NBA 2K13 PlayStation 3

NBA 2K13 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-newFor the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-new collision physics created in real-time. Each player has individualized abilities that can alter the course of a game. Players are modeled to impact the game in their own unique way, from Derrick Rose as a “Floor General” to Kevin Durant being “The Closer.” Learn to use each player’s unique ability and change the game on your terms. Improved fast break passing gives players more control. Fire a bounce pass to a cutting teammate or go “Lob City” in transition. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 23, 2012
    100
    The all-new Control Stick system highlights this year's gameplay improvements, allowing more precise ball handling through the Right-analog stick. [Dec 2012, p.82]
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Oct 23, 2012
    93
    A noticeable step-up in class from 2K12, especially on court and in the My Career mode. Only poor navigation spoils an otherwise incredible sport sim. [Dec 2012, p.100]
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Even when left with a clear, unobstructed path to the basket, 2K13 throws down a monster jam with this year's edition – probably the last one developed solely for this generation of consoles.
  4. 90
    A terrific recreation of the sport, where everything comes together brilliantly. The new controls are sharp, and you'll find yourself wanting to play just one more game in order to master a certain drible or improve your personal score record.
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    Even though authenticity-wise Visual Concepts seems to have maxed out this console generation a couple of games ago and big new additions are scarce, NBA 2K13 sits firmly amongst my favorite games this year. I'm excited to see the makers shed the shackles of the old consoles and lead the way into the new generation next season.
  6. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Physical, fast and brutal. [Issue#224, p.82]
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    NBA 2K13 offers a solid upgrade from last year's installment, but there's still enough unnecessary frustration here to make me believe there's room for something greater.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This game deserves to be in your collection if your a 2k fan it has new button layouts that make your character easy to use New shootingThis game deserves to be in your collection if your a 2k fan it has new button layouts that make your character easy to use New shooting types, Better graphics and all and all its a great game don't let other influence you not to get this game Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best onlineNBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This game is way better than boring old 2 k12 this blows that right out of tha water and u can do way more things in it but how could theyThis game is way better than boring old 2 k12 this blows that right out of tha water and u can do way more things in it but how could they rate lakers first and then Miami second it should be reversed but I love it Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2016
    9
    I'm not a huge basketball fan as I have this game and 2k16 and that is better graphically but this one just feels better to play this isI'm not a huge basketball fan as I have this game and 2k16 and that is better graphically but this one just feels better to play this is without a doubt one of the best sports games I have ever played. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    Nba 2k13 is better than 2k12; This game has improved graphics, new players, new teams, an improved net code and kept me on the game. From 2K11Nba 2k13 is better than 2k12; This game has improved graphics, new players, new teams, an improved net code and kept me on the game. From 2K11 I was not able to stay on the game i played it for a few days then gave up of boredom. If your a huge basketball fan its a must have. If you like basketball but not as much as others i would still recommend it. If you like sports games once again i recommend it. I do not really like the graphics for the PS3 version. I got it for the PS3 to play with friends, which i almost didn`t do because i thought the net code would really suck. but luckily it was improved and therefore my rating for the game improved. At the same time it disappointed ME, but my friends really enjoyed it. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    NBA 2K13 does not reinvent the wheel, but is still the best basketball game out there. The presentaion has not changed much, except for theNBA 2K13 does not reinvent the wheel, but is still the best basketball game out there. The presentaion has not changed much, except for the fact that Jay-Z is all over it. The gameplay made unnecessary changes moving the shooting from the analog stick to the square button. It is cool to play as the dream team and have them square off against the 2012 olympic team. Expand
  7. kb8
    Jul 16, 2014
    0
    This game is SOOOOOOOOOO BAAADDD!!!!!! I cannot even begin to explain how annoying it is!!!!! It is so unrealistic! I've never played such aThis game is SOOOOOOOOOO BAAADDD!!!!!! I cannot even begin to explain how annoying it is!!!!! It is so unrealistic! I've never played such a bad game in my life. The rebounding is absolutely ABSURD!!! I put in Shaquille Oneal and Roy Hibbert together and they were outrebounded by the Orlando Magic (they do not have Dwight Howard)!!!! I honestly think they might pay their critics to give them good reviews because I have never heard someone say a single good thing about it in person. This game SUCKS!!!!!!!! Worst game I have EVER played!!!! Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.