Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    95
    The champion stays on top for now with their strongest effort yet. NBA 2K14 combines the rock-solid gameplay of the series with a great new control scheme and a fun LeBron-centric new mode that will suck you in.
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    94
    More of a refinement than a revolution, but still the best depiction of basketball on the current generation. A massive amount of content, absorbing career modes and online features mean you won’t get bored in a hurry.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    93
    NBA 2K14 is simply the best hoops sim I’ve ever played.
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    92
    2K did it again. One more year, their NBA basketball franchise reinvents itself again so it can offer us an experience that is true to every small aspect of this high level sport. The inclusion of FIBA teams, or the "LeBron James: Path of the Greatness" game mode are the big new features in a game that is, maybe, perfect.
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K14 is the best NBA game to date, thanks to a smooth gameplay, both in defense and in offense, and lots of great game modes. Our only hope is that Euroleague next year will be more integrated in the game.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    It's the finest simulation of basketball out there and this year's entry in the series is bolstered by smart and simple additions.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    One of the best sports games ever made and clear proof of the great work made by Visual Concepts during these last years.
  8. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K keeps being the best basketball game made so far in the story of videogames, which is something to feel proud about. However, we hope for bolder advances in the future to push the formula harder.
  9. Sep 24, 2013
    89
    It's as strong as always, but you can feel this generation is coming to an end, and its really hard to make a significant evolution. In any case, it perfect for any basketball fan.
  10. Oct 21, 2013
    86
    It still looks great, it still feels great and it still is the best basketball game out there.
  11. Oct 14, 2013
    85
    It's not spectacularly innovating and the graphics are in dire need of improvement, but other than that NBK 2K14 manages to tweak its gameplay enough to justify the new installment in the franchise. We could do without the clumsy menus and stupid dialogue, though.
  12. 85
    Visually everything is stimulating, the sounds are present, and you sense the atmosphere of the surrounding the action. NBA 2K14 isn’t ground-breaking, but still a very solid game.
  13. 85
    NBA 2K14 rewards those willing to learn a new way to use the right joystick and takes from still existing modes everything great that they have to offer. Though the experience may be narrow, the beautiful, immersive gameplay stands on its own among the rest of the sports gaming genre.
  14. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    NBA 2K14 is a smaller step ahead than we’re used to, but still shines when it comes to game modes, controls, animations and atmosphere. Regarding sports games, this is the cream of the crop.
  15. Oct 2, 2013
    85
    While not a revolutionary advancement over last year, smart gameplay tweaks and the return of a couple favorite game modes make it once again a must buy for hardcore NBA fans.
  16. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    Like the superstar who graces its cover, NBA 2K14 features an undeniable sense of greatness. Its presentation is the best the sports genre has to offer, and the gameplay refinements improve an already stellar game. It's a shame Visual Concepts didn't put the same level of effort into improving the popular My Career or Association mode.
  17. 84
    Simply put, NBA 2K14 is better than NBA 2K13, and worth buying even if you picked up last year’s release.
  18. Oct 8, 2013
    83
    Graphics and options are almost the same, if you're not a Miami Heat fan, but gameplay's been polished to the max. Even if there's little new content, NBA 2K14 can still throw it down like an All-Star.
  19. Still the best basketball franchise out there. Avoids greatness due to a smattering of visual bugbears. [December 2013, p79]
  20. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    Overall it's the best NBA game to date; the team at Visual Concepts did extremely well tuning the new system controls, though I would not discard the idea that there is still work to do in this field. This 2014 version is not quite a farewell to this generation, because we will have the same game, a version on steroids for the new consoles later this year.
  21. Oct 10, 2013
    80
    From a gameplay perspective, however, NBA 2K14 is the best it's ever been. Visual Concepts has finally nailed the control scheme, and has introduced lots of minor tweaks across the court, from improved visuals and animations to more realistic physics.
  22. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    I have no issue recommending NBA 2K14 to those looking for another tightly-tuned, exquisitely deep game of basketball for their current generation consoles. It'll certainly help if you have a particular interest in King James and his future endeavors, but NBA 2K14 has more than enough quality content to keep LeBron haters happy too.
  23. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Despite the occasional technical missteps, NBA 2K14 is a great experience that deftly captures the essence of what makes the NBA so appealing. Nothing could perfectly replicate reality, but 2K14 has almost as much personality, and gives you the freedom to perform how you wish.
  24. Oct 2, 2013
    75
    It's the first NBA 2K title in years that I can't unequivocally recommend — especially with next-generation versions of the game only six weeks away.
  25. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    NBA 2K14 introduces a deeper and more advanced steering, which is welcome for all of us who don’t manage the more tactic side of the game. Prostick is a great addition and NBA 2K14 is a game that grows the more you invest in it and the more you know about the sport.
  26. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Outside of the new animations, it's hard to see where NBA 2K14 has really advanced ahead of last year's outing. [Issue#141, p.112]
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 45
  2. Negative: 23 out of 45
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    I cannot believe... This is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 in every aspect. Same movement, same animations, same menu, same dunks, same passes, same replays. Only the line ups are different.. Do not waste your money on this. Probably the next gen version will be much better, and thats all that counts in this year. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    This is 2K13 version 1.1 for an extra $60. Dont waste your money. They must have put all of the stops into the next gen version of the game because i dont see any of the stops here. It doesnt even run smoothly on the Xbox. Are they deleting reviews? Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    This game is almost identical as last years version as far as looks and My Player. I was really disappointed when i got this. but maybe they are holding back for next gen. The controls are awkward and while there is some improvements on how it feels I cant get past the lack of effort on 2k's part. They obviously didnt read anyones "WISH LISTS" on My Plater. I certainly hope they improve all of this on Next Gen, if not. Its on to NBA LIVE 14. So do yourself a favor and just save your 60 dollars and keep playing 2K13, ohh by the way all that VC you bought last year doesn't transfer. So yeah save your hard earned money. Full Review »