• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 3, 2011
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 128

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2011
    10
    This is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get to the pole position. The variety of tracks and locations is the best yet and have to say that whilst I wasn't a total fan of the 'story' some of it was pretty funny and when it grated I simply hit the X button to get me back into the AWESOME racing! Buy it and you won't be disappointed :) Expand
  2. May 6, 2011
    9
    I made a Metacritic account just to defend this game, because the critics have been really harsh on this game. Sure, the "storyline" (if you'd call it that) is forgettable, but remember it's a racing game and that's where it delivers. Not just in gameplay, but even more so in presentation and never ending appeal. If racing at the in of the world sounds cool, then that's exactly what you'll get. Just know what to expect, this game is meant for multiplayer on- or offline. (I'm from Europe, Denmark, so I played it before the PSN hack) Let the singleplayer be an introduction to the game, which is the best to say about it. Now you will be arriving and leaving the festival in some little special events to feel more connected to the festival, which is cool, but for a festival there's still lots of those background events from the first MotorStorm that I would have like to be playable.

    So, also if you enjoyed the previous MotorStorms, then you will love this game. Don't worry about the handling, it's great once you get used to it. I might say MS1 had better handling, but at least it's better than the ice skating Pacific Rift, which had no traction to speak of (Yeah, I was disappointing with PR and still I love this game). The handling of the vehicles is more focused around the chaos and tempo, so even with the great handling of MS1, it probably wouldn't fit the game, and again, it works very well for the fun of the game. MotorStorm has never been about true realism, it's just plain chaos and fun and you will get more of that than ever in Apocalypse.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    First review because this game is so captivating! A true thrill ride with a short learning curve. Clever environmental effects such as tornadoes, collapsing buildings, and pissed off bystanders that throw Molotovs and rocket launchers. Spilt Second meets Burnout meets PAIN and Spyhunter; an outstanding combination. It is very fun blasting through bystanders and trash while adapting to the morphing track. Also, its very entertaining racing with all the different classes such as monster truck and dirtbikes.
    Overall, Motorstorm is a fun and rewarding experience.
    Expand
  4. May 5, 2011
    10
    Awesome gameplay! I like racing games where you always feel like you are on the edge of teetering out of control, and MotorStorm Apocalypse delivers. If you like Need for Speed, F1, or GT, this is not that kind of gameplay. The environments are spectacular, strewn with debris and truly chaotic. Skip the story, if you want a story watch a movie. If you want to play a game where you get sucked into races full of mayhem and edge of your seat thrills, this does the trick. There's even one track where you are actually driving across the tops of buildings AS THEY COLLAPSE! Like the previous titles in the series the gameplay and winning races varies with your driver and progress. You start out barely needing to boost to even win a race, but as the game progresses you have to work out the strategy for each track and race knowing when to boost, which paths to take at which point in the race, and when you have to take out other vehicles in order to win. The presentation and gameplay is much more polished and streamlined this time around. My only complaint would be that they included a story (keep your story out of my games, I came to play!) rather than just making it a narrative like they did with Pacific Rift. I can't wait to see what kind of DLC they come out with. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    The game is very beautiful and also the roads and very nice effects ... And near of the game StuntMan on ps2 and ps3

    by adil khojah
    from saudi arabia - jeddah city 10-07-2011 sunday
  6. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Innovative, Beautiful, Fast and filled with adrenaline. These are only a few words that can descripe Motorstorm: Apocalypse. If you love arcade racing games then this one is simply must buy game. Motorstorm serie has gone to right direction and hopefully we can see more this type of arcade racing games in future.
  7. May 17, 2011
    10
    Simply incredible... This game is relentlessly spectacular as endless destruction unfolds around you. If you liked the previous Motorstorms then you will love this, even newcomers to the series will find it easy to pick up. With debris flying at you non-stop then one would think that it is hard to see where your going, however somehow its not. Its one of those things that just work. The split-screen is incredibly exiting too, especially online. The multiplayer is lots of fun too, with an easier ranking system, perks and customisation make this one of the most enjoyable online experiences around. Expand
  8. May 18, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best arcade racer I've played in a long time. I have not had this much fun with one since NFS Most wanted. The tracks are the star of the show here. Some of the various vehicle types are also fun to play with. I highly recommend this game.
  9. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    An absolutely brilliant game. I've piled over 100 hours into MS:A already and still am hungry for more. The online mode is where this game comes into its own - 16 player online races with 12 different vehicle classes makes for the craziest and best racing experience out there. The betting feature is a great way to build up rivalries with your opponents too.
  10. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    This game is compleatly amazing and it's one of the best games I have ever played. You are racing both onroad and offroad and the graphics looks great. The best thing about motorstorm compared to other racing games is that it has some super realistic car physics/crashed so you will always feel this dynamic feel to the game. You can choose anything from all the 12 vehicle classes which incudes Dirtbike, Superbike, Rallycar, Mudplugger, BigRig, Supercar, Supermini, Quadbike, Racingtruck, Copper, Buggy and of course the Monstertruck! The game has amazing online gameplay and it just makes you want to play more and more. You can customize your vehicles and there are over 40 tracks to race on! The sound effects are awezome and you can even play in 3D if you have a TV that supporst 3D pictures. I will give this game 10/10 beacuse it's one of the best games I have played in years. Try out the demo on Playstation store and see for yourself. Buy the game if you liked it because you are lucky to have a ps3 to be able to play the game. Expand
  11. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    For the MotorStorm fans out there i'll put it simple, this is by far the best Motorstorm on the series. We all thought that since this game would take the races to the streets of a city the game wouldn't feel like a Motorstorm game but we all were wrong. The city crumbles all around you making races are more chaotic than ever (in a good sense). There are even more types of vehicles now including my new favourites "superbikes". The online game has also been given more depth with the car customization and the perks even though that makes the races kinda unfair for the newcomers. You could also say that the storyline of the campaign is silly but well... at least you have a storyline.
    I would absolutely recommend this game to any MotorStorm fan or simply any arcade racer fan.
    Expand
  12. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    I dont like most racing games, but ive always ben a fan of motorstorm. Compared to pacific rift, motorstorm apocalipse is not as hardcore in the sence that you have to perfectly time and balance youre jumps and watch for ewery small rock on the road, but it will more than make up with tracks that liturally fall in on themselfs. And with new weicle classes and bikes being branched it is surely the hardest motorstorm game to master thus far, and as a long term fan of the series it makes me very, very happy.
    One thing that is to be pointed out that this time around the series abandoned some enviroment detail for framerate and a full uncompromised 16 player online. The only problem i had with the game is the camera comand that you get for dangerus events happening in the game, and a storyline that could havejust ben and unlockable in the extras menu, but i would feel like an idiot if i bashed this amazng racing game for its story and this one camera choice.
    For long term fans like myself this game will be a blast with a welcome change of paste. And newcomers to the series, dont be intimidated by the dificulty of the previous motorstorm games.
    This is motorstorm at its best, and is surely one of the top if not the top arkade racing games you will ever find.
    Expand
  13. May 9, 2012
    10
    This game is best racing game ever,best motorstorm ever and motorstorm is best racing franchise.This game has 12 different vehicle classes, 36 different tracks in 9 areas.vehicle customization,game mode creator and much more.this game have single player which is so awesome and thrill to play even if you have already compeleted it.Because think that every race is different and you never now whats gonna happen in next time.But it has has also awsome rewarding multiplayer and more you play more you get and even if you dont finnish 1st you get rewards and you can also bet.this game also have 4 player split screen and 4 player split screen online.So whats can be wrong with this!!!!!.if you didnt like cutscenes you can skipped them. and vehicle customization is so wide. you can always have new ride.Even though this is now in city so it doesn may feel so motorstorm but truth is that this feels motorstorm most because there is storm going.EVERY MOTORSTORM FAN SOULD BUY THIS.And like in other motorstorm every track is detailed and game runs smooth and graphics are great. SoWHATS WRONG IN THIS GAME!!!!!! Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This truly is THE underrated racing game of our generation. As a off-road racing game vet who has been playing a whole number of off-road games from an early age, I can say that Motorstorm always takes the cake. It's unfortunate that it is never given the respect it truly deserves because of fanboyism that cannot see past the console this fine game is on. No other game can surpass this series, not even come close. When you put on your 3D glasses and race across collapsing rooftops with a beautiful orchestra soundtrack radiating the room, you will understand why this game is the best in its genre. 10/10 Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Fantastic arcade racing game, who liked the other games in the series and also of Split ond, it is guaranteed fun, and still has one of the most beautiful graphics of the PS3 (played in full HD 2D, 3D TV does not have, which the game has full support!

    Jogo fantástico , corrida arcade de primeira , quem gostou dos outros jogos da série e também de Split Second ,
    é diversão garantida , e ainda tem um dos gráficos mais bonitos do PS3 ( joguei em Full HD 2D , não tenho TV 3D , o qual o jogo tem total suporte ! Collapse
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    This game is compleatly amazing and it's one of the best games I have ever played. You are racing both onroad and offroad and the graphics looks great. The best thing about motorstorm compared to other racing games is that it has some super realistic car physics/crashed so you will always feel this dynamic feel to the game. You can choose anything from all the 12 vehicle classes which incudes Dirtbike, Superbike, Rallycar, Mudplugger, BigRig, Supercar, Supermini, Quadbike, Racingtruck, Copper, Buggy and of course the Monstertruck! The game has amazing online gameplay and it just makes you want to play more and more. You can customize your vehicles and there are over 40 tracks to race on! The sound effects are awezome and you can even play in 3D if you have a TV that supporst 3D pictures. I will give this game 10/10 beacuse it's one of the best games I have played in years. Try out the demo on Playstation store and see for yourself. Buy the game if you liked it because you are lucky to have a ps3 to be able to play the game. Expand
  17. May 20, 2014
    9
    this would have been my favourite game in the series if it wasn't for that damm story i would have given it ten but that damm story the mp was a huge improvement over pacific rift the destruction was just beautiful to look at tracks were cool new cars were cool customization was cool the soundtrack got a little bit repetitive after a while and last but not least was the constant updates they had going for a while which just made it better as time passed but then you remember they put a story in it so terrible Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    Fantastic arcade racing game, who liked the other games in the series and also of Split ond, it is guaranteed fun, and still has one of the most beautiful graphics of the PS3 (played in full HD 2D, 3D TV does not have, which the game has full support!

    Jogo fantástico , corrida arcade de primeira , quem gostou dos outros jogos da série e também de Split Second ,
    é diversão garantida , e ainda tem um dos gráficos mais bonitos do PS3 ( joguei em Full HD 2D , não tenho TV 3D , o qual o jogo tem total suporte ! Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    77
    However, even with all those aspects and the insane environments, I found it too hard to overcome the crashing. I've played games in other genres that "yank" players out of the experience, but it's not happened often in the racing arena. With MotorStorm: Apocalypse, it does, and specifically because of the crashes
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    75
    Despite the strong online component, MotorStorm: Apocalypse still doesn't do enough to stand out.
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    75
    While still a bit rough around the edges, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is a unique racing experience that's exciting to look at as well as play, even if that experience is partially neutered online.