Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    95
    The champion stays on top for now with their strongest effort yet. NBA 2K14 combines the rock-solid gameplay of the series with a great new control scheme and a fun LeBron-centric new mode that will suck you in.
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    94
    More of a refinement than a revolution, but still the best depiction of basketball on the current generation. A massive amount of content, absorbing career modes and online features mean you won’t get bored in a hurry.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    93
    NBA 2K14 is simply the best hoops sim I’ve ever played.
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    92
    2K did it again. One more year, their NBA basketball franchise reinvents itself again so it can offer us an experience that is true to every small aspect of this high level sport. The inclusion of FIBA teams, or the "LeBron James: Path of the Greatness" game mode are the big new features in a game that is, maybe, perfect.
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K14 is the best NBA game to date, thanks to a smooth gameplay, both in defense and in offense, and lots of great game modes. Our only hope is that Euroleague next year will be more integrated in the game.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    It's the finest simulation of basketball out there and this year's entry in the series is bolstered by smart and simple additions.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    One of the best sports games ever made and clear proof of the great work made by Visual Concepts during these last years.
  8. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K keeps being the best basketball game made so far in the story of videogames, which is something to feel proud about. However, we hope for bolder advances in the future to push the formula harder.
  9. Sep 24, 2013
    89
    It's as strong as always, but you can feel this generation is coming to an end, and its really hard to make a significant evolution. In any case, it perfect for any basketball fan.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 47
  2. Negative: 23 out of 47
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    I cannot believe... This is exactly the same game as NBA 2k13 in every aspect. Same movement, same animations, same menu, same dunks, same passes, same replays. Only the line ups are different.. Do not waste your money on this. Probably the next gen version will be much better, and thats all that counts in this year. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    This is 2K13 version 1.1 for an extra $60. Dont waste your money. They must have put all of the stops into the next gen version of the game because i dont see any of the stops here. It doesnt even run smoothly on the Xbox. Are they deleting reviews? Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    This game is almost identical as last years version as far as looks and My Player. I was really disappointed when i got this. but maybe they are holding back for next gen. The controls are awkward and while there is some improvements on how it feels I cant get past the lack of effort on 2k's part. They obviously didnt read anyones "WISH LISTS" on My Plater. I certainly hope they improve all of this on Next Gen, if not. Its on to NBA LIVE 14. So do yourself a favor and just save your 60 dollars and keep playing 2K13, ohh by the way all that VC you bought last year doesn't transfer. So yeah save your hard earned money. Full Review »