Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations squeezes every ounce it can from the Naruto franchise and leverages it well, making it the perfect game for fans of the series. Fight fans may find its simplicity disappointing, but not without its charms.
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    80
    CyberConnect 2 knows how to please Naruto's huge fanbase and Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is the perfect example of how to create a great tie-in. The new features of the combat system grants an easy access to a wider group of players. Buy it if you like the original anime.
  3. May 15, 2012
    90
    Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is another great entry into the franchise based on the popular anime. With content from both previous installments and greatly improved flow of combat, thanks to some minor but incredibly welcome changes, it's better than ever. The outstanding audiovisual collaboration is as always the icing on the cake.
  4. Apr 18, 2012
    85
    More than 70 playable characters, some terrific graphics and amazing animations, Naruto Shippuden Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is a huge fan service fighting game and the most complete of the Ninja storm franchise.
  5. Apr 5, 2012
    88
    Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations offers enough new content and changes that fans of the previous two games will find plenty of reasons to upgrade to this version and newcomers to the series will find more than enough to keep themselves busy.
  6. Apr 3, 2012
    81
    Finally, Naruto's back on track. This is a great game for fans of the ultimate ninja, with a well-told story, smooth controls and a lot of variation. The awakening mode turns out to be an amazing addition to the established lore. A nice surprise overall.
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    80
    My main concern is with recommending it to people who already own Ultimate Ninja Storm 2, as I really don't know if enough has changed to warrant spending £40.
  8. 85
    Generations will bring you up to speed in a way that won't make you feel in over your head with the immense world of Naruto. Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations is a fighter that does a bit of double dipping, giving players a satisfying fighter with a moving story of youth and the changes that they can bring.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    85
    CyberConnect 2 made some changes compared to Ultimate Ninja Storm 2. There are no quick time events and no freely accessible areas anymore. Instead, awesome story-telling with never before shown anime material, a lot of fights and different characters – each with unique attacks – await.
  10. Mar 19, 2012
    78
    It's nice to see a developer and publisher team up to give dedicated fans what they want. If you aren't a Naruto fan this game won't make any difference to you, but if you are, there's an awful lot to enjoy here.
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    78
    Easily the best Naruto fighting game to come out to date.
  12. Mar 13, 2012
    85
    Hidden below the crazy, numerous battles are some very moving stories about kids trying to find their way in the world - and how their elders struggle to raise and protect them. The heart of the Naruto franchise is stunningly sincere - and somehow this game finds those points and shines a spotlight on them. Powerful stuff indeed.
  13. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    80
    It's easy to pick up, devilish to master. [June 2012, p.70]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    good game
    and naruto is king of ninja anime :)
    we need RPG game from namco bandai games plaessssssszzzzzzzz and we need RPG REAL RPG GAME
    good game
    and naruto is king of ninja anime :)
    we need RPG game from namco bandai games plaessssssszzzzzzzz and we need RPG REAL RPG GAME NARUTO ,,,,, :) PLAZZZZ OK
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Naruto UNSG is a welcome 2.5 edition to the series. Fans of the series will thoroughly enjoy this instalment in the series as a collection ofNaruto UNSG is a welcome 2.5 edition to the series. Fans of the series will thoroughly enjoy this instalment in the series as a collection of the entire character roster to date, plus many extras.
    With 72 playable characters, and 15 support, this game boasts the largest roster in any Naruto game.
    Cyber Connect 2 have showed time and time again that they are dedicated to keeping to the source material and this is portrayed in UNSG as well.

    This is a day-one purchase for me, and I strongly recommend it to other naruto fans. Though many of my friends who aren't even fans of the show still enjoy these games.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    All the characters fight the same so I doubt its 70+ characters. This game really was just a DLC. So instead of upsetting their fans theyAll the characters fight the same so I doubt its 70+ characters. This game really was just a DLC. So instead of upsetting their fans they decided to release this DLC just with new mechanics and voilà you have a new game. Not only were they cheap but they ruined the game with the new sub bar and the cancel system which seemingly turns this game into a game of cat and mouse. Whomever is the aggressor at the start of the game wins. It takes no skill at all. Each character only has 1 jutsu which is absurd. I can deal with the button mashing and the simplistic combos but at least give me the ability to do more than one jutsu. This game was a huge let down for me and I watch the anime and read the manga weekly. Hope CC2 can fix the problems. Full Review »