Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    NBA fans will appreciate the accurate nuances and historical details of 2K11 while those less hardcore might be put off by the difficulty. Those people should play it with the Move.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    If you haven't yet understood that NBA 2K11 is THE most impressive team sport game of the moment, there's nothing more I can do for you. It's more comprehensive than ever; more refined in terms of atmosphere, animations, possibilities; to sum it up, we had never seen that before. The added bonus of Michael Jordan being included in the game is the cherry on the cake. You need this basket simulator.
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    96
    A precedent has been set, and there's no reason sports games should look back: NBA 2K11 is equally as impressive as it is important.
  4. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    The best basketball of all time, with no strings attached. Go out and buy it.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    95
    NBA 2K11 has managed to piece together the best parts of past basketball video games to create an experience that is immersive, rewarding, and novel. Though there are frustrations that mostly stem from the level of difficulty, these are changes for the better. Without the addition of Michael Jordan, this would have been a great basketball sim. Add MJ to the mix, and you've got a complete package that will satisfy any fan of the game.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    95
    Whilst the level of realism on show in NBA 2K11 may make the game sound a little daunting, what you have to remember is that this is in every way a basketball simulation for fans of the sport rather than a sports title for the casual sports game player.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    95
    The fact that 2K Sports did so much more with this game and improved it so greatly over last year's title is stunning. This isn't just the best basketball game ever; it's the best sports game of this generation.
  8. Oct 25, 2010
    94
    NBA 2K11 is the best basketball game ever. The game have top NBA stars performing like their real life counterparts based on distinct character types, a great gameplay with a strong AI and playing the games is very fun, especially Michael Jordan mode and Manager mode. Visual Concepts have improved everything from 2K10 and today NBA 2K11 is the only alternative to real basketball!
  9. Oct 20, 2010
    94
    Ultimately, NBA 2K11 brings a lot of freshness to the formula. The inclusion of Air Jordan, the improved dribbling and shot stick use, the ramped-up AI, and the TNT presentation means that there isn't much to dislike about NBA 2K11.
  10. Oct 20, 2010
    94
    A few things keeps NBA 2K11 from being an ultimate realization but there's no way a true basketball fan can overlook this.
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    93
    The best basketball game ever.
  12. Oct 25, 2010
    92
    This yearly update for the NBA 2K series has seen some marked improvements and is undoubtedly one of the best basketball games available on the market.
  13. Oct 22, 2010
    92
    The Association shows great statistical depth and nice opposing management AI, and My Player provides a long and in-depth journey from proving yourself in the combines, to the draft, and eventually to press conferences, playoffs and stardom.
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    92
    This is one game that should be on every sports fan's shelf.
  15. Jan 12, 2011
    91
    NBA 2K11 is a fantastic game, there is nothing wrong about the game and it contains all the content like last year. One new addition is the Michael Jordan Challenge, where you can play a few of the most important moments in his career. Every basketball fan has to buy this game.
  16. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    NBA 2k11 is amazing. It looks great and it offers depth that actually makes the game deeper. In other words, you can't just ignore the strategy of calling offensive plays in favor of jumping over and sprinting past the defense.
  17. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    Even if the chief competitor to 2K11 hadn't forfeited the showdown this year, it's hard to imagine a basketball game bringing a more complete, authentic, and fun game of pro basketball to the court than NBA 2K11 does.
  18. Hardcore lovers of the sport will relish the challenge, enjoy every throttling by the AI, and take their skills online. But there'll only be so many times basketball punters will endure this level of difficulty without reverting to Tourette-like hysterics. So yes, it's complex. And yes, the experience oscillates between sublime and diabolical between each game, but basketball is a complex sport. With such unparalleled presentation and unapologetic gameplay, this is likely the best basketball game ever. [December 2010 p76]
  19. Dec 22, 2010
    90
    If you are a basketball fan, get this game.
  20. Dec 22, 2010
    90
    The most accurately detailed sporting video game on the planet at this time. Make no mistake, NBA 2K11 is where amazing happens.
  21. Dec 22, 2010
    90
    The PS3 version of the game is also easily the most responsive and it also performs faster–probably due to the console's processor.
  22. Dec 22, 2010
    90
    NBA 2K11 is undeniably the best game in the series yet, pushing forward just enough without leaving behind the fans who fell in love with this version of NBA in the first place.
  23. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    2K Sports has really outdone themselves and everyone else.
  24. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    NBA 2K11 is a top contender for best sports game of 2011. There have been major improvements over last years edition. The game is hard to master, realistic and complex.
  25. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    It's not just another yearly update with some obligatory back-of-the-box modifications; it's a loving study of the greatest player of his generation and his biggest rivals, played out with beautiful sights and sounds that remind us just how great the Air Jordan era was.
  26. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    The dilemma over whether to purchase the game comes down to your willingness to knuckle down and learn how to play a basketball game. It will take work but you won't find a better virtual outlet for your passion once you do.
  27. 90
    So, whereas NBA 2K10 was a moderate update in the series, 2K11 has made a heaping lot of improvements across the board to achieve a much better overall gameplay experience. The presentation is loud, full of energy, extremely realistic, and hardly ever falters.
  28. 90
    NBA 2K11 is by far the best basketball game on the market, and arguably the best sports game in years. Take some time to master the control mechanics, and you will be rewarded with the glory of Michael Jordan.
  29. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    2K Sports keeps surpassing itself, and NBA 2K11 could be the best and most complete basketball simulator ever.
  30. Oct 20, 2010
    89
    Provided you're willing to work at it, and you can look past a dash of cheap AI, you can easily spend the entire NBA season with this game and love every minute of it. If you're wondering if it's better than NBA 2K10, the answer is a big fat "YES."
  31. Dec 28, 2010
    88
    2K's gameplay is still miles ahead of EA's elite. [Christmas 2010, p.91]
  32. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    With solid presentation, a great franchise mode, and strong gameplay, NBA 2K11 is an impressive package.
  33. Oct 20, 2010
    88
    NBA 2K11 is currently the best basketball simulation on the market. Nothing to add.
  34. Jan 12, 2011
    87
    Everything that Michael Jordan touches, turns into gold. NBA 2K11 is the best game of its kind because of all the improvements that Visual Concepts has added.
  35. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    The Association Mode improvement of better trade AI is worth it alone. For players who normally stick to the online affairs, they can find and play in competitive leagues with ease.
  36. Dec 22, 2010
    84
    In the end though, who would pass up the chance to be like Mike?
  37. Oct 20, 2010
    83
    NBA 2K11 has gone out of its way not to be just another NBA 2K game, but a better NBA 2K game. That is something considering the size of its trophy case.
  38. Dec 21, 2010
    82
    NBA 2K11 is too complex - and difficult - for its own good. It's also clearly a good game. [Issue#199, p.89]
  39. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    With the exception of the horrific online performance, NBA 2K11 is really an exceptional basketball title with a ridiculous amount of depth and a shockingly challenging AI.
  40. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    As one of the few franchises that can challenge the EA Sports hegemony, NBA 2K11 isn't only a great addition to a good sports series. It is compelling, challenging and competitive, and might very well be the best basketball game to date.
  41. A gorgeously simple set of controls. [Christmas 2010, p.109]
  42. Dec 22, 2010
    80
    Let's face it: it's unlikely you're going to pick this up instead of FIFA 11, but as an alternative to play when football isn't on your brain, this does the job very well indeed.
  43. It still doesn't feel quite like the real thing, but it's very close. [Dec 2010, p.85]
  44. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    NBA 2K11 improves everything from the past chapters of the series and it's actually the best and most realistic basket videogame of all time. It's a shame that it still doesn't offer a decent an online experience, but if you love Michael Jordan, this is a love letter for you.
  45. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  46. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    It's a shame there are still some hiccups that prevent this from truly soaring, and the online inconsistencies are downright crushing when you want to show off your skills to the world. But the core mechanics are so well realized and the presentation so lifelike that it's hard to keep away once you get sucked into the tantalizing ebb and flow of an NBA game.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    NBA 2K11 is the greatest game I've ever played...and I'm a GAMER.

    This game is absolutely incredible. The Michael Jordan intro after the
    NBA 2K11 is the greatest game I've ever played...and I'm a GAMER.

    This game is absolutely incredible. The Michael Jordan intro after the start menu is stunning and utterly powerful. It immerses you into a nostalgic dreamworld of awe unlike anything I've ever experienced. It's enough to bring tears to your eyes. But that's not even close to being the reason it's so great, once you start playing the game, you feel as if this is THE REAL DEAL. The game is so deep its ridiculous. Advanced controls on offense and defense will take a while for anyone to master. There are literally DOZENS of different ways to play the game. Every single nuance that makes the NBA so exciting and intricate is included and at your fingertips. It all runs so smoothly and responds so immaculately that you actually feel like you're controlling the NBA's superstars. Signature gathers and signature moves this year are remarkable. Lebron's quick dribble spin and D-Wade's quick bounce into his jumper are fluid and life-like in a way that I thought not capable in a video game. It's unbelievable. Kobe Bryant is an absolute nightmare from mid-range. Arguably unstoppable in the right hands. And then there's MJ. Ho-ly SHI-ITE. I played a game with Mike this morning against the Lakers after the start up menu and saw SEVERAL SIGNATURE MOVES that were just jaw-dropping. His tongue wags and he finishes at the rim like NO OTHER. I'm astonished.

    This is the most realistic, most immersive, most ingenious video game I have ever seen in my life. Forget setting a bar for sports games. The amount of work and the amount of love and passion that went into making this game is flat out inspiring for video games of all creeds. I seriously think this game will spark a change in video games. What's acceptable and what's expected from the consumer will undoubtedly change after this unmatched package 2K has delivered. If you're not bringing the goods, just don't make the game. Period. 2K has set the bar so high is seems impossible to raise it any further. There are a few things I think 2K can add. First of all L2/LT should also be a pass modifier that allows you to make the right kind of pass to get around defenders. If your player has a high passer rating then the pass modifier would allow him to make a great pass of dozens of different animations. It's absolutely needed I think considering how vamped the D is in the game. Other than that. The game is flawless. It's not leaving my PS3 all year. Also, the PS3 version is identical to the XBox version. I've seen both. The only difference is the glare and reflections on the court but that's not a big deal because I think the XBox version is TOO glossy and doesn't look real. The PS3 version isn't glossy at all. The best representation would be somewhere in the middle. And oh, D-Fish has his right facial hair in the PS3 version as well.

    But in any event, the game is special. It truly is and EVENT. You MUST own this incredible game. The soundtrack is even INCREDIBLE. I love nearly EVERY TRACK. If you're fan of hoops or just of greatness in general. This is the very definition of GREATNESS. A remarkable piece of entertainment. 2K is where amazing happens.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2010
    3
    2K11 is probably the one of the most over rated games ever. I have know idea what the PROFESSIONAL game critics are basing their scores off of2K11 is probably the one of the most over rated games ever. I have know idea what the PROFESSIONAL game critics are basing their scores off of maybe it's the fact that 2K introduced MJ, or the old teams I'm still trying to figure that out. Remove the fact that Michael Jordan provides the best intro I have ever seen in a video game but how far does that take you (that is a quick WOW factor). As for the old teams good idea but that's only done so so, if you're going to have the great teams that helped Jordan build his legacy at least have complete rosters (who are these made up players, where's The Microwave, A.C. Green, The Suns, etc..). Now let's talk about the online play, buckle up because this can get bumpy. The online play is the worse I have played in years, in fact I've been playing 2K since Dreamcast and I don't remember being more frustrated with a video game then this year. I understand what 2K tried to do, they tried to eliminate passing the ball in the middle, baseball passes, 3pt shootouts, amazing dunks, great dribble moves, and everything else that made 2K the best game on the market for years. Passing the ball to a cutting big man happens, throwing a baseball pass down the court happens (In real life the off guard is taught to get back to prevent the baseball pass, but for some reason the 2K game developers thinks that baseball pass goes out of bounds almost every time), 3pt shootouts may not happen as much however if you leave any good 3pt shooter open in the NBA 9/10 times they will make the shot well that realistic aspect of the NBA does not exist in this game. The amazing dunks still happen but I have never seen so many missed layups as a matter of fact I can watch my sons middle school basketball game and see far fewer missed layups then in 2K11. I don't think taking someone off the dribble is even in the minds of 2K sports this year, correct me if I'm wrong but I only knew of a few players who could shut someone down ( The Glove, Dennis Rodman, MJ, Pippen, are just some of the few great defenders). Well in NBA 2K11 everyone is a great defender, I mean everyone...stopping a dribble move is no problem from Kobe down to CJ Watson everyone has great defense. The scores of ranked games can be as low as 25 to 35 for no reason, well AI defense is the main reason. By trying to eliminate people from doing all of that they managed to take the reality of the NBA out. This is NBA 2K11 not AAU 2K1 this is suppose to be a simulation of the NBA were amazing happens, well this year 2K left their game in the locker room. Take Jordan and the old teams off and what do you have? GARBAGE thanks 2K for pulling the wool over everyone's eyes. If I was rating wool pulling you guys would get a 10, great piece of crap. Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2010
    3
    I'm not sure what the reviewers are playing but the copy of NBA 2k11 I've played is filled with bugs and glitches. There's a horrible polygonI'm not sure what the reviewers are playing but the copy of NBA 2k11 I've played is filled with bugs and glitches. There's a horrible polygon glitch that cause polygons from players and the audience to stretch across the screen in a series of lines. This happens usually during a replay or freethrow. Sometimes it's only one or two lines, sometimes it's 20. Some of the A.i. is just stupid. Sometimes the computer won't fully execute a pick and roll. I'll call for a pick and get it, but then my PF won't roll. He'll stand there, even if there's no one guarding him. There were far too many times I'd have the FastBreak slider almost to maximum and would push the ball up the court with at least one other player with a clear lane to the basket. I'll toss up the alley opp but the player will either jump so late that the ball will go out of bounds or won't attempt to complete the play at all. I haven't been able to get intentional fouling to work yet. Some of the collision detection is poor resulting in players going through one another as well as other glitches and bugs. There is no way that NBA 2k11 should be a 9 rated game. I took my first copy back to the store hoping that I just got a bad disk. But my second copy of the game was just as bad with the same issues. NBA2k11 will be going back to the gamestop and I'll get Castlevania or Enslaved instead. A total waste. Full Review »