• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Motorstorm: Apocalypse is the third entry for home consoles in the Motorstorm franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. May 25, 2011
    100
    If you can't tell from this glowing review, let me come out and say it plainly: I LOVE MotorStorm Apocalypse. The game is an absolute blast and a top-class production. Evolution has created the total package, from addicting and fun gameplay to incredible track design... it's all here. The MotorStorm series finally has it's "great" game...
  2. May 17, 2011
    88
    Despite some frustrating gameplay quirks, Motorstorm Apocalypse is a must-buy for series fanatics, and a must-play for newcomers because of its fast action, sharp controls, and incredible sound design.
  3. May 16, 2011
    83
    But, with four player split screen and 3D support, those with a big enough telly are in for some incredibly intense, high revving racing. Sure it's chaotic and epic and it starts out too easy and hits a point where it becomes too frustrating. But, and this is most important thing, MotorStorm: Apocalypse is exciting and thrilling and awesomely fun from the moment you start playing.
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Because of its name it's fitting that MotorStorm: Apocalypse is somewhat of a rebirth for the series, and the racing feels fresher than ever. It may have lost a bit of its identity whilst borrowing so much from SplitSecond, but the apocalyptic city setting is so strong that it doesn't matter. The best MotorStorm game yet.
  5. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    A good arcade racing game. The main campaign has some design flaws, but multiplayer is where Evolution Studios' game really shines.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    Motorstorm: Apocalypse is a highly enjoyable arcade racer let down by poor presentation and a manifest lack of focus on the part of Evolution Studios, who are in danger of losing track of what made the series so appealing in the first place.
  7. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    Motorstorm: Apocalypse is all about explosions, chaos and crumbling structures. Unfortunetly, the actual driving and the physics haven't been updated at all since the first game, almost five years ago, and this feels both old and unfinished.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Simply incredible... This game is relentlessly spectacular as endless destruction unfolds around you. If you liked the previous Motorstorms then you will love this, even newcomers to the series will find it easy to pick up. With debris flying at you non-stop then one would think that it is hard to see where your going, however somehow its not. Its one of those things that just work. The split-screen is incredibly exiting too, especially online. The multiplayer is lots of fun too, with an easier ranking system, perks and customisation make this one of the most enjoyable online experiences around. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Innovative, Beautiful, Fast and filled with adrenaline. These are only a few words that can descripe Motorstorm: Apocalypse. If you love arcade racing games then this one is simply must buy game. Motorstorm serie has gone to right direction and hopefully we can see more this type of arcade racing games in future. Expand
  3. May 4, 2011
    10
    This is the absolute best game in the series. Its intense, full of action and race after race I was on the edge of my sofa trying to get to the pole position. The variety of tracks and locations is the best yet and have to say that whilst I wasn't a total fan of the 'story' some of it was pretty funny and when it grated I simply hit the X button to get me back into the AWESOME racing! Buy it and you won't be disappointed :) Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    For the MotorStorm fans out there i'll put it simple, this is by far the best Motorstorm on the series. We all thought that since this game would take the races to the streets of a city the game wouldn't feel like a Motorstorm game but we all were wrong. The city crumbles all around you making races are more chaotic than ever (in a good sense). There are even more types of vehicles now including my new favourites "superbikes". The online game has also been given more depth with the car customization and the perks even though that makes the races kinda unfair for the newcomers. You could also say that the storyline of the campaign is silly but well... at least you have a storyline.
    I would absolutely recommend this game to any MotorStorm fan or simply any arcade racer fan.
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    8
    The game is fun and a chaotic racing game. It is just fun to speed around and watch buildings tear apart and race against other enemies. However, two things that need to be improved: The multiplayer, where you can get disconnected regularly. It also takes quite a long time to level up so by then you will likely be bored of as it doesn't have much variety. Collectables: Collectables in a god-damn racing game!? That's a terrible idea, especially when it is executed so poorly here. They are even placed in eliminator matches where you don't have time to search for them, otherwise you will just be eliminated. That stuff is incredibly annoying! And no backtracking is allowed to get these, you have to get them in one fell swoop. Luckily, it does save the ones you've previously got so you don't need to focus on them again. Overall, a good game but multiplayer needs improvement and the collectables are just a stupid idea for a game like this; where all you want to do is race around, not collect things. Expand
  6. May 10, 2011
    7
    At first play it feels like winning races is a coin toss. No skill involved. At some point I'm sure I'll memorize the destruction sequences and be able to maneuver around them. I feel as if the game relies too much on gimmicks. The perk system is a great addition as well as the added vehicle customization. The new vehicle classes are pretty sweet. All in all, I feel like the developers tried to fix what wasn't broken. You had a winning formula ... you should have stuck with it. Expand
  7. Gex
    Jun 19, 2011
    0
    This game is garbage plain and simple, as someone else stated, you can't get into any rhythm from the constant crashes from things littering on the ground. If you're just starting out, get ready for HOURS of frustration as the higher ranks have access to perks that make their cars go faster. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews