MX vs. ATV Alive PlayStation 3

Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    80
    MX vs. ATV Alive is a blast to play. The controls are perfect, the gameplay is engaging thanks to the collision system, and the vehicles, riders, and tracks all look great – not to mention one of the best online racing experiences this year. It's a shame that these elements are packaged into such a bare-bones game. For $40, I can definitely recommend it to fans of the series. In the future, however, here's to hoping that THQ will take these same gameplay mechanics and build around them a full-fledged racing career experience.
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    80
    As a racer, it's an improvement over Reflex. [July 2011, p.94]
  3. May 14, 2011
    80
    This review might feel like a complaint towards THQ. It is but not entirely. Truth is: MX vs ATV Alive isn't only fun but also addictive and well-worth the $40 price of entrance. However, those who have been enjoying the heck out of Reflex will feel like someone punch them in the gut.
  4. May 23, 2011
    75
    What if this game did throw in a standard, nondescript career mode? Would it be worth the price then? What if everything was unlocked to start and it was the same low price? What if it had the career mode, all the unlockables, all the stuff you could get online, all the features ready to go, and even more game modes, all for the same low price? Well then we may be talking about a game that you would be crazy to pass up. Unfortunately that's not the game we have here.
  5. May 23, 2011
    75
    MX vs. ATV Alive is a mid-priced game with the most important elements of the preview parts. But for the ultimate experience you have to buy downloadable content. Besides of that MX vs. ATV Alive is a decent off the road racer with good handling and different events. Only the graphics aren't impressive.
  6. May 21, 2011
    75
    A noteworthy MX simulator which will entertain those who are not even fans of motorcycles, thanks to its thrilling and challenging races, although a bit short in content.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. May 12, 2011
    9
    Solid game. Although it has less content than previous games, the price definitely offsets that. As more of a casual gamer, I don't care aboutSolid game. Although it has less content than previous games, the price definitely offsets that. As more of a casual gamer, I don't care about a lot of deep content. I mainly want to race tracks and go online, and it offers that. The best part for me, however, is the Rider XP mode. Being able to level up and equip rider skills makes it a lot more engaging, and it'll be cool to use them online against other people. Hopefully more skills are coming via DLC Full Review »
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    I enjoyed Reflex, but this game is some Bull$hit. I just played it not only is it a ripoff because they gave like 2 1/2 new things in it, theI enjoyed Reflex, but this game is some Bull$hit. I just played it not only is it a ripoff because they gave like 2 1/2 new things in it, the game play is just bad. I give mx vs atv Alive a 3/10 Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    2
    I can't help playing this game and thinking "What it could have been" because the overall controls and mechanics are much improved and workI can't help playing this game and thinking "What it could have been" because the overall controls and mechanics are much improved and work really well BUT THQ decided that it would be a good idea to take out all the content from reflex. Now there's basically no game modes, vehicle types, or anything else for that matter. This game is basically a demo of Reflex. Full Review »