Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-newFor the first time ever, all dribble moves have been mapped to the right analog stick, as well as shooting, passing, and post moves. String together devastating crossovers and clutch shots for maximum control and effectiveness. Shots are now dynamically created on the fly, with all-new collision physics created in real-time. Each player has individualized abilities that can alter the course of a game. Players are modeled to impact the game in their own unique way, from Derrick Rose as a “Floor General” to Kevin Durant being “The Closer.” Learn to use each player’s unique ability and change the game on your terms. Improved fast break passing gives players more control. Fire a bounce pass to a cutting teammate or go “Lob City” in transition. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The all-new Control Stick system highlights this year's gameplay improvements, allowing more precise ball handling through the Right-analog stick. [Dec 2012, p.82]
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    93
    A noticeable step-up in class from 2K12, especially on court and in the My Career mode. Only poor navigation spoils an otherwise incredible sport sim. [Dec 2012, p.100]
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Even when left with a clear, unobstructed path to the basket, 2K13 throws down a monster jam with this year's edition – probably the last one developed solely for this generation of consoles.
  4. 90
    A terrific recreation of the sport, where everything comes together brilliantly. The new controls are sharp, and you'll find yourself wanting to play just one more game in order to master a certain drible or improve your personal score record.
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    Even though authenticity-wise Visual Concepts seems to have maxed out this console generation a couple of games ago and big new additions are scarce, NBA 2K13 sits firmly amongst my favorite games this year. I'm excited to see the makers shed the shackles of the old consoles and lead the way into the new generation next season.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Physical, fast and brutal. [Issue#224, p.82]
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    NBA 2K13 offers a solid upgrade from last year's installment, but there's still enough unnecessary frustration here to make me believe there's room for something greater.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Coming from somebody who isn't an avid NBA fan, this game is awesome. Very playable and easy to pick up for first time players to the series,Coming from somebody who isn't an avid NBA fan, this game is awesome. Very playable and easy to pick up for first time players to the series, like myself.

    Kudos for the Myplayer mode where you put your skills to the test in the rookie showcase then get drafted to one of the 3 teams that comes to interview you. This mode is akin to the FIFA be your own player modes, but more in depth in a good way. Press interviews and endorsements to deal with make it feel much more complete.
    Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9.5 out of 10 Fun: 9.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8 out of
    Graphics: 9.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 9.5 out of 10 Fun: 9.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8.5 out of 10
    Re-play: 9.5 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: some
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best onlineNBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    With NBA 2K13, the people at 2k sports once more prove that they have not given up the hard work despite being the sole competitor in theWith NBA 2K13, the people at 2k sports once more prove that they have not given up the hard work despite being the sole competitor in the Basketball genre for two years

    Presentation- 2K13 is as expected simply outstanding in this department. The pre-game intros, halftime show,in-game statistics all make the game feel so natural and close to real basketball. Graphics- The graphics engine has pretty much remained the same as last year. There have been some minor updates in player models and courts but nothing significant

    Sound- With Jay Z as executive producer you'd except to find a lot of Jay Z songs and rap music in here. Well, that's right but that isn't a bad thing since the OST perfectly fits the game and is one of the best ones the series ever had . Where the game steals the show for yet another year is the commentary by the trio of Clark Kellogg, Kevin Harlan and Steve Kerr which not only feels like the real thing but even surpasses it

    Gameplay- The game's most noteworthy addition from last year is the new control scheme which allows you to perform various moves like crossovers, spins etc with ease. The overall gameplay follows the rule "if it ain't broken don't fix it", it certainly features some updates from 2k12 like improving the shot releases and defensive controls. The AI is a major step-up from 2k12, especially in defense in which the opponent will really give you a challenge at times. The game also feels more natural and forgiving at higher difficulties unlike past entries where the it felt like the game was cheating you. Unfortunately game modes like Association and My Player have remained pretty stagnant and the new My Team mode (2k's version of FIFA's Ultimate Team) loses all it's interest the momen you realise that most other players have abused the new VC system (more on that layer) to build unbeatable teams consisting solely of current NBA Stars and Legends...The new VC system is the game's major turn-off for me. On one hand it's a good idea since you are able to level up you My Player by playing other modes but on the other hand it proves the fact that 2K belongs to the large group of companies that milk their customers for more money, since you can buy VC Packages for a price at the PS Store and practically create a 99-rated player or an unbeatable myteam instantly. The prices at the 2k Shop, where you buy clothes and accessories for you player are also ridiculous and just prove my above statement

    Online-Didn't try it a lot since I am a SP gamer, but it seems to work just like NBA 2K12

    Lasting Appeal- With a ton of game modes and it's signature excellent gameplay 2k13 certainly has a lot of lasting appeal

    The Verdict
    +Outstanding Presentation
    +Amazing Commentary
    +New Control Scheme makes things easier
    +Major update in AI
    -Association and My Player modes didn't receive a major update
    -Some bugs that render some game modes unplayable at times
    -The new VC System
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    This is better than 2K12 but this has disappointed me almost as much.

    I have been a fan of 2K games since 2K7 and I have found that the
    This is better than 2K12 but this has disappointed me almost as much.

    I have been a fan of 2K games since 2K7 and I have found that the games have improved every year up until 2K12 which was my least favorite in the series, I thought the gameplay was close to terrible and the removal of crew game and a few other modes ridiculous. I think of myself as a gamer, I also play amateur basketball and I'm a huge NBA fan, anyway let's get on with my review of 2K13.

    The things I like about the game are the additions of the Allstar Weekend which is suprisingly good and the dunk contest was miles better than I expected. I also like the VC points system which means every game you play including against friends allows you to earn points which are used for a mode called MyTeam which is simlar to Ultimate team in Fifa, It is not as good as Ultimate team but is a great addtion to the 2K series. I like the new shot stick and signature skills which make the in game experience a fluid and less generic.

    Things I don't like about the game, the first thing I don't like is the rebouding which a lot of people have complained about, basically players have a tendency to just gaze at the ball and watch it go out of bounds, also since when could 6'0 PG's beat Dwight Howard to a rebound. Anyway they are releasing an update for this which they always seem to do, I don't understand why don't they give the game to us when it's finished, personally I'd rather wait. Also the automatic game sliders are unrealistic as usual and after a roster update there are players they forgot to add to teams and players that are still still in the Free Agent pool that have retired or gone overseas.

    The last major thing I dislike is the soundtrack, the news that Jay Z was going to do the soundtrack seemed like great news at first. What we get is Kayne West - Amazing which I personally don't like and it was on NBA 2K10, about 3 or 4 tracks I like and then the rest bored me after listening to them once or twice, there isn't much tracks and I thought someone like Jay Z had better taste in Hip Hop.

    I would say get this game If you can't wait until next year as it will keep you entertained but being a huge basketball fan I feel let down, also the players ratings are terrible too. I think people who know about basketball should be hired and features like wingspan, leg length and more realistic customizaton.

    2K9 - 80/100
    2K10 - 84/100
    2K11 - 92/100
    2K12 - 67/100
    2K13 - 83/100
    Collapse
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    NBA 2K13 does not reinvent the wheel, but is still the best basketball game out there. The presentaion has not changed much, except for theNBA 2K13 does not reinvent the wheel, but is still the best basketball game out there. The presentaion has not changed much, except for the fact that Jay-Z is all over it. The gameplay made unnecessary changes moving the shooting from the analog stick to the square button. It is cool to play as the dream team and have them square off against the 2012 olympic team. Expand
  7. kb8
    Jul 16, 2014
    0
    This game is SOOOOOOOOOO BAAADDD!!!!!! I cannot even begin to explain how annoying it is!!!!! It is so unrealistic! I've never played such aThis game is SOOOOOOOOOO BAAADDD!!!!!! I cannot even begin to explain how annoying it is!!!!! It is so unrealistic! I've never played such a bad game in my life. The rebounding is absolutely ABSURD!!! I put in Shaquille Oneal and Roy Hibbert together and they were outrebounded by the Orlando Magic (they do not have Dwight Howard)!!!! I honestly think they might pay their critics to give them good reviews because I have never heard someone say a single good thing about it in person. This game SUCKS!!!!!!!! Worst game I have EVER played!!!! Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.