User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 86
  2. Negative: 9 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9.5 out of 10 Fun: 9.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8.5 out of 10
    Re-play: 9.5 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: some
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Coming from somebody who isn't an avid NBA fan, this game is awesome. Very playable and easy to pick up for first time players to the series, like myself.

    Kudos for the Myplayer mode where you put your skills to the test in the rookie showcase then get drafted to one of the 3 teams that comes to interview you. This mode is akin to the FIFA be your own player modes, but more in depth in
    a good way. Press interviews and endorsements to deal with make it feel much more complete. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This game deserves to be in your collection if your a 2k fan it has new button layouts that make your character easy to use New shooting types, Better graphics and all and all its a great game don't let other influence you not to get this game
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    It's fun to admit when you're wrong. But sometimes you gave it an poor original score for a reason. If you play a game for hours and hate it, wouldn't you give it a poor review? But I spent months with this and one day it clicked. Now I love it. It took too long though. It's a game for people who played bb games for years. Anyways, it's great.
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    I have been playing the NBA 2k games since 1999. This entry is the culmination of everything that the games have done right in the past. I am SO HAPPY they brought the hop step button back, complete with some great animations. The player animations are by far the most impressive aspect to the game. It was also great to see that the Legendary teams return plus a few extra. Association mode is incredibly deep and engaging with live practices, simulated practice, player personalities/wants, trade finder and great sim control. The dunk contest felt like a big deal this year and actually felt apart of the all star weekend. Some dislike the "guitar hero" like controls but I find that it actually allowed me to feel the pressure to execute the dunk but game me time to actually enjoy watching the dunk.
    The commentary is absolutely great, however it can be a little redundant if you play as the same team for a season. It would be nice to have a DLC with new commentary after the real life all star break to reflect some of the headlines of the NBA season.
    Adding Twitter fans to the MyCareer mode was great from immersion and a nice touch.
    Avoid MyTeam
    Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This game is way better than boring old 2 k12 this blows that right out of tha water and u can do way more things in it but how could they rate lakers first and then Miami second it should be reversed but I love it
  9. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Possibly the greatest basketball simulation of all time! Brimming with content and rich control, 2K13 does everything right for a sports game. From career to the legendary teams we get straight out the box, 2K does it, and does it well
  10. May 16, 2013
    9
    amazing game they only needed to do a few more thing to get a 10 for me but they were close lets see how close 2k14 will be
  11. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    Well, obviously this game does NOT deserve a low rating. I would have given it an 8 or a 9, but it freezes too much, which makes the game unplayable. Sorry to say that... Come on 2k Sports!
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    With NBA 2K13, the people at 2k sports once more prove that they have not given up the hard work despite being the sole competitor in the Basketball genre for two years

    Presentation- 2K13 is as expected simply outstanding in this department. The pre-game intros, halftime show,in-game statistics all make the game feel so natural and close to real basketball. Graphics- The graphics engine
    has pretty much remained the same as last year. There have been some minor updates in player models and courts but nothing significant

    Sound- With Jay Z as executive producer you'd except to find a lot of Jay Z songs and rap music in here. Well, that's right but that isn't a bad thing since the OST perfectly fits the game and is one of the best ones the series ever had . Where the game steals the show for yet another year is the commentary by the trio of Clark Kellogg, Kevin Harlan and Steve Kerr which not only feels like the real thing but even surpasses it

    Gameplay- The game's most noteworthy addition from last year is the new control scheme which allows you to perform various moves like crossovers, spins etc with ease. The overall gameplay follows the rule "if it ain't broken don't fix it", it certainly features some updates from 2k12 like improving the shot releases and defensive controls. The AI is a major step-up from 2k12, especially in defense in which the opponent will really give you a challenge at times. The game also feels more natural and forgiving at higher difficulties unlike past entries where the it felt like the game was cheating you. Unfortunately game modes like Association and My Player have remained pretty stagnant and the new My Team mode (2k's version of FIFA's Ultimate Team) loses all it's interest the momen you realise that most other players have abused the new VC system (more on that layer) to build unbeatable teams consisting solely of current NBA Stars and Legends...The new VC system is the game's major turn-off for me. On one hand it's a good idea since you are able to level up you My Player by playing other modes but on the other hand it proves the fact that 2K belongs to the large group of companies that milk their customers for more money, since you can buy VC Packages for a price at the PS Store and practically create a 99-rated player or an unbeatable myteam instantly. The prices at the 2k Shop, where you buy clothes and accessories for you player are also ridiculous and just prove my above statement

    Online-Didn't try it a lot since I am a SP gamer, but it seems to work just like NBA 2K12

    Lasting Appeal- With a ton of game modes and it's signature excellent gameplay 2k13 certainly has a lot of lasting appeal

    The Verdict
    +Outstanding Presentation
    +Amazing Commentary
    +New Control Scheme makes things easier
    +Major update in AI
    -Association and My Player modes didn't receive a major update
    -Some bugs that render some game modes unplayable at times
    -The new VC System
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Physical, fast and brutal. [Issue#224, p.82]
  2. It makes you feel more of a baller than wearing shades indoors. [Dec 2012, p.110]
  3. This year it isn't just about your basketball skills, it's also about how popular you can become. A Twitter feed will let you know what fans are saying about your last game and you can capture some hearts by showing up at charity events. [November 2012, p.74]