MotorStorm PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 201

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    Motorstorm: Monument Valley. Truly the world's most brutal off-road racing game, and possibly one of the best off-road racing games of our generation.

    Graphics are not the strong point of this game, but gameplay is. All vehicles are well designed as-well as the tracks.
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    7
    Great racing game of 2007, and it's still fun now. I remember when the online servers were still up, I would have a blast online. Shame the servers are gone now, (hence the 7). But the singleplayer is still worth your time. It's quite lengthy too. Buy this game it's really cheap now. Plus, you still have tracks as DLC which are still on the PS Store, and for a low price.
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    It looks great and seems fun, but there's not much fun to be had. This kind of racing game would benefit a lot if there could be damage to the cars like in flatout but there's none off that. Becaue of all the different kind off cars there's not much interactivitivy with other players, which is a pity for a game like this.
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    Granted this was one of the first games for PS3, but I still found it pretty overrated.

    The Good: The graphics are absolutely stunning. The overall idea of different surfaces and different vehicles and taking the right path is pretty different. The levels aren't just a straight linear path like pretty much all other racing games I've played. The Bad: I found the heavier vehicles to
    Granted this was one of the first games for PS3, but I still found it pretty overrated.

    The Good: The graphics are absolutely stunning. The overall idea of different surfaces and different vehicles and taking the right path is pretty different. The levels aren't just a straight linear path like pretty much all other racing games I've played.

    The Bad: I found the heavier vehicles to be considerably better. The bike and other lightweights are just all over the place. The game's overall design is pretty old school. The different class of vehicles handle drastically different but the vehicles within the class are the same; you are just picking for the looks. Professional reviews say that they love the handling. I did not. I could not get used to the learning curve even after two hours. There are only a few levels. There is no sense of accomplishment like upgrades or anything. This game feels like an arcade game you'd find in a restaurant. Not even a patch for trophies which would provide a little bit of accomplishment. It's fun for a few hours, but then gets boring and repetitive pretty quickly. You can pick this game up used for $2 at Gamestop. For that price, there is no reason not to get it if you are relatively into racing/atv/rally type games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    This game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absentThis game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absent is the option for local multiplayer. Collapse
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    5
    Very much hyped, the PS3 racing title. This was my first game on playstation but considering the standards I disagree with the hype and some high ratings. Graphics are very good even todays standards. And the races have some nice shortcuts. But after that this isn't so good. Few reasons. 1) laggy menus 2) NO split-screen?? 3) dull single-player campaign. Online was OK but there was onlyVery much hyped, the PS3 racing title. This was my first game on playstation but considering the standards I disagree with the hype and some high ratings. Graphics are very good even todays standards. And the races have some nice shortcuts. But after that this isn't so good. Few reasons. 1) laggy menus 2) NO split-screen?? 3) dull single-player campaign. Online was OK but there was only like 1-2 players in 2010 so don't buy this as your online racing anymore. The best fact about this game is maybe that it's very cheap, so if you are low on money, it isn't total garbage. Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    a very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it cana very acrade feeling racing game . you will feel like you should pump qaurters into your ps3 to play. its a fun game with a nice variry of different types of vehicles but realistically you only have 5 types of vehicles and the other variations of the vehicles are the same besides new skins on it. the physiscs can be strange at time and wierd things will happen when you are racing it can feel abit off the wall. theres not alot of track variation . you will basically be racing in canyon and sand on every track. its a fun game online and playing it on my 100" HD projector makes it look even more insane . its a good racing game but its no gran turismo. Expand
  9. Sep 15, 2010
    6
    I have owned this game forever. When I first got a PS3 and this game, I thought it had the most amazing graphics and gameplay ever. Now a couple years later.....................that has all changed. This game has awesome gameplay and that is about it. The graphics are still good, but the framerate is absolutely horrible. The framerate is about 15-21 fps while racing and because the PS3I have owned this game forever. When I first got a PS3 and this game, I thought it had the most amazing graphics and gameplay ever. Now a couple years later.....................that has all changed. This game has awesome gameplay and that is about it. The graphics are still good, but the framerate is absolutely horrible. The framerate is about 15-21 fps while racing and because the PS3 can't put out the power to play this game decently, they did not add split screen, which was a huge disappointment for me. Overall it is an ok game with a now dead mulitplayer (15 players max online), great graphics, but a horrible framerate game that's motion blur makes it seem ok. Expand
  10. SteveM.
    May 14, 2007
    5
    Graphically wonderful - the gameplay is very shallow but not particularly addictive to make up for it. Where are the decent PS3 titles?
  11. DarrenS.
    May 5, 2007
    5
    Once you have played the first few levels you have seen all the game has to offer. Eye candy over game play
  12. TheGoat
    Mar 13, 2007
    7
    Motorstorm is fun, extremely fun at times, but it also has some very frustrating setbacks. Mainly, Load times. Load times are unacceptably long. Especially when chosing your vehicle. 20-30 seconds, just to pick a vehicle! It's nuts, really. Loading up the game also takes a bit as well. The Blu-ray drive seems quite slow :( The physics of the game can be frustrating as well. The Motorstorm is fun, extremely fun at times, but it also has some very frustrating setbacks. Mainly, Load times. Load times are unacceptably long. Especially when chosing your vehicle. 20-30 seconds, just to pick a vehicle! It's nuts, really. Loading up the game also takes a bit as well. The Blu-ray drive seems quite slow :( The physics of the game can be frustrating as well. The smallest change in the terrain, and you're rolling over. Collision is wonky too. Certain areas of the tracks' cause you to wreck, that don't look as if they should. Online mode is about as bare bones as you can get. The lobby system is terrible. You have to enter a room to see if it's joinable. Most of the time, the room has already begun a race. I'm hoping they will patch this to filter out races in progress, and only leave the rooms that are idle (not in the "preparing") stage. Graphically, the game looks great when it's flying by at top speed, but when you slow down, and really look at it, it doesn't look to great. The good thing is, the racing part of Motorstorm is still fantastic, despite the physics/collision problems. Sequel should be an amazing piece of work. Looking forward to it! Expand
  13. HamiduB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    6
    Game looks solid and all but come on, it's one of the shallowest(if there's a word like that) racing games I have ever seen, I just can't believe people rating it high like 8 0r 9 out of 10, its just too ridiculous. With limited environments and no multiplayer mode except online, I think it's better to rent the game than buy it.
  14. FPSMaster
    Mar 8, 2007
    7
    Fun game but only for a short while. Nice music and nice graphics but they could look better. It almost looks like a high res version of older rally racing games on Xbox with better particel effects. Mud effects do no look realistic and neither do the crashes. They feel very "light"and have no weight to them and get really annoying after the game stops to show you your crash after the Fun game but only for a short while. Nice music and nice graphics but they could look better. It almost looks like a high res version of older rally racing games on Xbox with better particel effects. Mud effects do no look realistic and neither do the crashes. They feel very "light"and have no weight to them and get really annoying after the game stops to show you your crash after the 100th time making what become overly repetitive and boring races last even longer. Races are fun with some vehicles, a nightmare with others like the useless semi and motorcycles. The fun vehicles are too loose then the semis are just slow and pointless to have in a racing game. The motorcycles turn so sharply you will go back and fourth hitting everything trying to straighten them out. No replay value and boring online modes round out the package. The only reason to keep playing is to unlock other vehicles to race on the earth shattering 10 tracks (sarcasm obviously)This is the equivalent to Brute Force on Xbox. Too much hype, good graphics and gamplay so shallow you'll be bored with it in a couple of days. Rent it definitely because it is fun, but don't buy it. Sony has got to learn just like M$ did that a nice looking piece of **** still stinks and is still a piece of ****. Graphics wear off fast in this game then you're done with it. Expand
  15. DavidW.
    Mar 8, 2007
    6
    I played this a month ago at the Game On exhibition in London. Even though I got 10 minutes at most on it, I felt I'd already got everything the game had to offer. It plays like countless other racing games with nothing innovative at all. It felt like playing a PS2, with nicer graphics. The cut-scenes of destruction quickly got boring, and felt they'd been forced in to show off I played this a month ago at the Game On exhibition in London. Even though I got 10 minutes at most on it, I felt I'd already got everything the game had to offer. It plays like countless other racing games with nothing innovative at all. It felt like playing a PS2, with nicer graphics. The cut-scenes of destruction quickly got boring, and felt they'd been forced in to show off the graphics. The graphics are very nice, though this isn't probably the best kind of game to show them off. The game being in HD was the biggest change, and that's really what it feels like, a PS2 in HD. Nothing new. Expand
  16. TonyB.
    Feb 18, 2007
    6
    I own the Asian version which is stripped down without online multiplayer and limited gamemodes. Motostorm does have nice graphics, including some excellent vehicle models, and realistic physics but some of the backgrounds are a little bland with low res textures. My main complaint of the game is how slow if feels at 30fps, it really does feel at times like you are barely moving. (Xbox I own the Asian version which is stripped down without online multiplayer and limited gamemodes. Motostorm does have nice graphics, including some excellent vehicle models, and realistic physics but some of the backgrounds are a little bland with low res textures. My main complaint of the game is how slow if feels at 30fps, it really does feel at times like you are barely moving. (Xbox 360, Ps3, Wii, PC owner) Expand
  17. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absentThis game offers some very stunning visuals along with an awesome soundtrack and realistic physics and sound effects, but beyond that I found it didn't have much to offer. The game is sorely lacking in customizations and upgrades to your vehicles, the variety of tracks is rather limited, and the campaign is a tedious repetition of the same few tracks over and over. Also noticeably absent is the option for local multiplayer. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Motorstorm is pretty much the best off-road driving simulation ever to grace a console. The physics are so accurate, yet altered for arcade like effect, and feel so right that the development team must have had at least a couple Physics PhD’s on staff to pull off such a feat. [JPN Import]
  2. One of Motorstorm's big successes is that it demands of you things that other racers don't even bother to ask. You'll have to learn every nook and cranny of the terrain before you can drive around courses with confidence. [JPN Import]
  3. Tough, dynamic racing. A blistering thrill ride that makes good on PlayStation 3's promises. [JPN Import; Jan 2007, p.58]