• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 288

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I have given it a 9 because after a while it gets boring, however it will never get boring if you constantly have a friend round round who's motorstorm mad. In festival it is hard so you need to be very skilled to get to rank 8. I think if it would have had better online and more variety in cars and tracks so then i would have given it a 10. I think that in motorstorm apocalypse it will have better online and more variety so when i get that and review that i think I'll give it a 10. I think pacific rift is worth buying and i think it will be worth getting apocalypse in the future Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    the best driving arcade game of the gaming history. It is wild and frenetic, you can feel the motor and gasoline running in your blood to and you can fly the heavier metal. Its simply the best
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    Maxxed out in 3D (@720p), MotorStorm 3D Rift includes 10 tracks from the full MotorStorm Pacific Rift game. All tracks can be played in 3D (you'll need a 3D capable TV and a high-speed HDMI cable) or 2D. A very cheap buy from the PSN store but disappointing that you have to pay for it if you already have Pacific Rift (unlike a couple of other games that have free 3D patches/updates). The jumps, corners and crashes are simply amazing in 3D (The Edge track is superb) and it's the best 3D game out now (Super Stardust HD is a close second). If you have a 3D TV it's a MUST BUY! Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Great game online and off, shame it gets too damn difficult towards the end, which is the same niggle the last one had. but still cant wait for the next installment.
  5. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    I accidentally overrated blur as a 10 in a previous review, this recieving a 9 would suggest it's worse, indeed its not at all. It's a fantastic game. Fluid and beautiful. I honestly think it's maybe the most delicious racer ever seen. Beats MS1 in my book as the former was full of idiotic turns that relied on trial and error to overcome. Exillarating and atmospheric. Ok now the gripes : It's too hard to be honest , it relies on the gamer to play a lot to get up to standard, I put it down for a week and when I got back on I couldn't win a race. Lastly I love the little ATV's they are my favourite and I used them a lot, but they are rubbish at handling and get nailed on any level except for the first. This forces the user to end up choosing between maybe one or two categories of car ( leaving the other redundant) . Overall superb though, grab some mates and have a festival of your own, this game and beer are meant for each other. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Owned this game for 3 months now.. Awesome game. Great graphics, Good control. Custom soundtracks. Photo mode. Looking forward to the next one..........
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    After awhile all games get boring. Onine is fun and fast and having played it afew nights ago against a friend in 2 player splitscreen and then 4 player splitscreen lastnight this game is the most satisfying racer ive played on any console so far.
    Its fully deserving of a ten but i could'nt get the notch above the panel to hit the ten mark stupid website.
    10/10.
    Now to go an buy Apocalypse!
  8. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    Im way late on this game, but I LOVE it. I think the racing is great, graphics are wonderful, music is good, online play is a blast, and overall the whole game is excellent. I'm not sure why there are the negative reviews about graphics. To me the game has MANY hours of play before it becomes boring in the least. It isn't focused about immersing the player into car make-up etc, rather it's focus is putting you on a rig and racing. simple enough. Really enjoy the game and wish there were more that were similar to it. Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is a very fun, challenging and badass arcade racer from Evolution Studios. It improves on pretty much everything from the original. The best in the series.
  10. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    i am not much of a story mode guy (in this case its called a festival), so i dont really like it. but the free play is just awesome. if u're really angry, u take a bike or an ATV put up a bunch more as opponents, and punch them. this game rocks
  11. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    I played Pacific Rift after finishing M Apocalypse, and to my surprise I am enjoying over Pacific!
    Pacific Rift is far more beautiful graphically that apocalypse, the scenery is beautiful, the vehicles seem to be much more detailed than those of m Apocalypse, the gameplay is also more natural and fun conclusion: Pacific Rift, despite being older, is much better than Motorstorm Apocalypse
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    MotorStorm: Pacific Rift is a fantastic game. The racing style may seem crazy and arcadey at first glance, but in actual fact you have to drive very skillfully to gain good positions as the difficulty increases. Breaking, control and well utilized boosts are the keys to victory here. If you drive like a wild man, you'll soon end up in Respawn Central with a one-way ticket to last place. That said, the game still offers a glut of breakneck, crazy fun; punching riders off motorcycles, crushing buggies under the wheels of a monster truck, nudging other racers off the cliffs... Great stuff! The local multiplayer is also unbelievably good and playing split-screen with friends is an endless riot. Get a few players together who know their way around the game and... Oh yeah, it's party time! The graphics are also worth a mention in the 'That's Awesome' department too. Motorstorm is truly one of the best looking games on PS3. There isn't much to say about Pacific Rift in the negative, in fact the only things that spring to mind are; A: the overbearing soundtrack (just turn the volume down in the options). B: The minimalistic bare-bones online racing (a more pertinent and disappointing problem). But these problems in no way ruin the fun that Motorstorm delivers. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. 83
    A worthy follow-up to one of the PS3's early must-have titles. It fixes a lot of the outstanding issues from last time out, including offering many more tracks, and the course designs are fantastic. The vehicle mixes are sweet, and there are a ton of events to take on.
  2. 88
    It's the multiplayer that perhaps been given the most love since the last game.
  3. The core racing experience makes the misstep of celebrating failure rather than making the actual winning of races definable fun. [Dec 2008, p.90]