Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-new collision physics created in real-time. Each player has individualized abilities that can alter the course of a game. Players are modeled to impact the game in their own unique way, from Derrick Rose as a “Floor General” to Kevin Durant being “The Closer.” Learn to use each player’s unique ability and change the game on your terms. Improved fast break passing gives players more control. Fire a bounce pass to a cutting teammate or go “Lob City” in transition. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The all-new Control Stick system highlights this year's gameplay improvements, allowing more precise ball handling through the Right-analog stick. [Dec 2012, p.82]
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    93
    A noticeable step-up in class from 2K12, especially on court and in the My Career mode. Only poor navigation spoils an otherwise incredible sport sim. [Dec 2012, p.100]
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Even when left with a clear, unobstructed path to the basket, 2K13 throws down a monster jam with this year's edition – probably the last one developed solely for this generation of consoles.
  4. 90
    A terrific recreation of the sport, where everything comes together brilliantly. The new controls are sharp, and you'll find yourself wanting to play just one more game in order to master a certain drible or improve your personal score record.
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    Even though authenticity-wise Visual Concepts seems to have maxed out this console generation a couple of games ago and big new additions are scarce, NBA 2K13 sits firmly amongst my favorite games this year. I'm excited to see the makers shed the shackles of the old consoles and lead the way into the new generation next season.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Physical, fast and brutal. [Issue#224, p.82]
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    NBA 2K13 offers a solid upgrade from last year's installment, but there's still enough unnecessary frustration here to make me believe there's room for something greater.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This game deserves to be in your collection if your a 2k fan it has new button layouts that make your character easy to use New shooting types, Better graphics and all and all its a great game don't let other influence you not to get this game Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    It's fun to admit when you're wrong. But sometimes you gave it an poor original score for a reason. If you play a game for hours and hate it, wouldn't you give it a poor review? But I spent months with this and one day it clicked. Now I love it. It took too long though. It's a game for people who played bb games for years. Anyways, it's great. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    Nba 2k13 is better than 2k12; This game has improved graphics, new players, new teams, an improved net code and kept me on the game. From 2K11 I was not able to stay on the game i played it for a few days then gave up of boredom. If your a huge basketball fan its a must have. If you like basketball but not as much as others i would still recommend it. If you like sports games once again i recommend it. I do not really like the graphics for the PS3 version. I got it for the PS3 to play with friends, which i almost didn`t do because i thought the net code would really suck. but luckily it was improved and therefore my rating for the game improved. At the same time it disappointed ME, but my friends really enjoyed it. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    I like this game I bet I will even more online but I have issues especially with the rebounding it is stupid bad I can't rebound consistently at all and it is frustrating. Also every player is an all star and can score too easily. And I never thought this game would be soo easy this year I set it on superstar and while I can still lose I usually beat the teams by twenty or more. Too many easy threes as well just use Ray Allen to test this theory. I really thought this game would be great they say they put the dribble move on the right stick ok that's true but its been that way for years they just reversed it. I play 2k for the association and it just isn't challenging enough to be that fun after the first few games. I like the prsentation but that doesn't matter after a few games either. I hope they patch the difficulty and the rebounding issues or I might give up on this one fun Yes good to show your friends but not really enough to keep me going all year. Sorry 2k you tried making this years edition for the casual gamer and you did it but you really screwed loyal fans that love a challenge. Online play is the only thing that can save this game for me. Hope the servers work I heard they do this year. Cmon guys patch this game and turn it back to what it was. Oh yeah and the soundtrack mostly sucks no one wants to hear you Jay Z!!!! Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    NBA 2K had some good tradition, but this time it just goes down. Jay Z might have deep Basketball knowledge, but that doesn't mean that he can be a good managing director. User interface is really really bad (it never was the best in series, especially if we compare it to Fifa 13 or Football Manager). Each screen has very few menus which keeps you lost, the loading screens gets you nuts and even the start of the game pushes you to fill a lot of information before you can play. Sorry I'm not here to fill my CV but to play basketball. One of the new features is that when you create your player you can pay credits and buy Adidas clothes, shoes and various other accessories. The more matches you play, the best for you to earn credits. That reminds me of Fifa 13 tactic with the Shop. Basically Konami started it with PES, and all the others followed.

    In terms ot gameplay, NBA 2K13 does well. It has realistic defending (manual to be honest), shoots must have accuracy in jumping and counter-attacks by pressing the buttons corresponding to players are a good way to score. All rules are strictly applied like 3-second violation under the basket so pure realism here.

    But in terms ot graphics NBA 2k13 gets a merely 7/10. Textures have a bad design, dynamic lighting doesn't even exist, physics might seem ok, but anti-aliasing is awful. Moreover, career mode gets boring due to the number of questions asked which need reply (and can't be avoid) among with events which can't be skipped, like the Draft event.

    About Online, good news is that you can play without lag (especially one on one) with the well known online modes. That's one of the biggest tweaks this year. But in overall, NBA 2K13 fails to fullfil the needs of an experienced basketball players. It's more than an overall change to the "Jay Z pattern" then a serious change to the series.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    1
    Well, obviously this game does NOT deserve a low rating. I would have given it an 8 or a 9, but it freezes too much, which makes the game unplayable. Sorry to say that... Come on 2k Sports! Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.