User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 90
  2. Negative: 9 out of 90

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously andNBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Collapse
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    It's fun to admit when you're wrong. But sometimes you gave it an poor original score for a reason. If you play a game for hours and hate it, wouldn't you give it a poor review? But I spent months with this and one day it clicked. Now I love it. It took too long though. It's a game for people who played bb games for years. Anyways, it's great.
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9.5 out of 10 Fun: 9.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8.5 out of 10
    Re-play: 9.5 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: some
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I have been playing the NBA 2k games since 1999. This entry is the culmination of everything that the games have done right in the past. I am SO HAPPY they brought the hop step button back, complete with some great animations. The player animations are by far the most impressive aspect to the game. It was also great to see that the Legendary teams return plus a few extra. AssociationI have been playing the NBA 2k games since 1999. This entry is the culmination of everything that the games have done right in the past. I am SO HAPPY they brought the hop step button back, complete with some great animations. The player animations are by far the most impressive aspect to the game. It was also great to see that the Legendary teams return plus a few extra. Association mode is incredibly deep and engaging with live practices, simulated practice, player personalities/wants, trade finder and great sim control. The dunk contest felt like a big deal this year and actually felt apart of the all star weekend. Some dislike the "guitar hero" like controls but I find that it actually allowed me to feel the pressure to execute the dunk but game me time to actually enjoy watching the dunk.
    The commentary is absolutely great, however it can be a little redundant if you play as the same team for a season. It would be nice to have a DLC with new commentary after the real life all star break to reflect some of the headlines of the NBA season.
    Adding Twitter fans to the MyCareer mode was great from immersion and a nice touch.
    Avoid MyTeam
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This game is way better than boring old 2 k12 this blows that right out of tha water and u can do way more things in it but how could they rate lakers first and then Miami second it should be reversed but I love it
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Possibly the greatest basketball simulation of all time! Brimming with content and rich control, 2K13 does everything right for a sports game. From career to the legendary teams we get straight out the box, 2K does it, and does it well
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Coming from somebody who isn't an avid NBA fan, this game is awesome. Very playable and easy to pick up for first time players to the series, like myself.

    Kudos for the Myplayer mode where you put your skills to the test in the rookie showcase then get drafted to one of the 3 teams that comes to interview you. This mode is akin to the FIFA be your own player modes, but more in depth in
    Coming from somebody who isn't an avid NBA fan, this game is awesome. Very playable and easy to pick up for first time players to the series, like myself.

    Kudos for the Myplayer mode where you put your skills to the test in the rookie showcase then get drafted to one of the 3 teams that comes to interview you. This mode is akin to the FIFA be your own player modes, but more in depth in a good way. Press interviews and endorsements to deal with make it feel much more complete.
    Expand
  9. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This game deserves to be in your collection if your a 2k fan it has new button layouts that make your character easy to use New shooting types, Better graphics and all and all its a great game don't let other influence you not to get this game
  10. May 16, 2013
    9
    amazing game they only needed to do a few more thing to get a 10 for me but they were close lets see how close 2k14 will be
  11. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    Well, obviously this game does NOT deserve a low rating. I would have given it an 8 or a 9, but it freezes too much, which makes the game unplayable. Sorry to say that... Come on 2k Sports!
  12. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    This 2k basketbal game is probably the most I have spent my time into. I love how easy it is to update rosters and I love that they kept classic teams.
  13. Oct 3, 2012
    0
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously andNBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Physical, fast and brutal. [Issue#224, p.82]
  2. It makes you feel more of a baller than wearing shades indoors. [Dec 2012, p.110]
  3. This year it isn't just about your basketball skills, it's also about how popular you can become. A Twitter feed will let you know what fans are saying about your last game and you can capture some hearts by showing up at charity events. [November 2012, p.74]