Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Big Mutha Truckers and Ferrari challenge developer is relaunching the racing series featuring the US's top stock-car circuit.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Apr 3, 2011
    78
    Overall a very good initial offering from Eutechnyx. Their Euro background definitely doesn't seem to be a handicap as they were able to translate the "feel" of driving one of these big, heavy cars to a rather effective degree.
  2. 70
    NASCAR 2011: The Game has its highs and its lows, and while the overall career mode is pretty shallow and the presentation can sometimes be quite inconsistent, the core gameplay, specifically the sense of immersion, is what will be bringing players back.
  3. But these are niggling issues; the franchise is moving up through the driving-game field and may finally be in contention for a podium position come next seasons. [June 2011, p.81]
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    It gets the job done, but NASCAR 2011 is a better reminder of the great old NASCAR games than it is a good game in its own right.
  5. Throw in spectacular crashes and the ability to rewind time to avoid them and even us Brits have something to enjoy. [Oct 2012, p.119]
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    60
    The real problems appear with both the wait times to actually get to a race and the glitched experience that emerges from the first wave of the green flag (if you're lucky enough to see it).
  7. May 10, 2011
    40
    For now, I'd pass on NASCAR 2011: The Game. The multiplayer is completely busted, and I'm a big fan of voting with your dollar. If you're a NASCAR fan, maybe you should let your vote be heard by not picking up this mess. For those of you who did, I really I hope that the patch delivers on the promised fixes because I'd be greatly upset if I had spent $60 on this.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    6
    Plus side: good car design feature. Lets you pick from hundreds of logos, shapes, text and sponsors to place on your customized car. Single player is fun for about one short race then it gets frustrating. Lower difficulties are too easy (good or bad depends on the way you look at it). Down side: To much loading between menus. The AI is unintelligent (computer drivers don't have any character and they follow each other like one long train). Pit sequence could be redone (if your within the pit commitment lines the screen initiates loading. I would like this to be more fluent with no loading times during the race). Bottom line is that I understand this is meant to be an arcade racing game but for those hardcore NASCAR fans I recommend just renting this one or staying away completely until price drops perhaps. Too many frustrating moments in this one. Collapse
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    1
    Let me just start by saying, I know this is Eutechnyx's first NASCAR game. But why put out a game that was only halfway through the development phase?
    Career: 2/10
    This could have been so much more. Career mode lacks depth and and a reward system, giving you no incentive to finish it at all, or play through again if you do slug through the snoozefest. Guess what else? There's only one season to this '"career mode". Enjoy!
    Graphics: 3/10
    From a distance, the cars look great. Go a little closer, however, and you see the ugly truth: Car decals and stickers are extremely pixelated at close range, and every driver has the exact same face model. If you enter the free-roam camera mode, you'll notice that the AI cars have every detail on them really blurred. Look into their drivers seat, and you can see that every one of them are in the same "turn car right" animation, and no matter how many races you play, they are always like this. Crashes are horrible: slam into a wall just a little, and your car will look like it was sheared in the side by a subway train. Opponents take absolutely no damage in this game, because, screw reality!
    Gameplay: 0/10.
    Too arcadish. AI drive like it's a game of follow the leader and never try to pass or avoid wrecks. They make no effort to challenge you; I can get a 3 sec lead in two laps!
    Online: N/A
    I never go online for racing games.
    Overall: 1/10
    A poor and shoddy experience that could have been so much more. Overall, a black
    flag for Eutechnyx.
    Expand

See all 3 User Reviews