers to the series will find it easy to pick up. With debris flying at you non-stop then one would think that it is hard to see where your going, however somehow its not. Its one of those things that just work. The split-screen is incredibly exiting too, especially online. The multiplayer is lots of fun too, with an easier ranking system, perks and customisation make this one of the most enjoyable online experiences around. Expand
  14. May 18, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best arcade racer I've played in a long time. I have not had this much fun with one since NFS Most wanted. The tracks are the star of the show here. Some of the various vehicle types are also fun to play with. I highly recommend this game.
  15. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely brilliant game. I've piled over 100 hours into MS:A already and still am hungry for more. The online mode is where this game comes into its own - 16 player online races with 12 different vehicle classes makes for the craziest and best racing experience out there. The betting feature is a great way to build up rivalries with your opponents too.
  16. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    Like its predecessors, this game is a lighting fast arcade racer that really pushes the boundaries of the genre. With tracks set on the sides of crumbling buildings to a boardwalk being torn apart by a tornado, there really is no other racer like this. Every track is unique and varied and loads of fun.

    However, I think the developers in an attempt to streamline the game made some poor
    decisions. The single player mode is now story driven and forces the player to stick to a single track and vehicle before progressing. This only leads to frustration because it limits your options, if you cannot pass this one course, you're stuck. In previous installments of this series, you were never required to beat every single event, so if one track was giving you problems, you always had the option to jump to another track and earn points to unlock more events. This is not the case in Apocalypse and I greatly miss that freedom. This small restriction aside, the game is still one great thrill ride! Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2011
    3
    This is in my opinion the worst motorstorm made. There is no need for the story line and it's stupid and odd . The maps get very old fast and the graphics and that great compared to the first one.
  18. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    This game is compleatly amazing and it's one of the best games I have ever played. You are racing both onroad and offroad and the graphics looks great. The best thing about motorstorm compared to other racing games is that it has some super realistic car physics/crashed so you will always feel this dynamic feel to the game. You can choose anything from all the 12 vehicle classes which incudes Dirtbike, Superbike, Rallycar, Mudplugger, BigRig, Supercar, Supermini, Quadbike, Racingtruck, Copper, Buggy and of course the Monstertruck! The game has amazing online gameplay and it just makes you want to play more and more. You can customize your vehicles and there are over 40 tracks to race on! The sound effects are awezome and you can even play in 3D if you have a TV that supporst 3D pictures. I will give this game 10/10 beacuse it's one of the best games I have played in years. Try out the demo on Playstation store and see for yourself. Buy the game if you liked it because you are lucky to have a ps3 to be able to play the game. Expand
  19. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    For the MotorStorm fans out there i'll put it simple, this is by far the best Motorstorm on the series. We all thought that since this game would take the races to the streets of a city the game wouldn't feel like a Motorstorm game but we all were wrong. The city crumbles all around you making races are more chaotic than ever (in a good sense). There are even more types of vehicles now including my new favourites "superbikes". The online game has also been given more depth with the car customization and the perks even though that makes the races kinda unfair for the newcomers. You could also say that the storyline of the campaign is silly but well... at least you have a storyline.
    I would absolutely recommend this game to any MotorStorm fan or simply any arcade racer fan.
    Expand
  20. May 10, 2011
    7
    At first play it feels like winning races is a coin toss. No skill involved. At some point I'm sure I'll memorize the destruction sequences and be able to maneuver around them. I feel as if the game relies too much on gimmicks. The perk system is a great addition as well as the added vehicle customization. The new vehicle classes are pretty sweet. All in all, I feel like the developers tried to fix what wasn't broken. You had a winning formula ... you should have stuck with it. Expand
  21. Jul 7, 2011
    7
    Really captivating game with all of the mayhem of the other two Motorstorm games. The new festival set out is miles better than the old one. My only complaints is that they could of gone a little bit further to make the multi-player a bit more addictive. Peace of.
  22. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    I dont like most racing games, but ive always ben a fan of motorstorm. Compared to pacific rift, motorstorm apocalipse is not as hardcore in the sence that you have to perfectly time and balance youre jumps and watch for ewery small rock on the road, but it will more than make up with tracks that liturally fall in on themselfs. And with new weicle classes and bikes being branched it is surely the hardest motorstorm game to master thus far, and as a long term fan of the series it makes me very, very happy.
    One thing that is to be pointed out that this time around the series abandoned some enviroment detail for framerate and a full uncompromised 16 player online. The only problem i had with the game is the camera comand that you get for dangerus events happening in the game, and a storyline that could havejust ben and unlockable in the extras menu, but i would feel like an idiot if i bashed this amazng racing game for its story and this one camera choice.
    For long term fans like myself this game will be a blast with a welcome change of paste. And newcomers to the series, dont be intimidated by the dificulty of the previous motorstorm games.
    This is motorstorm at its best, and is surely one of the top if not the top arkade racing games you will ever find.
    Expand
  23. May 15, 2012
    7
    The ATV revs over the rusted remains of another corpse of a building as the encroaching rumble of Armageddon draws ever nearer. My competitors careen off course, some failing to survive the hazard and others finding safer passage via a short cut. I don't give it a moments though, I'm in pole position; only seconds away from sweet victory -- then it hits me. The brute calamity tears me from the track and just like that my race is over. The win goes to my successor, and I'm left with the cold hurt of defeat. Is Apocalypse a flawless triumph in game design? No, but is it a break neck racer more than worth the £14.99 I shelled out for it? Certainly. Motorstorm is a rarity, a franchise that never fails thrill but never succeeds in impressing. It's a pity, for a game so fraught with hazard that the developer played it so safe. So much more can be done with these games, I just hope they start pushing the envelope on the next game. Expand
  24. May 9, 2012
    10
    This game is best racing game ever,best motorstorm ever and motorstorm is best racing franchise.This game has 12 different vehicle classes, 36 different tracks in 9 areas.vehicle customization,game mode creator and much more.this game have single player which is so awesome and thrill to play even if you have already compeleted it.Because think that every race is different and you never now whats gonna happen in next time.But it has has also awsome rewarding multiplayer and more you play more you get and even if you dont finnish 1st you get rewards and you can also bet.this game also have 4 player split screen and 4 player split screen online.So whats can be wrong with this!!!!!.if you didnt like cutscenes you can skipped them. and vehicle customization is so wide. you can always have new ride.Even though this is now in city so it doesn may feel so motorstorm but truth is that this feels motorstorm most because there is storm going.EVERY MOTORSTORM FAN SOULD BUY THIS.And like in other motorstorm every track is detailed and game runs smooth and graphics are great. SoWHATS WRONG IN THIS GAME!!!!!! Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This truly is THE underrated racing game of our generation. As a off-road racing game vet who has been playing a whole number of off-road games from an early age, I can say that Motorstorm always takes the cake. It's unfortunate that it is never given the respect it truly deserves because of fanboyism that cannot see past the console this fine game is on. No other game can surpass this series, not even come close. When you put on your 3D glasses and race across collapsing rooftops with a beautiful orchestra soundtrack radiating the room, you will understand why this game is the best in its genre. 10/10 Expand
  26. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic arcade racing game, who liked the other games in the series and also of Split ond, it is guaranteed fun, and still has one of the most beautiful graphics of the PS3 (played in full HD 2D, 3D TV does not have, which the game has full support!

    Jogo fantástico , corrida arcade de primeira , quem gostou dos outros jogos da série e também de Split Second ,
    é diversão garantida , e ainda tem um dos gráficos mais bonitos do PS3 ( joguei em Full HD 2D , não tenho TV 3D , o qual o jogo tem total suporte ! Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Stunning environment with moving objects and building along with a decent control and handling system makes this a joyable axperience, especially together with friends. If you like arcadish type of racing games, go for this one!
  28. Nov 26, 2012
    5
    Bryan Fury's mom is an avid Motorstorm fan. She has played them all when not cheering for her son during the King of Iron Fist tournaments. First of all, having previously played all of the PS3 Motorstorm games, and being thoroughly in love with Pacific Rift, Motorstorm: Apocalypse is an horrible follow up. Yes some of the levels are fun, but others are boring and instead of a more variety in the level themselves, Evolution Studios decided to just make day and evening versions of most of the levels, while others just have increased natural forces occurring throughout them. After you've raced through most of them for the 1000th time trying to get the #1 position, you'll wish you could do something else. Some of the tracks have alternate routes or shortcuts where hidden trading cards are usually found, but making the split second decision to take an alternate route could and usually does cost you the race. Again, great concept, but poorly executed. After playing Pacific Rift....what were they thinking??

    An interesting introduction to this game is the ability to design your cars. While racing in the festival mode offline will throw you a few scraps in the form of new headlights, mufflers or paint liveries, most of the good stuff needs to be unlocked online. This is also true for new cars, bikes, trucks, etc. You have a standard set of cars when you start the game but if you want others....you're just going to have to play for them online. That seemed like the dumbest idea that the developers could come up with. Completing the offline Festival mode...that is "Campaign mode" in all three difficulties will hardly reward you with anything. Unless of course, you'd like to collected hidden trading cards which just give you short little stories about the locations, characters, and vehicles of previous Motorstorm games. Boring! Bryan Fury'sMom hopes that if that the next installment of Motorstorm will be MUCH better than this one. While Motorstorm Apocalypse had several fresh ideas and options for gameplay, most of them were poorly executed and not well thought out. Bryan Fury's Mom gives this game a 5 out of 10.
    Expand
  29. Mar 18, 2013
    6
    Loading screens are extremely long, especially when playing online and when first starting up the game. Tracks have an excessive amount of debris with hard edges that are easy to crash into which makes racing more difficult..and more frustrating. Single player campaign forces you to use poor-handling trucks and other less than ideal vehicles on complex maps. Lots of special effects but overall graphical quality lacks a certain sharpness which makes it hard to see upcoming obstacles and corners. Despite these flaws, racing online is enjoyable once you've memorized the track layouts and start acquiring better vehicles. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    This game is compleatly amazing and it's one of the best games I have ever played. You are racing both onroad and offroad and the graphics looks great. The best thing about motorstorm compared to other racing games is that it has some super realistic car physics/crashed so you will always feel this dynamic feel to the game. You can choose anything from all the 12 vehicle classes which incudes Dirtbike, Superbike, Rallycar, Mudplugger, BigRig, Supercar, Supermini, Quadbike, Racingtruck, Copper, Buggy and of course the Monstertruck! The game has amazing online gameplay and it just makes you want to play more and more. You can customize your vehicles and there are over 40 tracks to race on! The sound effects are awezome and you can even play in 3D if you have a TV that supporst 3D pictures. I will give this game 10/10 beacuse it's one of the best games I have played in years. Try out the demo on Playstation store and see for yourself. Buy the game if you liked it because you are lucky to have a ps3 to be able to play the game. Expand
  31. May 3, 2013
    8
    The game is fun and a chaotic racing game. It is just fun to speed around and watch buildings tear apart and race against other enemies. However, two things that need to be improved: The multiplayer, where you can get disconnected regularly. It also takes quite a long time to level up so by then you will likely be bored of as it doesn't have much variety. Collectables: Collectables in a god-damn racing game!? That's a terrible idea, especially when it is executed so poorly here. They are even placed in eliminator matches where you don't have time to search for them, otherwise you will just be eliminated. That stuff is incredibly annoying! And no backtracking is allowed to get these, you have to get them in one fell swoop. Luckily, it does save the ones you've previously got so you don't need to focus on them again. Overall, a good game but multiplayer needs improvement and the collectables are just a stupid idea for a game like this; where all you want to do is race around, not collect things. Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    Un grandisimo juego, a mi no me gusta este tipo de juegos, pero cuando lo vi...no se...lo vi diferente a los demás y me gusto, lo compre y reafirmo que es un gran juego, si te gusta la conducción y eres amante de las motos o los cohces, no lo dudes, compratelo, este juego no te dejara indiferente, aun asi, hay muchos puntos mejorables, espero que si sacan el dos, lo mejoren en esos fallitos y asi pues mejor. Expand
  33. May 20, 2014
    9
    this would have been my favourite game in the series if it wasn't for that damm story i would have given it ten but that damm story the mp was a huge improvement over pacific rift the destruction was just beautiful to look at tracks were cool new cars were cool customization was cool the soundtrack got a little bit repetitive after a while and last but not least was the constant updates they had going for a while which just made it better as time passed but then you remember they put a story in it so terrible Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    77
    However, even with all those aspects and the insane environments, I found it too hard to overcome the crashing. I've played games in other genres that "yank" players out of the experience, but it's not happened often in the racing arena. With MotorStorm: Apocalypse, it does, and specifically because of the crashes
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    75
    Despite the strong online component, MotorStorm: Apocalypse still doesn't do enough to stand out.
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    75
    While still a bit rough around the edges, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is a unique racing experience that's exciting to look at as well as play, even if that experience is partially neutered online.