Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MX vs. ATV Alive is the newest title in this racing series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    80
    MX vs. ATV Alive is a blast to play. The controls are perfect, the gameplay is engaging thanks to the collision system, and the vehicles, riders, and tracks all look great – not to mention one of the best online racing experiences this year. It's a shame that these elements are packaged into such a bare-bones game. For $40, I can definitely recommend it to fans of the series. In the future, however, here's to hoping that THQ will take these same gameplay mechanics and build around them a full-fledged racing career experience.
  2. May 21, 2011
    75
    A noteworthy MX simulator which will entertain those who are not even fans of motorcycles, thanks to its thrilling and challenging races, although a bit short in content.
  3. May 30, 2011
    70
    The quality and low price and make this game worthy of at least a rental, if not a purchase, but if you're expecting more from your off-road racing title, go with MX vs. ATV Reflex for now and wait to see if there's enough content for this game to warrant a look.
  4. 65
    A thrilling and attractive racer, MX vs ATV: Alive is a fundamentally good game, but the serious lack of content and repetitive progression prevents it from being great.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    60
    MX vs. ATV Alive tries to address gamers in a new way, but succeeds only partially with this mission. The oddly chosen structure with experience points and the lack of a red line to follow, make playing the game feel more like doing chores, while the fun factor's supposed to have the upper hand. When the chores are done though, a decent motocross game shines through and the fun commences. Just don't expect a lot to have changed since its predecessor played the field.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    50
    MX vs ATV Alive has decent gameplay going for it, and though the controls and rider reflex mode can cause some head scratching moments, they rarely detract from a race's enjoyment. However, the big problem with the game is that there isn't much of it, and what little there is of it at the start must be completed over and over again far beyond the point of entertainment. Until you get those small nibbles of new content, MX vs ATV Alive is a grindfest.
  7. May 24, 2011
    25
    The only thing that can possibly be complimented with Alive would be a few vague ideas with the potential for fun; but grading on those alone is hardly enough. Whatever the game could have been is smothered in the dirt.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. May 10, 2011
    9
    I think this is the best MX vs ATV game to date. Game Informer is smoking some serious crack on this one! I just picked the game up about anI think this is the best MX vs ATV game to date. Game Informer is smoking some serious crack on this one! I just picked the game up about an hour ago and have to say it is outstanding and a complete blast. This game is so much more polished in every way than Reflex was. It sucks that Sony's netowrk is down- I wanna shread people online! Get with it Sony! Expand
  2. May 12, 2011
    9
    Solid game. Although it has less content than previous games, the price definitely offsets that. As more of a casual gamer, I don't care aboutSolid game. Although it has less content than previous games, the price definitely offsets that. As more of a casual gamer, I don't care about a lot of deep content. I mainly want to race tracks and go online, and it offers that. The best part for me, however, is the Rider XP mode. Being able to level up and equip rider skills makes it a lot more engaging, and it'll be cool to use them online against other people. Hopefully more skills are coming via DLC Expand
  3. May 15, 2011
    8
    Alive addresses many of the game breaking aspects of Reflex which makes for a better experience overall. You can now go bar to bar with otherAlive addresses many of the game breaking aspects of Reflex which makes for a better experience overall. You can now go bar to bar with other riders without crashing, the AI is competitive, the online works, the bike has traction through turns which means you can actually rail berms and the graphics are greatly improved. In typical THQ fashion they had to shoot themselves in the foot, however, with an idiotic rider that not only looks like a goon too big for his bike but also yells "yahoooo" and pumps his fist in the air after making a pass... No, I'm not making this up either... unfortunately. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    3
    I enjoyed Reflex, but this game is some Bull$hit. I just played it not only is it a ripoff because they gave like 2 1/2 new things in it, theI enjoyed Reflex, but this game is some Bull$hit. I just played it not only is it a ripoff because they gave like 2 1/2 new things in it, the game play is just bad. I give mx vs atv Alive a 3/10 Collapse
  5. May 11, 2011
    2
    Alive has taken stepS back from reflex. on reflex the rider was much better and had better control of the bike. he didnt look like a goon outAlive has taken stepS back from reflex. on reflex the rider was much better and had better control of the bike. he didnt look like a goon out there and a gorrilla riding the bike, it was to scale way better. and when you jump on this game it looks like you are going to go far then it slows you down in the air and makes you case jumps. the power of the bikes suck and the graphics are not as good either. and also sometimes when you jump the screen and everything moves and puts the bike back straight UNREAL, and scrubbing and whipping are not as good on reflex I know on reflex there is some out of control scrubs and whips but thats more real than the bike just moving sideways at least it looked more real. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2012
    2
    I can't help playing this game and thinking "What it could have been" because the overall controls and mechanics are much improved and workI can't help playing this game and thinking "What it could have been" because the overall controls and mechanics are much improved and work really well BUT THQ decided that it would be a good idea to take out all the content from reflex. Now there's basically no game modes, vehicle types, or anything else for that matter. This game is basically a demo of Reflex. Expand