NBA 2K12 PlayStation 3

NBA 2K12 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The NBA 2k Franchise is back with NBA 2K12.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 29, 2011
    100
    Beyond its highly polished gameplay, the sheer breadth and depth of what 2K12 offers will keep basketball fans happily playing for hundreds of hours. [Dec 2011, p.72]
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    95
    2K Sports has done it again. The 2011-2012 version of the best basketball franchise in the industry is a must have for every fan of the sport.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    93
    The gigantic NBA stadiums are a delight to behold. It's an amazing feeling when you finish a fastbreak with a devastating slam dunk. The crowd goes absolutely wild, even the players on the bench have a little party. [Nov 2011, p.78]
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    It's simply the best basket sim out there, better and better every year.
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    On the whole, NBA 2K12 not only improves on last year's game with tighter controls and other incremental improvements, but 2K Sports has also delivered enhancements and revisions that matter.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    89
    Despite online idiots, NBA 2K12 is a very big win. The players, game modes, gameplay, and incredible attention to detail make sure of that. It's complex and very tough to learn, but in a good way.
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    80
    Developer Visual Concepts chose to focus on minor tweaks and adjustments, resulting in the best basketball simulation on the market.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 47
  2. Negative: 16 out of 47
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    The best basketball game of all time just got a billion times better. And that's a remarkable feat because NBA 2K11 was a frickin' masterpieceThe best basketball game of all time just got a billion times better. And that's a remarkable feat because NBA 2K11 was a frickin' masterpiece of sports gaming. NBA 2K12 is a beautiful love letter to the game of basketball and a dream come true to it's fans. Fans of the both the real and virtual world versions of the sport. Simply put: this game is INCREDIBLE. Prepare to be floored when you jump back in time and play as Bill Russell and the weathered black and white screen and filtered audio make you feel like you just time traveled back into the world of TV's Mad Men. Be wowed when you see how incredibly smooth and fluid animations. It's so photorealistic and lifelike that you will forget you're controlling a video game and think you've actually got the real life versions of Dirk, Lebron, and Kobe on Pinocchio strings making them perform miraculous moves and nailing incredible shots. The accessibility of this year's game is greatly improved as well. Just tap triangle to engage in the post to open a plethora of new moves. I swear the number of moves in this game and the amount possibilities when factoring in the game's brilliant physics engine is STAGGERING. It's virtually endless in its gameplay possibilities. You'll see a new animation nearly every play. In final, 2K Sports has become legendary. Greatness and 2K are now synonymous. It's baffling that the company could great something so incredibly better than it's predecessor when it's predecessor was arguably the greatest sports game ever made. Well chaps, there is NO ARGUMENT to be had this year:

    NBA 2K12 is HANDS DOWN.....THE GREATEST SPORTS GAME IN GAMING HISTORY.

    Get it NOW!
    Expand
  2. ob1
    Nov 10, 2011
    10
    awesome! worth every penny i paid, tons of fun and graphically stunning.awesome! worth every penny i paid, tons of fun and graphically stunning. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$4 Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    An NBA game that's good, i never thought i'd see the day. this game is easier than 2K11 since i am a terrible 2K player and even i can be goodAn NBA game that's good, i never thought i'd see the day. this game is easier than 2K11 since i am a terrible 2K player and even i can be good at it. the my player mode took awhile, and bored me a little. my favorite part was playing quick match over and over and over. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    The NBA 2k series has come a long way since the first but lately it has been lacking something new. Right off the bat looking at the visuals IThe NBA 2k series has come a long way since the first but lately it has been lacking something new. Right off the bat looking at the visuals I wasn't impressed they looked exactly like those of 2k11 nothing new there. Going on to the My Player experience it has improved even more than the previous two versions which is what was expected but I have to say it exceed my expectations. Now for the basketball experience the game excels like it should but some things are still missing. After playing it I notice that 2k games goes with a premium and standard lay out (like how Polyphony did with their cars in Gran Turismo) for player although they don't say it you can notice it and what I mean by it is the difference between the star in the NBA and the players who aren't stars. When you are using some like Kobe Bryant or Dirk Nowitski every thing is correct for these players such as their jumpers and their signature layups ext. But when using a non superstar 2k games has a number of generic moves and will give a player the one that looks the closest to theirs which takes away from the realism. But overall it is still a great game but I only wish some other things where added to the game such as having the correct voices for the PA announcers for the correct court and having a variety of commentators like Reggie Miller or Jeff Van Gundy. So I'm giving it an 8.5 its a great game but some bigger improvements can be made to it. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    This game is good don't get me wrong but the online is the worst **** I've ever played EVER!! I haven't played one game online without lagThis game is good don't get me wrong but the online is the worst **** I've ever played EVER!! I haven't played one game online without lag which makes it almost impossible to hit shots regularly. Single player is great that is where it gets a 10 but I must penalize for online. I can barely find a game for the throwback teams which I paid 10$ and can't use them online 2k online BLOWS. NBA Live 10 was the best basketball game online ever and it wasn't even that good of a game. Cmon 2k give us a good connect for 2k13!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    Wow.. Where do I start? Terrible multiplayer. You wait a lot and drop in the middle of the game. Terrible MP mode. Its fun to make a careerWow.. Where do I start? Terrible multiplayer. You wait a lot and drop in the middle of the game. Terrible MP mode. Its fun to make a career but with stupidly missed details are throwing you off. If i wasn`t playing a shooting guard I would never play this game again. These guys makes these games and forget to put rookie all-star game in MP mode? and there are only 3 rookies ? At press conference , why reporters are all the same? Are you joking ? Do you have the same mentality as Fifa 2012? It seems like no one works hard to make games anymore. What make games better are details.. and no-gamer developers don`t know anything about it. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    Huge step back, the AI is psychic, they removed the ability to run a simple pick and roll play. Just avoid this game under any circumstance.Huge step back, the AI is psychic, they removed the ability to run a simple pick and roll play. Just avoid this game under any circumstance. 2K have completely taken advantage of the fact that EA's NBA Live doesn't have a release this year. I am a huge 2K fan, every release has been better than the last, except for this one. This is the least fun I've ever had with a NBA 2K game. It's just unbalanced garbage, plain and simple. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews