User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 85
  2. Negative: 9 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    It's fun to admit when you're wrong. But sometimes you gave it an poor original score for a reason. If you play a game for hours and hate it, wouldn't you give it a poor review? But I spent months with this and one day it clicked. Now I love it. It took too long though. It's a game for people who played bb games for years. Anyways, it's great.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    NBA 2K had some good tradition, but this time it just goes down. Jay Z might have deep Basketball knowledge, but that doesn't mean that he can be a good managing director. User interface is really really bad (it never was the best in series, especially if we compare it to Fifa 13 or Football Manager). Each screen has very few menus which keeps you lost, the loading screens gets you nuts and even the start of the game pushes you to fill a lot of information before you can play. Sorry I'm not here to fill my CV but to play basketball. One of the new features is that when you create your player you can pay credits and buy Adidas clothes, shoes and various other accessories. The more matches you play, the best for you to earn credits. That reminds me of Fifa 13 tactic with the Shop. Basically Konami started it with PES, and all the others followed.

    In terms ot gameplay, NBA 2K13 does well. It has realistic defending (manual to be honest), shoots must have accuracy in jumping and counter-attacks by pressing the buttons corresponding to players are a good way to score. All rules are strictly applied like 3-second violation under the basket so pure realism here.

    But in terms ot graphics NBA 2k13 gets a merely 7/10. Textures have a bad design, dynamic lighting doesn't even exist, physics might seem ok, but anti-aliasing is awful. Moreover, career mode gets boring due to the number of questions asked which need reply (and can't be avoid) among with events which can't be skipped, like the Draft event.

    About Online, good news is that you can play without lag (especially one on one) with the well known online modes. That's one of the biggest tweaks this year. But in overall, NBA 2K13 fails to fullfil the needs of an experienced basketball players. It's more than an overall change to the "Jay Z pattern" then a serious change to the series.
    Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    3
    Having played NBA 2K11 until I wore my disc out, I was really looking forward to the latest incarnation. I did try 2K12 and was sorely disappointed by the anemic game play. In that respect, 2K13 does not disappoint. Forget about skill points and VC. Your elite MyPlayer which you painstakingly took time to build/max out, will still fatigue by the third quarter (despite purchasing a useless "Gatorade Pack." Your ferocious dunks will look like anything you'll see at a pick-up game. If you have a 99 speed rating and run out on a fast-break, a center or power forward will chase you down. If you're up by 20 midway through the fourth quarter, your team will collectively have amnesia and forget how to pass, shoot and play defense. I'm assuming this is to balance the game or add drama? Graphics are awful, plain and simple. Don't believe me? Pop in a copy of 2K11 and be stunned by the difference. Not only does it look better, it plays smoother, feels more natural and is just plain better. 2K13 graphics are washed out, amateurish garbage. Look at a dunking player and please explain how the person who designed that animation, still has a job. There are some added features that I love (social media, better commentary) and some I didn't (The music selection. VC? Really? I see EA has taken over). Bugs from 2K11 are still in 2K13. How does that happen? The All-Star Voting bug is still there after two iterations. Laughable.

    I will look elsewhere for a solid NBA game next year.
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9.5 out of 10 Fun: 9.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8.5 out of 10
    Re-play: 9.5 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: some
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I have been playing the NBA 2k games since 1999. This entry is the culmination of everything that the games have done right in the past. I am SO HAPPY they brought the hop step button back, complete with some great animations. The player animations are by far the most impressive aspect to the game. It was also great to see that the Legendary teams return plus a few extra. Association mode is incredibly deep and engaging with live practices, simulated practice, player personalities/wants, trade finder and great sim control. The dunk contest felt like a big deal this year and actually felt apart of the all star weekend. Some dislike the "guitar hero" like controls but I find that it actually allowed me to feel the pressure to execute the dunk but game me time to actually enjoy watching the dunk.
    The commentary is absolutely great, however it can be a little redundant if you play as the same team for a season. It would be nice to have a DLC with new commentary after the real life all star break to reflect some of the headlines of the NBA season.
    Adding Twitter fans to the MyCareer mode was great from immersion and a nice touch.
    Avoid MyTeam
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    NBA 2K13 does not reinvent the wheel, but is still the best basketball game out there. The presentaion has not changed much, except for the fact that Jay-Z is all over it. The gameplay made unnecessary changes moving the shooting from the analog stick to the square button. It is cool to play as the dream team and have them square off against the 2012 olympic team.
  8. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    I like this game I bet I will even more online but I have issues especially with the rebounding it is stupid bad I can't rebound consistently at all and it is frustrating. Also every player is an all star and can score too easily. And I never thought this game would be soo easy this year I set it on superstar and while I can still lose I usually beat the teams by twenty or more. Too many easy threes as well just use Ray Allen to test this theory. I really thought this game would be great they say they put the dribble move on the right stick ok that's true but its been that way for years they just reversed it. I play 2k for the association and it just isn't challenging enough to be that fun after the first few games. I like the prsentation but that doesn't matter after a few games either. I hope they patch the difficulty and the rebounding issues or I might give up on this one fun Yes good to show your friends but not really enough to keep me going all year. Sorry 2k you tried making this years edition for the casual gamer and you did it but you really screwed loyal fans that love a challenge. Online play is the only thing that can save this game for me. Hope the servers work I heard they do this year. Cmon guys patch this game and turn it back to what it was. Oh yeah and the soundtrack mostly sucks no one wants to hear you Jay Z!!!! Expand
  9. Oct 5, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Concept is not too bad. game play doesn't seem to be as good as 2K12. Music is terrible... Which I thought it'd be better with JayZ being involved. Last but not least the game freezes on me every time I try to get out of the first game I've played with my new player. Very frustrating! I've had to play the first game like 4 times now. Ive finally give up. im thinking about returning it and using the $60 on something else... I'm kinda disappointed. Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    This is better than 2K12 but this has disappointed me almost as much.

    I have been a fan of 2K games since 2K7 and I have found that the games have improved every year up until 2K12 which was my least favorite in the series, I thought the gameplay was close to terrible and the removal of crew game and a few other modes ridiculous. I think of myself as a gamer, I also play amateur
    basketball and I'm a huge NBA fan, anyway let's get on with my review of 2K13.

    The things I like about the game are the additions of the Allstar Weekend which is suprisingly good and the dunk contest was miles better than I expected. I also like the VC points system which means every game you play including against friends allows you to earn points which are used for a mode called MyTeam which is simlar to Ultimate team in Fifa, It is not as good as Ultimate team but is a great addtion to the 2K series. I like the new shot stick and signature skills which make the in game experience a fluid and less generic.

    Things I don't like about the game, the first thing I don't like is the rebouding which a lot of people have complained about, basically players have a tendency to just gaze at the ball and watch it go out of bounds, also since when could 6'0 PG's beat Dwight Howard to a rebound. Anyway they are releasing an update for this which they always seem to do, I don't understand why don't they give the game to us when it's finished, personally I'd rather wait. Also the automatic game sliders are unrealistic as usual and after a roster update there are players they forgot to add to teams and players that are still still in the Free Agent pool that have retired or gone overseas.

    The last major thing I dislike is the soundtrack, the news that Jay Z was going to do the soundtrack seemed like great news at first. What we get is Kayne West - Amazing which I personally don't like and it was on NBA 2K10, about 3 or 4 tracks I like and then the rest bored me after listening to them once or twice, there isn't much tracks and I thought someone like Jay Z had better taste in Hip Hop.

    I would say get this game If you can't wait until next year as it will keep you entertained but being a huge basketball fan I feel let down, also the players ratings are terrible too. I think people who know about basketball should be hired and features like wingspan, leg length and more realistic customizaton.

    2K9 - 80/100
    2K10 - 84/100
    2K11 - 92/100
    2K12 - 67/100
    2K13 - 83/100
    Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This game is way better than boring old 2 k12 this blows that right out of tha water and u can do way more things in it but how could they rate lakers first and then Miami second it should be reversed but I love it
  12. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    Nba 2k13 is better than 2k12; This game has improved graphics, new players, new teams, an improved net code and kept me on the game. From 2K11 I was not able to stay on the game i played it for a few days then gave up of boredom. If your a huge basketball fan its a must have. If you like basketball but not as much as others i would still recommend it. If you like sports games once again i recommend it. I do not really like the graphics for the PS3 version. I got it for the PS3 to play with friends, which i almost didn`t do because i thought the net code would really suck. but luckily it was improved and therefore my rating for the game improved. At the same time it disappointed ME, but my friends really enjoyed it. Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    With NBA 2K13, the people at 2k sports once more prove that they have not given up the hard work despite being the sole competitor in the Basketball genre for two years

    Presentation- 2K13 is as expected simply outstanding in this department. The pre-game intros, halftime show,in-game statistics all make the game feel so natural and close to real basketball. Graphics- The graphics engine
    has pretty much remained the same as last year. There have been some minor updates in player models and courts but nothing significant

    Sound- With Jay Z as executive producer you'd except to find a lot of Jay Z songs and rap music in here. Well, that's right but that isn't a bad thing since the OST perfectly fits the game and is one of the best ones the series ever had . Where the game steals the show for yet another year is the commentary by the trio of Clark Kellogg, Kevin Harlan and Steve Kerr which not only feels like the real thing but even surpasses it

    Gameplay- The game's most noteworthy addition from last year is the new control scheme which allows you to perform various moves like crossovers, spins etc with ease. The overall gameplay follows the rule "if it ain't broken don't fix it", it certainly features some updates from 2k12 like improving the shot releases and defensive controls. The AI is a major step-up from 2k12, especially in defense in which the opponent will really give you a challenge at times. The game also feels more natural and forgiving at higher difficulties unlike past entries where the it felt like the game was cheating you. Unfortunately game modes like Association and My Player have remained pretty stagnant and the new My Team mode (2k's version of FIFA's Ultimate Team) loses all it's interest the momen you realise that most other players have abused the new VC system (more on that layer) to build unbeatable teams consisting solely of current NBA Stars and Legends...The new VC system is the game's major turn-off for me. On one hand it's a good idea since you are able to level up you My Player by playing other modes but on the other hand it proves the fact that 2K belongs to the large group of companies that milk their customers for more money, since you can buy VC Packages for a price at the PS Store and practically create a 99-rated player or an unbeatable myteam instantly. The prices at the 2k Shop, where you buy clothes and accessories for you player are also ridiculous and just prove my above statement

    Online-Didn't try it a lot since I am a SP gamer, but it seems to work just like NBA 2K12

    Lasting Appeal- With a ton of game modes and it's signature excellent gameplay 2k13 certainly has a lot of lasting appeal

    The Verdict
    +Outstanding Presentation
    +Amazing Commentary
    +New Control Scheme makes things easier
    +Major update in AI
    -Association and My Player modes didn't receive a major update
    -Some bugs that render some game modes unplayable at times
    -The new VC System
    Collapse
  14. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    I haven't bought a game in this series since 2K11 and i must say this one was a HUGE let down. While the game keeps its core functionality the focus seems to have shifted to visual presentation in the menus and to the create a player mode. Graphic wise i was shocked at just how bad the textures appear compared to previous games in the series its far less clear and a bit muddy at times to look at. The characters on screen look very plasticky and rubbery with a layer of gloss on their skin. In terms of gameplay not much has changed if your familiar with an NBA 2K game it's pretty much grab and go with some alternate control schemes being optional. One thing i dislike very much is the currency system you need it for almost everything and it is irritating because it feels out of place in a sports game and more at home in an RPG or and adventure game. Overall a decent game but i feel like it falls short in several areas that it shouldn't but if you a hardcore fan of the series some of these shortcomings may be worth it in the long run to you. Expand
  15. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Possibly the greatest basketball simulation of all time! Brimming with content and rich control, 2K13 does everything right for a sports game. From career to the legendary teams we get straight out the box, 2K does it, and does it well
  16. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Coming from somebody who isn't an avid NBA fan, this game is awesome. Very playable and easy to pick up for first time players to the series, like myself.

    Kudos for the Myplayer mode where you put your skills to the test in the rookie showcase then get drafted to one of the 3 teams that comes to interview you. This mode is akin to the FIFA be your own player modes, but more in depth in
    a good way. Press interviews and endorsements to deal with make it feel much more complete. Expand
  17. Apr 4, 2013
    3
    This game is ok but there is a lot of things wrong with it. First my team mates always miss wide open shots, second it feels like the game is cheating you, the computer will make some type of crazy layup then you will miss a wide open jump shot. Also your team mates never pass it to you when you cut and your wide open and your center and power forward like to stand around on the 3 point line. Computer does a lot of random alley oops that are nearly impossible to stop. Expand
  18. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This game deserves to be in your collection if your a 2k fan it has new button layouts that make your character easy to use New shooting types, Better graphics and all and all its a great game don't let other influence you not to get this game
  19. May 16, 2013
    9
    amazing game they only needed to do a few more thing to get a 10 for me but they were close lets see how close 2k14 will be
  20. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
  21. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    Well, obviously this game does NOT deserve a low rating. I would have given it an 8 or a 9, but it freezes too much, which makes the game unplayable. Sorry to say that... Come on 2k Sports!
  22. kb8
    Jul 16, 2014
    0
    This game is SOOOOOOOOOO BAAADDD!!!!!! I cannot even begin to explain how annoying it is!!!!! It is so unrealistic! I've never played such a bad game in my life. The rebounding is absolutely ABSURD!!! I put in Shaquille Oneal and Roy Hibbert together and they were outrebounded by the Orlando Magic (they do not have Dwight Howard)!!!! I honestly think they might pay their critics to give them good reviews because I have never heard someone say a single good thing about it in person. This game SUCKS!!!!!!!! Worst game I have EVER played!!!! Expand
  23. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    With NBA 2K13, the people at 2k sports once more prove that they have not given up the hard work despite being the sole competitor in the Basketball genre for two years

    Presentation- 2K13 is as expected simply outstanding in this department. The pre-game intros, halftime show,in-game statistics all make the game feel so natural and close to real basketball. Graphics- The graphics engine
    has pretty much remained the same as last year. There have been some minor updates in player models and courts but nothing significant

    Sound- With Jay Z as executive producer you'd except to find a lot of Jay Z songs and rap music in here. Well, that's right but that isn't a bad thing since the OST perfectly fits the game and is one of the best ones the series ever had . Where the game steals the show for yet another year is the commentary by the trio of Clark Kellogg, Kevin Harlan and Steve Kerr which not only feels like the real thing but even surpasses it

    Gameplay- The game's most noteworthy addition from last year is the new control scheme which allows you to perform various moves like crossovers, spins etc with ease. The overall gameplay follows the rule "if it ain't broken don't fix it", it certainly features some updates from 2k12 like improving the shot releases and defensive controls. The AI is a major step-up from 2k12, especially in defense in which the opponent will really give you a challenge at times. The game also feels more natural and forgiving at higher difficulties unlike past entries where the it felt like the game was cheating you. Unfortunately game modes like Association and My Player have remained pretty stagnant and the new My Team mode (2k's version of FIFA's Ultimate Team) loses all it's interest the momen you realise that most other players have abused the new VC system (more on that layer) to build unbeatable teams consisting solely of current NBA Stars and Legends...The new VC system is the game's major turn-off for me. On one hand it's a good idea since you are able to level up you My Player by playing other modes but on the other hand it proves the fact that 2K belongs to the large group of companies that milk their customers for more money, since you can buy VC Packages for a price at the PS Store and practically create a 99-rated player or an unbeatable myteam instantly. The prices at the 2k Shop, where you buy clothes and accessories for you player are also ridiculous and just prove my above statement

    Online-Didn't try it a lot since I am a SP gamer, but it seems to work just like NBA 2K12

    Lasting Appeal- With a ton of game modes and it's signature excellent gameplay 2k13 certainly has a lot of lasting appeal

    The Verdict
    +Outstanding Presentation
    +Amazing Commentary
    +New Control Scheme makes things easier
    +Major update in AI
    -Association and My Player modes didn't receive a major update
    -Some bugs that render some game modes unplayable at times
    -The new VC System
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Physical, fast and brutal. [Issue#224, p.82]
  2. It makes you feel more of a baller than wearing shades indoors. [Dec 2012, p.110]
  3. This year it isn't just about your basketball skills, it's also about how popular you can become. A Twitter feed will let you know what fans are saying about your last game and you can capture some hearts by showing up at charity events. [November 2012, p.74]