• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 198

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andyman
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Old-school gameplay meets next-gen technology, that's MotorStorm in a nutshell. Most of the time this is a good thing (tight gameplay should come before spiffy visuals, after all). The racing is insanely addictive and hair-rippingly frustrating all at the same time. It's Burnout on dirt, while requiring the technical skill of Gran Turismo. My only beef with the game is its lack Old-school gameplay meets next-gen technology, that's MotorStorm in a nutshell. Most of the time this is a good thing (tight gameplay should come before spiffy visuals, after all). The racing is insanely addictive and hair-rippingly frustrating all at the same time. It's Burnout on dirt, while requiring the technical skill of Gran Turismo. My only beef with the game is its lack of options - there really should be a Custom Race mode where you get to choose what track, what vehicle, and how many competitors you're racing against. Other than that, MotorStorm is the game PS3 owners have been waiting for. See you online! Expand
  2. NickWert
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Motorstorm is the start to the great exclusive gaming in Playstation 3. Those of you that played the demo, off the starting line of the race you can see the amazing graphics. Whether you crash or not you will see the awesome physics of the cars and how crashing into destructable things accually makes shortcuts through the race. Those of you who are not fans of Playstation 3 are missingMotorstorm is the start to the great exclusive gaming in Playstation 3. Those of you that played the demo, off the starting line of the race you can see the amazing graphics. Whether you crash or not you will see the awesome physics of the cars and how crashing into destructable things accually makes shortcuts through the race. Those of you who are not fans of Playstation 3 are missing out on this amazing game. Expand
  3. FPSMaster
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    Fun game but only for a short while. Nice music and nice graphics but they could look better. It almost looks like a high res version of older rally racing games on Xbox with better particel effects. Mud effects do no look realistic and neither do the crashes. They feel very "light"and have no weight to them and get really annoying after the game stops to show you your crash after the Fun game but only for a short while. Nice music and nice graphics but they could look better. It almost looks like a high res version of older rally racing games on Xbox with better particel effects. Mud effects do no look realistic and neither do the crashes. They feel very "light"and have no weight to them and get really annoying after the game stops to show you your crash after the 100th time making what become overly repetitive and boring races last even longer. Races are fun with some vehicles, a nightmare with others like the useless semi and motorcycles. The fun vehicles are too loose then the semis are just slow and pointless to have in a racing game. The motorcycles turn so sharply you will go back and fourth hitting everything trying to straighten them out. No replay value and boring online modes round out the package. The only reason to keep playing is to unlock other vehicles to race on the earth shattering 10 tracks (sarcasm obviously)This is the equivalent to Brute Force on Xbox. Too much hype, good graphics and gamplay so shallow you'll be bored with it in a couple of days. Rent it definitely because it is fun, but don't buy it. Sony has got to learn just like M$ did that a nice looking piece of **** still stinks and is still a piece of ****. Graphics wear off fast in this game then you're done with it. Expand
  4. TheGoat
    Mar 13, 2007
    7
    Motorstorm is fun, extremely fun at times, but it also has some very frustrating setbacks. Mainly, Load times. Load times are unacceptably long. Especially when chosing your vehicle. 20-30 seconds, just to pick a vehicle! It's nuts, really. Loading up the game also takes a bit as well. The Blu-ray drive seems quite slow :( The physics of the game can be frustrating as well. The Motorstorm is fun, extremely fun at times, but it also has some very frustrating setbacks. Mainly, Load times. Load times are unacceptably long. Especially when chosing your vehicle. 20-30 seconds, just to pick a vehicle! It's nuts, really. Loading up the game also takes a bit as well. The Blu-ray drive seems quite slow :( The physics of the game can be frustrating as well. The smallest change in the terrain, and you're rolling over. Collision is wonky too. Certain areas of the tracks' cause you to wreck, that don't look as if they should. Online mode is about as bare bones as you can get. The lobby system is terrible. You have to enter a room to see if it's joinable. Most of the time, the room has already begun a race. I'm hoping they will patch this to filter out races in progress, and only leave the rooms that are idle (not in the "preparing") stage. Graphically, the game looks great when it's flying by at top speed, but when you slow down, and really look at it, it doesn't look to great. The good thing is, the racing part of Motorstorm is still fantastic, despite the physics/collision problems. Sequel should be an amazing piece of work. Looking forward to it! Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    a very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it cana very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it can feel abit off the wall. theres not alot of track variation . you will basically be racing in canyon and sand on every track. its a fun game online and playing it on my 100" HD projector makes it look even more insane . its a good racing game but its no gran turismo. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    i like this game quite a bit because it has pretty good graphics, awsome music that works with a raceing game, the maps are well thought out and have lots of detail and finally it is only on PS3. what this game is lacking though is a story mode of some kind and the ability to buy the cars not just have them gifted to you once you reach a certain amount of points but besides those this gamei like this game quite a bit because it has pretty good graphics, awsome music that works with a raceing game, the maps are well thought out and have lots of detail and finally it is only on PS3. what this game is lacking though is a story mode of some kind and the ability to buy the cars not just have them gifted to you once you reach a certain amount of points but besides those this game is top notch and is a must have Expand
  7. KeithL.
    Jul 6, 2007
    4
    I haven't seen a racing game this shallow since the Atari days.
  8. pwnedU
    Jul 19, 2007
    4
    More like motordrizzle.
  9. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    The graphics are outstanding but to be truthful, there didn't seem to be any motivation to make the player want to keep going. The random races didn't hold my attention.
  10. ssss
    Jan 11, 2007
    0
    The graphics suck. They look like PS2 graphics, the dust, the physics, the car models, everyhing. And the PS3 doesn't even have rumble. I mean come on, this is an off-road racer where you're supposed to feel the off road but there's no rumble. And it looks terrible, as bad as Excite Truck on the Wii, but the PS3 is supposed to be a gazillion times more powerful. And Excite The graphics suck. They look like PS2 graphics, the dust, the physics, the car models, everyhing. And the PS3 doesn't even have rumble. I mean come on, this is an off-road racer where you're supposed to feel the off road but there's no rumble. And it looks terrible, as bad as Excite Truck on the Wii, but the PS3 is supposed to be a gazillion times more powerful. And Excite Truck at least has speed, MotorStorm is sooooooo slow it's barely playable. Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This single-handedly justified my early PS3 purchased. So many nights of moving through those awesome menus and into races so intense (and perhaps a little too difficult), that is was an entirely new experience.
  12. GazT.
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    Brilliant game & anyone who has only played it for 10 minutes HAS NOT seen everything the game has to offer! And as for the ps2 game with pretty graphics get real what is there that looks or plays like this on the ps2 - now. Got a PS3 get it its wicked!
  13. Limanima
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    This game is awsome. I dont uderstand some of the bad reviews this game has. It has amazing graphics, and a fantastic gameplay. What else a gamer wants? Calling mediocre to Motorstorm (Hardcore Gamer Magazine)? This comments must be from some XBox fanboy.
  14. TonyB.
    Feb 18, 2007
    6
    I own the Asian version which is stripped down without online multiplayer and limited gamemodes. Motostorm does have nice graphics, including some excellent vehicle models, and realistic physics but some of the backgrounds are a little bland with low res textures. My main complaint of the game is how slow if feels at 30fps, it really does feel at times like you are barely moving. (Xbox I own the Asian version which is stripped down without online multiplayer and limited gamemodes. Motostorm does have nice graphics, including some excellent vehicle models, and realistic physics but some of the backgrounds are a little bland with low res textures. My main complaint of the game is how slow if feels at 30fps, it really does feel at times like you are barely moving. (Xbox 360, Ps3, Wii, PC owner) Expand
  15. Justarius
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    I think it's sad Xbox fanboys would take the time to come on here and vote a low score. The game isn't even out yet but they know this title will kill hence the votes. However, for those of us lucky enough to play the demo, it is fantastic! I rate this game 10 just on the 2 levels/2 vehicles I've played. Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all I think it's sad Xbox fanboys would take the time to come on here and vote a low score. The game isn't even out yet but they know this title will kill hence the votes. However, for those of us lucky enough to play the demo, it is fantastic! I rate this game 10 just on the 2 levels/2 vehicles I've played. Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all time and perhaps best racing title, period. Any doubters, just go to a friends house and play the demo for 10 minutes. Any true gamer regardless of console preference will love it despite being a hated PS3 title (just like Halo/Gears of War are excellent titles even if you hate the 360). Note: The Japan Import is NOT the full game. The US/Euro release will have multiplayer, more modes, more polish, etc. Most of the Cons you will read about are for the Japan release only (and they will get an update once the full game is out). Trust me, PLAY THIS GAME! Expand
  16. SladeW.
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    This is the funnest racing games I have ever played a must buy.
  17. DavidW.
    Mar 8, 2007
    6
    I played this a month ago at the Game On exhibition in London. Even though I got 10 minutes at most on it, I felt I'd already got everything the game had to offer. It plays like countless other racing games with nothing innovative at all. It felt like playing a PS2, with nicer graphics. The cut-scenes of destruction quickly got boring, and felt they'd been forced in to show off I played this a month ago at the Game On exhibition in London. Even though I got 10 minutes at most on it, I felt I'd already got everything the game had to offer. It plays like countless other racing games with nothing innovative at all. It felt like playing a PS2, with nicer graphics. The cut-scenes of destruction quickly got boring, and felt they'd been forced in to show off the graphics. The graphics are very nice, though this isn't probably the best kind of game to show them off. The game being in HD was the biggest change, and that's really what it feels like, a PS2 in HD. Nothing new. Expand
  18. RenegadeS.
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    Astonishing game. Truly next-gen graphics, great physics models, awesome scenery, and different vehicles that really feel different. Those who say it's so slow must've been driving the big-rigs, which are meant to be like that. Get yourself a bike though and it flies along at light-speed - exactly how it should be.
  19. NickG.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    An exceptionally fun driving game, that's worst flaw is the limited number of tracks. Worth playing.
  20. DonksB
    Feb 15, 2008
    3
    This game could and should be so much better. It starts off really well but then the maps just become repetitive and it takes a ridiculously long time from dying to re-spawn. The AI is a big disappointment, after a while you realize that only the vehicles in front of you are racing, once you pass them the game keeps them in suspended animation directly behind you which means that when you This game could and should be so much better. It starts off really well but then the maps just become repetitive and it takes a ridiculously long time from dying to re-spawn. The AI is a big disappointment, after a while you realize that only the vehicles in front of you are racing, once you pass them the game keeps them in suspended animation directly behind you which means that when you make a mistake you go from first to last place almost instantly. This is proven by looking at the times when you finish, if you finish say 3rd then the two in front may be a few seconds in front but everyone behind you is within one second of your time. This becomes a real problem when you get to level four maps as most of the other vehicles are not actually racing, they are just trying to knock you off so others can race pass, to the extent that the games just becomes pointless and irritating. Expand
  21. EBiddle
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    The most fun I have had with a racing game in quite some time! I am blown away with the visuals, and the realistic crashing is beyond words. A must-have for any racing fan!
  22. Kev
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    Played the demo at my friend's house. Fantastic game. I will buy a PS3 in March for this game alone. The graphics are ridiculously good, especially on a HiDef TV. The 1st time I went over a cliff I actually felt vertigo. The 1st two comments are from people who never played the game or are blind. Nothing on the PS2 comes close to this. The backgrounds are photo-realistic. I will Played the demo at my friend's house. Fantastic game. I will buy a PS3 in March for this game alone. The graphics are ridiculously good, especially on a HiDef TV. The 1st time I went over a cliff I actually felt vertigo. The 1st two comments are from people who never played the game or are blind. Nothing on the PS2 comes close to this. The backgrounds are photo-realistic. I will agree that it badly needs rumble but that is by no means a deal breaker. 9/10 for me. It loses 1 point for lack of rumble. Sweet game! Expand
  23. Justarius
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    This game is fantastic! Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all time and perhaps best racing title, period. The graphics, racing engine and especially the physics are all stellar. Sure it could use more tracks... but what it lacks in variety it more than makes up for with the quality of these 3 key components. Any doubters, play it on your friend's PS3 This game is fantastic! Without a doubt it ranks up there with the best offroad racers of all time and perhaps best racing title, period. The graphics, racing engine and especially the physics are all stellar. Sure it could use more tracks... but what it lacks in variety it more than makes up for with the quality of these 3 key components. Any doubters, play it on your friend's PS3 for 10 minutes and you will love it regardless of your console preference and despite it being a hated PS3 title (just like Halo/Gears of War are excellent titles even if you hate the 360). Trust me, PLAY THIS GAME! Expand
  24. JakeM.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This game is great especially the graphics incredible this game is pretty hard not like crazy hard but pretty hard but a lot of fun u can have a bigrig,buggy,rally car,dirt bike,and a trophy truck,also a sand rail type thing. crashing is fun too every little piece just fly around like real life a must buy.
  25. JulianT.
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    Yes, it only has 8 tracks, so what? have you ever seen anything look so good before? This game is real fun playing solo, but the real fun starts online, it is awesome. If you have a PS3, you have to get this game period.
  26. HamiduB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    6
    Game looks solid and all but come on, it's one of the shallowest(if there's a word like that) racing games I have ever seen, I just can't believe people rating it high like 8 0r 9 out of 10, its just too ridiculous. With limited environments and no multiplayer mode except online, I think it's better to rent the game than buy it.
  27. SteveM.
    May 14, 2007
    5
    Graphically wonderful - the gameplay is very shallow but not particularly addictive to make up for it. Where are the decent PS3 titles?
  28. ps3beat
    May 2, 2007
    9
    WOW! pure race action with the best nexgen graphics ever. innovative gameplay and tracks. Online-Mode will be better with 1.2 Update - but we want more tracks, more tracks !!!
  29. Steaky
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    Great off road action. Its more realistic than Xcitetruck, so yeah its 'slower'. Off road racing is like that though :P Still its great fun, good sound and graphics (frame rate is fine, I dont notice it being too low). Online works well also. I love the motion steering, adds a lot more realism. Only issue is there is no voice chat in the online play.
  30. ThomasLord
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing from start to finish. The graphics are sublime, the physics are spot on and the damage is like no other game, utterly fantastic!
  31. MichaelT.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    This is a great game for the PS3. The graphics are nice, and while the options are limited, I have played the tracks over and over and have not gotten tired of it. The tracks are expansive and the A.I. gets better and better as you progress through the single player mode. The online play definitely adds another dimension. I read the reviews before playing, and I thought that I would not This is a great game for the PS3. The graphics are nice, and while the options are limited, I have played the tracks over and over and have not gotten tired of it. The tracks are expansive and the A.I. gets better and better as you progress through the single player mode. The online play definitely adds another dimension. I read the reviews before playing, and I thought that I would not end up liking it, but so far, I have been pleasantly surprised. I think this game is a great addition to the PS3 family. If it weren't for the limited options and offline multiplayer this game would be deserving of a 10! Expand
  32. IanI.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    Game is epic, I'm not generally the racing game type, you won't see me buying a Motorcross game on any normal ocation. But this game is amazing (and no I don't mean that on simply a graphical scale), the gameplay is like burnout at its best with a distinct next gen flavor. The singleplayer is incredibly fun, though like everyone has noticed, more gameplay modes and other Game is epic, I'm not generally the racing game type, you won't see me buying a Motorcross game on any normal ocation. But this game is amazing (and no I don't mean that on simply a graphical scale), the gameplay is like burnout at its best with a distinct next gen flavor. The singleplayer is incredibly fun, though like everyone has noticed, more gameplay modes and other extra features should be added. My only real beef with this title is no splitscreen. Its a racing game without any splitscreen (online or offline) and it realy hurts it. Other than that the game is pretty near perfect. Expand
  33. HaoY.
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    Motor Storm brings to the PS3 some much needed bragging rights for its owners. Sure Motor Storm might be pretty bare bones when it boils down to the limited number of tracks, play modes, and features, but through its limitations, Motor Storm still manages to bring about a staggering package of addicting gameplay for not only racing fans, but just about anyone who enjoys carnage and mayhem Motor Storm brings to the PS3 some much needed bragging rights for its owners. Sure Motor Storm might be pretty bare bones when it boils down to the limited number of tracks, play modes, and features, but through its limitations, Motor Storm still manages to bring about a staggering package of addicting gameplay for not only racing fans, but just about anyone who enjoys carnage and mayhem at incredible speeds. Sure, there will be the naysayers that will argue that 59.99 is just too much for this "empty" shell of a game, but I'll be with the proud group of people that will proclaim, "I have experienced Motor Storm, and it was good!" All in all, I'd give this game a 8.7, and yes, this is a must-own game for anyone who has a PS3. Collapse
  34. McShaneO
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    The environments are gorgeous and the racing intense, this will make due until great games like this come out for the PS3.
  35. TobyH.
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    The game lacks depth in the single player mode, though in reality is there to enhance your ability and to unlock cars. The online play is its strength, it plays magnificently and having played around 300 races online I can tell you its addictive. The game is pure class and lets hope its sign of things to come.
  36. SYC
    May 17, 2007
    9
    A visually stunning game to be sure, but also a suprisingly deep and addictive racing game that captures the excitement of Burnout, puts it in the world of off road racing and requires a lot more skill. Best of all, Motorstorm is the first off road racing game to really 'nail it' and is certainly the best one ever made by a mile.
  37. DarrenS.
    May 5, 2007
    5
    Once you have played the first few levels you have seen all the game has to offer. Eye candy over game play
  38. LeonL.
    Mar 19, 2008
    8
    It is fun to play initially. When it goes to level 3, it's getting unfair to compete with the computers. Online playing is the most valuable feature. However, I'm facing connection problem sometimes. No doubt it is one of the best graphic for PS3 games so far.
  39. Sauce
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Really good. Sure its not perfect, and more tracks would be nice, but the downloads are a steady stream of content while the package by itself is worthy of your time. Splitscreen in Motorstorm 2 please.
  40. DanielN.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    The user rating for this game has suffered quite a lot from xbox 360 fanboys. The game looks great and is real fun to play, the online is quite good as well. Only one flaw with the game is that their is no splitscreen however if the player really wasn't splitscreen then they should get the Japanese version... the PS3 is multiregional!
  41. NickA.
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I imported the Japanese version of Motorstorm, and I am very disappointed with this game! The thing that really disappoints me is that the North American and European versions will not improve the graphics in any way. The backgrounds in this game almost look like a PS2 game, rather than a PS3 game. Playing an off-road racing game like this without being able to feel the games controller I imported the Japanese version of Motorstorm, and I am very disappointed with this game! The thing that really disappoints me is that the North American and European versions will not improve the graphics in any way. The backgrounds in this game almost look like a PS2 game, rather than a PS3 game. Playing an off-road racing game like this without being able to feel the games controller rumble or vibrate in your hands makes it so the whole experience is absolutely ruined! Expand
  42. ChristopherS.
    Dec 15, 2007
    8
    If your looking for a game to show off the power of the PS3 this is the one. Probably one of the finest looking racing games ever made and that alone is reason enough to buy it. The game play isn't bad either, with a sophisticated physics model and challenging, almost to the point of frustrating, rival AI. Evolution studios has done a commendable job. I hope they're hard at work If your looking for a game to show off the power of the PS3 this is the one. Probably one of the finest looking racing games ever made and that alone is reason enough to buy it. The game play isn't bad either, with a sophisticated physics model and challenging, almost to the point of frustrating, rival AI. Evolution studios has done a commendable job. I hope they're hard at work producing their next WRC title. Expand
  43. MichaelJ.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    This game is unique in that it features 15 vehicles on screen all going at it furiously. The end result is unique and reasonably chaotic! The game also has one of the finest graphics and physics engine I've seen, next to Half Life 2 and Rainbow six Vegas!
  44. TwinkieD
    Jan 27, 2007
    4
    This game DOES have extremely awesome graphics, but the pace of the game is just so EXTREMELY SLOW, it ruins the fun. It felt like I was hauling an invisible mobile home in the back. I dunno, maybe im just playing too much Excite Truck.
  45. JeffA.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Do not believe the average ratings. Motorstorm is a must have game for the PS3. The graphics are 1010 and the gameplay is totally addictive. This game is worth buying a PS3 for.
  46. DaveA.
    Mar 17, 2007
    8
    Wow! Finally something different! This game is fun to play . If you are tired of the same old racing type games--than this one is for you.Limited tracks do hinder this title,but gameplay and a full six axis control feature make this game a solid one. And yes it is even fun enough for your little sister/brother.
  47. AdamS.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    Graphic's are the best I've seen the tracks are wicked gameplay is good with SIXAXIS and online well I haven't tried yet but I sure will do!!!
  48. SergioK.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    This is the first time I give game a 10. I owe 360 and a PS3, so far it's the best game I played in a long time. Good graphics, good gameplay, awesome multiplayer. Nothing like a bike race at the canyon - huge adrenalin rush.
  49. SuleimanM
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    At the end of the day, Motorstorm is a satisfying racer. The graphics are great, the gameplay is awesome, and the online is smooth. Although a bit lacking in features, Motorstorm satisfies nonetheless. If you're looking for a racer with great physics, some nice single player and multiplayer, then look no further, Motorstorm fits the bill.
  50. JoshuaB.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Xbox fanboys have ruined the user score. It sure is a shame when Motorstorm is one of the best racing games I've ever played. Actually, wrong, It is THE BEST. This game has the best graphics a racing game could produce, with absolutely INCREDIBLE mud physics. Sure, it is a bit hard at the start, but you can get used to it, and then you suddenly become addicted. Oh, and I forgot, Xbox fanboys have ruined the user score. It sure is a shame when Motorstorm is one of the best racing games I've ever played. Actually, wrong, It is THE BEST. This game has the best graphics a racing game could produce, with absolutely INCREDIBLE mud physics. Sure, it is a bit hard at the start, but you can get used to it, and then you suddenly become addicted. Oh, and I forgot, there's a twist in the races. There's lots of different types of vehicles, and on some races you'll be able to choose from every class. On the map that you race on there's always things pointing out which class of vehicle should go which way. Say if you were a big truck. There was a ramp with a sign of a picture with a line through a truck. If you go on it, basically, your dead. Great game, I would reccomend it to anyone! (onlines a bit sore though, except for downloadable content, that's great right now). Expand
  51. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    I have owned this game forever. When I first got a PS3 and this game, I thought it had the most amazing graphics and gameplay ever. Now a couple years later.....................that has all changed. This game has awesome gameplay and that is about it. The graphics are still good, but the framerate is absolutely horrible. The framerate is about 15-21 fps while racing and because the PS3I have owned this game forever. When I first got a PS3 and this game, I thought it had the most amazing graphics and gameplay ever. Now a couple years later.....................that has all changed. This game has awesome gameplay and that is about it. The graphics are still good, but the framerate is absolutely horrible. The framerate is about 15-21 fps while racing and because the PS3 can't put out the power to play this game decently, they did not add split screen, which was a huge disappointment for me. Overall it is an ok game with a now dead mulitplayer (15 players max online), great graphics, but a horrible framerate game that's motion blur makes it seem ok. Expand
  52. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    Motorstorm is really one of the more funny arcade racing game. The online modality is so fun, cause the "recovery" helps the last drivers to gains positions. So the race is ever so exciting. The Festival isn't so long and not even so various, but the possibility of use car, motor bike, pick up and tir is a guarantee. You're are advised!
  53. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    Great racing game of 2007, and it's still fun now. I remember when the online servers were still up, I would have a blast online. Shame the servers are gone now, (hence the 7). But the singleplayer is still worth your time. It's quite lengthy too. Buy this game it's really cheap now. Plus, you still have tracks as DLC which are still on the PS Store, and for a low price.
  54. Dec 13, 2011
    5
    Very much hyped, the PS3 racing title. This was my first game on playstation but considering the standards I disagree with the hype and some high ratings. Graphics are very good even todays standards. And the races have some nice shortcuts. But after that this isn't so good. Few reasons. 1) laggy menus 2) NO split-screen?? 3) dull single-player campaign. Online was OK but there was onlyVery much hyped, the PS3 racing title. This was my first game on playstation but considering the standards I disagree with the hype and some high ratings. Graphics are very good even todays standards. And the races have some nice shortcuts. But after that this isn't so good. Few reasons. 1) laggy menus 2) NO split-screen?? 3) dull single-player campaign. Online was OK but there was only like 1-2 players in 2010 so don't buy this as your online racing anymore. The best fact about this game is maybe that it's very cheap, so if you are low on money, it isn't total garbage. Expand
  55. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    It looks great and seems fun, but there's not much fun to be had. This kind of racing game would benefit a lot if there could be damage to the cars like in flatout but there's none off that. Becaue of all the different kind off cars there's not much interactivitivy with other players, which is a pity for a game like this.
  56. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    this game is so boring the racing isnt fun and the graphics are bad unless you go into view mode where it shows the true potential of the ps3 with beautiful scenery the in game graphics are bad and there is nothing that seperates this from other games other then the fact that it sucks
  57. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    Granted this was one of the first games for PS3, but I still found it pretty overrated.

    The Good: The graphics are absolutely stunning. The overall idea of different surfaces and different vehicles and taking the right path is pretty different. The levels aren't just a straight linear path like pretty much all other racing games I've played. The Bad: I found the heavier vehicles to
    Granted this was one of the first games for PS3, but I still found it pretty overrated.

    The Good: The graphics are absolutely stunning. The overall idea of different surfaces and different vehicles and taking the right path is pretty different. The levels aren't just a straight linear path like pretty much all other racing games I've played.

    The Bad: I found the heavier vehicles to be considerably better. The bike and other lightweights are just all over the place. The game's overall design is pretty old school. The different class of vehicles handle drastically different but the vehicles within the class are the same; you are just picking for the looks. Professional reviews say that they love the handling. I did not. I could not get used to the learning curve even after two hours. There are only a few levels. There is no sense of accomplishment like upgrades or anything. This game feels like an arcade game you'd find in a restaurant. Not even a patch for trophies which would provide a little bit of accomplishment. It's fun for a few hours, but then gets boring and repetitive pretty quickly. You can pick this game up used for $2 at Gamestop. For that price, there is no reason not to get it if you are relatively into racing/atv/rally type games.
    Expand
  58. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Motorstorm is a beautiful game that performs just as well. Taking place through the course of one crazy son of a **** racing event. While its a bit annoying that you are forced into certain vehicles for certain races force you in some of the worse of the vehicles it overall is a great game.
  59. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    7-Presentation; Average menu's and no story.
    10-Graphics; Excellent
    10-Sound; Excellent
    10-Game play; Excellent levels, mechanics, controls, and AI.
    6-Lasting value; Limited maps and vehicles.
    Overall-8.5/10
  60. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    This game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absentThis game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absent is the option for local multiplayer. Expand
  61. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    Motorstorm: Monument Valley. Truly the world's most brutal off-road racing game, and possibly one of the best off-road racing games of our generation.

    Graphics are not the strong point of this game, but gameplay is. All vehicles are well designed as-well as the tracks.
  62. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    Motorstorm is one of the few racing games I like, others being NFS Most Wanted(first one), Fuel, and NFS Undercover. Very visceral feeling, fun, arcade racer. Now it is only $0.89 for a used copy, very worth it.
  63. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Beyond my memories and nostalgia of this game, this game succeeded in every aspect and set an extremely high bar for graphics and intuitive racing gameplay at the time when it was released. This is a game where you can buy it and can't stop playing it!
  64. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    Even though I'm not really into racing games, I loved this one from the very beginning. Graphic style really suits me, a variety of tracks, surfaces and vehicles let you play the game multiple times without getting bored, the difficulty level is quite challenging, and you need to think strategically and choose right ways for your vehicle every time. A pity there are no trophies, but that'sEven though I'm not really into racing games, I loved this one from the very beginning. Graphic style really suits me, a variety of tracks, surfaces and vehicles let you play the game multiple times without getting bored, the difficulty level is quite challenging, and you need to think strategically and choose right ways for your vehicle every time. A pity there are no trophies, but that's just a minor disadvantage. Expand
  65. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Motorstorm is pretty much the best off-road driving simulation ever to grace a console. The physics are so accurate, yet altered for arcade like effect, and feel so right that the development team must have had at least a couple Physics PhD’s on staff to pull off such a feat. [JPN Import]
  2. One of Motorstorm's big successes is that it demands of you things that other racers don't even bother to ask. You'll have to learn every nook and cranny of the terrain before you can drive around courses with confidence. [JPN Import]
  3. Tough, dynamic racing. A blistering thrill ride that makes good on PlayStation 3's promises. [JPN Import; Jan 2007, p.58]